View Full Version : Awesome Fishing Weekend

20-04-2009, 07:53 PM
Heading out on Friday afternoon after a long session of bad weather we hit our fishing spot just before dark and ancored up on a good show on the bottom.
What followed was an intense fishing session consisting of Red Jew Smallmouth Largemouths Spangled Emporer Big Lippers Hussar Red throat . With huge numbers of undersized spangleds and Red Throat and Red Emporer and shark's hammering us for a couple nice fish
After having enough and esky was looking good we pulled the pin and headed home for a beautifil run all the way back to the harbour to get back around 3 am.

http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/17042009008.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/17042009015.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/17042009018.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/17042009022.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/17042009027.jpg

Sunday seen us heading out again with a freash crew and weather was even better heading out in the early hours before the carpark filled up.
Arriving before dawn we were straight onto fish with some niced sized lippers and spangleds then Blueys and hussars stripeys fingermark golden trevally red empoere large and small mouths and the class action Spanish mackeral that we bagged out on in no time . Incredible fishing
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/DSC02354.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/DSC02350.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/Copyof19042009006.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/Copyof19042009003.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/Copyof19042009.jpg
Got to love Central Queensland

whatscracken
20-04-2009, 08:04 PM
MATE!! Looks like a absolute ripper of a weekend, plenty of quality fish there. Nice work.

reel scream
20-04-2009, 08:13 PM
Bloody hell JT. Great bags of quality chewing fish mate. Very envious. Weather came good for you- good to see.

Cheers Scott

Frank OO
20-04-2009, 08:13 PM
Hi JT,

I have never seen so many fish in one place. Great assortment and good size fish.

Frank OO

20-04-2009, 08:25 PM
awesome mate you wont have to fish again for 12 months now, just go there again in 12 months for a follow up top work

cheers justin

DAZMC1
20-04-2009, 08:29 PM
Hey JT , did you go north or south. I went out sat night about 70k,s east and didn,t have much action except for red throat and those friggin trigger fish. Ah well! next time.

kokomo
20-04-2009, 08:40 PM
yep im pretty sure i hate you

20-04-2009, 08:47 PM
Hey JT , did you go north or south. I went out sat night about 70k,s east and didn,t have much action except for red throat and those friggin trigger fish. Ah well! next time.
South mate ........... Couple others i know were hit and miss.
Were you on the wide grounds ?
We were going to head that way but decided against it....Was tempted to go Johnstons

tfish
20-04-2009, 08:51 PM
sensational. well done!!you obviously have a great mark. thanks for your report....after seeing those pics, im serious need to fish. cheers trav

DAZMC1
20-04-2009, 09:10 PM
Started out at Barren reef, not even a show,then headed NE up near ferns

warti
20-04-2009, 09:13 PM
Yep, good haul jt. We threw back heaps of legals just looking for something better in the esky. Had to move to get away from the spangleys as they were giving the old man a hiding. Great fishing actually. I am getting the boat ready in the morning for a spear at rundle. Hopefully the weather holds.

hookinin
20-04-2009, 09:21 PM
Looks like the only needed was a bigger esky,well done.
Gaven

Brejen
20-04-2009, 09:24 PM
Good stuff Jt.

Mate all us down here have the entries for the hook-up paid for and the accommodation paid for. Can't wait. I'll be spending the next few weeks getting the new platey ready..Been that long since I've been out for a fish.

Awesome fish mate.

levinge
20-04-2009, 09:26 PM
Good work there JT, looks like you would've been in for a good nap after that lot.

Top effort

20-04-2009, 09:52 PM
Well entruly buggared and sore everywhere i had my rod LOl
And Brett i won't be doing the Hook up this year . Looking at doing a week travelling in my boat with a couple of others doing Port Clinton and Pearl Bay .
And with recession the way it was i cancelled The Hook up just in case there wasn't much work on

20-04-2009, 09:54 PM
Started out at Barren reef, not even a show,then headed NE up near ferns
I was hearing guys were bagging out on spanish at Barren saturday .............. Was nearly just going to head there on sunday for a troll mate went there and dropped 4 but never got them to the boat

JayT
21-04-2009, 01:30 AM
Awesome assortment mate, looks like you guys had a CRACKER of a time,
Those large mouth are a top looking fish:)
Cheers Jay

mangomick
21-04-2009, 12:57 PM
Good stuff JT............I'm too embarrassed now to post my poor pitiful little effort out at the 12 mile/snapper patch on Monday :'( :'(

I guess thats what happens when I fish "Bankers" hours

seapup
21-04-2009, 01:46 PM
Epic session! So much variety!

