View Full Version : Ron's Rainbow Runner

Frank OO
21-03-2009, 07:28 AM
Ron is a friend of over 35 years who loves his fishing and although the weather was going to be a bit less than perfect, we decided to head out to Cape Moreton.
We were greeted with an easterly wind at about 20knots and very sloppy conditions but our spirits were high. After about an hour of being bashed around and a few trips inside the cabin, I started to get a bit green around the gills so I quickly popped a Quell and started a troll towards Hutchies.
The Mack Tuna seemed to be everywhere with various sizes coming onto the boat on both the Blue and Pink Hard bodies.
http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e370/Frankoostenbroek/2009-03-20/1.jpg
http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e370/Frankoostenbroek/2009-03-20/2.jpg
http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e370/Frankoostenbroek/2009-03-20/3.jpg
http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e370/Frankoostenbroek/2009-03-20/4.jpg
http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e370/Frankoostenbroek/2009-03-20/5.jpg
http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e370/Frankoostenbroek/2009-03-20/6.jpg
http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e370/Frankoostenbroek/2009-03-20/7.jpg

After about ten Tuna we decided to try casting the Plastics with a quick retrieve and the same thing happened but this was a lot more fun. The Tuna fought hard and kept us entertained for hours.
http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e370/Frankoostenbroek/2009-03-20/8.jpg
http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e370/Frankoostenbroek/2009-03-20/9.jpg

http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e370/Frankoostenbroek/2009-03-20/10.jpg

We did try very hard but the Reef fish didn’t want to play the game.
On the way home we trolled two plastics around the very bottom of Hutchies and Ron caught his first Rainbow Runner.
http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e370/Frankoostenbroek/2009-03-20/11.jpg
A very sloppy but enjoyable day all the same.

reel scream
21-03-2009, 07:55 AM
Great photo's once again Frank. Photo's never seem to do the conditions justice do they. Looks pretty good weather on a photo.

Pity no Hoo. Was there much bait about? I couldnt see on Wednesday due to nil sounder.

Cheers Scott

Fishbait
21-03-2009, 07:56 AM
Awesome fish Frank and Ron. Now thats keen fishin' at 20kts and seas like that in the background. I would have taken those Kwells well before I left shore though, it won't make a difference to your stomach once you get that feeling of being sick offshore. Looks like a great time anyway. Cheers mate, Darren

Frank OO
21-03-2009, 09:09 AM
Hi Scotty,

There didn't seem to be very much bait at Brennans but plenty at Hutchies.

It seems to be very hard to take an angry photo of the swell and waves but here is the result of the wind yesterday.

http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e370/Frankoostenbroek/Weather2009-03-20.jpg

Hi Darren,

We were a bit crazy to even contemplate going out yesterday but it was just very rough and not dangerous at all.

I haven't been seasick for a long time so it must be the fact that I haven't been out lately and will have to go out more often.

Frank OO

snagking
21-03-2009, 09:48 AM
Awesome fish! good work!

frankgrimes
21-03-2009, 12:02 PM
Bloody top pics mate - Great work!

Sandman
21-03-2009, 12:20 PM
Are rainbows a common catch off the cape? the last rainbow i caught was in PNG common to a point of being a nuisance bycatch often destroying your hardbodies once on deck. nice eating but.

Frank OO
21-03-2009, 01:21 PM
Hi Sandman,

That is the first for me at the cape but have caught them before at Barwon Banks.

Frank OO

Pistol_P
21-03-2009, 01:31 PM
Onya frank,

Those jigging sergeant hooks work nicely on the mack bait lures.

Very good hook up rate and once in you dont pull hooks.

larfin
21-03-2009, 01:47 PM
Some good pics there Frank pitty about the weather.
greg

jarhead
21-03-2009, 02:52 PM
Some top quality pics there Frank, shame the wind did'nt allow you's a bit more comfort.

