View Full Version : Brisbane Tinnie and Tackle Show

Nikki SEQ
16-02-2009, 11:03 AM

Does anyone know when the Tinnie and Tackle show is on this year?

I know it was on the Anzac Day long weekend last year but haven't seen anything yet for this years show.

Thanks!

16-02-2009, 11:10 AM
20th to 22nd MArch

heres the link

http://www.tinnieandtackle.com.au/

Nikki SEQ
17-02-2009, 01:26 PM
Thanks. I've booked the tickets!

Do any other ausfishers have plans to go to the show?

shrunken pojie
17-02-2009, 01:45 PM
If I can't find what I am looking for a the VMR boaties market I will be. Then again, I may go even if I find everything I was looking for. You never do know what you NEED until you see it do you.

Chris Ryan
17-02-2009, 02:29 PM
Marine QLD run this event and they have been helpful to us at SOBA in getting the word out about the rally too so to reciprocate can I suggest a lot us to go and support our marine industry - they are in a bit of trouble so a good show is needed I think. I reckon you might find some true bargins there this year too.

Joe-90
17-02-2009, 05:51 PM
This is unbelievable timing. I fly up north for a fishing trip on the thursday after the show.

*rubs hands together

17-02-2009, 07:33 PM
I've booked the tickets!

How could you have done that? :-/ The online ticketing facility is not working yet...

http://img.skitch.com/20090217-ffcd2jdi7p8i732yj4w4irxi84.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/charleville2/br692/page-not-found)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/charleville2/br692/page-not-found) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

Then again, I suppose that you might already have some if you worked for the organisers.

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Nikki SEQ
18-02-2009, 08:11 AM
If you click on the 'buy tickets' under the picture it works.;)

18-02-2009, 10:18 AM
If you click on the 'buy tickets' under the picture it works.;)

Nope. You have not fixed it yet, Nikki SEQ.

When I click on that spot, I get this ...

http://img.skitch.com/20090218-1ix6gjpnjdjm774wsfgxdr38fi.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/charleville2/bfnbm/iis7)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/charleville2/bfnbm/iis7) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

...and when i click on that, I get this ...

http://img.skitch.com/20090218-bggm4ua7k23pr81tkcqut4jt6m.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/charleville2/bfnbt/the-official-microsoft-iis-site)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/charleville2/bfnbt/the-official-microsoft-iis-site) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

None of which seems to have anything to do with buying tickets for the Tackle and Tinnie show.

All the other links work ok on the Tackle and Tinnie site but not the "Buy Tickets" one.

:-[

T&T 09
18-02-2009, 12:48 PM
Hi All,

Great to see you talking about the show. Sorry about the ticketing - it was working a couple of days ago but the links have gone down. We're working on it and will let you know when it's back up and running.

To give you all a bit of a heads up - we've got more fishing tackle and accessories at this year's show than ever before with exhibitors including All Round Angler from up at Caboolture and BCF.

Matthew Hayden will be making an appearance on the Friday morning talking about his current safety campaign 'Keep Your Eye on the Ball'. He'll be around afterwards for signings and to chat with fans.

The 4BC Kid's Fishing Clinic is back for a second time with plenty of free educational activities to keep the kids busy while you check out the show.

We will keep you posted as more features are confirmed. In the meantime, any suggestions are always appreciated!

Marine Queensland ;D

gaz066
18-02-2009, 01:11 PM
T & T 09 , I have been attending the show every year and will no doubt be going again this year.

If I was in the market for a new tinny then my needs are covered with lots to offer , seminars etc are good but the 'tackle' part of the show has been skinny at best.

It's great news to hear there will be more to offer in this area this year. It would be great to see the manufacturers there ie Shimano , Daiwa etc

I remember one show I went to down south some years ago that had a simulator set up and you actually fought a machine with rod and reel , was a bit of fun.

regards Garry

18-02-2009, 02:57 PM
Wouldn't it be great if the organisers offered concession ticket prices to Ausfish members just like they did a couple of years ago?

It can be an expensive day out when you add ticket admission to parking to lunch. Might be better to stay at home and use the saved money to reduce the pain on some tackle that you are drooling over.

juju
18-02-2009, 04:09 PM
Wouldn't it be great if the organisers offered concession ticket prices to Ausfish members just like they did a couple of years ago?

It can be an expensive day out when you add ticket admission to parking to lunch. Might be better to stay at home and use the saved money to reduce the pain on some tackle that you are drooling over.

Yep we should get in half price....;D

Mrs Ronnie H
18-02-2009, 04:23 PM
We won't be going this year. I found it extremely disappointing last year. I think it is no longer tinnie and tackle but fibreglass and 4x4 show.
This was the first time I had been and it was nothing to what I expected-- maybe 3 stands of tackle/rods etc.
It was good if you are in the market for a new boat,outboard or some other boating equipment like a sounder etc --- it just wasn't what I thought it would be.

Ronnie

18-02-2009, 08:23 PM
At this stage mate and i are heading down

BR65
18-02-2009, 08:36 PM
Hi All,

We will keep you posted as more features are confirmed. In the meantime, any suggestions are always appreciated!

Marine Queensland ;D

More tackle please, and not the cheap, poor quality rubbish that seems to pop up at the various events.

spelchek
18-02-2009, 10:12 PM
Yep, the tackle (what little there was) was shite last year.

maztez
19-02-2009, 06:18 AM
I think that the lack of some smaller suppliers of tackle and tinnys is because of the major costing of the ground fee . The per square cost just puts it out of reach .

