View Full Version : Honda or Suzuki 4 Stroke

brute898
17-03-2009, 10:51 AM
Hi, I am starting to work out my pkans for a new boat, I am 95% sure I want to Barcrusher 560C and now need to work out what outboard I want for it.

The two I am thinking of is the Suzuki 140hp 4 stroke or the Honda 150hp 4 stroke. First of all does anyone know what the pricing difference between the two would be.
Second does anyone know of any pros or cons on each outboard and how many k's per litre you get out of each one.

What would you choose?

Pazz01
17-03-2009, 10:56 AM
The 140 suz is a oversized 4 cylinder and I think the 150's are 6 cylinders. So there will be some price difference in comparing those I think Based on my knowledge of them.

The father in-law has a 140 on a 6 meter and it goes ok, bit slow for me. And to get it go reasonably quick it is reving its head off.

Just my two cents worth.

Pazz

levinge
17-03-2009, 11:22 AM
Your opening up a can of worms.

Both good motors

I own a Honda BF135 and it pushes my 5.95M boat just fine.

Good on the fuel with 2.4 KLM to the Litre, very quiet, very responsive, quick holeshot and acccelaration.

The Honda has the better emmissions control system of the 2, but I am sure the Suzi guys will disagree, however CO2 levels ordinary in the Suzi and are not a touch on the Honda. Resale the hondas hold berter value overall.

The hondas are a touch more expensive than the Suzi

But personal choice at the end of the day. Holdens and Fords

honda900
17-03-2009, 11:44 AM
I have a 140 on a yalta 555 glass, 6.0 loa probly a little bit heavier than Levinge's boat. I get 2.1 -2.2 Km's a Litre.

the honda 150 is a 6, the 135 is a 4.
The zuke 140 is a 4 and the 150 is a six. may want to bear that in mind when pricing the motors.

As for performance the zuke is fixed with the right prop, get the solas 4 blade overdrive and the motor will perform great, has taken a lot of testing to find the right prop for my boat.

The other consideration is the weight the Honda 4 is 30kilos heavier that the suzuki ( probly the anti pollution junk) ;D .

Anyway dont think you will go wrong either way.

Honda

brute898
17-03-2009, 11:46 AM
Thanks levinge, do you know what the weight of your boat is? Also would you mind giving me a rough price of what your Honda was worth?

Thanks Brock

17-03-2009, 11:53 AM
I have a 140 on a yalta 555 glass, 6.0 loa probly a little bit heavier than Levinge's boat. I get 2.1 -2.2 Km's a Litre.

the honda 150 is a 6, the 135 is a 4.
The zuke 140 is a 4 and the 150 is a six. may want to bear that in mind when pricing the motors.

As for performance the zuke is fixed with the right prop, get the solas 4 blade overdrive and the motor will perform great, has taken a lot of testing to find the right prop for my boat.

The other consideration is the weight the Honda 4 is 30kilos heavier that the suzuki ( probly the anti pollution junk) ;D .

Anyway dont think you will go wrong either way.

Honda

Honda by name but no by nature it seems:o

The Honda BF150 is a 2.4L 4 cylinder and so is the Suzi 150 and 175. Honda900 you really have no idea

The BF135 and BF150 are the same engine but the 150 has a different fuel map and it has the VTEC vale system.

The Suzi 140 is a 2L engine. You need to know how many CC engine pushes your 560 the best

17-03-2009, 12:04 PM
I reckon just get a 20cent coin, give it a flip and call heads or tails and be done with it, both Motors will be OK, I reckon the Suzuki looks a little better, but in the end, that matters little.

levinge
17-03-2009, 12:10 PM
Brock I believe the 135HP is around the 18K, don't quote me but thats probably the ball park.

Spaniard King might have a better idea on the price.

Dry weight of my Formosa (no gear etc) is 670kg, loaded with all the gear and the motor, fuel an guys x 3, probably come in around 1500kg rough

honda900
17-03-2009, 12:17 PM
Hey spaniard,

keep your pants on, was a mistake actually thought the 150 was a six, my mistake.

