View Full Version : repowering haines 14"6 or 445"s

catcrab
05-02-2009, 08:41 PM
Hi all, i have just about finished a complete refurbish on a haines 445f, i am looking at repowering the old ( rejunivated) girl with a new motor, i,m leaning towards a 4 stroke 60hp merc or yammie. I fish mainly solo or two up, off the gold coast, jumpin pin and southern bay area. Trolling, bottom bouncing,and flicking lures around. I would like to hear from fellow ausfishers with the same boat, and what their power plants are, and any vices and good points which they have encountered. I guess i,m looking in the 50 to 80hp range, 2 stroke/ efi or 4 st.
but also being aware of weight. ie weight to power.
There seems to be alot of interest in these little boats of late, so how to best power them might help a few of us.

Thanks Drew,

TJ Bear
05-02-2009, 08:52 PM
Don't have one myself at the moment but have been out in a few over the years and if it where me I would be looking at the 60hp Yamaha 4 stroke or even the 50hp Honda 4-stroke. When the boat was released they where packaged with 55hp 2-strokes (back in the day these 2-strokes where rated at the flywheel not the prop as they are today) I think a lot of the 445's out there are way overpowered for a fishing application. Just my 2 cents

Haji-Baba
05-02-2009, 09:10 PM
Hi! Cat crab.

I have had a new 4/s Yamaha fitted to my 445c. just before Xmas.

Very pleased with the performance.

The wife and i weigh pretty heavy 200kg. combined and the motor gets us up on the plane at 3400 rpm real easy.

Cruise at 4200 at 24-25 mph.

I find the trim is critical and can boost my cruise speed by at least 2 mph. just playing with the trim.

At the moment I get a genuine 2.8 km per l. at cruising speed.

Max rpm. 5600 36--37 mph. with a reasonable load of gear.

Flat out fuel usage, no idea.

Pushed in from the front of Bribie over Xmas, big north easter 20 knots plus.
Big following sea and big ebb tide. Held 17- 20 mph. easily, had to back off a couple of times to get the bow up and over. Would not have done it in an open boat.

Motor weight was a factor 110kg for the yammy plus a 25 l. tote tank.

I was interested in another brand of motor but extra weight and cost beat me.

Any other info. i can provide P.M. me and we can go from there.

Great deal on price of motor including trade and fitting. {Northside Bne.}

Have Fun Haji Baba.

Haji-Baba
05-02-2009, 09:11 PM
Cat Crab, sorry 60 hp. Yamaha.

Haji - Baba

Haji-Baba
05-02-2009, 09:18 PM
TJ Bear.

Spot on.
I had an old 75 2/s Suzy on mine to start with and it fairly crackled flat out, frightening and a bit heavy.

Loved a drink and was getting a bit old.

I don't think I need any more power than what I have already got now, and certainly no more weight.

Have Fun Haji--Baba.

vini79
05-02-2009, 09:38 PM
I will be fitting a 60 etec to my new 445F in the next few days. It currently has a 70 yamaha 2 stroke so only time will tell. I have my faith in th 60 etec, Has been running on my tin boat for a year now and goes hard. wont expect any less on the 445F
stay posted.

pilchardjones
06-02-2009, 04:26 AM
drew,
i recently repowered my 445 converted side console from a 90 2s yammie to a 60 4s efi merc bigfoot.
i love the new merc. very smooth and quiet.
top speed around 32mph, and easy cruise on about 24.
highly recommended.
steve

ps a mate has jut repowered his 445 converted tiller steer with a 60 yam 4s and he says its a good thing also. as you would probably know, theres lots of yam 60 4s fans out there.

pilchardjones
06-02-2009, 04:32 AM
new merc 60 4s bigfoot

Oscar
06-02-2009, 07:45 AM
Having had a 445C from new with a 70 Johno - I would recommend at least a 60 - 2 stroke mainly because if you have a couple of mates on board, anything less, getting it out the hole would be the problem. 4 strokes although good motors, would have a weight and power problem on that boat. (Someone always want to go with you)

Oscar

06-02-2009, 09:14 AM
Cat Crab, sorry 60 hp. Yamaha.