19-02-2009, 08:04 AM
What dumb ticketing arrangements!

It seems that if you buy online, you have to nominate the day in advance that you want to go...

http://img.skitch.com/20090218-689e71c1j8i9u27ab13t2xwwn.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/charleville2/bffwa/brisbane-tinnie-and-tackle-show-co-locating-with-the-national-4x4-show-and-outdoors-expo-event-details)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/charleville2/bffwa/brisbane-tinnie-and-tackle-show-co-locating-with-the-national-4x4-show-and-outdoors-expo-event-details) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

That's stoopid! There is a minor merit in buying online but not if you cannot change your mind on your day of attendance before you get there.

Even then the merits of buying online are slim. ie the queues at the ticket windows are never that long - unlike the woodworking show in May where the queues can be huge.

Give us a discount and we will all buy online. ;D

Swamp
24-02-2009, 12:54 PM
I'm taking my wife down for the weekend to see Chris Issac, one of her favouite performers

By some amazing and happy coincidence, the Tinnie show is on the same weekend

Am I not just the best husband ?

25-02-2009, 07:57 PM
will be there for sure may head in saturday arvo

justin

Mindi
02-03-2009, 08:28 AM
new cheaper venue needed....tackle displayed last few years was nearly all runout junk stuff...seem to be no electronics makers ther this year...no Furuno, Raymarine, Navico, etc... good hull mfrs missing... nah...venue is crap and must be too dear for potential exhibitors in these tough times. Rent a sports ground like the show at Kawana Stockland Park..!
Think outside the square people the industry needs this to work... someone like Duncan from Formosa needs to be able to just tow a couple of hulls to a nearly free open shared area to show the product....... well thats my thought anyway...there must be some reason why so many people dont exhibit

02-03-2009, 12:01 PM
I am afraid that I went to that one at Kawana once..it was drizzling rain..would never bother walking aorund in what is akin to a cow paddock.

The people paying to get in (the potential customers) are entitled to some creature comforts if they are considering purchasing. Exhibitors take their chances..pay their money and if their product appeals then perhaps they may make some sales.

02-03-2009, 07:35 PM
I'm heading in on the Saturday to watch ( and heckle ) Webby doing his seminar at 10am.

Then Troy Dixon is doing a Off Fraser chat after.

I go to mainly catch up with Ausfishers and mates I don't see all that often.

And one day, I'll find a boat manufacturer that uses tin coated wiring on their boat...... ::)

Tackle..... !! humph.......... !

Maybe this year the Kayak will be bought ??????

I'll be wearing my AF shirt.....

l.

02-03-2009, 07:54 PM
I'm heading in on the Saturday to watch ( and heckle ) Webby doing his seminar at 10am.

Then Troy Dixon is doing a Off Fraser chat after.

I go to mainly catch up with Ausfishers and mates I don't see all that often.

And one day, I'll find a boat manufacturer that uses tin coated wiring on their boat...... ::)

Tackle..... !! humph.......... !

Maybe this year the Kayak will be bought ??????

I'll be wearing my AF shirt.....

l.

maybe if i can think of a really intriguing question to ask him, I might get a Bush and Beach cap ?????

rakinray
02-03-2009, 08:10 PM
Hey all ill be there the same as Phill on Sat to see (heckle )Webby ! i dont go for the tackle, just a social event and enjoy the talking shows ! Love to dream !

CHEERS RAY. SEE YA THERE !

02-03-2009, 08:27 PM
hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm..webby is on at 10am and then at 3.30pm..a few drinks for him inbetween could make the second one rather entertaining.

02-03-2009, 08:56 PM
Yup! New topics for Webby. I'll be there! :)

'Twill be nice to see some new topics at these seminars.

sleepygreg
02-03-2009, 10:35 PM
why would you bother buying tickets on line? Just turn up and pay at the gate....its not like they are going to sell out and deny you entry. FFs we are not talking about a rock concert or a movie premiere. We are talking about a show where WE pay to enter a venue where WE have the privelige(sp) of buying goods that the vendors have had the opportunity PAY for their stalls. And my main complaint about last year was the ASTRONOMICAL prices of the food there. FFS...$8 for a plain hamburger? i wont go through the other food prices....suffice to say that I went hungry for a while and elected to call in to Maccas on the way home(which I also think is overpriced...but no where near this mob). I expect to pay a premium on food at events...but this was way over the top. And the food was nothing special. A mate even chucked his burger in the bin because it tasted like crap. Just another case of ripping a captive audience off.

Yes I will be going this year.....but I will have a good feed before I go....and plan on having a feed on the way home...or at home....and reluctantly pay the exhorbitant prices for a couple of bottles of water...and maybe a beer or a can of bundy while im there.

On the subject of tackle.....looks like its going the way of the fringe shows in Sydney....where the only tackle available was by the 'dodgy bros' of certain ethnic groups.....all crap. Lets hope there is some quality tackle this year.

03-03-2009, 06:49 AM
i'll be there on the satdy to hear webby's talk at 3.30pm

yell out if ya going, see at the soft drink bar :)

Bill_Corten
03-03-2009, 05:15 PM
Hi everyone.

