View Full Version : Peart Reef off Mourilyan

nickstock
16-02-2009, 10:27 AM
Gday,

Just like similar posts, with the break in the weather, I took the boat out for a quick run to a mark near Peart Reef.

As usual there were 2 Trout Dorys going hard but not to worry:D

By the time I got the boat in the water it was 8.30am on Sunday morning , and we reached our mark in record time for us due to the mirror flat seas enabling us to sit on 32 knots the whole way.

When the time came to drop out some plastics, shit hit the fan..I forgot every packet of Gulps that I own. I had taken the out of the boat on Thursday to chase Barra ( which I got 3 of and 1 Jack) frrom the bank.

Not to let it dampen our day, I found one 7 inch sweet and sour chicken and I had a jig head in the boat.Luckily I had about 30 dead slimey macks and Yakkas that I caught on Friday. The missus prefers to use bait anyway lol.

With a half decent tidal flow we sat up current of our mark and dropped our baits down. Before long we had a double hook up of Trout and Sweetlip. This bite continued for about 15 mins before it quietened down. We then continued to drift the edge of the reef and started getting some nice Trout. We ended up boating over 22 legal Trout ( 4 on the soft plastics before I was bricked) and countless Sweetlip, Stripies ect.

I lost a nice Spanish on a livie fished under a float and a few ripper Chinaman Fish. The better half landed a good sized China around 75 cms. I would have to think that these brutes are one of the hardest fighting fish that you will encounter on a FNQ reef.

We are spoilt living in FNQ with Trout in good numbers so they are normally the only fish I will keep for the table. We kept 8 Trout in total around 40 - 50cms and released all other fish to fight and breed another day.

On the way home the northerly had well and truely kicked in making it a bloody bumpy and wet ride in lol;D

I cant wait to get back out there again!

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/chinamanfish.jpg

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/jackcooktown459x600.jpg

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/barra.jpg

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/Jack.jpg

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/mobilepics021.jpg

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff241/viridis1/065.jpg

Stocky

It was a good day considering we only fished for about 3 1/2 hours.

Pazz01
16-02-2009, 10:59 AM
Jesus, that's good mate.

I've fished there a few times with the in-laws and caught nothing.

22 legal trout, that would make anyone's day.

Plenty of boats out there?

Pazz

nickstock
16-02-2009, 11:42 AM
Yeah there were a few boats out. I am supprised at how common Trout are on this section of reef. It is only very shallow though were I fish around 10 meters.

One thing I will confess is that I am still yet to catch a nanni out here, probably due to the fact that I spend so much time in the shallows lol.