View Full Version : Big Mack??

Benno1
21-01-2009, 09:14 PM
G'day all,

Back again:)

Just a couple of pics of the weekends Boyz day trip out on Saturday to Wistari for a nice morning fishing for some reefies and to check if there were any pelagics around....

The morning was not that productive with only pulling in 3 trout between 47-53cm, some average lipper and a few tuskies...

Lunch time came around and had a rather large live fuselier out floating under a balloon when we were thinking about calling it a day, when the Tekota 800 started screaming:D ...after about 15mins and 5 decent runs later, a rather large spaniard came to view next to the boat and was expertly gaffed by my mate Griff, and the 2 of us struggled to pull the beast aboard:)

There was no need to knock the mack on the head, as it had towed us 50m+ off the edge of the reef and had nothing left....and neither did I...lol

The stats were as follows:
Length - 1.61m
Weight - 32kg
Steaks - heaps:)
Previous best - 15kg
Caught on - Gary Howard 15kg boat rod, Tekota 800, with 50lb berkley fire line / 100lb leader and 3 x 5.0 ganged hooks...

Benno

TunaKing2008
21-01-2009, 09:17 PM
great fish , never caught one but dying too.

Pistol_P
21-01-2009, 09:23 PM
Huge spaniard...Great fish.

Dunno if I would be eating that thing though.....Better give the steaks to the cat.

21-01-2009, 09:37 PM
Nice fish
Never had any problems this way for Spano's with cigatura (touch wood)
I caught one 32 kg and we filleted him and sliced into nice 3/4 inch think pieces and was awesome
Good catch mr Benno

Benno1
21-01-2009, 09:47 PM
We've already polished off a few of the steaks...cooked them on the BBQ...rolled them in flour...added some garlic flakes...2 of the steaks fed 4 men!!!...it went down a treat with a few cold beers :D

Mrs Benno1
Sunny

snapperbasher
22-01-2009, 07:42 AM
top fish mate!! I got one 34kg about 18 months ago hes now hanging on my wall looks great.

warti
22-01-2009, 09:33 AM
Speared a 33kg mack off gladdy and never got sick either. Good fish on rod and reel, and a good feed. Getting my boat ready today, was going to do wistari but might go elsewhere if the fish arent biting like your trip.

jarhead
22-01-2009, 09:57 AM
Top spanish mate, well done.

Wal

tailorboi99
22-01-2009, 10:32 AM
Great fish, would have faught hard. Well done

Frank OO
22-01-2009, 10:44 AM
Hi Benno 1,

WhooooHooo!!!! What a fantastic catch.

Frank OO

22-01-2009, 03:51 PM
Very nice.

There is something special about those big Spaniards

Gazza.Boyne
22-01-2009, 04:24 PM
Hi Dave,

Great spaniard mate, hope there are a few more around this year.

Thanks for the couple of Steaks, they certainly were good chewing.

Cheers Gazza

22-01-2009, 07:28 PM
top fish mate

cheers justin

seapup
23-01-2009, 10:10 AM
That is a slob of a Spaniard! Congrats!

tfish
23-01-2009, 03:39 PM
rippper of a mack. congrats on the catch!!!!!cheers trav

ffejsmada
24-01-2009, 05:02 PM
Oh yeah Benno, that is a Balltearer!!! Great fish!;)

How did the Tekota 800 handle it???? I've got a 700 that's never caught a fish, it will next month though!;D

Jeff.

somescott
24-01-2009, 06:34 PM
Awesome Spaniard Lads.

As for Cigatera apparently it accumulates along the spine, so you should be right fileting the big fellas.

But hey, i'd still eat it with my fingers crossed

capt
24-01-2009, 09:40 PM
Hey Benno,

so pleased to hear you guys passed the taste test.......................... LOL

but seriously..................that Blue is an absolute " Wopper"

cheers Jimmy

Custaro
24-01-2009, 10:36 PM
nice one!!! not a bad feed of trout either.

Benno1
06-02-2009, 08:39 PM
Oh yeah Benno, that is a Balltearer!!! Great fish!;)

How did the Tekota 800 handle it???? I've got a 700 that's never caught a fish, it will next month though!;D

Jeff.

Dave said it went really well...he's got it paired up to a Gary Howard "Outsider" 15/24 kilo rod...with the roller tip and guides (i LOVE that combo) smooth action.
How did you go with your 700...you catch heaps???

Mrs Benno1
Sunny