View Full Version : TOP day on the water (reefies have fired up) 15-04-09

Pistol_P
15-04-2009, 07:43 PM
Finally a break in the weather.....::) ......and I got the call from Adrian who has been hanging for a fish.
Decision was to chase reefies only today as our thoughts were...with all the rain we have had they might have fired up a little......we were right.8-)

The Noosa river is filthy at the moment and the dirty water extends a LONG way out from the bar.
Surprisingly when we got out there were loads of longtails busting up in the dirty stuff and although we werent chasing them my first drop with a plastic resulted in a Loooong fight with one on the snapper gear.

http://i340.photobucket.com/albums/o326/PeterMorris_Photo/SunshineReef15-04-09002.jpg

Continued fishing and picked up a small sweetlip and then a very nice snapper.
Great to see that colour come up again.

http://i340.photobucket.com/albums/o326/PeterMorris_Photo/SunshineReef15-04-09006.jpg

Adrian then started his chant about me being an 'assy prick' then his rod doubled over which he had in a holder.....man he moved quick ;D

http://i340.photobucket.com/albums/o326/PeterMorris_Photo/SunshineReef15-04-09007.jpg

http://i340.photobucket.com/albums/o326/PeterMorris_Photo/SunshineReef15-04-09009.jpg

Another top snapper was landed and we had a laugh....;D
We both werent expecting to much today but hey....no complaints...;D

The bite continued with some small fellas being hooked and released.
One small spangled emperor and a couple of smaller keeper snapper.
I then got another ripper which fought super hard ,then found its way into the boat.

http://i340.photobucket.com/albums/o326/PeterMorris_Photo/SunshineReef15-04-09011.jpg

http://i340.photobucket.com/albums/o326/PeterMorris_Photo/SunshineReef15-04-09013.jpg

http://i340.photobucket.com/albums/o326/PeterMorris_Photo/SunshineReef15-04-09015.jpg

All up a top little session and a great day on the water with no wind...finally.
Hopefully this snapper season will be a great one.
Early signs are looking good.;)

tfish
15-04-2009, 07:47 PM
great effort pete. some great lookin snaps.very jealous,but cant wait for the snapper season to turn on. yeeew! cheers trav

Mitchoo
15-04-2009, 07:54 PM
Awsome session mate
if you dont mind me asking what gear you were using with the plastics
real keen to try out from mooloolaba
dan

therapy
15-04-2009, 07:57 PM
These midweek reports are killing me!!! You certainly know how to find them Pete, just leave some for us strugglers please!!lol.... What's the length on those snapps Pete. Look like Arno Bay size critters to me. You might have saved me a trip interstate. Beautiful fish!!

Cheers......Terry.........

vertico
15-04-2009, 07:59 PM
nice snaps pete welldone
sean

15-04-2009, 08:00 PM
Good snaps mate
Might be a good time to smash the Banks again

Fish_gutz
15-04-2009, 08:04 PM
Top stuff Pete nice snapps. Cheers Andrew

15-04-2009, 08:18 PM
Great stuff there guys making me jealous
Nice fish and pics are awesome

15-04-2009, 08:22 PM
top fish pete, keen to get up and give it a hit, but for me its going to be a few more weeks until the boats ready, but looking forward to it with results like that already showing.

justin

15-04-2009, 08:32 PM
They are great fish Pete. The conditions look great. Was the swell up?

ffejsmada
15-04-2009, 08:58 PM
Couple of nice knobbies there Sneaky.

Was that at one of your other mates marks?????;D;Dlol:-X:-X

That little hump???;)

Cheers mate.

tenzing
15-04-2009, 09:07 PM
Today eh? You lucky lucky BASTARDS.
Well done
Brendan

vertico
15-04-2009, 09:15 PM
spangled emperor have to be atleast 45 before they go into the slurry so im guessing there are some nice 90cm snapper there .

Pistol_P
15-04-2009, 09:15 PM
Couple of nice knobbies there Sneaky.

Was that at one of your other mates marks?????;D;Dlol:-X:-X

That little hump???;)

Cheers mate.

Thats the one Jeff,:-X :-X ::)

Gotta watch were you go these days.....:rifle:
A 'mark' apparently has a 4km radius around it....;D

breamnut
15-04-2009, 09:26 PM
ur mad pete, longtail king!

Benno1
15-04-2009, 09:46 PM
no complaints here either Pete!!!...great pictures!!!...is that a nuke chook in the gob of that cracker snap (pics 2/4) ???

Mrs Benno1
Sunny

BLOOEY
16-04-2009, 06:39 AM
Excellent quality snaps there pete8-) , Just what i wanted to see. Any lengths on them they look massive? Time to get out there. Ben

16-04-2009, 07:07 AM
I want a crack at nice fish like these more than you would beleive, but alas, 25 knots again this weekend:'(

Doesn't look like you needed to use a super heavy jighead there either, conditions/ current must have been perfect.

Pistol_P
16-04-2009, 01:43 PM
Cheers fellas,

Mitchoo......I use 14lb Braid,30lb leader on a graphite stick rated up to 10kg.
I like a 4000 size reel for a bit of extra line capacity.

Benno1.....Yes that is the famous Nuke Chook.

Ben....I just filleted one of the snapper and it was 92cm.

16-04-2009, 01:48 PM
Ahhhh there is always next week!!!!

Good stuff,

Creek Vermin
16-04-2009, 02:22 PM
Love your work pete. Awesome pics again as usual mate.
Cheers. Keith

jarhead
16-04-2009, 07:45 PM
Some awesome pics and nice snaps too Pete. Thanks for sharing!

Cheers Wal

hookinin
16-04-2009, 10:04 PM
Nice to see some quality fish so early. Great pics and report
Cheers Gaven

nickstock
17-04-2009, 12:02 PM
Some fantastic fish there Pete, with shit hot pics to boot!

Thanks for the great report.

Nick Stock

1lastcast
17-04-2009, 01:08 PM
Well done nice session you lucky buggers !

Regards MONOSTRETCHO

jackextracter
17-04-2009, 02:35 PM
Some good fishing there mate, did u get the fish hitting on the drop down or while working it?
ps. what sort of boat u in? cheers

Pistol_P
17-04-2009, 06:33 PM
Some good fishing there mate, did u get the fish hitting on the drop down or while working it?
ps. what sort of boat u in? cheers

Both....On the drop and working it.

Adrians boat is a 6m Triumph

twotins
19-04-2009, 06:37 PM
Great stuff, Pete, picture quality is awsom, great colour, no glare, good photos and good fishing. Congratulations. Shawn