View Full Version : Big Noosa Wahoooooooo...18-02-09

Pistol_P
18-02-2009, 06:54 PM
Headed out today with Adrian in pretty sloppy conditions early that eased off later in the morning.
Trolled for a while and picked up some small mackeral but nothing of any size.
Plan B was to anchor up and berley hard with pillie pieces and fish floaters back in trail.
Started slow but I was lucky enough to get belted hard on a drift down.
Some screaming runs and initially we were thinking spaniard but as colour came we saw it was a ripper wahoo...

We put the fish at around 20kg.
Unfortunately some of the pics were a little blurry so here are the pick of the bunch.
http://i340.photobucket.com/albums/o326/PeterMorris_Photo/SunshineReef18-02-09002.jpg

http://i340.photobucket.com/albums/o326/PeterMorris_Photo/SunshineReef18-02-09005.jpg

http://i340.photobucket.com/albums/o326/PeterMorris_Photo/SunshineReef18-02-09012.jpg

WestOzDesertFisher
18-02-2009, 07:00 PM
Great work Pete, nice hoo! What gear did you get him on? Did it come close to a PB?

marty+jojo
18-02-2009, 07:01 PM
Nice Hoo there Pete, and some good pics mate. Well done. I bet it went crazy when ya set the hook. What gear were ya using?
Marty.

Pistol_P
18-02-2009, 07:06 PM
TLD 20 with 20lb mono.

Yeah the initial hook up was funny....He slammed the bait and I set the hooks...
Then he just did nothing but a couple of head shakes and I gained a bit of line....
Then he woke up and did two scorching runs......they certainly have some speed.

Westoz....Yeah PB for me.

stessco
18-02-2009, 07:08 PM
great fish! pete

tailorboi99
18-02-2009, 07:09 PM
That's a big fish mate, well done. Great first shot too.

Tom

Didley
18-02-2009, 07:09 PM
Nice one Pete, how bigs the boat and how far out do U go. Date is wrong by the way.

Dids

18-02-2009, 07:16 PM
Thats a great Hoo Pete. I have not thought of burley for them

Pistol_P
18-02-2009, 07:21 PM
Nice one Pete, how bigs the boat and how far out do U go. Date is wrong by the way.

Dids

Thanks Dids,
I was a day ahead of myself.

Adrian has a 6m 'Triumph'.... werent that far out on Sunshine.

BLOOEY
18-02-2009, 07:34 PM
WOW. Thats an awesome fish pete. To cool8-) . Ben

Fish_gutz
18-02-2009, 07:36 PM
Love ya work Pete, thats a top hoo! cheers Andrew

18-02-2009, 08:00 PM
top effort pete great hoo i must admit, havnt known them to take floaters before it would have been an awesome shock to see that as your colour to gaff

cheers justin

JustOneMore
18-02-2009, 08:17 PM
Well done pete....great fish on a floater. Good to see all the big boys are turning up.

ffejsmada
18-02-2009, 08:21 PM
Nice fish Pedro, bit unusual to get a 'hoo so close in I reckon.

Must be good water in close at the moment hey??

What's the temp??

Jeff.

frankgrimes
18-02-2009, 08:27 PM
Yep - Cracker fish Pete!

Worthy of an avatar update I reckon!

Pistol_P
18-02-2009, 09:06 PM
Nice fish Pedro, bit unusual to get a 'hoo so close in I reckon.

Must be good water in close at the moment hey??

What's the temp??

Jeff.

Some good water in close...We had two dollies shoot past as well but they took off without even a look...??....Even when we threw in pillie pieces they didnt come back to have a look.

Water was nearly 25

reel scream
18-02-2009, 09:15 PM
Nice Pete. 20lb line.Niiiiiiiiiice and fun. Will be hoping the same for me in the morn.

Cheers Scott

ON-THE-CHEW
18-02-2009, 09:23 PM
When I saw the heading I thought you must have got it off the rocks. Awesome wahoo, hopefully we will be heading out on the week end and give em a go. I think you need to add it to your signature picture...

breamnut
18-02-2009, 09:24 PM
your mad pete, u could have caught another one all u had to do was ask for our 3kg baby spanyard we got for livebait8-)
that avatar or your is gettin a bit full of all your fish, mabey you should give them a rest for a while:P

Pistol_P
18-02-2009, 09:30 PM
Mate I reckon if I got that from the rocks half the NSW boys would be on the next flight up....;D ;D ;D

Nathan...those small spaniards are still gem eating.8-)

lido76
18-02-2009, 10:21 PM
Nice fish pete. Whats Benny upto havent seen any reports from him for a while Married life got him I guess.. CHEERS BRENDAN.....

carnster
18-02-2009, 11:54 PM
Congrats, send a few of them south to the goldy. One of those would be nice land based.

jeffo
19-02-2009, 05:53 AM
Pete, did ya keep the frame by any chance? We have a bloke chasing wahoo frames for his PHD studies, so far this season they have been very slow for our club boats. Mitch put a thread up on ausfish a while back.

If you kept the frame let me know and ill either come get it and keep it here with another one i have or i can let him know its at your place.

Hopefully another wave of those little blacks come through soon.....the start of the season had people calling it the best in years, but at the moment its as bad as last year!

nickstock
19-02-2009, 08:18 AM
Unreal mate! A dead set ripper of a fish. Speedy bastards arn't they Pete!

Nick Stock

Pistol_P
19-02-2009, 08:30 AM
Pete, did ya keep the frame by any chance? We have a bloke chasing wahoo frames for his PHD studies, so far this season they have been very slow for our club boats. Mitch put a thread up on ausfish a while back.

If you kept the frame let me know and ill either come get it and keep it here with another one i have or i can let him know its at your place.

Hopefully another wave of those little blacks come through soon.....the start of the season had people calling it the best in years, but at the moment its as bad as last year!

Sorry Jeff,
I didnt keep the frame....Marlin gone quiet hey..??
I heard from mates down south its very quiet down there to.....They have got a few small ones at SWR but water has gone cold and all up their season has been ordinary.

Red Bull
19-02-2009, 10:48 AM
Hi Pete, great work on the 'hoo mate. That is one cool fish I reckon.

Do you ever throw stickbaits at these beasts, or are there not really visible bait schools to target?

Anyway, top stuff mate!
RB

seapup
19-02-2009, 11:45 AM
Nice work Pedro!

tfish
19-02-2009, 01:29 PM
congrats on a great wahoo..well done on the pb. cheers trav

Frank OO
19-02-2009, 02:23 PM
Well done Pete,

With my eyes the blurry pictures look pretty good.

Good to see some of the big boys starting to come out.

Frank OO

sempre
19-02-2009, 06:23 PM
What did it actually weigh on the scales?