View Full Version : show us ya personal best catch

snappedoff
03-03-2009, 09:37 PM
This ute load came from the upper end of the passage near hussy's creek back in 98 haven't bettered this catch since. a mate and me two day trip every crab was full and the sandies were over 15cm across none of this 11.5cm crap! ahh those were the days. bagged out on the muddies ;D ;D

Tassie JR
04-03-2009, 04:52 PM
my avatar estimated him around 11-12 kg 94 cm long.

cheers tassie JR

Cammy
04-03-2009, 06:30 PM
Best catch Was a 90cm Flatty from yamba, no pic though :(

Cam

thephotoguru
04-03-2009, 07:15 PM
My little brother caught this last time he was in townsville.

Don't know how much it weighed though.

15lb mono with 30lb leader on live herring....

06-03-2009, 01:12 PM
My Avitar - 90cm snap off southport but the rest caught in Moreton bay

37 KG Cobe - Double hook up with my deckies' going 28Kg on Livebait
83 cm snap caught Mud Island on Pearl white Berkley 5" minow
15Kg LT caught at 4 beacons on live bait

Flex
06-03-2009, 03:09 PM
Every year I go up to Far north QLD, Went in just after the wet one year before alot of the Pro's hit it.

One pot he could hardly lift out of the water, thought It was snagged.

Then this came up

whatscracken
08-03-2009, 02:39 PM
Holy sh!t Flex, thats a great haul from a single pot mate

ryeham
08-03-2009, 05:20 PM
I've seen plenty of pictures of bigger barra but this is my best, being my first barra.....could not wipe the smile from my face for days!! Even better that I caught it whilst at work. Cheers.;D

whatscracken
09-03-2009, 07:32 PM
Nice fish ryeham, I need to get a job like yours mate ;D

Cobia Kid
09-03-2009, 08:41 PM
i wuld have to say this 400lb grouper on my 2lb whiting popper gear.. 4minute 30 fight, pretty sweet
boyne beach.
http://viewmorepics.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=viewImage&friendID=317084461&albumID=1000883&imageID=10437703

http://viewmorepics.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=viewImage&friendID=317084461&albumID=1000883&imageID=10437705

ronnien
10-03-2009, 01:26 PM
i wuld have to say this 400lb grouper on my 2lb whiting popper gear.. 4minute 30 fight, pretty sweet
boyne beach.
http://viewmorepics.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=viewImage&friendID=317084461&albumID=1000883&imageID=10437703

http://viewmorepics.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=viewImage&friendID=317084461&albumID=1000883&imageID=10437705

:o::), did you do a typeo?? maybe 4lb?
& your pic's dont work. ;)

ron.

yalta
12-03-2009, 08:08 PM
not my fish but it was caught on the boat from fiji that i supply my own brand of skirted lures that i make....

snagking
22-03-2009, 09:36 PM
Theres some nice pics guys, good work!

Cobia Kid
11-04-2009, 04:44 PM
naa no typo, 400lb

http://c2.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images02/55/l_94ebabc5e1584f4f98b84439095e45a5.jpg (http://viewmorepics.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=viewImage&friendID=317084461&albumID=1000883&imageID=10437700#a=1000883&i=10437701)

http://c2.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images02/44/l_5194ea4e6842470d82d7e20f2d6d4cc9.jpg (http://viewmorepics.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=viewImage&friendID=317084461&albumID=1000883&imageID=10437703#a=1000883&i=10437705)

11-04-2009, 04:54 PM
I am NOT playing this game. Too ashamed!;D;D;D

11-04-2009, 05:07 PM
Double post...

Karl Inge
11-04-2009, 06:35 PM
My little brother caught this last time he was in townsville.

Don't know how much it weighed though.

15lb mono with 30lb leader on live herring....

Thats such an amazing fish, what is it??

setthehook
11-04-2009, 09:28 PM
This would have to be one of my favourites. By far my biggest FISH from the shore. 131kg on 24kg tackle.

Karl Inge
11-04-2009, 10:38 PM
Thats insane :o

Justlenny073
06-05-2009, 06:28 PM
Hello,
i caught a 22kg Cod it was 122cm long,out at seaforth (near mackay)

MattyDucati
10-03-2010, 12:39 AM
Black jew, 140cm

10-03-2010, 05:13 PM
not trying to be rude..but why do people have pics taken of them holding fish?
I always think just a pic of the fish is much better without someone nursing it.

onerabbit
11-03-2010, 09:31 AM
Caught this 27kg Sambo in 06, haven't been able to better it yet, but still tryin'.

