PDA

View Full Version : electric advice

cyclone
26-01-2009, 11:08 AM
Hi fellas I am just getting into the impoundment fishing for barra and have found it to be very addictive. Main reasons for this, it's not easy to just go out and catch fish and makes you think, fuel usage is minimal and my young fella loves casting lures around.

Now to my problem I have recently done one trip to Faust and two trips to Tinaroo on all ocassions my approach was to motor to a likley looking area kill the motor break out the paddle sit on the pointy end and paddle in either moving along the edge of weed beds and grass flats or tying off to a tree when one is available and hammering the one spot.

While we have seen fish every trip and missed some very large fish at faust and tinaroo and son caught one 70cm fish at tinaroo I can't help but think the lack of an electric is holding us back as I feel we are fishing the right areas but can't cover enough area due to my lack of stamina on the paddle and the fact I am begining to look like Popeye.

My boat is 5.4 mtr long weight approx 700kg loaded it steers well from the front as it has a fine entry and the mount for a bow mount electric would be approx 700mm from waterline. From the research I have done I figure I would need a 80lb motor but not sure of shaft length I also like the sound of auto pilot for maintaining a position and moving along weed edges etc.

I realize this subject has been done plenty of times before but I would appreciate any feedback from people with similar sized boats or pointers to previous post that answer my questions.

regards Popeye.

cammo79
26-01-2009, 11:21 AM
just for the dams a 54lb minn kota will be fine, the prop only needs to be under the surface. i have minn kota on my 4.2 proline and i have 3-400mm of my shaft leftover for adjustment and my oat sits about 500mm out of the water.