View Full Version : Tinny/Motor combo

Noiseworks
02-04-2009, 01:26 PM
Would a 15hp Mercury push a 3.7m Stessl/Stessco enough. Obviously not looking for top end speed, but wondering if it would motor along comfortably carrying approx. 200kg of humans. Usage would be Creek/Estuary, close inshore.

Noiseworks

02-04-2009, 01:54 PM

Yes, it should. I have a 12' horizon..... 9.9 merc. one up (heavy boat with fit out) I see 35kph (about 18kts)

2 pob with gear around 26kph.... 3 and good luck

With a 15 I'd expect your cruise speed to be high 20's, maybe early 30's (pending fit out of boat) and top mid to high 30's

NormC
02-04-2009, 02:08 PM
No problem. We have run a 3.75 Quinnie Dart on 15 HP. 2 people esky, lots of gear around 32 KPH. Moved up to 20 HP Yammy and got it to 38 KPH. Only reason for change was we go to the Gulf and we wanted a bit more speed due to the distances we travel - and so we could outrun the crocs.

Strangey
02-04-2009, 02:09 PM
I've got a 3.4 Stessl vagabond (lightwieght), with a 15 Merc. Takes a bit to get up on the plane but once your there she flys, thats with three people or two and heaps of gear. 3.7m should be the same or better at getting up. If you get a "edge-hull" by Stessl or Makocraft then I think they plane even better than conventional designs.

Noiseworks
02-04-2009, 02:16 PM
Thanks everyone, I'm looking at a couple of boats on Ebay and Boatpoint. There is a 3.7 Stessl going cheap. Alternatively I was wondering if 4.29m Clark Abalone with a 40hp Yamaha would be a better option for the type of fishing I will be doing. Appreciate all comments and opinions.....

Noiseworks

02-04-2009, 02:20 PM

4.2 with the 40 even better.

Depends, if you're doing shallow tight stuff or more open bay stuff?

Noiseworks
02-04-2009, 02:26 PM
Thanks Dave, I am starting to lean that way. Just thinking that it will offer greater diversity of use. Being located at Mackay, we are generally going to be beach launching it at Shoal Point and heading around into Reliance Creek, or just out the front. Seaforth and the many islands around that area become more likely with the 4.2 and 40. Just having that extra grunt to get back home in a hurry is a real consideration.

Noiseworks

02-04-2009, 02:36 PM
big difference in a 3.7 with a 15 to a 4.2 with a 40.

Noiseworks
02-04-2009, 03:15 PM
In reference to the big difference statement Noel, is that a big difference in a good way. Sorry but unsure and I respect your opinions.

I've talked to the guy with the 40hp Yamaha. He says that it is an early '90s 3 cylinder model and have good reputation, is this correct?

Noiseworks

Scott Ashe
02-04-2009, 03:38 PM
Hi mate,

I would probably go the 4.29m, it's just that little bigger deeper and wider than a 3.7m, having said that I sold a 3.75m Allycraft in 2007 with a 15hp Johnson, which was a great liitle boat that I had for about 6 years . I sold that because I wanted to go just a bit bigger myself. I ended up with a brand new (2007) Allycraft 410 Rhino, with 25 Yamaha 4 stroke all electrics, because I have cerebral palsy.

You may say with the 25 it wouldn't be that quick, but with two people on board at full throttle(which I only run occasionally) I get a GPS reading of 42km/h.

foxx510
02-04-2009, 03:41 PM
Go the 4.2/40hp, opens up a lot more fishing spots that would be risky with the 3.7 loaded up with 3 blokes.

boys play
02-04-2009, 03:50 PM
No problem. We have run a 3.75 Quinnie Dart on 15 HP. 2 people esky, lots of gear around 32 KPH. Moved up to 20 HP Yammy and got it to 38 KPH. Only reason for change was we go to the Gulf and we wanted a bit more speed due to the distances we travel - and so we could outrun the crocs.

Norm,
"Outrun the crocs'??

Am heading up there in a few months..are they that friendly?

Noiseworks
02-04-2009, 04:50 PM
Your thoughts on this boat......please.

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=6995827

Noiseworks

wiz
02-04-2009, 05:15 PM
not bad for that price, as long as the motor is in good nic (been looked after) and she doesn't leak

02-04-2009, 05:19 PM
from the pictures....If it is an honest boat....it looks well set up and tidy.

does it come with the esky;D

a new one similar will set you back abot $7G to $8G

leaks?
how does it run.?
Rego's?

dreemon
02-04-2009, 05:55 PM
If you can do a test run and compression test and all is good, I'd buy it for sure,
the 3 cyl would be a smooth motor, you'll be heaps happier that you got the bigger boat/engine/esky. cheers

Noiseworks
02-04-2009, 06:04 PM
Thanks for the remarks everybody. I've spoken with the owner and he has been really good to deal with. Unfortunately the esky doesn't come with the boat:'(, I asked that question aswell ;D. It'll be good to be out on the water again, I haven't had a boat for about 7 months now. It was a Seafarer V-sea that Blackened talked me through cleaning up. Thanks Blackened, your input with choosing which size carried weight with my wife, because she remembered your assistance from last year.

Noiseworks

joey_1987
03-04-2009, 09:53 AM
You still looking for tinnies between 3.7-4.2m? Which is more appealing to you? A 3.7m boat loaded up would perform better with an 18hp or 20hp outboard, I own a 3.95m Stacer and have 30hp on the back, if I load up with 4 people, gear, fuel, batteries, I still get 40km/h top speed.

03-04-2009, 10:10 AM
If you are going anywhere past the creeks and very close smooth inshore water 14 foot and 30Hp would have to be the minimum.

jeffbqld
04-04-2009, 02:19 PM
I noticed that Clark 4.29 that you are looking at on Boatpoint has the middle seat taken out to create more room. What that also does is remove alot of the floatation from the boat as the seats on that size boat usually holds all the foam. Is there foam under the floor?If that boat gets full of water will it float? I would steer clear of tinnys that have seats removed and there is no replacement of foam floatation.

tin can marlin
04-04-2009, 10:16 PM
The stessls are a great little boat alf was the best boat builder in his time i'am sure you will enjoy it if you buy it.

04-04-2009, 11:21 PM
Lots of boats have the middle thwart taken out, in many new ones it can be ordered that way as an option.

My boat has had the middle seat taken out and I have managed to get a lot more flotation under the floor than would ever have been in the middle thwart.

If it worries you just do a few flotation calculations.