View Full Version : KEVELAR CAT: 5.2M compare to 6.2M

screaming reels
12-03-2009, 09:43 PM
G'day guys, been looking at trying out another cat(just sold mono) I'm after thoughts on 6.2M kevlar cat as a comparision to all the hype that i read on the 5.2M kevelar cats, which sound like the bee all and end all of that size range. Thanks Brent

Damned67
12-03-2009, 09:48 PM
Who's going to be the first to point out that it's a metre longer?
:)

sharkcat one
12-03-2009, 09:51 PM
Hi Screaming Reels,

try looking at the Commander Cat 6.2m ( 5990 )

more features than the K.C. and about $25,000 cheaper

look in trailerboat fisherman magazine march/april issue 2009 ( latest issue )
the boat is on the front cover and 5 page test write up inside

their web address is www.commandercatamarans.com.au (http://www.commandercatamarans.com.au)

Dean1
13-03-2009, 08:25 AM
Hi Screaming Reels,

try looking at the Commander Cat 6.2m ( 5990 )

more features than the K.C. and about $25,000 cheaper

look in trailerboat fisherman magazine march/april issue 2009 ( latest issue )
the boat is on the front cover and 5 page test write up inside

their web address is www.commandercatamarans.com.au (http://www.commandercatamarans.com.au) Good looking boats the 5990.

I noted that the cockpit area is 3m x 1.8m tho, a 5.2kc is 3.4m x 2.3m which is a fair bit bigger deck for a smaller boat.

Must have a big cab area the 5990's. All depends where you want your space to be i guess for me its the deck ;) What is the overall weight of the 5990's?? Cheers.

mirage
13-03-2009, 06:09 PM
It sounds like S R is looking for a second hand boat if he is asking about 6.2's.

Did we mention the 6.2 is a metre longer?

Seriously, usually nothing beats length for a better ride. However I've only got time in 5.2's and 6.5's. I've heard nothing bad about the 6.2 though, I think they are a very capable boat.

boatboy50
13-03-2009, 07:43 PM
IMHO,

The 6.2m is as good as the 5.2. They less popularity of the 6.2 is due to it's size making it harder to tow, bigger horsepower, more fuel, bigger to store ect ect.

The 5.2's success is due to the fact that it could do anything as well as a boat twice it's size, yet was so easy to power, store ect ect.

It's funny that with Kevlacat today, the 2400 is so popular, and the 1900 is a rarity, the complete opposite to the old models.

fly_1
14-03-2009, 05:11 PM
thats because the new 5.2m is a dog of a boat. Extra planning strake in the hull (although some will say its no different/??!!), and with the new wider gunnels etc, the internal cockpit area is actually smaller. The new rounded screen also makes it much harder to fit all the electrical goodies in as well as a few other little changes.
Back to the original post though, the 6.2 was/is a good boat, although it was never a really big seller. The original 5.2 is as mentioned above, is probably a better alround boat as its easier to store, trailer etc, and rides "ALMOST" as well as the larger brother. Thats why when Fred designed the new 6.5 they kept the 5.2 unchanged. I have fished alot in kevlacats from the 5.2m ( which I own one, as does my brother) thru to the 3400 magnum, and the old truths of you cant beat waterline length is very very true.
If you can get a 6.2m for a good price, and bolt on a pair of new fourstrokes etc, and have the ability to tow/store the bigger boat, I would grab it. You wont be disappointed...

bdaearth
14-03-2009, 08:20 PM
Good looking boats the 5990.

I noted that the cockpit area is 3m x 1.8m tho, a 5.2kc is 3.4m x 2.3m which is a fair bit bigger deck for a smaller boat.

Must have a big cab area the 5990's. All depends where you want your space to be i guess for me its the deck ;) What is the overall weight of the 5990's?? Cheers.

Deano the 2400 is where its at! word has it there is going to be a good one on the market soon as he is upgrading already:o

14-03-2009, 08:29 PM
buy it dean, harden up fooker!!!!!!!!!!!!!
i'll buy your 5.2 and turn it into a sandpit for the boy!

Mister
14-03-2009, 09:03 PM
If you can get a 6.2m for a good price, and bolt on a pair of new fourstrokes etc

What 4S's would you suggest to bolt on?

