View Full Version : prehistoric mackeral

carnster
28-01-2009, 12:17 PM
Caught on a 65g raider with 20lb spin gear and 50lb mono trace free casting to the side of the boat while trolling off tweed. hope the photo works 32kg, 1.66m.
Also caught a cobia 8kg approx a yellowfin and got bitten off on 90lb wire trolling a big livie.

Pete62
28-01-2009, 12:21 PM
Geez that is a horse, well done on light gear. Send a few south will ya:-/

Cheer's Pete.

lethal098
28-01-2009, 01:23 PM
thats a sensational fish, well done, cheers lethal

business class
28-01-2009, 01:50 PM
Thats a good Blue thats for sure...... is that a guess weight or is that weighed.... It is a monster......... and i mean a monster:o .

1lastcast
28-01-2009, 02:09 PM
nice fish there and on the light gear would have given you what for , are you sure it is 32 kg did you put it on scales ? does not look that big from the photo i would say 20kgish as a estimate not having a go mate just wondering:-/

doesnt take away the fact that its a monster fish either

Regards MONOSTRETCHO

nofrills
28-01-2009, 02:53 PM
nice big mac carnster

I think your pic is makin it look skinny cause its rolled back towards you . If you holdem up flat you'll see their width better.Well done Ill bet the first run had you thinkin you were undergunned ?

cheers scotty

backlash08
28-01-2009, 03:09 PM
good going on mono leader, great stuff
cheers - Craig

Screamin Semen
28-01-2009, 03:26 PM
Great fish mate well done

chop duster
28-01-2009, 03:28 PM
20kg my but!
nice fish! did you have an esky big enough for her?

ffejsmada
28-01-2009, 04:45 PM
That's a ripper alright!

Pity you didn't get a photo of it straight after capture.

Good job, Jeff.

vertico
28-01-2009, 05:05 PM
looks big but a better photo could have done it justice
well done
sean

nautical prince
28-01-2009, 05:39 PM
thats a top effort mate stuff dreams are made of well done Great fish

Pistol_P
28-01-2009, 05:50 PM
HORSE mackeral..!!

One of those from the rocks for me would be a dream.

28-01-2009, 06:32 PM
Great fish on the gear. I reckopn its just the angle of the fish that makes it look deceptive

SWANY22
28-01-2009, 06:47 PM
aswome fish there that would of got the old blood pumping.nothing better than that first strike an run.

carnster
28-01-2009, 07:30 PM
Yes I did get an extact weight and yes the photo does not show the true girth of the fish. Tomorrow I will attach a couple more photos with the fish more side on. By the way pistol I did loose a similar fish off the rocks last Sept from you know where, got me on that rocky outcrop that sticks out. Pretty hard to land them there with the sharks and that massive groper, it even had a go at a meter plus queenie i was fighting.

28-01-2009, 07:36 PM
awesome fish mate top effort lucky with that mono

cheers justin

28-01-2009, 07:59 PM
Top fish mate Good on ya
Where abouts are you

Pistol_P
28-01-2009, 08:00 PM
Yes I did get an extact weight and yes the photo does not show the true girth of the fish. Tomorrow I will attach a couple more photos with the fish more side on. By the way pistol I did loose a similar fish off the rocks last Sept from you know where, got me on that rocky outcrop that sticks out. Pretty hard to land them there with the sharks and that massive groper, it even had a go at a meter plus queenie i was fighting.

Yeah...Some great mackeral off those rocks.8-)

Hungry gropers hey..?....Last time I was there,there were 3 gropers.
They are eating machines.

Thats a beast you got in that picture....You can see the girth quite well.

snapperbasher
28-01-2009, 09:04 PM
Looks pretty close to that weight. heres a photo of one that went 33.5kg for comparison.

Cheers Lochiesum

business class
29-01-2009, 12:11 PM
you can tell even with the Blue being not side on its well over 25kg. Look at how thick it is and the size of the head. we have seen and boarded many of big blues 20kg plus and you can easyly tell she is a 30kg fish. My old boy got one a couple of years back now the same weight but it was nearly 6ft long but was a race horse and it actually had no teeth...... now that was weird.

Matty

powderchaser
29-01-2009, 12:52 PM
Well done mate, thats a ripper... their is hope for us all yet

backlash08
29-01-2009, 01:10 PM
this guys was 37kgs so agree with 33kgs for the one in the pic,
as I said, good catch and great on mono leader, wouldnt get that too often I think
regards - Craig

MitchCalcutt
29-01-2009, 07:07 PM
Hi Carnster,
Were you fishing with Oliver? Thats a great fish, I wish I had come out that day.
If you ever go to Cook town go to the top pub, ther is a pic of a Spanish which was wieghed by a pro to be 50kg. After seeing some of the horses you blokes got, I'd have to say the Cook town fish was easy 50kg. Before you say it, I know they don't grow that big but photos tell alot. This one had a deformed head and was definatly a spanish. It hung from above the blokes head and was well and trully below the deck and thicker than the bloke holding it.
Mitch

carnster
29-01-2009, 10:48 PM
They are some big macks guys. Grants guide rates them to 58 kgs. So Mitch that one in cooktown is certainly believeable.

Trent Butler
30-01-2009, 06:42 AM
Always regretted not being able to put this fish on the scales, he got chopped in thirds to fit into the esky.

Pity we didn't get a chance to chop old Robbo's mullet into thirds at the same time!

Hey Lachie, have you heard from Robbo lately?

Cheers Trent

marty+jojo
30-01-2009, 05:41 PM
NIce one Trent.
Marty.

T1
03-02-2009, 10:53 AM
Looks pretty close to that weight. heres a photo of one that went 33.5kg for comparison.

Cheers Lochiesum

PML Lochie! Where have i seen that fish before????? :P :-X

Nice Mack carnster! I still remember the 20kg+ i nailed on 12lb braid - that was heartstopping!!

Take Care T

stessco
03-02-2009, 06:15 PM
big mackeral!

nickstock
16-02-2009, 10:48 AM
What an absolute corker! I well and truely believe that 50kgs Mack from Cooktown. If it is the same fish I am thinking of , it was taken out near lizard Island.

Bransfords have a taxied Spaniard on their wall which is 40kg +

Well done mate.

Pistol Pete- I have the same fetish as you mate- a trip to Steep Point W.A is my only prescription!!!!!!!!!!!!!!