View Full Version : Talking Fishing with Nugget

whatscracken
02-02-2009, 08:47 AM
I often listen to talking fishing on the weekends with Nugget on 4BC and have noticed that more and more ads are creeping into the program each week that are often a 5 minute rant about a lot of things other than fishing( e.g TJM and Kingfisher Resort). I know people need to make money and ads are a part of radio but lately there has been a real slide in the amount of decent fishing discussion. I don't think having four hours a week on radio to talk fishing is a breeze but it may just be a case of going back the basics of TALKING FISHING. ;D

This is just my opinion but I'm interested to hear what other people think as well.

BillB
02-02-2009, 07:41 PM
I would agree. Some Saturdays in particular there seem to be 'wall to wall' ads. Now there seem to be more "info-commercials" such as the mentioned TJM and Kingfisher Resort creeping in as well. Throw in a couple of Nugget's favourite songs and generally there seems to be a diminishing level of useful fishing information in my opinion. I know he said his is the highest rating radio fishing program in Australia but that crown could easily slip if he continues to allow the growth in ads.
BillB

madman1
02-02-2009, 08:11 PM
I wish Nugget would reach Mackay!!! Adds or no adds.

bj
03-02-2009, 03:41 PM
I,m already tired of it same old callers week in week out, telling us how good the fishing is? Needs a make over I think.

03-02-2009, 03:49 PM
it cannot be easy coming up with something new and interesting on fishing every week..I would hate TO have to do it and the number od "experienced" people you could call on to have an input is limited also. Not an easy task. Last few times I have listened it seems to follow the same format..BOM, some tackle shop owners etc etc..seems like the time for callers has decreased a lot. I have often wondered what it would be like for a novice or pure amateur in the field the show is about to sit in and make comment and ask the questions

03-02-2009, 04:51 PM
Anybody heard Stinky on the radio??
Brilliant on the radio. Absolutely brilliant
He's down in Mexico way

tug_tellum
03-02-2009, 05:28 PM
I must admit that lately I have noticed the TJM ad getting very long winded, soon it may take up the whole show.I suppose everyone has to make a $ but we dont want it to turn into Another Paid Presentation From Guthy Wanka. Infomercials are an insult to our intelligence & I am sure most people change channels when they come on. I dont think Nugget deserves that , BUT!!!!!!!!!!
My opinion only Mick:'(:'(:'(

03-02-2009, 05:41 PM
I wish Nugget would reach Mackay!!! Adds or no adds.

When your not on the water you can listen to him on the web.
http://www.4bc.com.au/ and you can checkout Ausfish at the same time.

As for you other blokes why not call him up and talk about fishing.

03-02-2009, 06:14 PM
IMHO this show is infinitely better than it was before Nugget took it over. That comment means no disrepect to the late Ron Collins who used to run it but at times the old show just sounded like a public bar gathering of old mates on Anzac Day and it was like you had to be in the clique to understand what they were talking about at times.

What Nugget has done for the show has been similar to what Channel 9 did for cricket thirty years ago. By explaining things in a friendly simple way, with his bubbly manner and clever self brand image, he has engaged a wider audience than otherwise likely to listen to a gathering of old mates in a public bar on Anzac Day. By doing that, he has been rewarded with a bumper audience which encouraged the radio station to let the show go to two hours rather than one. Quite a feat in itself!

However, having said that, I must admit to not listening to the show these days either because I have tired of the repetitive format, also.

Nonetheless, I symphatise with anyone who is trying to create a long running, single focus, radio show - and especially when they are doing it without a team of researchers, producers and archivists to help. Listen to any ABC Radio National show and at the end of the one hour you will hear the presenter extend thanks to a string of people who research and create each show, plus of course people like technical producers.

I have been to see Nugget when he has been doing his show and ya know what, the only people in the building are Nugget, the receptionist and the young lady who does the news update every half hour. It is a totally different scale of operation to what you will get on the ABC but yet, it is a two hour show. Twice per week! Amazing! :o

Single focus shows need help to generate topics of interest.

Not entirely related to fish - well not entirely anyway - but have you ever read any sexologist type newspaper columns like Bettina Arndt's or even the CityKat column on http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/ ? (Yes - of course you have! Don't bloody well deny it to me! ;D ) These women ( usually women) usually have heaps of lurid, titillating material to write about when they commence these columns but it does not take so very long before they run out of juicy stuff and start writing about the psychology of human relationships. Boring! :( Just like fish, single subject columns or programs are hard to keep fresh.

So, what can we do to help keep Nugget's program fresh? If it dies, not only does Nugget lose but we do also.

