View Full Version : towing?

maverik
03-04-2009, 02:11 PM
do you thing a honda civic 4 door 1990 model is big enough to tow a 13ft tinnie on a redco trailer ?

Roughasguts
03-04-2009, 02:15 PM
Hell yeah!

Tailortaker
03-04-2009, 02:18 PM
With out a dought

marty+jojo
03-04-2009, 04:00 PM
Piss it in.
Marty.

03-04-2009, 04:01 PM
Laughin!

03-04-2009, 04:38 PM
Too right there

russ81
03-04-2009, 04:53 PM
she will be apples

dreemon
03-04-2009, 04:55 PM
a civic will easily pull a sailor off his sister. . .

Scott Ashe
03-04-2009, 07:44 PM
Hi mate,

No worries their, it will do easy. My best mate used to two his dad's 4.4m horizion, with his 1.3 L 1984 Toyota Corolla

Crocodile
03-04-2009, 08:47 PM
From a practical point of view, no problems.
Front wheel drive may spin a little bit on the boat ramp.
I tow with a front wheel drive and it does spin sometimes, auto helps.
From an insurance point of view, check your owners manual, some cars have a very light towing capacity eg. Suzuki Vitara 450kg.
I could not get the figures for that model Civic but a 2000 model only tows 500kg.
13' tinny 100kg + motor 50kg + trailer 100kg total say 300kg with petrol, anchor etc. at which you are very comfortable and legal.
Check the owners manual.

tenzing
03-04-2009, 08:57 PM
From a practical point of view, no problems.
Front wheel drive may spin a little bit on the boat ramp.
I tow with a front wheel drive and it does spin sometimes, auto helps.
From an insurance point of view, check your owners manual, some cars have a very light towing capacity eg. Suzuki Vitara 450kg.
I could not get the figures for that model Civic but a 2000 model only tows 500kg.
13' tinny 100kg + motor 50kg + trailer 100kg total say 300kg with petrol, anchor etc. at which you are very comfortable and legal.
Check the owners manual.
Same thought from me.
It really doesnt matter whether the car is ABLE to pull the boat or not. If you have a prang and you have towed a load greater than the car will LEGALLY tow your insurance company will drop you quicker than a hot spud. Remember that its not the value of your car and boat but of the thing you hit that counts. That thing could be a house! . If your insurance doesnt pay then what happens??
I know I am a conservative wuss with all this stuff , but it helps me sleep at night.
Brendan

gawby
03-04-2009, 09:20 PM
I cannot see any problems doing what you
want to do as i have seen a datsun 120y
towing a 13foot caravan up the newell highway.
Graeme

Roughasguts
03-04-2009, 09:32 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QsPnwi0nb2Q

No problems towing this at all.

04-04-2009, 03:11 PM
Hmmm.

don't underestimate how much you boat and trailer weighs.... put it over a scale and know.

My 14 footer weighed in at 640kg ( 30HP merc ) with fishing gear for one onboard.

Which means I cant tow it with my L300 legaly ( it will do it easily), so I'll kepp pulling it with the falcon.

As for the current corola.....1.3 tonnes with brakes:o .
early mazda "B" series ute....450Kg witout brakes.
Ya just cant tell without reading the specs

tin can marlin
04-04-2009, 10:12 PM
My advice is to cantact the RACQ to get the correct info because if the car is not legal to tow it and you have a crash you will be up s%&t ck without a outboard