Honda by name for motorcycles, have ridden hondas all my life, would have bought a honda boat engine as well except the for the weight.

Honda

17-03-2009, 12:28 PM
I wouldn't pay too much attention to the weight difference between the 2 either, 30kg is SFA on a 5.6m boat.

Just a comparison between Brett's 135hp honda on his 580 c/cab formosa vs anothe mates Xtreme alloy 550c with a 140hp suzi.

Head you head, brett's boat came out the winner, bigger, heavier boat, less ponies, and blitzed the 140hp. It's amazing what the right prop can do to help performance. both used roughly the same fuel figures throughout the whole weekend.

Both are good engines, honda might be a bit pricier than the suzi (suzuki recently had price rises too, so that could have changed as well), but suzuki have a 7 year warranty compared to Honda's 5, but I don't know the ins and outs of them so there might well be little benefit there. For me, choosing one of those 2 would just come down to dealer and service, as in who will give me the best deal and who will give me the best after sales service and also factor in maintenance costs as well, how much will it cost to service each engine?

MikeyS
17-03-2009, 12:46 PM
Honda by name but no by nature it seems:o

The Honda BF150 is a 2.4L 4 cylinder and so is the Suzi 150 and 175. Honda900 you really have no idea

At the risk of the pot (Spaniard) calling the kettle (Honda900) black, I think you'll find that the Suzi DF150 and DF175 are both 2.867 litre 4 cyl 4-strokes. Or has someone added an extra .467 litres to my DF150?:-/

Far side
17-03-2009, 01:03 PM
Get the Zuk they are factory fitted and the boad is delivered spot on

17-03-2009, 02:39 PM
At the risk of the pot (Spaniard) calling the kettle (Honda900) black, I think you'll find that the Suzi DF150 and DF175 are both 2.867 litre 4 cyl 4-strokes. Or has someone added an extra .467 litres to my DF150?:-/

mikey sorry If you missread or I missled::) but I was refering to those engines being 4 cylinder engines;)

17-03-2009, 02:41 PM
::)
Get the Zuk they are factory fitted and the boad is delivered spot on

Gee thats good to know allsuzukis come from the factory fitted.. suppose they just get anyone to fit a Honda these days eh::)

levinge
17-03-2009, 04:09 PM
Garry your just being nasty there man. Don't you know the Honda's magically appear, correctly fitted and propped by the Honda Fairies!!!!! TIC

capt
17-03-2009, 04:44 PM
Hey Brute,

It"s not easy chosing the perfect rig, but your at the right place to get sprayed with all the options available.

Personally, my 150 Honda with the V-TEC fuel system. pushes my 5.5mt glass boat along beautifully.............economical and smooth as silk.

I have tested the small B/C you like, and wonder how many other hulls you have tried.

It would be a great time to be in the market for a new boat..........test drive in all conditions is the only way to go

Good luck..............Jimmy

Luke G
17-03-2009, 09:08 PM
I've got a 150 Suzuki on my boat and its been great. I've only got 270 hours on it but its been great so far. You can spin a bigger prop with the Suzuki which is handy if you troll allot. They are very quiet.

black runner
17-03-2009, 09:47 PM
Have seen and been in 560's with as low as 115 Suzuki and Yamaha 4 strokes and perform well with correct proping. I reckon the 135 Honda is an ideal choice with ample torque (much more than the Suz 140) and a lighter price tag than the Suzi 150. Have a good look at the specs vs price (check the cc, bore, stroke, WOT of the 140 compared to the Suz 115 and Honda 135). Anything over 115 will be great on the 560.

Great boat and with a 135 would be sweet as!

rustymarlin
18-03-2009, 06:55 AM
I think if you look at the specs this boat is only rated to 140hp so a 150 is not an option . My cousin has just bought the 560c with a 115 etec and he loves it normally only fishes 2 up . Also barcrusher fit the suzukis at the factory where they build these boats as an option but alot of people still pick other motors and get them dealer fitted

brute898
18-03-2009, 07:33 AM
Hey rustymarlin I thought this boat was only rated to a 140hp to but I just checked in the barcrusher brochure and it says rated to carry 115-150hp outboard. maybe I should check that it is correct.

