View Full Version : Help Needed On Tiller To Remote Conversion

Parrot_King
16-02-2009, 01:59 AM
I am wanting to convert my 2008 Suzuki DT40 2 Stroke to remote control as i am adding a side console to my boat.

Has anyone done this before on a suzuki?

If so how hard was it and what parts were needed?

How much am i looking at?

Since this motor still has about 1 & 1/2 Years left of warranty should i leave it or could a suzuki dealer do this for me and still cover the waranty?

Any help would be great as i am very confused on how this conversion works

mike

stevej
16-02-2009, 06:20 AM
$50 x 2 for control cables
$500 for a control box
$300 for adapter kit

steering helm, wheel, cable

and you end up with a engine with no electric start or power trim and tilt

price a new one factor in what you could sell yours for plus the parts to convert it

BREAMBOSS01
16-02-2009, 07:19 AM
gday just last week we got our 2008 dt40 converted to center console control there are fair few adaptor and parts to go in as the dt40's were not intnded for other than tiller. to get the electric start the mechanic just extended the wire to the front and also the kill switch. got ours done at a suzuki mechanic.

Parrot_King
16-02-2009, 09:38 AM
The DT40 i bought is electric start and i also got a tilt and trim kit put on.

am i still looking at about $1000 or so to get this converted?

16-02-2009, 10:33 AM
I reckon it would be close, when you factor in all the bits and pieces.

Parrot_King
16-02-2009, 04:05 PM
Could anyone tell me all the components needed to do the tiller to side console conversion.

mike

stevej
16-02-2009, 04:34 PM
a control box
2 cables. shift and throttle
suzuki should do a adaptor kit for the outboard end the cables to hook up, to change gears and throttle

a steering helm
cable
pivot tube arm
and a steering wheel

Parrot_King
16-02-2009, 10:31 PM
thanks stevej

do you reckon my warranty would be void if this was done or would it be ok if it was done by a qualified suzuki dealer

have you converted tiller to remote before

stevej
17-02-2009, 06:27 AM
should be no warranty issues

no as every time i priced all that up it was cheaper to sell my motor and buy one with it on it

Parrot_King
17-02-2009, 11:56 AM
Thanks stevej

how much do you reckon a 40hp would be worth with forward controls

moater
17-02-2009, 12:48 PM
I was going to convert a motor to forward steer/throttle etc and leave it as a pull-start but I came into a few extra $$ so I ended up selling and getting a new,bigger motor with all the trimmings.You might be better off trading your donk in on a newby with all of gear??

Parrot_King
17-02-2009, 12:54 PM
Thanks moater

i will look into this

Parrot_King
17-02-2009, 04:26 PM
anyone else wanna shed some light on this subject please

stevej
17-02-2009, 05:46 PM
think you have all the answers, unless someone here works for a dealer and openly wants to discuss their prices which i doubt

so go to dealer ask for prices on the parts he can provide id say about a thousand dollars plus the console itself
control box ($450-500)
shift cable ($50)
throttle cable ($50)
adaptor kit ($2-300)

go to bias or the like and get a price on
helm kit
steering cable
tilt tube motor thingy

then shop around for a new engine with the specs you require, and then work out what yours is worth

if theres only a few hundred diff id be selling yours and buying a new one, the prices i quoted was for a 4 year old merc i considered doing it too

Parrot_King
17-02-2009, 09:03 PM
thanks stevej

will make some enquires and see where i end up

Parrot_King
18-02-2009, 11:59 AM
does anyone know what the conversion kit inside the motor consists of?

is there a wiring plug to plug in the remote control

18-02-2009, 03:00 PM

Parrot, have you been down to a dealer and had a chat with the mechanics/spare parts guys yet?

Maybe looking on your engine manufacturers website may put up some clues?

stevej
18-02-2009, 03:22 PM
does anyone know what the conversion kit inside the motor consists of?

is there a wiring plug to plug in the remote control

not sure on the electric start bit but the kit usual comprises a few brackets for the linkage shift things

you need to go talk to a dealer

all this could be answered with one 5 min visit or a phone call, then you can decide what to do

Parrot_King
18-02-2009, 08:32 PM
spoke to a few different dealers today and they told me the genuine suzuki remote control with cables was gonna coast about $1000

can this be right?