What do you think Nugget should do to freshen the format a bit?

Tropicaltrout
03-02-2009, 07:36 PM
First a for most love the show and Nugget does a wonderful job IMHO.;)

I think Dave should be looking into ways of generating intrest after all he is a mad fisho just like you or me and a bit of research into whats going on, on a broader spectrem other than the same focus each week ..

I agree with Charlie in the concept of what can he do to spice it up etc?.

Maybe Dave should poke his head on here and start a topic for ideas etc
That would not hurt....?

As I said I love the show but the constant adds finds me sort of hanging for more.. :-/

I listen to the reports from all the areas around the bay and the one and only from the coast and think to myself it needs either to be more in depth or have more phone interaction about a pre medicated topic or Species of the week and let people who target them ring to share there rigs, lures etc

Anyhow it Nuggets show and it up to him what he does with it...

Nath

chevyJ
03-02-2009, 08:02 PM
POD CAST, POD CAST, POD CAST please. I cant always listen every weekend but I wish he would pod cast so I don't miss a show.

03-02-2009, 08:10 PM
I have not listened for a few months and usually when on the way to work on the weekends but getting rid of some of the umms and argghhs would help...and now following Charleville's line..should Nugget have 30 minutes of solving the sexual problems of a Moreton bay fisho ?????

aussiebasser
03-02-2009, 08:39 PM
I'm sure Nugget would appreciate calls from anyone on here who wanted more information about something. Unfortunately ad's are a fact of life these days. If you think it's getting boring, ring up, and give some input. Ask questions and let Nugget find the people to answer them. Request certain guests, or suggest certain topics. I've known Nugget for a while, and I'm sure he wants a crew of happy listeners.

Funny how people who can be anonymous on here feel comfortable making a comment, but are nervous ringing the radio station and leaving their real name. The girl on the phone is a nice person, and she won't bite your head off, neither will Nugget, unless you're a real dill!!

Go on, ring him up on Satdy morning. If he needs some fill in time, maybe he can read out all the posts on this subject.

Keep up the excellent work Nugget.

Dale Sinclair

RayDeR
03-02-2009, 09:12 PM
G'day!

I set the alarm for 5am Saturday morning. I put the ear plug in and the next voice I hear is Col Campbell rattling on about too much water, not enough water, too much fertiliser, not enough fertiliser.

Ray de R

Nugget
04-02-2009, 02:40 AM
Thanks very much for your positive comments and all criticisms taken on board.
Couple of things I’d just like to clarify.
A radio station only has one product to sell to recoup the millions of dollars it costs to be there, and that is ‘air time’.
The higher the program’s ratings, the more companies want to advertise on it, the more the station can charge for that air time.
Talking Fishing is the highest rated radio show the network has in Australia which includes 2UE Sydney, 3AW Melbourne, 6PR Perth.
As a result, the amount of ads on air during the program is at the legal maximum number of minutes per half hour and has not changed in 10 years.
I can not change that.

Now for the content:
The way I see it, early Saturday morning everyone is thinking of where to wet a line, what’s biting and what the weather / tides are doing - therefore Saturday’s Show is hard core fishing – it is primarily reports on what’s biting and where.
The reason we use bait and tackle shops for these reports is because they are reliable – none of them get paid or are paid for their content.
I’ve tried using individual anglers and it didn’t work - they were either out fishing and uncontactable, asleep or forgot.
This left me with holes in the program that I had to fill with no notice. I've also had bait & tackle shops let me down as well - Which is why I use the shops that I do - they are there every week without fail.
But we do also get a lot of individual anglers, regulars and mates of mine ringing in with reports, which I think rounds out the picture of what’s biting.
The format is:
Weather & tides – repeated every half hour
What’s biting in the freshwater – Brian Dare, Glenlyon Dam
Bribie Isl – Nigel, Gateway Bait & Tackle
Southside – Bruce, Gem Bait & Tackle
Central Bay – Shane, Water Tower Bait & Tackle
Southern Bay – Duncan, Fish Head Tackle
Nth Side – Trevor, Tackleworld Sandgate
Sunshine Coast – Graham, Fish On Films
VMR Southport – condition report from offshore
I don’t know how I can give you a better round up of fishing options than that – open to suggestions though. If you own a fishing business and would like to participate – email me – the more reports, the better: nugget@nuggetfishing.com.au

Sunday’s Show is an outdoors and lifestyle Show.
It has a much broader format and takes in four wheel driving, camping and holiday destination for outdoors type people.
While us fisho’s would like to think fishing is all that matters, the truth is that Sunday’s Show rates higher than Saturday’s.
Have you ever noticed that fishing only shows struggle to make it on free to air Tv?
So they broaden the format and call it outdoors lifestyle – Great South East, Creek to Coast etc. While we might want to see just fishing, we are outnumbered.
So to keep us hooked and at the same time attract a larger audience, they spread the format. This keeps the ratings up which makes the show more attractive to advertisers.