Maccas
14-03-2009, 09:43 PM
When I was looking at buying a Kevlacat to replace my Sharkcat I was looking at a KC 2400, a KC 6.2 or a 5.2 KC so I sent a email to Peter Webster of Fisherman & Boatowner magazine. He reckoned that the KC 5.2 would go anywhere that a KC 6.2 would go and all you got was bigger cabin and more costs. I have attached part of his reply to me below.
I was keen on a KC 6.2 but after I compared them I found that the deck area is similar in size and the cabin in the 6.2 is bigger than the 5.2. The ride must be a bit better because the 6.2 is a bigger boat but the running costs are higher because you need bigger motors and a bigger tow vehicle like a Landcruiser or Patrol. If you have to repower then the costs of that are higher than doing the same to a 5.2.
The 5.2 is easier to handle because it is smaller and it still handles well in the rough stuff. All in all if you have the money pick the bigger boat if it suits you, but if you are on a budget then the KC 5.2 is a great boat for the money and the running costs IMHO :)

Maccas

15-03-2009, 01:21 AM
To back up what others have said, i fish side by side to a 6.2 for 3 days , on the good days he was quicker ( 2 x 115's ) but when the conditions got above 15 knots there was nothing in it at all, the boats handled the conditions in a very similar way maybe mine (5.2) was more sensitive to trim but there was no differance across the ground as far as speed or ride went! As other have stated the big differance is in cabin room and helm position , fishing room is the same!

over the 3 days the 6.2 used 40% more fuel than i did and when it came to towing it was a no brainer, mine being well under 2 tonne and the 6.2 close to 2.5 tonne!

For me the 5.2 is the better pic but if i didn't tow any great distances and fuel( both cost and range ) wasn't an issue i could see the attraction in the 6.2

hope that helps !

15-03-2009, 12:24 PM
Screaming Reels,

I've got a 5.2 sitting in the back yard at the moment. I'm prepared to sell her at a very very cheap price - just PM me for details.;)

fly_1
16-03-2009, 06:55 AM
Couldnt agree with finding time ( IAN ) more.

16-03-2009, 07:52 AM
Fished out of both models a thousand times (well almost) and it is as some have mentioned, both Boats more than capable of almost anything thrown at them, so I guess it comes down to do you need the extra size (the 6.2 is a BIG Boat compared to the 5.2) the 6.2 is a lot more expensive to buy, power, maintain and tow, but if this is not an issue, then go for the 6.2 either way you will not be disappointed, I think MAYBE the 6.2 has the edge in performance, but certainly not by much, the diference is so small people will argue about it for ages (mainly 5.2 owners)

Dean1
16-03-2009, 08:58 PM
buy it dean, harden up fooker!!!!!!!!!!!!!
i'll buy your 5.2 and turn it into a sandpit for the boy! Whats that your gonna buy my boat and turn yours into a sandpit, now theres an idea!!;)

Dean1
16-03-2009, 09:33 PM
Deano the 2400 is where its at! word has it there is going to be a good one on the market soon as he is upgrading already:o No way hopefully ill be fishing out of a 3000 in the near future ;D Id need that tow vehicle of your old boys if I went down that path. Cheers.

16-03-2009, 09:39 PM
Not trying to derail the original question but how does the old 6.2m stack up against a 2400 KC?

I dont know what it is about the 6.2m but the 5.2m certainly looks better with the top deck geometry :-/

16-03-2009, 11:31 PM

2400 is in a differant league imho , this starts with the 140's and ends with the cabin space. But again it's a bigger boat and at 3000kg without fishing gear it's a bigger boat again! Maybe a fairer comparision to a 6.2 would be a 2100, but i've never been in a 2100!

Ps i know what you mean about the 6.2 , it looks a little wrong.

ian

John Buoy
17-03-2009, 08:37 AM
i know what you mean about the 6.2 , it looks a little wrong.

ian

Finally after all these years someone has confirmed my thoughts.
I reckon the cab looks deformed on the 6.2.
As much as i luv the 5.2 i'm totally opposite with the looks of the 6.2 :(

regards Frank

17-03-2009, 08:51 AM
I guess that's what makes us all different, I reckon the 6.2 looks way better than the 5.2, not to mention the front deck is flat so you can walk on it if need be.