Glad to see plenty of Ausfishers are coming along to listen to Webby on the saturday at the fishing expo of the Tinnie and Tackle Show. I reckon he will pack the house out and who knows what secrets he will let out in the afternoon session if Pinhead and anyone else cin the crew gets him well lubricated.
T
here are a swag of other top performing anglers also appearing at the show over the Fri, Sat and Sun. too. Every one of them not only knows their stuff as a first rate presenter, but they will keep you entertained as well. Speaking of which, this may be Leann Payne's last boat show for a while as she is heading off in the caravan with Rob on an extended trip, so get along on Friday if you would like to tap into her broad fishing knowledge. Also on the Friday, Matt Hayden will be making a short impromptu visit to the fishing expo sometime around 11:00 for a quick interview as he is on a very tight schedule at the show. I will fit him in around our scheduled presenters and can't wait to have a chat with Matt up on the stage about a bit of cricket and fishing.

On the topic of tackle I know it has been light on at the Tinnie and Tackle in the past for a while and there are a number of reasons for this. Well last year was a big improvement on the past, but this year Jason Plant, the event manager from Marine Queensland, (the event organisers) has worked a few small miracles with tackle representation and you can safely say there will be at least double the tackle of last years show.

Listed below are the manufacturers that will be represented or present on Allround Angler's stand:
Shimano (Rods,Reels & Acces), Daiwa (Rods,Reels,Lures) , Jarvis Walker/Jarvis Marine/Penn (Rod,Reels,Line,Electric Motors,Acces), L. Wilson & Co (Reels,Rods,Lures,Tackle,Acces), Icey Tek (Ice Boxes), Rodlok (New Rod Holder System), Alvey (Reels), Platypus (Line), Gary Howard( Rods), Tacspo (Smokers,Cast Nets,Knives), Gladiator Tackle (Rods,Reels), Tackle Tactics (Jig,Lures). All of these companies will have at least one representative present on the stand.

The following Products will also be available but without representation at this stage G.Loomis, Sunline, Shakespeare, ###########(ABU/Gulp/Berkley), Plano.

Also taking display space with tackle at the show for the first time are BCF and River to Reef. Anaconda will be exhibiting on the 4X4 side of the show, but will likely have tackle too (fingers crossed).

There will a whole precint of tackle in the new location surrounding the fishing expo under the main building downstairs from the Gregory Terrace entrance. Keep in mind the live weigh in's daily for the invitational bream tournament too with plenty of interviews with tournament anglers daily from 2:30 PM.

Hope to see you at the fishing expo at the Tinnie and Tackle show.

Bill Corten

Searaider 2
03-03-2009, 09:53 PM
Most likely heading in on the Friday .

Geday Bill,
see you there .

Kleyny
08-03-2009, 01:20 PM
Just spoke to the boys at Allround Angler yesterday.

They said they are going to have some great deals there this year.

Cheap scissor bow mount watersnakes (limited numbers), and some great prices on eskys.;)

Their display is going to be about three time larger than BCFs.8-)

neil

sleepygreg
09-03-2009, 01:44 AM
When was that date again?
:D

SWANO1
09-03-2009, 07:16 AM
should be a great show this year , i'll be working at the all round angler stand( set to be 3x bigger than last years area) on friday and sat so come over and say g'day and check out the specials the guys will have (big deals on penn/rovex/jw gear), but remember to get in quick because they only have limited stock , the best idea is to buy early and the good people at all round will hold the goods while you take in the rest of the show.see you all there
cheers swano

Little grey men
09-03-2009, 10:52 AM
I'm looking for a nice shiny new rod so I'll be going. Saturday I suppose.

SWANO1
12-03-2009, 11:54 AM
just got off the blower to peter at all round angler and the whole team is pumped and ready for a big show with thousands of bucks worth of give aways and demos happening every hour , matty hayden will be making appearances as well as other well known fishing personalities , i will be doing a few braid to mono demos as well as other sp related topics .
this maybe the year that the tackle makes a long awaited return to the TINNIE & TACKLE SHOW.
cheers and see you all there swano;)

pontificator
18-03-2009, 10:22 PM
cheapest bottled water I got last year was being sold by some lovely ladies raising money for the Royal Flying Doctor Service. they were over towards the 4wd side of things, in a tent in the open area in between.

Heaps cheaper than the other vendors, hope they are there again this year, or I'll have to make do with just beer and no water.

Mods, if that is a breach of the rules, I apologise. It is true, and it was raising money for the RFDS with which I have no connection (and from whom I hope never to need a lift)

No problem with this........phill ( Mod )

Hardb8
19-03-2009, 07:45 PM
Hi All,
Had a sneak peak round the show today at work ;D .If ya in the market for some good sunnies make sure ya check in to the boys at the All Round Angler stand.Spotters there are at very good prices ;) .

Regards. B8.:)

The_Sloth_man
20-03-2009, 05:31 AM
Is there atm access or eftpos, or do i need to bring a stack of cash with me?
I've never been before.

robersl
20-03-2009, 01:29 PM
Normally and atm there or they also normally have eftpos

SummerTrance
20-03-2009, 02:46 PM
Just got home. Wasnt as much tackle as I expcted. Just really the BCF stand, the Large Allrounder Angler stand, and a few other small stands. If the Allround angler stand wasnt there, it wouldnt be much of a tackle show. And that allround area was very tight spaced and very busy, especially for the missus trying to negotiate the pram through there. Everything they did have seemed to be a bit cheaper then normal in the stores. The 4X4 section was heaps better I thought. Thats my opinion anyways.