STUIE63
18-03-2009, 08:05 AM
check the weight as well not just the hp

18-03-2009, 08:12 AM
have a think about your usage too mate. the 150's will be priced quite a step up from the 135/140 (definitely for the suzuki anyway), if you don't need the mumbo then you can make a good saving on your initial purchase. if it's outright performance you're after then go the 150. that being said, a 5.6m tinny will be no slouch with a 135/140 on it's bum. both motors are top shelf items so choose one sold by the dealer you like best i reckon.

business class
18-03-2009, 10:10 AM
i believe put on the biggest engine possible, as you always need the power some where along the line. You don't have to use it all the time with the throttle all the way down, and the power is there if need be. I think you will find haveing the bigger engine will not chew as much fuel as what people think as it will be working no way near as hard as the smaller engine under load. If you can afford it go the bigger donk IMO. And with the motor brand choice the 150 honda preformed better the the 150 Zuke on the same boat with same fit out, and the Honda won hands down in. And that is just a fact.

Matty

brute898
18-03-2009, 11:15 AM
You are correct rustymarlin I cant put a 150 Honda on it.
They said the ideal match for the 560C are 140 Suzuki, 135 Honda, 150 E-Tec and 150 Yammy

suzygs1000
18-03-2009, 11:35 AM
I have 140 Suzy on 5.8m (6.1 LOA) plate, which weighs spot on 1000 kg's with motor and 50l fuel, (no gear). (weighbridged).

Just over 70 kmh at 6200 , 40 kmh at 4000, and 2.4 to 2.5 km per litre with 2 and gear onboard.

Standard 21 ' prop.

No shortage of power or get up and go.

rumy1
18-03-2009, 07:59 PM
Why aren't you comparing apples with apples ... in other words 150 v's 150 .... I would go the Suzuki if it were between 150's but either way would be great for your boat. The 150 Honda would push the 560 BC along alot quicker than the 140. I used to own a 140 and it was great.

Luke G
18-03-2009, 08:28 PM
And with the motor brand choice the 150 honda preformed better the the 150 Zuke on the same boat with same fit out, and the Honda won hands down in. And that is just a fact.

Where did you read this?

18-03-2009, 08:48 PM
Where did you read this?

He didn't read it, he tested the boats before handing them over to there owners.

I wasnt privy to the suzi test but I did fit the Honda :)

White Pointer
18-03-2009, 11:54 PM
Hi, I am starting to work out my pkans for a new boat, I am 95% sure I want to Barcrusher 560C and now need to work out what outboard I want for it.

The two I am thinking of is the Suzuki 140hp 4 stroke or the Honda 150hp 4 stroke. First of all does anyone know what the pricing difference between the two would be.
Second does anyone know of any pros or cons on each outboard and how many k's per litre you get out of each one.

What would you choose?

G'day.

Both are excellent engines but there are some compromises. The 560C will work OK with a 115Hp on a cruise, but you are right to look for more hole shot grunt for safety. Both are large capacity 4-cylinder engines and have the advanced features for fuel economy so there is little between them.

I recall that the Suzuki is a bit lighter than Honda and Yamaha. That's a help trailering and keeping the boat level in the water, but there's not much in it.

Barcrusher Boats in Melbourne are a Suzuki dealer. If you're packaging a boat through a dealer who doesn't carry Suzuki Barcrusher will do the deal and fit the engine and rigging kit ex-factory.

The advantage is that you can ask the factory to set up the NMEA2000 interface cabling on the engine and complete the hydraulic steering linkages (you must have hydraulic steering!).

The only disadvantage is that you are not one-stop shopping and may have to find you own Suzuki service agent - which may not be a disadvantage at all.

White Pointer

Far side
19-03-2009, 05:41 AM
::)

Gee thats good to know allsuzukis come from the factory fitted.. suppose they just get anyone to fit a Honda these days eh::)

What I should have said was that Barcrusher are a Zuk agent and fit the motors at the factory. The boat requires the longer leg and because they fit so many the installation is spot on.