Parrot_King
19-02-2009, 01:20 AM
can anyone tell me when they say you need 2 cables for the remote control 1 for throttle and 1 for shift does this mean you need 2 of the same cables or are the cables different

Parrot_King
19-02-2009, 11:45 AM
come on people any help on the throttle/shift cables would be great.

are the 2 cables to run the control box the same or different

19-02-2009, 01:11 PM

Parrot, I suggest you go back to the dealer and get everything in your head right, understand everything.

19-02-2009, 01:24 PM
the typeYou may be better served to fit the control box and all of the other hardware like the console/steering etc then drop the whole rig off at a mechanics for them to fit the cables that suit as well as adjust them correctly.
You will need to know if your engine is push or pull to open the throttle, easy to find out yourself by looking at the throttle linkage, if the throttle advances by moving toward the front of the engine you will need a pull to open control box, the converse also applies, some box's can be adapted to both.

This way ANY control box of any brand even good aftermarket (cheap) can suit your motor esp if it is not elect start/trim..... and even then if you fit the all of auxiliary switches/panels remote to the controls and on the console etc.

Parrot_King
19-02-2009, 08:51 PM
can anyone tell me how hard it is to do this to a 2008 DT40 2 Stroke Suzuki?

is the suzuki push or pull?

how much do you reckon a mechanic would charge to fit the cables if i had the console and all steering already mounted?

Parrot_King
20-02-2009, 11:11 AM
Can anyone tell me how hard it is to do this to a 2008 DT40 2 Stroke Suzuki?

is the suzuki push or pull?

how much do you reckon a mechanic would charge to fit the cables if i had the console and all steering already mounted?

20-02-2009, 11:22 AM
PK pop the hood and check yourself as i explained above, you will then know for sure.

The cost to fit the cables will depend on how difficult they are to route so plan ahead for ease here.

I have no true idea but say 2 hours depending on the above, you will need to ask for their labour rate.

I highly suspect that once you have everything in place you will by then see the path and feel well confident to fit them yourself, you can do them last so consider forgetting about them until you need to fit them.

Parrot_King
20-02-2009, 12:39 PM
thanks FNQCairns

will have a look under the hood this weekend

have you fitted these cables yourself before

20-02-2009, 12:59 PM
Yeah a fair few times, I also fitted out my second boat that was used for everything whatever bigger boat i had was a pain to bother with, it was a basic 14.2ft tinny to a front centre console and it had a dt40 but that was way back in the late 80s so I remember not very much particular to it, only sold it a few years ago but had a johnson on it for the last 8years.

IMO leave the cables til last, don't even purchase them until the time is ripe, if in the fitting out you need something to make sense of how they will run use a lenght of garden hose.

Parrot_King
20-02-2009, 02:51 PM
thanks for the advice FNQCairns greatly appreciated

Parrot_King
21-02-2009, 07:04 PM
can anyone recommend a good side mount control box as i dont wanna pay the big dollars for a genuine suzuki one, im not concerned about electric start as the motor already has this and i had an aftermarket tilt n trim put on as the motor didnt come with this.

can anyone tell me if i could extend the wires and have my electric start and kill switch mounted on the console?

21-02-2009, 07:13 PM
Try here, most of this stuff can be sourced through dealers and even some, outboard wreckers and camping stores. keep a good eye on the web site price as I would have been overcharged a few times if i trusted the suppliers ethics. BLA typically do not sell easily recognised junk like say Whitworths often do.

http://www.bla.com.au/index.php?dId=1&eId=10&sId=017ab0da361811c35a36a767d3656f74

catalogue section = engine controls.

Parrot_King
22-02-2009, 12:46 PM
thanks FNQCairns have looked on the BLA Website and all up its gonna cost $1156 for console, all steering, control box & all cables.

Does this sound like a good price to you?