11-03-2010, 01:48 PM
My Avitar - all caught in Moreton bay

37 KG Cobe - Double hook up with my deckies' going 28Kg on Livebait
83 cm snap caught Mud Island on Pearl white Berkley 5" minow
15Kg LT caught at 4 beacons on live bait

Quoting myself from back then, Avitar has changed where the Snapper PB has been upgraded to 90cm but offshore goldy to get it:o

FishHunter
22-01-2011, 08:30 AM
25kg Giant Trevally caught on a trolled HB while kayak fishing off Slade Island Mackay

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y38/razzo/Australia/Fishing/Kayaking/Slade%20island%206-02-10/P1000864.jpg

22-01-2011, 09:03 AM
Lucky Phill and I landed (well, got him up next to the boat and released him) this fella in maybe June 2009. About 8 feet, 100+ kg easy.

We followed him for 2.5km, got him on a 400gm knife jig and 80lb braid 100 lb leader, buggered the rod completely. Took 1.25 hours.

23-01-2011, 12:16 PM
he's got a nice smile Tim.

Genesis
25-01-2011, 11:51 AM
Setthehook - Mate, that is a top catch!! Well done for your efforts!!

My PB is definitely a cobia caught off the reefs out at Gold Coast. I can still remember the experience like it was yesterday :)

AmrK87
01-04-2011, 10:40 PM
This would have to be one of my favourites. By far my biggest FISH from the shore. 131kg on 24kg tackle.

Whatttttttttttttttttttttt!

MattyDucati
05-04-2011, 05:08 AM
My new jewie PB from a few months back, 150cm:P

lethal
02-03-2013, 09:06 AM
894198941889417894168941589414894138941289411Some PB's and some firsts

Qlder1
02-03-2013, 02:32 PM
not trying to be rude..but why do people have pics taken of them holding fish?
I always think just a pic of the fish is much better without someone nursing it.

Probly because in 20 or so years time you can look back and think "fark I'd love to be that young again.." :)

http://www.ultrahobbies.com.au/images/wahoobigforweb.jpg

Nicko_Cairns
02-03-2013, 06:15 PM
yeah i've caught a few noahs on knife jigs too..

Lucky Phill and I landed (well, got him up next to the boat and released him) this fella in maybe June 2009. About 8 feet, 100+ kg easy.

We followed him for 2.5km, got him on a 400gm knife jig and 80lb braid 100 lb leader, buggered the rod completely. Took 1.25 hours.

cuzzamundi
02-03-2013, 07:22 PM
Probly because in 20 or so years time you can look back and think "fark I'd love to be that young again.." :)

http://www.ultrahobbies.com.au/images/wahoobigforweb.jpg

Insane, mate. What did she weigh? Great fish.

Cuzza

Qlder1
03-03-2013, 08:08 AM
Insane, mate. What did she weigh? Great fish.

Cuzza

We didn't have scales big enough on the boat.. Deckies estimated it to have been well over 45kg. We lost a few kilos of the tail at the duckboard when a shark wanted a piece.

Moonlighter
03-03-2013, 08:30 AM
Last year, caught this snapper offshore a bit south of Ballina.

11.0kg on the lie detector.
Shimano Saragossa 4000 spin reel loaded with 20lb braid, 20lb flourocarbon leader
Shimano Jewel 6-8kg spin rod
TT jighead 3/4 oz with Berkley 7" soft plastic in Sweet n Sour chicken orange colour.

My best fish by far on a SP.

Took about 15 mins to get it into the boat.

http://i729.photobucket.com/albums/ww298/Moonlighters_album/11kgupload2.jpg

mitch_wahoo
03-03-2013, 08:50 AM
Here's a couple of mine. Spanish mackeral weighed in at 25kg with no head, tail or guts. We had to cut the off to fit in esky.

And the gt I have no idea on weight as he was released.

cuzzamundi
03-03-2013, 03:18 PM
QLDER1, I was gonna even ask if she cracked the 50kg mark. Either way one to take to the grave. Truly effin massive.

Cuzza

aus2045
12-03-2013, 08:52 AM
Way back in 1997 got this near Murphy's Reef off Mooloolabah trolling in my tiller steer 4.2m Tinny on 10kg gear. Weight unknown, it was released after this pic, but it's my best catch ever.

http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s149/aus2045/Capture-1.png

13-03-2013, 07:39 PM
Caught a few years ago now. ( pre bag limts etc )

Mooloolaba.

fished 2 sessions for 2 hours each session. At night. Peeled prawns as bait. Land based.

104 Bream
couple of flathead and couple of jew.

That is a 100ltr Coleman esky.

The fish fed 4 families on our return.

becka85
03-04-2013, 02:01 PM

The first one is my massive Gummy shark i caught off shute harbour and the 2nd is my biggest Barra and also was my 2nd ever barra i have caught