At least mine was

business class
19-03-2009, 08:47 AM
Where did you read this?

:D :D I read this from a delivery i have just done.... so the facts were their plan and simple. both had the same fit out, same fuel on board and same amount of passangers and were tested in the same area where there is very minimal amount of currents to play apart in the test. I own a zuke myself a 140hp to be exact very happy with the engine but it just doesn't have enough power for what i need to achieve, so i am just about to switch over to a Honda.;D ...... No matter weather you believe me or not it doesn't matter as i was just telling the truth about the two engines on the same boat and how they preformed, and sorry to say but the honda come out on top hands down...... So if you are after actuall facts the Honda 150 preformed better then the Zuke.

Matty

dean grieve
19-03-2009, 02:38 PM
1 135hp honda puts out 140hp at 5500rpm 140 suz puts out 128hp at 6000 rpm 135=2354cc 140=2044cc

19-03-2009, 03:12 PM
Garry your just being nasty there man. Don't you know the Honda's magically appear, correctly fitted and propped by the Honda Fairies!!!!! TIC

Ok Brett, so now you are calling Garry a fairy???

Dont know about that but the Barcrusher would fly with a 150 E-Tec hanging off the back...;):)

19-03-2009, 03:17 PM
140 suz puts out 128hp at 6000 rpm

Uh Oh Dean...What are you really saying about "The Worlds Best Outboard"..;)

Maybe that its highly "overrated"...:)

dean grieve
19-03-2009, 03:34 PM
law is 15percent

levinge
19-03-2009, 03:39 PM
Ok Brett, so now you are calling Garry a fairy???

Dont know about that but the Barcrusher would fly with a 150 E-Tec hanging off the back...;):)

If the wings fit!!!!!

Tim_N
19-03-2009, 03:42 PM
I thought it was 10%? Eg Yammie F150 =165 hp at full noise which = +10% and Suzi 140 hp = 128 hp @ 6000 rpm which = almost -10%.
Both can still be sold under their quoted hp brackets quite legitimately.

dean grieve
19-03-2009, 04:03 PM
I thought it was 10%? Eg Yammie F150 =165 hp at full noise which = +10% and Suzi 140 hp = 128 hp @ 6000 rpm which = almost -10%.
Both can still be sold under their quoted hp brackets quite legitimately.
just giving him some facts to help him chose there all good

19-03-2009, 08:44 PM
settle down you blokes... I have never owned a set of wings :P

I am with Tim 10% is the given margin.. 15% gawd that would put the cat amoungst the pigeons

Luke G
19-03-2009, 08:49 PM
:D :D I read this from a delivery i have just done.... so the facts were their plan and simple. both had the same fit out, same fuel on board and same amount of passangers and were tested in the same area where there is very minimal amount of currents to play apart in the test. I own a zuke myself a 140hp to be exact very happy with the engine but it just doesn't have enough power for what i need to achieve, so i am just about to switch over to a Honda.;D ...... No matter weather you believe me or not it doesn't matter as i was just telling the truth about the two engines on the same boat and how they preformed, and sorry to say but the honda come out on top hands down...... So if you are after actuall facts the Honda 150 preformed better then the Zuke.

Matty

Fair enough.

Out of curiosity did the suzuki rig have 16'' dia props?

19-03-2009, 09:17 PM
Can you post up the dyno reports for both engines? Where did you get those ratings?

levinge
19-03-2009, 09:30 PM
Me Thinks you might be fond of the odd Red Bull there Garry TIC

Love me Honda 135, suits me just fine, I've used yammies, evinrude and Johnsons, they are nowhere near the Honda, but thats me.

Either way Suzuki or Honda I think you'll do alright, just gt it propped right!!!

19-03-2009, 09:34 PM
[quote=levinge;988861]Me Thinks you might be fond of the odd Red Bull there Garry TIC
quote]

nah don't touch the suff:-/ born and bred on bundy;)