22-02-2009, 06:27 PM
Seem all right to me, everything to do with boating is expensive, my near finished CC and steering, cables, electronics etc cost around 1/2 the new hull cost and near twice the engine. All the bits and pieces add up.

Parrot_King
22-02-2009, 09:48 PM
thanks FNQCairns

Do you have any pictures of your boat you can post or email to me

23-02-2009, 07:30 AM
Yeah if you PM your email I will see what I can find, I need to anyway because my HDD went south with near everything on it not long ago.

Parrot_King
23-02-2009, 11:29 AM
Thanks FNQCairns have sent you a PM

Parrot_King
23-02-2009, 09:26 PM
Bump......

Parrot_King
01-03-2009, 02:31 AM
Bump......

01-03-2009, 08:08 AM
This might work for you http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=190289936379&ssPageName=STRK:MEWA:IT&ih=009

Parrot_King
01-03-2009, 10:05 AM
thanks FNQCairns

does it matter that its yamaha? i thought all yamahas had a wiring harness on there control boxs and you have to use them to make them work?

Is this correct

01-03-2009, 10:24 AM
No strictly a person doesn't need to use the manufacturers grossly overpriced anything, covered it in post 23.

The option are in their 10s, better to know exactly what you want to do???? what is your vision for the end result?.

It's easiest to pay grossly gouged prices and go with everything manufacturer although when fitted and finished on the water there is no advantage for the cost.

For the controls all a person needs is aftermarket, for the electrics as per my post above some home made or best of all is some manufacturer looms will see you through.

Parrot_King
01-03-2009, 11:00 AM
thanks FNQCairns

so could you tell me if i need to look for anything in particular when buying a control box?

i know my motor is pull cause i sussed that out yesterday.

would aftermarket cables fit any control box?

01-03-2009, 12:00 PM
I cannot speak directly of Suzuki but in the generic it has always worked like this, the same general assumptions should still apply for every engine but fly by wire setups.

Choose the box of your choice, Telflex or Morse or another, then choose the teleflex/morse cables to fit, the specs should include what engine end fits what so look for the ones that suits your Suzuki if they are outside of standard arrangement.

Find out what start switch or start switch panel Suzuki uses and that appeals to you, they may have different types, ie ones that incorporate a choke, deadmans cable etc.

Find which engine control loom Suzuki sells to suit your engine, run this from engine to console, fit all electricals to that as it should be plug and play, ie buy an aftermarket tacho and wire it in to the end of the control loom under the console , buy a genuine tach and plug it in, same with speedo, volt,temp, water pressure etc.

Your aftermarket tilt can be routed to your panel using an aftermarket switch of your choice, or you can if you choose aftermarket engine controls with a trim and tilt button to work it from there.

Strictly the only genuine part that makes a big difference is the engine loom so be prepared to spend here, sometimes thyt tag extra individual looms to it so you may need a smaller specific genuine looms under console to make some genuine instrument work, it all depends on how Suzuki work it.

Often the only part of the whole deal that goes begging is the start in gear lockout switch..if the aftermarket control doesn't include one, I hate them but for the sheeple I guess it's in some way reasoned.

Parrot_King
01-03-2009, 01:49 PM
Thanks FNQCairns

So if i buy a genuine Suzuki Wiring loom and run this from my motor to the console do i just run all gauges off the certain wires that corrospond?

also since my motor is electric start and its located on the motor how can i change this so i can start the motor from the console?

Is there wires in the loom that entitle me to remove the keyed ignition and put it in the console and plug it strait in?

anymore info would be great

stevej
01-03-2009, 05:01 PM
have you priced up a new engine complete with forward controls?

01-03-2009, 05:37 PM
Thanks FNQCairns

So if i buy a genuine Suzuki Wiring loom and run this from my motor to the console do i just run all gauges off the certain wires that corrospond?

also since my motor is electric start and its located on the motor how can i change this so i can start the motor from the console?

Is there wires in the loom that entitle me to remove the keyed ignition and put it in the console and plug it strait in?

anymore info would be great

1.Yes

2.The loom should run all appropriate wires forward to the console for fitting of ignition etc.