Yes there is an ATM.

Ah yeh, forgot to metion The Borg was also there. Go The Borg!

Lizard Man
20-03-2009, 02:57 PM
I agree totally with Summer Trance. Just not enough variety in fishing tackle. Very limited range of Hard Body's and other terminal tackle. I remember going to a show a while ago that was almost half boats, half tackle. Bit disappointing but still better than being at work.;D

If you are looking for cheap combos for the kids, missus, etc... you will find plenty of bargains.

20-03-2009, 03:04 PM
When you buy a ticket online, what is the E-ticket? Is that a print-out of the tax invoice which you present with your driver's licence?

20-03-2009, 05:24 PM
That is a good question.

Nowhere on the Tax Invoice does it say it is a E-Ticket.

Thank-you for your purchase!

Please find attached your Tax Invoice and confirmation details. Refund
policy details are also included in this document.

Your receipt is in PDF format. If you do not have a PDF Viewer, you can
download one from http://www.adobe.com/reader/ for free.

Alternatively, you can review your order at any time via the link below:

http:/( link deleted by me ) (http://tinnie.eventix.com.au/order.htm?formid=FSJKWCFIEIJTRLXN)

The Staff,
Brisbane Tinnie and Tackle Show co-locating with The National 4x4 Show and
Outdoors Expo

and this :_

YOUR PAYMENT DETAILS
Ticket Price 2 tickets @ $10 $20.00
Booking Fee $0.00
Delivery Fee Please print and present e-ticket for entry $0.00
Total AUD $20.00
PAYMENT MADE

huh ?

20-03-2009, 05:26 PM
I would say that you print out the Invoice and take ya D/L along for verification.

20-03-2009, 05:59 PM
I would say that you print out the Invoice and take ya D/L along for verification.

Thanks. That is what I am guessing also.

Their online ticketing idea is OK - pretty good, in fact. They just need to say that the tax invoice is the eticket explicitly.

joe 09
20-03-2009, 09:15 PM
yes take you tax invoice with you and when you get to the gate they have a list that they check your name off as they did today for me

Joe

tailorboi99
20-03-2009, 09:33 PM
Being my age can I just walk through the gate??? I'll be there tomorrow arvo'.

Tom

rando
20-03-2009, 09:37 PM
I have to agree with Summertrance, there was not a lot of competition in the tackle displays though Allround Angler had some pretty good deals on lots of stuff.( Good on ya Peter).I saw some nice looking prawn nets there as well
( . I picked up a pair of spotters at a good price.
I was shopping for a sounder/gps combo, but there was not a lot of exhibitors doing electronics either.
Plenty of 4x4 stuff though.

gawby
20-03-2009, 09:44 PM
Went along with Brejen and Maztez today for a look.
Quite enjoyed the show and i thought the tackle display
was heaps better than other years with quality to choose from.
Brett scored a bargan buying a deck winch.
I nearly bought the northstar gps i want but shortly i will get it.
A word of advise go early to get a park, we got turned away
from the car parks 3 times around lunch time today. The carpark is
full they kept telling us until we put on a blue. There was parks everywhere
but the dudes on the gates were told not to let anymore cars until
they got the word. Stupid stupid idea. Who was incharge of
this debarkle. I am sure the diffferent boat and other stall purchases
would be pissed to know this. It costs them a fortune to hire
a stall and the dudes turn propective boat and other item buyers
away.
All in all i enjoyed myself.
Graeme

21-03-2009, 01:08 AM
Got there at 0915 and left at 1300 due to other commitments. Parked on the race track in the Ekka grounds and by the time I finished a 20 minutes phone call, there were already four or five rows parked on the centre grassed area. It cetainly filled fast.:P

Not as many exibitors compared to last year, was just looking and not particularly interested in buying. Listened to Nugget's talk, collected brochures and quizzed a few exibitors. Talked to the AMM rep about some mods to my tinny.:D

Best boat I saw for my kind of fishing/budget was the TABS 4.2 Bullshark.
Nicely set out. My changes would be a rod locker on the port side, get rid of the livy tank to locate an esky, 40 hp 4stroke or Etec, fuel tank under the front platform and some fiddling with the seating arrangements.

The Haines boat at the bottom of the steps also looked good and if $$$ were no problems, a couple of the AMM boats caught my eyes. Must remember the pools next Saturday.;D ;D

Would have liked to listen to some more talks but just didn't have the time.:-/

mookyandlumpy
21-03-2009, 08:51 AM
went in yesterday , got some tt jig heads 1/4 and 1/8 5 packs for $6.20 gulps 4 inch minnows for $8.20, a steve starling squidgy plastic spinnign rod 7ft for $69 and got a 24 month subscription to bush and beach and a little showbag for $79
dont know how cheap they were but had to pick them up anyway
was pretty good hopefully in the market for a boat when i go next year

bobbyb
21-03-2009, 12:01 PM
went today and was pretty good...... $10 bucks to get in and spotters for $70...........cant go wrong cheers.........