Dean1
17-03-2009, 09:01 AM
My opinion is that the 5.2 looks more in proportion. Their a fast looking boat the 5.2's!! Noelm the 6.2 may be more practical been flatter id agree. Is this the main reason your not a huge fan of the 5.2's Noelm? ;D

17-03-2009, 09:23 AM
nope, I have been in a 5.2 heaps of times, and would maybe own one if the price was right (maybe) but as I said sometime before they are not the be all to end all, just like Seafarers, they have their loyal owners and so be it, they are a fine Boat and considering their size, probably a great Boat, not too many 5.2 (and bigger) Boats will be anywhere near as good, including Haines and Seafarer and all the rest.

17-03-2009, 09:25 AM
OH and I still reckon 80 to 90 HP a side is needed to get the very best out of them, they perform OK with 60 and 70, but more HP is when they really start to "come alive" but as in all things Boating, it is a compromise you can't have everything.

17-03-2009, 09:36 AM
just to recap what you get in a 5.2 metre Boat, a full lock up cabin, 2 bunks (a bit cosy though) a big fishing deck area, unrivaled stabilty, twin motors set wide apart, excellent ride, easy launch and retieve (even single handed) twin batteries and fuel supply, moderate tow vehicle, moderate HP needs, need I go on? show me ANY Mono (or cat) that can compete with that! that was just to show that I do not dislike the 5.2 by the way.

Dean1
17-03-2009, 10:19 AM
Well said Noelm, you nearly have me convinced!! ;D Yeah they are expensive boats but an equivalent mono would cost an arm & leg as well.

I always feel so safe in mine, every square inch of the 5.2's is usable, love the uncluttered deck, hard to better it. Everybody ive taken out in mine has been very impressed, but as you say the more grunt the better. My new 60's are doing the job but just. I would like more grunt but until a lightweight 90 4 stroke comes out ill have to stick with the 60's. The suzzi's are still too heavy IMHO.

Id love a 2400 but I dont want to buy a bigger tow vehicle, have bigger running costs etc. I'll go where they go no worries. Hows your Rebel cat going Noelm, werent you selling it? Cheers.

17-03-2009, 10:33 AM
also an equivalent Mono would be about 7 metres long! and have a 200HP Engine, and then still be only half as good!

legsy11
18-05-2009, 07:40 PM

2400 is in a differant league imho , this starts with the 140's and ends with the cabin space. But again it's a bigger boat and at 3000kg without fishing gear it's a bigger boat again! Maybe a fairer comparision to a 6.2 would be a 2100, but i've never been in a 2100!

Ps i know what you mean about the 6.2 , it looks a little wrong.

ian

hmmm?pretty sure the suzi 115s same weight as 140s.

legsy11
18-05-2009, 07:43 PM
if a 2400 is in another league to a 6.2 then a 5.2 is universe apart compared to the 6.2.

18-05-2009, 08:43 PM
if a 2400 is in another league to a 6.2 then a 5.2 is universe apart compared to the 6.2.

legsy

The 6.2 is bacically a stretched 5.2 and has a similar power to weight ratio with 90's on as many had , when you compare a 6.2 with 115's to a 5.2 it would be fairer to have 90's on the 5.2 like kittycat has! A 2400 comes with 140's and is a very differant boat to a 6.2 even with 115's it's not a weight of engine issue but a performance issue!

Trust me when i say a 6.2 is faster on a good day but once it gets rough handles very similarly to a 5.2 but a 2400 is a very differant beast and as such drives very very differantly in any given sea. A 6.2 no more relates to a 2400 than a 5.2 does but a 5.2 can be compared to a 6.2 because they are quite similar in many aspects! Would i own a 2400 sure but is is a much more expensive boat to own, run , tow etc. Lovely boat though and hopefully i'm spending next monday on one of the cape!

fly_1
19-05-2009, 09:31 AM
Actually, the 6.2m was built well before Fred ever thought of building the 5.2m.So not a stretched model at all.
Hulls are alittle different, and the old 6.2's are very heavy due to the timber used in the construction. As these models progressed, the use of timber was reduced, although both models still have some in them.