Sunday’s Show still starts with fishing for the early anglers
The format is:
Weather & tides – repeated every half hour
5.10am - Fishing Report – Chris Murphy, Cabbage Tree Point
VMR with a report from on the water to tell us what conditions are like.
The rest of Sunday’s Show is interviews on locations, products and callers that ring in.

Callers always get priority over everything else – it is the callers that make the Show.
We give a way a lot of prizes at times to entice callers to ring in.

When I first took over the Show… all those years ago, I put a post up here asking for ideas on content. The idiots came out of the woodwork and the thread had to be deleted.
Let's try again - please give me your ideas - email me if you prefer.

Nugget ><>
PS: - it is 2.30am - yes I'm going fishing

04-02-2009, 06:17 AM
POD CAST, POD CAST, POD CAST please. I cant always listen every weekend but I wish he would pod cast so I don't miss a show.

Couldn't agree more, a podcast would be smashing!

A few pics of naked girls, too - no wait, this is radio - DAMMIT!

04-02-2009, 06:21 AM
PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE DON'T LISTEN TO PINHEADS IDEA!!
I'd rather hear about the spawning cycle of a flathead instead.
Thanks also Dave for the web link to the show. Champion :thumbsup:\

What's a podcast??? :-[
Is it like a casting deck on the tinny ...but only out the back??

bigbenny74
04-02-2009, 06:56 AM
My only complaint is that it's too short - another hour would be nice!

If anyone wants the content/discussion to change the answer is simple. Call in.

Bigbenny

mono
04-02-2009, 05:28 PM
Hey Dave, I have just discovered an interesting form of fishing! I'll have to give you a call. Took the day off training today and pulled trout out of a hole in the ice!!
Cheers mate.
Mono

mik01
04-02-2009, 09:19 PM
Dave - I think you're a champion and when I get a chance I listen in - usually on the way to fishing, or out on the boat, I always enjoy it.

but I agree withe some of the boys here - whats involved in podcasting your show? would mean I would never miss a show, or at least get to hear the whole show. I see some other presenters on 4bc have their shows podcasted.

mate its obviously hard to keep it fresh - I don't have any suggestions for you but I take my hat off to you for putting it all together. hopefully some others have good ideas and it doesn't all turn to crap like last time.

Grayman
07-02-2009, 01:01 PM
I think the show is great as is. I especially look forward to the forecast from Fraser Island.

Grayman
07-02-2009, 01:01 PM
broadcast I should say

gawby
07-02-2009, 04:13 PM
I think Nuggets 4bc show is great and listen to it when ever i can.
I don't find it dull and boring but find it very informative.
It is a pitty Nuggets show dosn't go for 3 hrs and gut and hour of
whats wrong in my garden, very boring to me. Sorry Col but that's when
i turn to 4kq.
There is a simple sullution to those who don't like the show, don't listen.
I am sure you won't be missed.
That is my opinion.
Graeme

dfox
07-02-2009, 09:04 PM
I agree the show seems to short.
Ive got a new and better long range aerial for the boat's phone, expect a few live phone calls from out on the shelf Dave ... foxy

08-02-2009, 06:04 PM
Its a great show. Its the best thing on the radio. I prefer the Sat format as the infomercials can get a bit too much for me

sandbankmagnet
08-02-2009, 09:09 PM
What about a species of the week/month Nugget? You could discuss tactics, breeding, regulations etc and get experts in each field to phone in with info. What about DPI and their work they do with farming etc. Share the knowledge. You are very knowledgable with a lot of contacts and everyone would appreciate it I think.

Nugget
10-02-2009, 06:56 AM
What about a species of the week/month Nugget? You could discuss tactics, breeding, regulations etc and get experts in each field to phone in with info. What about DPI and their work they do with farming etc. Share the knowledge. You are very knowledgable with a lot of contacts and everyone would appreciate it I think.

Great idea - I've put in progress a new Sun format that includes a species profile.
We had Paul Palmer from DPI Bribie Island on 3 weeks ago - the hard part is getting the guys I want to talk to.
Government departments are particularly difficult... or should that be evasive!

Thanks for your input.