21-04-2009, 08:11 PM
That is a mind blowing session and hard work backing up like that. Were the Macs on baits or lures?

21-04-2009, 08:31 PM
That is a mind blowing session and hard work backing up like that. Were the Macs on baits or lures?
Just on pillies floating in the current no weight just single strand wire with 3 /ganged 6/0's
We got one of the big fellas on a prawn as i was winding in he got hooked in the side was dam lucky . We lost a few by thrown hooks but was good fishing and yes am still feeling the two days
Am doing the video of the trip's end results never had time to film while out

Benno1
21-04-2009, 08:57 PM
im lovin these QLD posts...top shelf!!!...ill post ours when Dave downloads our pics from Saturday :D
cheers for the piccies JT...always worth a look your posts :D

Mrs Benno1
Sunny

21-04-2009, 09:54 PM
Just what I needed to see on my phone mate. Bloody wind down here and then you send me those pics.....way to go !

21-04-2009, 09:55 PM
Thanks for the report JT. I'm coming up there soon.....well sort of soon anyway.

21-04-2009, 10:44 PM
Thanks for the report JT. I'm coming up there soon.....well sort of soon anyway.

Oh Great leave that wind down there before you come up thou :D
Seat on my boat ready for ya mate
And room in my esky for them Jimmies your bringing ;D

21-04-2009, 11:25 PM
Sorry Jt, but I don't know Jimmy......so he won't be coming up with me......

22-04-2009, 06:15 AM
Ohhhhhhh I'll forget that Wags come out with me in the boat and forget to bring him home :)
Might have to anyways after you keep getting tangles all day

22-04-2009, 08:42 AM
geez mate..what an absolutely top weekend you had...great to see you getting some good exercise too....its never a bad thing to be so sore after a successful fishing trip though is it JT...I'm sure a couple of jimmy's eased the pain a bit..;):)

22-04-2009, 12:25 PM
JT, I can't remember how to tangle one's line.....

Teachnthekids
22-04-2009, 12:52 PM
Just sensational fishing well done - we have been stuck on dry land since easter down here not much fun!

22-04-2009, 06:35 PM
JT,

What's with the bike tube on the fingers?? ::) ::) ::)
Are you going soft???? ;D ;D ;D

Were you using hand lines or are you protecting the fingers from the leader when you lift the fishies into the boat after skull dragging them aboard with the rod/reels.....

Wags

22-04-2009, 06:44 PM
JT,

What's with the bike tube on the fingers?? ::) ::) ::)
Are you going soft???? ;D ;D ;D

Were you using hand lines or are you protecting the fingers from the leader when you lift the fishies into the boat after skull dragging them aboard with the rod/reels.....

Wags`
Mate thats to protect me from the braid :-[ ... Am getting girly i know::) . The leaders not the problem with braid i'm forever slicing my fingers as i'm using a Tyronos 30 it hasn't a guide and after 30 or so fish it starts to burn :P
Sheeshus another one of my secrets ya know
>:(

22-04-2009, 08:26 PM
Here's some pics of the sounder and the caliber of lipper we caught
Sorry pics are blurry camera was set on close up
Wife done it
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/PICT0017.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/PICT0010.jpg

22-04-2009, 09:02 PM
I think you need some photography lessons too. You seem to have cut off the GPS coordinates...........................

22-04-2009, 09:21 PM
Thats definatley the idea.
Won't do you any good anyways mate :)
Cheers JT

nickstock
23-04-2009, 10:02 AM
Top load of fish JT, Looks like you will be needing a new freezer if you get another break in the weather within the next few months!

Nick

23-04-2009, 05:34 PM
Doesn't last long nick . We have a large family living here we have 4 children and 2 adults and every 2nd weekend 6 kids and 2 adults . Now after sustaining bowel cancer last year i try and eat fish 5 to 6 days a week . And evrything is shared well between us all .
Thanks JT
Can't you tell by my expanding midrift
:)
Don't you comment Wags/Mick/disordely