View Full Version : Couple of new ones

Mark Fisher
21-01-2009, 03:55 PM
G'day everyone,

I just finished these a couple of days ago. I was really happy with the finished result. They are for a mate of mine who likes his rods bright and colourful. The rods are a GUSA DHX 664 done in a spiral wrap. The second is a Hasting 604 done as a spin rod. The handles are all inlayed checkers in EVA and the seats and trim are from Matagi. The threadwork is all done in Mettler Polysheen #40 with Chromaseal CP and Threadmaster epoxy finish.

fishermen fred
21-01-2009, 04:13 PM
as always amazing work, for such a simple thing to do those tiger wraps sure do look great.
where do you get your chromaseal from as i have been using erskines and hate it.

21-01-2009, 05:07 PM
Good work once again Mark, esp that purple and green wrap.

FF the Rodworks has Chromaseal

21-01-2009, 08:25 PM
Nice job Mark :)
Definitely bright there. No worries in ID'ing the rods if they get stolen is there.
What colours are in that tiger??
I can see the reddish, silver and black.
If so, and if I may, what's the procedure for a 3 colour tiger??

fishermen fred
21-01-2009, 08:48 PM
Nice job Mark :)
Definitely bright there. No worries in ID'ing the rods if they get stolen is there.
What colours are in that tiger??
I can see the reddish, silver and black.
If so, and if I may, what's the procedure for a 3 colour tiger??

http://rodbuilding_tutorials.webs.com/ look through here couple of tutorials with pics of tiger wraps, just did one of those instructions and came out a beaut.

Cheers Dogsbody

Owen
21-01-2009, 08:56 PM
Pretty flash Mark!

That black & red unit is an eye grabber!

txlady
22-01-2009, 06:44 AM
Beautiful work as usual Mark !!.....:)

MaryLou..

Mark Fisher
22-01-2009, 07:54 AM
Thanks everyone for taking the time out to comment.

Finga,
The base layer was of metalic red, NCP white and black all wrapped together. Burnish in a random pattern but when you start one area, keep going in one direction otherwise you just push the threads backwards an forwards in the one spot. I CP'd the base wrap with 2 coats of Chromaseal CP. Then 1 heavy coat of Threadmaster epoxy. Leave for 12 hours. I wrapped the top layer in Mettler black thread with a size E discard thread in white (so my poor old eyes can see it properly). Remember, this layer is wrapped in the reverse direction of the first layer. I don't rub this top layer at all, some do, I don't. Then heat the area for about 15 seconds with a hairdryer to warm up the epoxy layer. Then carefully remove the discard thread. I used another coat of CP and then 2 more coats of Threadmaster epoxy.

These are a fantastic wrap to do and the colour range is endless. This particular one has to be seen in the sunlight to really appreciate it. The metalic red changes shape as you move the rod and has a real holographic look to it.

ark

22-01-2009, 09:24 AM
Going to have to try the 3 colour one.
All the ones I've done in the past have been only 2 colour.
Ta mate :)

fishermen fred
22-01-2009, 04:45 PM
depending on what thread your using you may find lots of little hairs still embeded in the 2nd wrap from the sacrificial thread, make sure you get em all out otherwise they will wick for sure learnt this one the hard way.

Mark Fisher
23-01-2009, 08:11 AM
Fred,

What type of thread are you using for your sacraficial? The second layer islayed firmly but not super tight. When you heat the wrap with the hairdryer it's so the epoxy goes a little soft and the top layer of thread embeds a little into it. The sacraficial thread should not be hard to remove and should not leave any traces like fibres etc.

fishermen fred
23-01-2009, 04:53 PM
yeah i forgot to use the hairdryer and and it is maidera rayon(not sure if that the right spelling) wouldnt use it for the sacrifical threads again.

If i coat the wrap with another layer of epoxy is it likely to level out?

Mark Fisher
23-01-2009, 09:31 PM
Fred,

Don't use Rayon at all for your rod building or sacraficials. The only thread to use other than specific rodbuilding threads like Gudebrod, Fish Hawk etc is Polyester. You can use just about any Polyester but Madeira and Mettler are probably the best known. I also use some Brother brand polyester. Never any thread from Rayon.

Mark.

fishermen fred
25-01-2009, 08:40 AM
Mark,

Can i ask why you say that as i would blame this one on operator error rather then bad products? Might play around with it on some scrap and the wrap i did looks quite vibrant.

What can you say about madeira metallics?

Mark Fisher
25-01-2009, 09:18 AM
Chris,

Rayon threads will fail you at some stage and particularly if you are doing any butt wraps with them. They are a fantastic vibrant thread but not suited to rod building. Rayon also has nowhere near the strength of polyester and, as you have discovered, will leave fibres in your wraps. I did a wrap a couple of years ago in Rayon because I didn't believe all I had been told. I have to admit it looked pretty hot and the lutre was beautiful. When I applied the CP to it, the whole wrap just sagged and went loose all over. There was no rescuing it. Out came the razor after about 8 hours work. Never again!

The Madeira metalics and polyesters are fantastic threads but don't forget Mettler Polysheen. Mettlers metalics are second to none and I use them regularly. My pick of metalic threads is actually from Fish Hawk. You'll find Madiera polyesters hard to get in Australia unless you go through Mudhole Tackle and import them. If you contact Tony Davis at Fishfinder he will steer you straight on any Mettler thread and including a new varigated thread wich looks fantastic.

fishermen fred
25-01-2009, 01:46 PM
Ok thanks Mark ill take your word on the rayon. already have a ton of the polyester from the household sowing basket but me thinks i may need to get my hands on some mettler sooon.