3, yes the control loom has (should) all of the wires to run anything remotely and from forward of the engine. You will need to look into if you choose to buy a new ignition panel or use the one you have or both even??

Parrot_King
01-03-2009, 06:04 PM
thanks FNQCairns you have been a great help

01-03-2009, 06:51 PM
PK It's real hard getting around whats needed without a good reference to help make sense of it all and suzuki seems to be a bit of a secret society with regards to easily found references but I found this place at least.

http://store.brownspoint.com/

Parrot_King
01-03-2009, 06:57 PM
thanks FNQCairns, am i able to ask 1 more question.

i found a suzuki control box on ebay but i wanna know if any suzuki control will suit me? cant i just buy an adaptor for the wiring harness or change plugs somehow

01-03-2009, 07:05 PM
Well if it where a Yamaha I would say yes you can do all that, cannot see any specific reason why you wouldn't be able to do it with Suzuki also.

Sometimes companys build redundancy into their line ups to 'help' a person choose to trade up. This is where your more targeted research needs to be done.

Parrot_King
01-03-2009, 07:45 PM
thanks FNQCairns

So is it going to be easier using a yamaha control box to a suzuki?

can you point me in the right direction to find out about changing plugs on the suzuki control box?

Parrot_King
01-03-2009, 07:59 PM
FNQCairns how do you think these control boxes would work?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Parts-Accessories_Boat-Parts-Accessories-Gear__Suzuki-DT25C-Remote-Control-with-Throttle-Cables_W0QQitemZ150329688540QQddnZPartsQ20Q26Q20Ac cessoriesQQadiZ2823QQddiZ2811QQadnZBoatQ20PartsQ2c Q20AccessoriesQ20Q26Q20GearQQcmdZViewItemQQptZBoat _Parts_Accessories_Gear?hash=item150329688540&_trksid=p4506.c0.m245&_trkparms=65%3A15%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318 (http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Parts-Accessories_Boat-Parts-Accessories-Gear__Suzuki-DT25C-Remote-Control-with-Throttle-Cables_W0QQitemZ150329688540QQddnZPartsQ20Q26Q20Ac cessoriesQQadiZ2823QQddiZ2811QQadnZBoatQ20PartsQ2c Q20AccessoriesQ20Q26Q20GearQQcmdZViewItemQQptZBoat _Parts_Accessories_Gear?hash=item150329688540&_trksid=p4506.c0.m245&_trkparms=65%3A15%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318)

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Parts-Accessories_Boat-Parts-Accessories-Gear__New-Suzuki-Side-Mount-Control-67200-99E10-0EP_W0QQitemZ150329271888QQddnZPartsQ20Q26Q20Acces soriesQQadiZ2823QQddiZ2811QQadnZBoatQ20PartsQ2cQ20 AccessoriesQ20Q26Q20GearQQcmdZViewItemQQptZBoat_Pa rts_Accessories_Gear?hash=item150329271888&_trksid=p4506.c0.m245&_trkparms=65%3A15%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318

let me know what you think and how i could make it work?

01-03-2009, 10:01 PM
Nothing will be better than a suzuki box. I noticed it is a comparatively early one compared to your engine, the deal here is to track down what plug changes have been made (if any). I simply have not got that applied knowledge with Suzuki, hope if someone here knows they will chime in.

If it where mine I would jump on some of the US forums - continuous wave, iboats in the suzuki forum etc and put the Q across short and sweet, will a 90 something control box and looms/cables etc fit a 200? suzuki dt 40.

There is every chance that Suzuki box will plug right in perfectly, you need to find out if and when a change was made that might necseitate an adaptor, it's unlikely as manufacturers are cheapskates but not impossible as they also favour forced redundancy often..

Go for the Zuk box for sure IMO, everything will just work and you can use all of the in box ignition parts, all plug and play...assuming no plug changes of coarse.

The Yam box is entirely do-able but false economy over a fairly priced Suzuki box WITH ALL OF THE EXTRA'S:o.