19-05-2009, 09:43 AM
Actually, the 6.2m was built well before Fred ever thought of building the 5.2m.So not a stretched model at all.
Hulls are alittle different, and the old 6.2's are very heavy due to the timber used in the construction. As these models progressed, the use of timber was reduced, although both models still have some in them.

Thank Mate!;)

What i guess i ment by saying it was streched was that the hull designs are very similar (as you stated) only longer, where as the 2400 hulls are very differant and a 6.2 and 2400 are a very differant beast!

19-05-2009, 09:50 AM
anyone remember the dudes name that started building them before Fred joined in?

fly_1
19-05-2009, 10:03 AM
Actually Freds brother Jack was the was the original brains and money behind kevlacat. Fred was the designer of the 5.2 and 7.2m, although not sure who actually came up with the 6.2 original. Other originals were Harry Carter, Paul ( cant remember his name, and Russel Doyl from memory.

19-05-2009, 10:24 AM
that's him, Jack! I have known Harry for many many years, since he lived in the Illawarra, I think the "Paul" was Paul D'Aurio, but he was only "associated" with the brand, not an owner or designer (I think)

19-05-2009, 10:42 AM
Continuing above I think Paul D'Auria had a bit to do with the early Coastal Cats.

Back to the original thread, if it is the 6.2 with Yammie 4 strokes on Boatpoint from Hervey Bay it is a great buy. Jase is a top bloke and fishes that across Breaksea Spit all the time. It has all the fruit like a 585 Furuno too.

legsy11
19-05-2009, 11:47 PM
legsy

The 6.2 is bacically a stretched 5.2 and has a similar power to weight ratio with 90's on as many had , when you compare a 6.2 with 115's to a 5.2 it would be fairer to have 90's on the 5.2 like kittycat has! A 2400 comes with 140's and is a very differant boat to a 6.2 even with 115's it's not a weight of engine issue but a performance issue!

Trust me when i say a 6.2 is faster on a good day but once it gets rough handles very similarly to a 5.2 but a 2400 is a very differant beast and as such drives very very differantly in any given sea. A 6.2 no more relates to a 2400 than a 5.2 does but a 5.2 can be compared to a 6.2 because they are quite similar in many aspects! Would i own a 2400 sure but is is a much more expensive boat to own, run , tow etc. Lovely boat though and hopefully i'm spending next monday on one of the cape!

gday,
the way i see it is the 5.2 with 90 4s is the equal of 6.2 with 140 4s.most 5.2s run 702s as a lot of 6.2s run 902s.been in both and i can tell u that the 6.2 feels far superior imo,as expected from a metre extra.both very good.the 2400 does also feel very superior to the 6.2 as does the 2300 nc.for pure fishing with light load i would go the 5.2. load or family passengers 6.2 or above.

mick.

20-05-2009, 12:44 AM
Have I read it right (forgot who mentioned it) that the new 1900KC rides worse than the older 5.2m KC? Also is it worth the extra money (if you had it) to go a 2100KC over the 1900KC these days? Also would the 2100KC be at great performance just using 90hp suzies as opposed to the max 115hp donks?Does the 2100 have more deck space than the 1900 or just more cabin?

Sorry to get off the original topic but kinda related and could be good info seeing its in the size range.

boatboy50
20-05-2009, 08:59 AM
Have I read it right (forgot who mentioned it) that the new 1900KC rides worse than the older 5.2m KC? Also is it worth the extra money (if you had it) to go a 2100KC over the 1900KC these days? Also would the 2100KC be at great performance just using 90hp suzies as opposed to the max 115hp donks?Does the 2100 have more deck space than the 1900 or just more cabin?

Sorry to get off the original topic but kinda related and could be good info seeing its in the size range.

Hey,

I've driven the 2100KC powered by a pair of old style 70hp Suzuki four strokes. It was surprisingly powerful, pulling out to a max of 38 knots.

There is no way you would need a pair of 115 4 bangers. I think it would spoil the performance.

Scaredy Cat
03-06-2009, 08:34 PM
IMHO,

It's funny that with Kevlacat today, the 2400 is so popular, and the 1900 is a rarity, the complete opposite to the old models.