Nugget ><>

10-02-2009, 07:05 PM
how about some talks with some amateur fishos? A different slant on things from people that have nothing to gain financially froim speaking the truth. Always sceptical on bait and tackle shop owners giving reports..some i don't doubt..others I doubt a lot.

10-02-2009, 07:20 PM
Maybe ring one of the Ausfish young guns who can give a roundup report on whats been posted. It would give a balanced view on whats happening and give Steve a bit of exposure

Nugget
11-02-2009, 06:28 AM
All great ideas - The problems I've had in the past is getting someone reliable - someone that will be there every week with the information prepared.
Some of the regular segments I'd like include a tournament round up, beginner's tips, specialists to give species profiles, more in depth location info from locals, more on the water reports...
The list goes on however reliable contibutors are difficult to find.
If anyone would like to get involved, email me and we can see what eventuates.
Nugget ><>

Nugget
11-02-2009, 06:37 AM
how about some talks with some amateur fishos? A different slant on things from people that have nothing to gain financially froim speaking the truth. Always sceptical on bait and tackle shop owners giving reports..some i don't doubt..others I doubt a lot.

Some of the most outrageous reports I've had come from regular anglers - In the past month we've had people tell me about 1.5kg whiting, 27kg snapper and 5 jew for 300kg - non of which I believe.
Bait and Tackle shops base their comments on their customers - they may exaggerate a bit on occasions but it's been my experience they try and give anglers options, a reason to go fishing rather than make up complete stories.

Nugget ><>

Tropicaltrout
11-02-2009, 06:48 AM
I agree with nugget, the forum set up is fine but IMHO it need spicing up, for instance what I said in page 1 a selected topic of coverstation, ie speices of the week, and I really think a dam report from the north with hundred's of anglers from brisbane heading to these dams why there is no report for Mondy, Awoonga is silly I herd Rob talking on the weekend and he would be one to be a regular on there, If not Foxie from the Brra Havoc tackle shop, but yep It a fantastic show listen most weekends on my way to work which takes the whole show so I love it.

Well done Dave !

Nath

11-02-2009, 07:09 AM
Some of the most outrageous reports I've had come from regular anglers

That reminds me of the cute little joke in the Jokes thread ...

A small town doctor was famous in the area for always catching large fish.

One day while he was on one of his frequent fishing trips he got a call that a woman at a neighboring farm was giving birth. He rushed to her aid and delivered a healthy baby boy.

The farmer had nothing to weigh or measure the baby with so the doctor used his fishing scales. The baby weighed 15.4 kg and was 1.2m long

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

11-02-2009, 05:23 PM
Some of the most outrageous reports I've had come from regular anglers - In the past month we've had people tell me about 1.5kg whiting, 27kg snapper and 5 jew for 300kg - non of which I believe.
Bait and Tackle shops base their comments on their customers - they may exaggerate a bit on occasions but it's been my experience they try and give anglers options, a reason to go fishing rather than make up complete stories.

Nugget ><>

come on Dave..they would have at least given you a chuckle.

Now how about someone like Charlie (Bruce) on for a 30 minute stint..he has had plenty of adventures in the bay and I reckon he could tell a good yarn.

Oh...have I ever told you about my 55cm bream????? LOL

11-02-2009, 06:26 PM
30 minutes would not be long enough for Charlie.
At least an hour I reckon.

PS when I was a lad I watched my pop scale a jew with a garden spade and we used the scales for the roof of nana's garden shed

That would probably make a good thread.... best fishing exaggerations...

11-02-2009, 07:25 PM
Now how about someone like Charlie (Bruce) on for a 30 minute stint..he has had plenty of adventures in the bay and I reckon he could tell a good yarn.

Nah! I have the personality of a Besser Block. :-[

The best part of my fishing in the Bay is when I drive the boat back to Manly from Mud Island late at night when no one is around so I can sing the old Rod Stewart song "I am Sailing" at the top of my voice. i always find that my singing improves when no one else is around. ;D

That is about as exciting as I can get.

;D;D;D;D;D

sandbankmagnet
11-02-2009, 10:00 PM
Also Nugget, what about an explanation of different lures and how and where to use them. I'm strickly a baito/livie man but I get intrigued with the talk about the switch blades and nuclear chicken SP's. And maybe a livie talk about how to rig them for what species too and locations types too.

Foxy4
12-02-2009, 08:35 PM
I do agree with some comments here, but it us the callers that can assist Dave with his show. If we all took some time to phone in from time to time with a question or two and or what we have or have not been catching then it might be a help too him for sure
Give it a try sometime and lets see what happens.

BigE
12-02-2009, 08:47 PM
your show is pure gold nugget ....... dont change a thing

BigE