View Full Version : redco trailer bearings?

Rainbowrunner
31-03-2009, 08:29 PM
Some questions guys,

I have a redco trailer 1613. and want to replace the bearings and get bearing buddies for it. I bought a spare wheel and it is a holden torana rim apparently so im assuming holden bearing setup?
Bearings have not been touched since since new 3 years ago altho they never enter the water, and its only 5min to boat ramp.

Where do i buy both bearings and buddies?
How do I know which bearings to buy?
What do I need to look out for? It has mechanical brakes and I have been told caliper postioning could make it difficult.

any help appreciated, will shout a trip on water for help too, as i have only ever changed bearings on a 6x4 box trailer. I live near pine river.

matmuller85
31-03-2009, 09:13 PM
Send me a pm with your number. They will more than likey be Holden bearings, 5 stud early holden wheels. As to buying the mans toy shop or repco or similar

01-04-2009, 08:08 AM
it will easy to replace them even with the brakes for a person with average mechanical skills and some basic hand tools, don't be tempted to buy the no name bearings from the discount stores, the difference in price to quality ones will be small, if in doubt, take the bearings out and take them with you to a bearing specialist, it is a pretty messy job, but not difficult.

Rainbowrunner
02-04-2009, 09:17 AM
boot....................................

gucci84
02-04-2009, 01:08 PM
hey mate the best things i ever bought for my trailer are dura hubs bearing run a heaps cooler well they have never even got warm and thats towing them over 100km just make sure you smooth up the mating face with the sand paper supplied but for bearings as noelm said buy timken ones not some cheaps shit you can get all this stuff from super cheap/bcf or any trailer store
have a good one

casey

Donny Boy
02-04-2009, 01:10 PM
Mate,

Just replaced Bearings, Seals, Brakes, New Disks, Calipers etc AND put Bearing Buddies on AND bought two new rims (HT Holden 5 stud)....just last week.

Went to Active Fabrications in Beenleigh, They make Trailers.

Got the lot from them.........$240.... including a tub of Marine Grease.
Had it all in stock ...in & out like a robbers dog...

If you're not near Beenleigh, then try a Trailer manufacturer near you....they'll be cheaper than Repco.

Active are at 63-65 Logan River Rd Ph 3807 6666

02-04-2009, 01:22 PM
that sounds like a pretty good price for all that stuff, I am in the market for that myself soon, when I redo my trailer.

02-04-2009, 03:00 PM
Thats excellent. I just paid $95 odd for 4 sets of bearings...ie for 4 wheels - Timkin Oz from Super Cheap. I reckon the rims are good for $50 each, so if they charged you $23-25 for 2 bearing kits thats say $150 accounted for and then $90 odd say for rotors and pads...sounds pretty bloody good to me!

Donny Boy
02-04-2009, 03:52 PM
Best thing about it was, that the bloke who did the job is Repco accredited.
When he told me about it, I was heading to Repco to get the gear to do the job, having priced it already.
He said " No, go to Active, they'll be shitloads cheaper !
And they make the things, so you're gunna get the right stuff ."

Actual pricing (straight from the docket) is as follows

5/8 Disk Hub Assembly Complete 5 Stud LM HT $ 58.50 (x 2 $ 117.00 + GST)
( Including Inner & Outer Bearings & Seals )
Disc Pads to suit A100 & A200 Caliper per set $ 12.00 ( x2 $ 24.00 + GST)
Trailer Grease $ 7.50 ( + GST)
Bearing Buddies per Pair $ 20.00 ( + GST)

SubTotal $ 168.50
+ GST $ 16.85

Total $ 185.35

That, & 2 Rims ( Powdercoated Black ) for $ 66.00 Grand Total $ 245.

Yeah, I didn't think it was too bad either............;D::)