The reason the 1900 is not as popular might have something to do with the demo boat that I bought from the local dealer was never set up right and ran like a dog, I have changed the props and all is good now. I imagine many sales have been lost due to the poor performance of the demo boat.
All good for me as I got the boat at the right price just so they could get out of it;D ;D

04-06-2009, 03:45 AM
Hey Scaredy Cat, so do you like the 1900? Have you ridden in the older 5.2KC? If so how would you compare the ride of the two?

Scaredy Cat
04-06-2009, 08:04 PM
Hey Scaredy Cat, so do you like the 1900? Have you ridden in the older 5.2KC? If so how would you compare the ride of the two?

Only been for a short ride in Ian's 5.2, It was what sold me on KC, from what I can tell- not much difference in speed or ride now mine set up right, I'm still not the best person to talk to as I am still coming to terms with hammer down when it feels like I should be slowing down,
I would be interested in Ian coming for a run in my boat to hear his opinion.

Main reasons I went new at the time I was looking (things may have changed now)
Cost of second hand rig plus repairs or update electronics compared to price I paid
most old units needed re-powering
warranty and resale
5.2 not set up for weight of 4st
bigger fuel tanks 2x180l
As this is the first cat I have owned, after sales service was a big plus

David

06-06-2009, 12:57 AM
hey Scaredy thanks for that so I take it you would reccomend the 1900 to others?

What is yours powered by?

Scaredy Cat
14-06-2009, 12:29 PM
hey Scaredy thanks for that so I take it you would reccomend the 1900 to others?

What is yours powered by?

Sorry for the delay, have been away to Rainbow Beach,
Yes I would recommend any KC old or new, IMO it just depends on if you can find a good older boat for the right price. There is currently a few 2006 versions on Boatpoint, is it better to spend $75 with no more to spend or $35boat + $22repower+ other costs and resale value for the older boat?
Only the individual can answer.:P :-/
My boat is powered with Merc 60 Bigfoot’s, probable not my first choice in brand but ok for a few hundred more hours until I can justify an upgrade in HP. ;D

kitty_cat
14-06-2009, 03:24 PM
scaredy cat is right the boats ride very similiar, the floor hieght is a bonus(3-4 inches higher) on the new model to suit the hevier 4 strokes it is higher to stop the wet deck situation the the older models have, but with the weights of the the new 90hp suzukis not as big issue now , down fall to this is the new model has next to no cabin sleeping space(due to floor being higher less volume and a extra front bulk head in cabin) not saying old one is great but can manage a 3 day trip ok, fuel is a big issue with old model only 220 ltrs instead of 360 ltr again new 4 stroke helping,
ok as far as new verus old both ride great too close to worry about , the rest is up to individual.

p.s dave new boat $100k wont see $75k new kevlacat again (not that he paid that cheap after all said and done with electronics ect just dont wont people getting wrong idea of pricing)

2100 is the same deck space as 1900 exactly just has a decent cabin, but no walk around on 2100 and heaps diferent in its lines both are great boats but neither has a chance against the 2400 whole new ball game and a whole new price range so it should be a better boat.

wayne

Dean1
14-06-2009, 07:32 PM
Yeah well said Wayne. Ive thought it over and over myself. My 5.2 owes me near 65K now but I have an immaculate 1997 hull (older hull), new 4 strokes, aluminium trailer, new electronics. The next best thing would be a near new 1900 for say 75-80K. All I would benifit from is extra power and bigger fuel capacity. 2400's arent much dearer than a 2nd hand 1900 but we dont all want the extra running costs of a 2400. If you repodded and went crazy on an older 5.2 you could face 70K+ easily tho!!

Scaredy Cat
15-06-2009, 08:20 PM
p.s dave new boat $100k wont see $75k new kevlacat again (not that he paid that cheap after all said and done with electronics ect just dont wont people getting wrong idea of pricing)

wayne

Sorry, left out a few critical words,
The newer second hand boats on Boatpoint are in the high $70's. They are the boats I was refering to for $75k

16-06-2009, 01:33 AM
Sorry, left out a few critical words,
The newer second hand boats on Boatpoint are in the high $70's. They are the boats I was refering to for $75k

And those ones at the lower end of the cash dollars mostly have the older 90 2 stroke yammies. If i'm paying 70K+ for a boat you can bet it will have 4 strokes bolted on. I think If i buy a KC instead of importing a US cat the 2100KC will be my boat.