21-03-2009, 12:38 PM
Couldn't get down
Working some of us have to make the country go round :(

Hardb8
21-03-2009, 02:46 PM
I ended up grabbin a pair of Spotters,And I also walked away with my first standup game stick.8-)

Grabbed an 24kg 8 foot Live Fibre ,For the odd occassion where I do a little land based stuff for the ogglies that lurk off Moreton Island.Got it for a pretty good price too.:)

Be sure to check out the fishing simulators in the top level of the Exhibition Building.....If I wasn't workin,I'd be in it all day.8-) 8-) 8-)

Would have bought one for home of they weren't so expensive.:(

Cheers. B8.;)

Bennywise
21-03-2009, 03:13 PM
Did anyone see some good deals on Bow mount Minn Kota's?

Mrs Ronnie H
21-03-2009, 03:22 PM
Checked out the show again today even though I said I wouldn't be going. Was ok-- didn't seem to be as many exhibitors and alot less fibreglass. A few more tackle stalls than last year. Renewed my subcription to BNB and had a chat to Ben.

Highlight----- Catching up with Lucky Phill and having a great chat.

LOL
Ronnie

21-03-2009, 03:36 PM
was in there today..spent a few bucks..another kayak..vacuseal or something that the boss wanted..and a few other bits and pieces..had a short chat with Bill Corten and Charlevile and RakinRay..PLUS..a couple of drinks with webby, the deckie, Phill and Aigutso and his wife. A good way to spend the day.

ash_is_me
21-03-2009, 04:04 PM
Many better ways to spend a day. Never seen a more disorganised event starting at the website with poor interacion for people wanting to find out information best ways to attend the event and even bad online tickeing practices.

With the wife, kids and some snacks packed into the Triton we were going to make a day of the place. After sitting in traffic for 45mins around the RNA we headed to Roma Street Parklands with a disappointed 3 year old.

The organisers of the T&T need to take a good look at themselves, step up and plan for visitors to the event rather than planning for just the stall holders. Outside of exhibition times the RNA is a terrible venue and my opinion is that using an oval somewhere out of the city would be a more viable option. For such a big attraction in the marine leisure arena, there is no place for small time planning.

I would rather spend the entry fee at my local tackle shop and will do so in future.

Just my 2cents.

Kleyny
21-03-2009, 04:06 PM
Planed to head down there by myself but ended up with the whole family.

Had a brief chat to the guys at All round Angler.

Watched webby 1000 show. Then the kids had an absolute ball with the birkley kids show. They got heaps of give aways, abu reels, stubby coolers, hats, packets of power baits.

Wife got a pair of quality snap on sunnys for her glasses.

I got nothin. I think that was my wifes plan go with him so he doesn't spend a million bucks.

neil

21-03-2009, 04:20 PM
Many better ways to spend a day. Never seen a more disorganised event starting at the website with poor interacion for people wanting to find out information best ways to attend the event and even bad online tickeing practices.

With the wife, kids and some snacks packed into the Triton we were going to make a day of the place. After sitting in traffic for 45mins around the RNA we headed to Roma Street Parklands with a disappointed 3 year old.

The organisers of the T&T need to take a good look at themselves, step up and plan for visitors to the event rather than planning for just the stall holders. Outside of exhibition times the RNA is a terrible venue and my opinion is that using an oval somewhere out of the city would be a more viable option. For such a big attraction in the marine leisure arena, there is no place for small time planning.

I would rather spend the entry fee at my local tackle shop and will do so in future.

Just my 2cents.

Did you not expect others to be going there ??
I drove straight into the parking area with no troubles at all..walked straight in the gate with no troubles at all. The RNA is the best venue for any of these shows..far better than the boat show at the convention centre...plenty of room to stroll around.

An oval??? and what..have one tinny on display???
No matter what organisers do for any event there will always be someone unhappy.

ash_is_me
21-03-2009, 05:00 PM
I got no problem with others going and I knew they would be, despite your opinion of my thinking I do realise popularity and the sheer numbers of people going, never had a problem going to the RNA for the Ekka. Glad you drove straight in, good for you. I followed many other cars leaving the place and heading off.

By oval, similar to Gold Coast Parklands for the Caravan, Camping, 4wd, Fish and Boat show. Public parking available in greater numbers than RNA and easier access IMO. Does that improve your lateral vision to host more than one exhibitor?

Still I disgree on the RNA as the best venue when the road infrastructure around the place is insufficient for the volumes of traffic.

21-03-2009, 07:44 PM
thedeckie and I arrived just before kickoff time, no ques to drive in, no ques at entry, no ques at food stalls and in fact we were queless ( clueless :) ) until a que at the Beer Tent.

Started off catching up with Ronnie ;) and her driver,,, Johnno. :P

Then bumped into Bill, Webby, Ray and his 4,000 brothers, Graham, Jonno, Pinhead, Trophey, Flea and family, Mike and Bec, Nugget, Chris, Wishey, Chief, Haggis, Ben, Ron, Dale, Peter, Terry, Derek, Barry, John and probably a couple more I missed.

Always good to catch up with the Ausfish Ferets at this gig. I saw lots of tackle opportunities, good DVD bargains, a well priced 6mtr Glass boat, innovative products, both marine and offroad, easy on the eye promotion girls ( tx to thedeckies radar :o ), got some raffle tickets from Surf Life Savers, a pretty good steak burger ( $7.80 was a tad exy ! ), was captivated by talks from Webby, attended the ABT weigh in, managed to score a Berkley cap for my bald scone, sat in on the camp oven cooking with Derek and his Bungleboori Bread ??, cool beers with good company and of course, thanks to Trophey ( Sue ) for the lamington ;D. Also trialled some beef jerkey. mmm.

in at 9, out at 4.30. Big day, good day, will always attend this great event.

