View Full Version : 6700 Sailfish Versus Cruiscraft 625 Explorer

CCDrifter
30-03-2009, 07:49 AM
Looking at upgrading my 625 Crusicraft which has a 200 HP Honda to a Sailfish Cat 6700 with twin 115 Honda. I am mainly after a slightly larger boat for over night trips and smoother ride in the rough stuff.I still tow to the water a long way. Any comment on the Sailfish would be great as Smallest cat I have been in is 36ft.:-/

30-03-2009, 08:56 AM
Ok for a start, the Cat will be WAY bigger than the Cruisecraft, don't think it will be a speed demon with the 115's but it will be OK, also ride will be heaps better as well, but the downside is towing, it will be a big Boat to tow and store when not in use.

30-03-2009, 09:03 AM
When does the F250 arrive :)

A bit of wind and both the sail and navara will be blown of the road:-X ;)

CCDrifter
30-03-2009, 09:15 AM
Thanks for the Noelm.
I have been told buy a few blokes that it wont be a speed demond. But i think that is a fair trade off for ride quality. Even though the tow weight is reasonable I assumed the wind drag on the trailer could be a problem with towing. I am also conserned wether any body new if it was a wet boat offshore and how the fuel consumption would compare.

Nathan

CCDrifter
30-03-2009, 09:16 AM
Have faith Gary

30-03-2009, 09:25 AM
don't think you will need to worry too much about getting wet, and it is not just the weight to tow, the Boat is going to be BIG! fuel consumption will be OK, you still have about the same total HP as you did before, so it will be approx the same (depending on how you drive)

The_Tub
30-03-2009, 06:08 PM
Hi ccdrifter

I know a couple of pro's with them,great riding in the rough,just make sure you get one with a wide beam is what they reckon

cheers mal

31-03-2009, 02:41 PM
I can see you teaming up with Murphy's Law for the drive north :)

31-03-2009, 02:58 PM
CC - Give Perko a PM. He has a big wrap on them and his is up for sale at them moment at a very good price.

wilcara
31-03-2009, 02:58 PM
I am amazed that it is even possible to upgrade something like a CC 625 with a Honda 200.

I cannot imagine anything nicer.

31-03-2009, 03:00 PM
Greg,

He's been talking to Perko, but he wants something a bit bigger.

business class
31-03-2009, 03:08 PM
I can see you teaming up with Murphy's Law for the drive north :)

>:( thats no very nice Gary:P ......... the deal is done she is about to become a 6.6 so the trip will now be even slower:'( , he thinks it will add around 450kg but that's fine with the new 225hp on her i think.;D don't worry drifter we can just leave the friday before all these rev heads. LOL LOL

business class
31-03-2009, 03:10 PM
I am amazed that it is even possible to upgrade something like a CC 625 with a Honda 200.

I cannot imagine anything nicer.

i think you might need a new imagination;D ;) :P

31-03-2009, 03:11 PM
>:( thats no very nice Gary:P ......... the deal is done she is about to become a 6.6 so the trip will now be even slower:'( , he thinks it will add around 450kg but that's fine with the new 225hp on her i think.;D don't worry drifter we can just leave the friday before all these rev heads. LOL LOL

Yep a few days before us should se us arrviing at the same time;D

business class
31-03-2009, 03:16 PM
Yep a few days before us should se us arrviing at the same time;D

;D ;D The poor girl will be flat out doing 100ks i think, maybe you can do two trips.;D :P

wilcara
31-03-2009, 03:26 PM
i think you might need a new imaginationhttp://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/wink.gif http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/tongue.gif

Mate, this imagination gets me into enough strife!

business class
31-03-2009, 03:30 PM
Mate, this imagination gets me into enough strife!

LOL LOL;D . I could only imagine;) ;D

31-03-2009, 03:44 PM
I have been on a 7.5m sailfish on a charter out from rainbow beach..comfortable ride and very spacious.

CCDrifter
01-04-2009, 05:11 PM
Matty.
It will be all good if I find the right buyer for mine. Hoping for a tail wind on the 1770 trip then look out.

CCDrifter
01-04-2009, 05:14 PM
Thanks for that Greg.
I have had a look at Tony's Boat but am after the next one up with a bit more front cabin space for longer trips.

01-04-2009, 05:49 PM
Matty.
It will be all good if I find the right buyer for mine. Hoping for a tail wind on the 1770 trip then look out.

Why are you fitting a sail to the sailfish;D ;D ;D ;D

01-04-2009, 08:41 PM
Just from a tow vehicle point of view, There's a bloke up in Mission Beach who runs a charter out of his 7500 sailfish cat with twin honda 200's I think, I can't remember the size of the donks, but they were honda's. Anyway, he towed his with an oldish 90's model pajero, I asked him about it and he said it towed it well. It didn;t struggle trying to pull the big bloody thing up the ramp either. Never seen anything like it, a big cat being solo launched and retrieved.

02-04-2009, 09:45 AM
If Perkos was too small, another of our mates has the 7.5m one for sale.

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=6751905

sleepygreg
02-04-2009, 11:01 PM
7.5 Sailfish is a sweet ride. I helped a mate set up one for a charter boat operating out of Sydney.....twin 175hp Johnnos at the time. Used to fish Browns Mountain for yellowfin and Blue eye in it. Not sure if he is stil operating it.....Sea Lord Charters.....Dejan Popovic is his name....do a search. He used to use a ex council light truck to pull it.....much cheaper and easier than the 4wd.

sleepygreg
02-04-2009, 11:07 PM
ScottNQ, I have a 94 Paj....I wouldnt want to tow a 7.5 Sailfish too far, or on too steep a ramp with it.....not saying this guy didnt.........but i think it would be Illegal for starters......and bloody heart in mouth stuff. My brothers 80 series Diesel Cruiser 'just' tows his 2400 KC ........ok to and from the local ramp (3km).....legal...but wouldnt consider longer trips unless vehicle upgraded.

business class
03-04-2009, 10:41 AM
Matty.

Yeah same but it would have to be blowing 50knts to make a difference for us;D ;D ;D