Parrot_King
01-03-2009, 11:08 PM
thanks FNQCairns

did you see this control box i also put up the link for? it looks newer?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Parts...7C240%3A 1318 (http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Parts...7C240%3A 1318)

02-03-2009, 09:24 AM
Sorry I missed that one, just tried then and it has been pulled or something.

Parrot_King
02-03-2009, 10:43 AM
here it is again

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Parts...7C240%3A 1318 (http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Parts-Accessories_Boat-Parts-Accessories-Gear__New-Suzuki-Side-Mount-Control-67200-99E10-0EP_W0QQitemZ150329271888QQddnZPartsQ20Q26Q20Acces soriesQQadiZ2823QQddiZ2811QQadnZBoatQ20PartsQ2cQ20 AccessoriesQ20Q26Q20GearQQcmdZViewItemQQptZBoat_Pa rts_Accessories_Gear?hash=item150329271888&_trksid=p4506.c0.m245&_trkparms=65%3A15%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318)

if this doesnt work the link is below the other link above

02-03-2009, 11:30 AM
Looks good!ring the local dealer quote the part number ask them to quote on a price for the same unit while confirming it will fit your particular donk, I would guess it does. The 8 pin harness is the real clue here...is your engine an 8 pin??

Parrot_King
02-03-2009, 11:41 AM
will give them a call right now

Parrot_King
02-03-2009, 11:53 AM
just called the dealer and he said any 2 stroke box will fit as long as the box is for DT models.

all he said i needed to do was test the wires before i hooed them up.

do you know if any of these boxes are for DT models?

02-03-2009, 12:14 PM
Well that means there has been no change since the early 80s on the DTs harness wiring, more or less the entire engine probably.

Makes it easy for you to pick a secondhand Suzuki box, either from a wrecker/Ebay/whatever. How much did they quote on a new box?

I suspect every suzuki 2 stroke was a dt?, mine was and that was an 85 model. You may need to ask any sellers what it came of to be sure, there should be no difference between international models and ours.

Parrot_King
02-03-2009, 12:38 PM
thanks FNQCairns

i looked on iboats forums and it says that the NA12S control box is for 2 and 4 stroke engines but the 2 stroke is pull and the 4 stroke is push.

when i turn my tiller to accelerate the part in the motor moves towards the front of the motor.

does this mean my motor is pull?

02-03-2009, 12:52 PM
Yes sounds like should be pull as the inner control cable retracts through acceleration therefore acting to 'pull' the linkage. reading between the lines but still a guess, the 4 stroke boxs may have differing harness but the box it's self is adjustable to be either push or pull, lots are these days. The yamaha ones as an example.

Parrot_King
02-03-2009, 12:56 PM

so do you think the NA12S control box sounds good?

plus it cheap on ebay which is a bonus

02-03-2009, 01:09 PM
That's the $49 US one? Sounds good although i have not been researching options at any depth, for comparisons with other suzuki boxs. It really depends on what your vision is for the end but for a basic box and the price your whole job is half way there!

Will that bloke post here?

Parrot_King
02-03-2009, 01:31 PM
it sounds good and all but doesnt look like the guy will post over here.

not sure what i can do now

02-03-2009, 01:58 PM
Yeah that sux but his loss mostly, keep a US search running while you design commission and fit all of the other bit's and pieces, by then some others will have come up.

Parrot_King
02-03-2009, 02:08 PM
no worries

you dont by anchance know the model number of the yamaha control box that will fit my engine do you?

02-03-2009, 02:16 PM
All of them will i think (but always double check me), as they can be either changed to push or pull but you will still then have the false economy of all the costly hurdles with looms and ignition.

If your only option was to buy here then aftermarket or good secondhand is the go in any brand that will 'pull' but with the US in the mix you would be crazy not to at least try and pick one up over there right up until the last moment.

Sound out some of the wreckers around the country here, they are overly expensive on a world scale but Ok compared to new over the counter prices.

Throw up a wanted in the section here might help also.

Parrot_King
02-03-2009, 02:26 PM
no worries will post something up