Well, someone had to have a good day without complaints...;D

tailorboi99
21-03-2009, 07:59 PM
Yeah was an excellent day,

Tom

cuzzamundi
21-03-2009, 08:18 PM
Didn't make it this year...sounded like a decent one though.
I must say that I agree with 'ash is me' in saying that the venue is below par...or at least they should do something about the parking situation.

Pinhead, the bloke was just having his say, and as he said, not everyone gets a fair deal at these things. It's good that your experience there was great, but his obviously wasn't, so why kick a man when he's down?

Crying shame that the guest cricketer didn't have anything to say to the media regarding the green zones...

Cuzza

21-03-2009, 08:38 PM
Didn't make it this year...sounded like a decent one though.
I must say that I agree with 'ash is me' in saying that the venue is below par...or at least they should do something about the parking situation.

Pinhead, the bloke was just having his say, and as he said, not everyone gets a fair deal at these things. It's good that your experience there was great, but his obviously wasn't, so why kick a man when he's down?

Crying shame that the guest cricketer didn't have anything to say to the media regarding the green zones...

Cuzza

everyone gets the same deal..you line up if there is a queue..and just wait..have some patience...my son came in there with his 2 daughters..aged 21/2 and 1 and had no problems whatsoever in getting in their with them by himself...he just had to wait a while in the queue.
I think the RNA is the best location..plenty of room for the boats and cars and other displays etc etc...cannot think of anywhere better to have it...most is under cover.

Oh..and I am having my say also.

21-03-2009, 09:21 PM
All i know is i ate almost 1/2 kilo of chilli beef jerky i bought after testing some? had some some golds with a few ausfishers and wife took wallet and bought a cooker.

21-03-2009, 09:27 PM
LOL MIke..she bought the thermo thingy???

21-03-2009, 10:12 PM
Always good to catch up with the Ausfish Ferets at this gig. I saw lots of tackle opportunities, good DVD bargains, a well priced 6mtr Glass boat

Which 6 meter glass boat was that Phil?

I took a good look at 3 boats in very different leagues that met my requirements. The Yalta 615, the Tournament 2000 and the Tournament 2250. Scratched the 2250 based on weight (would need to upgrade the navara) and was not too impressed with the Yalta finish. The Tournament 2000 is starting to win me over, but the price of the yalta is hard to beat.

BTW: The tournament 2000 now sports glass stringers instead of timber. I was invited to take a look at the production facility too. Also heard a rumour that AMC might be in negotiations with another outboard manufacturer too;D so one has choices other than etec.

bungie
21-03-2009, 10:48 PM
This year we got in early about 8.15am, parked in the building directly over the road from the front gate. But last year I was late and parked over between Victoria golf course and the ICB. That not open this year ??

21-03-2009, 11:31 PM
Andy,

The Yalta 615.

A couple of cosmetic issues, but for the price you would be hard pressed to do better. Even upgrading a few items would still bring you 10K plus under the next best thing.

Had discussions about this boat.

replace / upgrade the targa
upgrade the fuel capacity
upgrade seat boxs
upgrade baitboard
Fit 175HPDI instead of the 130 yammie.

The Allison 195 was 61K as a demo model ( rrp 72K ) .
The 615 Yalta was 42K.... on the floor.

I consider this a good deal.

bungie..... I knew there was someone else I forgot to mention.... and good to meet ya missus.

phill

21-03-2009, 11:46 PM
Mike i hope you have past all the chillie jerky through the system before our overnighter off DI, or your lovely wife will be looking for a new Husband to taste the results of the new cooker, and i wont be the only one saying this too you.;D

22-03-2009, 05:50 AM
Mike i hope you have past all the chillie jerky through the system before our overnighter off DI, or your lovely wife will be looking for a new Husband to taste the results of the new cooker, and i wont be the only one saying this too you.;D

haha..the chilli might stop the snoring !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

22-03-2009, 06:36 AM
Regret to say that doesnt work Greg.

Real Andy, we looked at similar boats as well, originally went to see the Yalta 615 as I am quite keen on them, would need to upgrade the items Phil noted. Deckie then mumbled something about mustangs or tournaments, so checked them out with the wife who loved them, ie read cabin space. Salesman said they would include any motor if didnt want an etec.

sid_fishes
22-03-2009, 07:22 AM
mike, phill, have a chat to jason [MTX] i think he has the 615 with a 200 yammy. its a definite weapon. you might be able to tee up a ride as well
ian

haggis
22-03-2009, 10:06 PM
I went in on Saturday with the handbrake , no problem parking , drove straight in , the line up only took a couple of minutes , met peter in the que , wandered around , went to Webby's seminar in the morning which was pretty good .
Met lucky Phil while watching Webby , not as many boats this year but hey what
do you expect with so many companys closing down in the last couple of years .
All in all a great show and will be back next year .
cheers haggis ..................................

SgBFish
23-03-2009, 01:52 PM
All i know is i ate almost 1/2 kilo of chilli beef jerky i bought after testing some? had some some golds with a few ausfishers and wife took wallet and bought a cooker.