Wal

21-03-2009, 03:18 PM
I can imagine the fun Frank .... OOoohhhhh I can hardly wait!! ;)

21-03-2009, 04:28 PM
Awesome pics once again mate and in washing machine conditions in the background wouldn't have been real fun but top reef strip baits and spanish baits

Sandman
21-03-2009, 05:10 PM
Thanks fot that Frank, Often wondered if they were out there , now i know ! What did you catch that on ? They used to take blue Pap CD14 over in PNG but alot larger than that fellow.

21-03-2009, 07:38 PM
nice work frank plenty of good bait there, but as you use the plastics there was only hours of fun top work

cheers justin

Frank OO
22-03-2009, 06:46 AM
Hi Sandman,
The Rainbow Runner was caught on a 7"Nuclear Chicken Trolled at 8 knots.

Hi Everyone,
It appears that many of you use the Mack Tuna for Bait and Berley. You will allbe very happy to learn that they are all back where you can go out and catch them.

Thanks for all the kind words and responses.

Frank OO

death_ship
22-03-2009, 08:32 AM
thats commitment Frank, dont think i woulda stuck it out in those winds, have to agree the tuna were thick as last week i had to troll around the little buggers to stop hooking up
cheers Brett

Frank OO
22-03-2009, 09:41 AM
Hi Brett,

You did well scoring a couple of great speedsters.

Hopefully the weather will settle down soon. I don't mind the rain but the wind is starting to drive me nuts.

Frank OO

Sandman
22-03-2009, 10:06 AM
Your the king with those Nuc's & plastics Frank first for most things ive heard of being caught on plastics Marlin now Rainbows i wait to see your next cause im not catching much sitting here :)

22-03-2009, 10:12 AM
Go the 4" Mack Baits!

Put singles on them and they good for marlin. I am 3 from 4 on them for the season so far.

Frank OO
22-03-2009, 02:02 PM
Thanks Smithy,

I didn't realise they would be that good. I will change to singles.

Frank OO

Sandman
22-03-2009, 03:35 PM
Hey smithy spied you at the boat show friday, you were to fast to say gday you looked like a man on a mission.
mick

backlash08
22-03-2009, 06:11 PM
Thanks for the pics Frank, looks bumpy out there
cheers - Craig

brisboys
22-03-2009, 06:56 PM
Excellent work mate!
Thanks for the pictures, there awesome fish you got there.
Nice work with the lures

Sam

WestOzDesertFisher
22-03-2009, 10:40 PM
Simply stunning Frank, as always. Absolutely awesome pics! Cheers for another great report.

Damo

Frank OO
23-03-2009, 02:54 PM
Hi Damo,

When are comming over for a fish?

Frank OO

Tassie JR
23-03-2009, 10:29 PM
Nice work again frank, u sure know how to pic the days dont you;). Dad had friday off and was gonna head out but decided on callen it quits at the last min looks like he made the right desision. least use still got a couple.

cheers Dan

Frank OO
25-03-2009, 09:35 AM
Hi Dan,

Nice to hear from you. Things must be a bit quiet for you lately.

Hope to hear some good news from you soon.

Frank OO

seapup
25-03-2009, 02:17 PM
Hay Frank, You need to take up surfing so this wind and swell doesnt drive you nuts! Have you seen any boys tow surf off Flinders in big clean groundswells? I am keen to take my waverunner out there for a wave when its on over winter.
Benny.

Tassie JR
25-03-2009, 05:27 PM
Hi Dan,

Nice to hear from you. Things must be a bit quiet for you lately.

Hope to hear some good news from you soon.

Frank OO

yeah frank, well we havent had 2 many fish or trips on that matter 2 report on:-/, theres alot of water between the fish, used the boat probally 4 times since xmas, well she was off the water for around 2 1/2 months, due to the 2 60's being broken>:(, now she finally got the new motor, the weather has been terrible:'(. Bring on winter again. And its great that works now pretty much bac on track.

cheers Dan

Steve B
25-03-2009, 08:03 PM
Ah Frank, only you would be out in that mess!!!:D and you still caught some great fish...well done mate. Good to catch up with you and me old mate Dumpy at Borumba the other day.

Cheers Steve