Haji - Baba

Haji-Baba,

do you have a foil on your yamaha 60?

I have a merc 60 EFI 4 stroke (not the bigfoot) on my 146C and I am having problems with hole shot with two POB. Tried a permatrim and lost 4 knots top end speed. 32 knots with no foil and spinning a 13" vengence prop. Have dual battery system and 70 litre alloy fuel tank. Might look at changing the prop or try a SE Sport 300.

Haji-Baba
06-02-2009, 09:48 AM
Hi! Jeremy

No Foil, just the motor fitted with the right prop as supplied by the dealer.

That was after a water test with two props. I leave that up to them, they are the experts.

Under normal conditions fishing around Bribie I don't need a big tank.
If i use 10 l. of fuel a day that would be maximum. If i need more I can carry another 30 l. no problem.

As far as power is concerned, I have had three people and all the gear in the boat and absolutely no dramas. Bear in mind the motor has only done 30 hours.

As far as this bullshit about "hole shots" is concerned I have plenty of power.

My boat can go a lot faster than I need to on a general outing.

I think people should load their boats properly and trim accordingly.

Have Fun Haji-Baba.

seaeagle
06-02-2009, 10:16 AM
Hi all i have a 445f with a 60 yamaha 2stroke. It has a top speed of 37mph & can plane no worries at all with a weeks full of gear & 4 people when we travel to out beach place

catcrab
06-02-2009, 06:18 PM
drew,
i recently repowered my 445 converted side console from a 90 2s yammie to a 60 4s efi merc bigfoot.
i love the new merc. very smooth and quiet.
top speed around 32mph, and easy cruise on about 24.
highly recommended.
steve

ps a mate has jut repowered his 445 converted tiller steer with a 60 yam 4s and he says its a good thing also. as you would probably know, theres lots of yam 60 4s fans out there.

hi Steve, i did read about your rebuild on one of the boating web sites, and it did convince me to do my own rebuild, the main question is why did you repower down to a 60 4 stroke, was it a weight issue, fuel consumption,type of fishing, and what difference in performance ie power to weight?, hole shot difference, this is important to me, as you can,t be under powered during bar crossings.

Thanks Drew.

06-02-2009, 06:22 PM
Mate - I had a really old V163 and I found that a new (2000 model at the time) 60hp 2 stroke Merc made it skip along really well and top out at 60kph, but I would not have wanted it heavier because that transom was very low to the water as standard with very little ability to cop much water before it flowed over into the boat itself.

08-02-2009, 08:50 AM
Hi! Jeremy

No Foil, just the motor fitted with the right prop as supplied by the dealer.

Have Fun Haji-Baba.

Out of interest, what size prop are you spinning?

Tim_N
08-02-2009, 11:58 AM
What rpm are you spinning out to Jeremy?
I'm thinking your prop is too big and you should try an 11".

Haji-Baba
08-02-2009, 03:44 PM
Hi! Jeremy

The boat is in mothballs at present whilst we are preparing to get away up north for the winter.

Take the tinny up there for a couple of months????

Will crawl in and have a look and try to find some numbers.

Have Fun Haji-Baba

sherkier
08-02-2009, 05:20 PM
I have a 146c Haines hunter and have just repowered it with a 75hp 2 troke mercury ..I am very happy with the performance top speed on my own is 41knts and with 4 adults and all the gear can cruie on around 33knts on the gps. The conditions have to be pretty good to drive flat out but power wiser 75hp punches it out of the water very eaisly no matter what the load. The 146c is plated up to a 80hp so my insurance wouldnt allow me to go to the 90 mercury even though the motors are the same and weigh the same. Love that hull.......!!!

vini79
08-02-2009, 07:36 PM
My 445F still has original plate. Rated to 55hp.
apparantly in 81 they changed to 55kw or about 75hp.
just some trivia

pilchardjones
09-02-2009, 07:13 AM
hi Steve, i did read about your rebuild on one of the boating web sites, and it did convince me to do my own rebuild, the main question is why did you repower down to a 60 4 stroke, was it a weight issue, fuel consumption,type of fishing, and what difference in performance ie power to weight?, hole shot difference, this is important to me, as you can,t be under powered during bar crossings.