STREWTH 1/2 Kg of beef jerky!
I hope you dropped into the Bowel cancer screening stand after that!
Hope you got 3L of that flushout liquid you'll need it later in the week!
Tastes like antifreeze but does the job. clean as a whistle. 8-)

SeaHunt
23-03-2009, 03:00 PM
More people, less exhibitors than last year.
Boats seemed cheaper, well some did.

The best thing I saw was a toss up between the fishing bucket that was also a stool and rodholder etc and the TJM girls.::)

23-03-2009, 05:09 PM
Yup - Webby's morning talk was great, as usual. I did not stay for the later one as there was not enough at the show to hold my attention for a full day. Brian could have done with a half hour more for his session. ( I also wish that we could download the slide packs after the show. I would be happy to pay a modest fee - say $5 for a copy of each session that interests me.)

'Twas also nice to catch up with PinHead and his wife and Bill Corten plus the Chief whose eyewitness account of the Brisbane River oil spill and the state of the tub that it came out of was good to hear. (Thanks Chief :) ) Nice to know that the authorities moved so fast on that one, at least.

My best deal from the show was the purchase of some $5 fishing DVDs from the stand behind the seminar area. Those DVDs were damn good value - original price around $30 but with really old titles by people like Rick Huckstepp, Rod Harrison, Rex Hunt and many others. A special treat for a bait fisho like me was the one that I have on Snapper Fishing by a very young Rex Hunt, back in the days when he was still using bait. :) He wasn't kissing them and throwing them back, either. What he caught he kept! :D They also had some good titles on Shimano fishing reel maintenance and Lowrance Sounder usage tips.

The selection of tackle was nothing to write home about in my view and I also thought that the number of exhibitors was in decline but visitors were plentiful and the pre-paid online ticketing arrangement was an infinite improvement on having to stand in the long queue that I saw as I went in.

The RNA showground is a good venue for this event.

23-03-2009, 07:14 PM
Regret to say that doesnt work Greg.

Real Andy, we looked at similar boats as well, originally went to see the Yalta 615 as I am quite keen on them, would need to upgrade the items Phil noted. Deckie then mumbled something about mustangs or tournaments, so checked them out with the wife who loved them, ie read cabin space. Salesman said they would include any motor if didnt want an etec.

I take it that they didn't have the Triple 5 Yalta HC on the floor? Only slightly smaller than the Odessa 615 and very capable offshore rig measuring 6m with the pod. Plenty of room for the wife with full stretch bunk infills, 150 ltrs U/Floor... 4s 115 Yammy ......

Unreal value!!;) :o

23-03-2009, 07:19 PM
fuel tank is too small Scalem

23-03-2009, 07:57 PM
You dont need much fuel when you travel from manly to peel and park up ????

SgBFish
23-03-2009, 08:31 PM
fuel tank is too small Scalem

How far do you want to go Pinhead?
My Triple 5 with a 115 4S with 150L in the tank will get from Scarb to Tangas and back 3 times and then have heaps left over. And thats at 5500 rpm!

23-03-2009, 09:11 PM
Sg, if you do circles around Mud a few times following specks of light in the dark, it all adds up and he likes his horsepower lol

Scalem, I did a lot of research on the Yaltas and everyone speaks of them highly...I liked the 555 and 615 very much, and preferred the 615 for room... did my research and spoke to other Ausfishers and the builder etc, , priced it all with a custom fitout on a bare boat and even dragged Phil and Deckie along, only concern was fuel on the 615 at 150 lt.

but its not looking like an option as Bec wasnt taken with it... simple as that.... didnt pass the intangable Bec test...she liked the tournament 2000 but after 3 mins i wanted to throttle the salesman ( ive never heard a salesman lay so much crap on other boats/engines), lost me so bugger them.

Anyway in the middle of giving up smokes so too much stress wondering about boats now ands what ifs.

Nice boats the Yaltas but back to square one and a clean slate.

23-03-2009, 09:50 PM

FrankOO averages 18 Ltrs per hour @cruise speed 4200RPM out of his twin 115s (each)

At 5500RPM I imagine you are consuming approximately 25 Ltrs/hour according to the Yammy guages? So if that's close, 150 ltrs = 6 hours run time. I recon 2 hours due east would put me at just about anywhere I am likely to want to fish, with 2 hours up my sleeve. Going on Franks' figures @4200rpm you will only consume 108 Ltrs in 6 hours. 150 ltrs is fine;)

Mike, there's other things I like about the 555 that tip it in its favour, if you are interested PM me.

24-03-2009, 10:26 PM
Hi Brian , Frank,,,, Mike.

When i work out fuel economy, I tend to work it on distance rather than hours. I seem to get a better result that way.

I know ReBait ( 6.2mtr with 130 Honda 4 banger ) will average 1.4 kilometers per litre. A trip out of 1770 for an overnighter will take a minimum 160k's up to 200. For us that is a 145litre trip at best. If weather conditions are fine, this is OK, as we have 180 under floor. BUT, should it blow up and we have an esky full of trout etc, ;) with the rough going the fuel consumption doubles.

There was an offer from Yalta to add fibreglass to increase weight on the 615..... probably meant ballast. But if you drop a 200 or even 250 ltr tank in, that will solve any percieved problem.

Yes, Brian, ran the tape over the 555 and looked the goods. I simply liked the cockpit area of the 615 and it seemed more of a Fishing Boat and the 555 was a family / bay boat. Only my opinion.

Bimini was a big let down on the Yaltas. They looked cheap.

IMO........... Phill

24-03-2009, 10:45 PM
The deck space on the 615 is what did it for me. Make a great fishing platform and with a few mods could be made into a very sociable boat for wife and freinds. Agree with fuel tank size though. If I bought this boat I really would be doing some miles in it and would prefer to not have to worry about fuel.

Jungle Jim
25-03-2009, 10:37 AM
My buddy has the 615 with a 130 yam 2st. They have run dry on the homeward leg of a offshore trip. :'(

A few factors were probably against them that day but it can happen.

no of POB, winds, swells, trolling, bar crossings all contributed to the thirst.

*Of course the faulty fuel gauge didn't help. Still showing 1/4 tank when empty.

on a different note
Overall i find the quality of the fixtures on his example to be questionable.

*The hatch which covers the underfloor esky (the one near the helm) is very flimsy and subsequently broke when crossing the bar with someone standing on it. this should not happen.
*The perspex windscreen has "crazed" after less than 18 months.
*Bimini is torn along stitching.

this doesn't bother the owner but if it were my money i'd be furious. yep some of this can be put down to how it is maintained but these were just my observations.

JIM

25-03-2009, 10:40 PM
I hear ya Andy and Jim,

IMO, there are boat builders and there are fisherman that build boats.... big difference.

Just here we have had feedback that would be invaluable to the builder of yalta it seems. It's OK to build a ' budget " boat, but really the standard fitout must be better than is offered at the moment.

Mike and I stood there for a while looking and running over figures and additions...... I still believe the 615 is a good average affordable fishing boat, but add 10k in extras and it still is cost effective to comparable boats of this size. Actually you could add 15k or more, and still come in under other species.

Jim, no reason the Yalta can't have a Glass windscreen, simple things like this. I am not going to talk up the Cruisecraft, but at least they offer a very good " standard " fitout, as do the Haines, hence their starting price.

very hard to figure it all out .....

If I had a choice right now, I would simply grab ( if I could find one ) a Haines V19C, whack a pod on her bum, attach a HPDI or 4 Banger starting at 175HP.

Very hard to argue about these boats......

Cheers Phill.

26-03-2009, 02:06 PM
Yes, Brian, ran the tape over the 555 and looked the goods. I simply liked the cockpit area of the 615 and it seemed more of a Fishing Boat and the 555 was a family / bay boat. Only my opinion.

Bimini was a big let down on the Yaltas. They looked cheap.

IMO........... Phill

I think you are more qualified to comment on what you think you need for an offshore rig than I Phil, but if you remove the back seats(easy done) in the 555 for a serious offshore fishing trip, there's that much room you can target just about anything you want to and have room to do it. Like you, any bigger for the Navara or my TD pajero means an upgrade to the tow vehicle too, and right now, I have spent enough on recent engine overhauls to throw that idea in the bin. I'll get my moneys worth out of the old girl 1st. The Pajero will still struggle with a full load of fuel and gear anyway, any more weight than the 555 will be a snail pace and chew my 5th gear Synchro out for sure!! So it's not just the boat, it's your entire circumstance.

gawby
27-03-2009, 10:37 PM
Just to show fuel is not a problem with the yalta 555.
last year at the tannum hookup i took my 555 fitted
with a 115 4/s yamaha out past herron island and was
approx 100k plus offshore.
At 5000rpm it took me 2 hrs each way on 2 seperate
days and on both days used 120 lts of fuel. This
still left me 30 lts in the tank. I had an extra 40 lts
in 2 jerry cans just in case.
As for the 615 with a bigger motor i would be ordering
it with a bigger fuel tank.
So is fuel a problem, i do not think so.
Graeme

Dug
27-03-2009, 11:13 PM
Feaking bloody useless tinny and tackle show >:( >:(

Went there just to have a look and not buy anything >:( >:(

Ended up with a new car >:( >:(

A 4x4 holden rodeo with lost of extras >:( >:(

Long story :'( We have been looking for a tow vehicle for an off road caravan and were thinking about a landcruiser, at the show they had the new Isuzu D Max range I stupidly asked the tow rating of one >:( >:( 3,000KG only 500 less than the cruiser and about the same price for a new one as a 2 year old cruiser.

Margo liked the look of them and so I started doing some research into them, they are the same car as the Holden Rodeo and Colorado range just different badges, I had a look at a few car yards and found a demo model at Zupps in Mt Gravatt going for the dealer cost price. All was fine I was happy to walk away with the information untill they mentioned the 30% tax rebate for ABN holders using a car for work :-[

Taking 30% of an already cheap near new car was just a killer we test drove it and added a heap of options at the discounted price.

It should be ready to be picked up next tuesday. Apart from that I also bought a coffee and a coke but they do not seem important now ;D

Anyone know of a good off road caravan for sale ?

gawby
28-03-2009, 09:13 PM
Congrats on your purchase Brian.
You will not be dissappointed regardless of what
some my think about the yalta craft.
You could go and spend another $20,000-00 on a
cruise craft or allison and get the same style of
boat which my be finished a bit better but for the
lesser money i think the yalta is fine.
At the end of the day sometimes you may please some
but you will always get a knocker nomatter what you do.
Happy boating Brian.
Graeme