Thanks Drew.

Gday Drew,
Sorry it took a while to get back to you.
It was weight. I really wanted a smooth, quiet and fuel efficient 4 stroke, and the 60 merc / 60 yam were almost identical in weight. both were also about the same weight as the old yammie 2s i had, so i knew where the boat would sit.
because i did away with the higher motor well that used to exist, you also do away with valuable transom freeboard, so i knew i wanted to go no heavier on the transom. i have also added a permanent transom blanking plate (made from 15mm star board - screwed to back face of transom - see photos) about 200mm high so i never get a wave wating to jump into the boat now when you drop off the plane too quickly.
steve

09-02-2009, 08:26 AM
What rpm are you spinning out to Jeremy?
I'm thinking your prop is too big and you should try an 11".

The dealer fitted it with an 11" prop when the new merc 60 was supplied. Hole shot was good, but it reached over 6000 rpm with still heaps of room to move on the throttle (maybe 15 degrees?). Never pushed it all the way just to see.

Might have a chat to solas today and see what they suggest.

Tim_N
09-02-2009, 09:35 AM
Jeremy,
Ring Steve and see what he can do. He set my 50 4 stroke and now it pulls the max rev range fully loaded, which is what you want. Top end speed is not important. Mine has a Permatrim also, but we are talking about 2 different hulls.
I ended up with a 11" stainless with a bit of extra cup.

Ringoscar
09-02-2009, 03:05 PM
Roll on the Yamaha F70 next year!

sooty_mad
09-02-2009, 06:08 PM
Vini79

I note with interest the plating of your boat. My 445R (year of manufacture 1984) is plated to 85 kw which is about 115 hp. Thats a big difference to your 55kw.

I plan to put a 70 2 stroke on it.

Kind regards... David

vini79
09-02-2009, 06:51 PM
Vini79

I note with interest the plating of your boat. My 445R (year of manufacture 1984) is plated to 85 kw which is about 115 hp. Thats a big difference to your 55kw.

I plan to put a 70 2 stroke on it.

Kind regards... David

David,
My 445F is a 1980 mod. 55HP max :-X . I wish it was 55KW
In 1980 John Haines was thrown out of the company etc etc.
1981 the boats were then plated with max KW ratings, Not HP. The 445F's were then rated as 55KW max. which is 73HP or there abouts.
It is very odd that the 445F's are rated lower than the 445C's and 445R's. The construction is the same on all boats, the transom is the same.
Either way i am putting a 60 E-tec on mine. lighter than the old 55 would have been and who makes a 55hp now either way? well thats my logic.
A 445R with a modern 115 like an E-tec would be nothing but Dangerious!!!;D

Haji-Baba
12-02-2009, 11:13 AM
Jeremy. Had a look at my prop, 11 1/8 x 13 G. whatever that means.

As i said goes well 5500 -- 5800 depending on water shape and load and very definately trim.

Goes best flat strap trimmed right out untill she starts to cavitate. Top speed 36--37 miles per hour.
That is 59.5 km per h.

Have fun Haji-Baba

12-02-2009, 01:10 PM
Thanks for looking for me Haji-Baba. I got a new prop from Solas today and coincidentally they have given me an 11 1/8 by 13 pitch. Try it our as soon as there is some decent weather.

23-02-2009, 09:19 PM
update - new prop from Solas didn't make any difference, so back on with the merc vengeance prop. Done some figures on mileage and currently getting about 3.5 km/litre gereral running around.