View Full Version : CQ fishing

18-01-2009, 06:16 AM
The wind had dropped and we were keen as always to get out............... Couple mates from toowoomba were up and loved their fishing arrived on the friday afternoon and after a couple drinks and a quick BBQ for dinner we were loaded and off on our fishing adventure ................ But someone forgot to tell the wind to drop out a little more for us.
We travelled out to one of the islands behind the Keppel Island group around 10.30 pm and anchored up for a fish and a camp............ Around 1 0 am we hears a call MAYDAY from a boat at Karamea Banks taking on water and a boat close to them heard their call and reached then after about 10 mins, the poor guys we holding onto their submerged boat . Credit to the guy's in Maddy2 or Matty 2 i'm not sure for their rescue of these guys. The Coast Guard was in contact with them thru this process.
4 am see's us heading to Lisa Jane shoals for a fish but was slow there with 6 redjew coming on board but little of everything's else. So the decision was made to head out wider for some better fishing. While 5 km from our position we come upon massive schools of bonito and birds absolutely was livid with them with a couple boats passing thru trolling ............So out went our lures for a capture of a nice sized Mac Tuna for strip baits.
Onto our spot and we were onto fish straight up with spanish and stripeys and hussars coming in.
We managed a couple trev's and niced sized blueys red throat and cod adding to the esky ......... Down to my last small bunny we got one nice sized spanish before a 14 foot hammerhead started cruising around so that shut down the bite for a while.
2 dolphins came around after the shark motored off and hung around the boat for ages diving out of the water and ducking and weaving thru the swell in a playful manner . Few more stripeys and blueys were added to our collection before we decided around lunch time to head off for cleanup.
Awesome trip with some good results
Weather was good but i should start thinking about sunscreen as my face is lit up
like a beacon
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/17012009006.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/17012009007.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/17012009008.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/DSC02302.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/DSC02301.jpg
http://i371.photobucket.com/albums/oo159/jtpython/17012009009.jpg
The brother in law ended up out with us later and managed some nice fish to with one nice red emporer going 6 kg
Well that was our adventure

18-01-2009, 06:33 AM
quality fish mate love those top size tuskys

cheers justin

Fishing_Freddy
18-01-2009, 08:50 AM
Well done on your catch, good to hear the mayday was answered quickly.
Looks like you will have a couple of good feeds there.
Ken:beer:

18-01-2009, 10:20 AM
Good to hear the mayday call was attended to quickly. We might hear more on that to come.

Nice to see some fish being caught amongst the weather we are all having.

Custaro
18-01-2009, 02:26 PM
Some very nice fish. I hope to see a few more of those spanish in the next couple of months. How clean/dirty was the water?

snagking
18-01-2009, 04:52 PM
Thats some great fish!

18-01-2009, 05:48 PM
The boat that went summerged was a sharkcat that was beening done up over the last 8 months or so and was it's maiden voyage. The guys are all safe thats what counts the most

LINZ_74
18-01-2009, 06:03 PM
nice haul jt, i'm jealous, i am dying to get back out around the keppels again, the weather doesn't seem to want to let me go for some reason.

18-01-2009, 06:20 PM
nice haul jt, i'm jealous, i am dying to get back out around the keppels again, the weather doesn't seem to want to let me go for some reason.
Are from around the area mate
Yes we went out on the friday night but had to wait for the wind was like a washing machine outside the harbour and doesn't help beening pitch black ;D

18-01-2009, 06:21 PM
JT - How do you know Matty L?

LINZ_74
18-01-2009, 06:26 PM
Originally come from Rocky but have been living at Middlemount (3 hours west of Rocky) for the last 3 years or so. I have a block of dirt at Yeppoon which i am going to build on in the near future. Dying to get back o the coast. Everytime i am off on break it is usually blowing.

18-01-2009, 06:42 PM
Deleted post

18-01-2009, 06:43 PM
No worries - I just saw the CQ Drill and Blast hat and thought you must of known Matt

18-01-2009, 06:52 PM
Matt sorry had me thinking of something esle matty lever is my brother in law
The Black Seafox is his boat
Leanne is my sister

lethal098
18-01-2009, 07:38 PM
they are some qaulity tuskies there, gota be happy with that, and some spaniards to add. well done on what sounds and looks like a great trip. cheers lethal

mangomick
18-01-2009, 07:43 PM
Good on ya JT. Looks like a few good tuskies are starting to get around

18-01-2009, 08:10 PM
Nice catch JT, and the conditions looked quite good too.

Wags

Fishbait
18-01-2009, 08:21 PM
Nice quality fish there JT. Never caught a spaniad myself but they look like awesome machines. Cheers, Darren

gawby
18-01-2009, 09:17 PM
I hope we can catch some of that quality
at the next tanan hookup JT.
Gotta get myself motivated and go for a fish to.
Graeme

jarhead
19-01-2009, 12:34 PM
Quality Tuskies there JT, nice.

Wal

Benno1
19-01-2009, 04:43 PM
top shelf catch JT!!!...love the piccies mate...nice and clean...were you trawling for the macky???...or was it a livey out the back paddock???...cheers for the picces and report...good to hear all was well (sort of) with that mob in the other boat.

Mrs Benno1
Sunny

DAZMC1
19-01-2009, 07:11 PM
Went down to Lisa Jane Friday night and bagged out on red jew in about 4 hours, got a little rough at around 10pm so headed home. Sorry havnt worked out how to post pics yet.

DAZMC1
19-01-2009, 08:32 PM
Hope this works, By the way I,m not sure if red jew and large mouth nanigai are the same fish or not. I also lost 2 spannos.

19-01-2009, 09:26 PM
Cheers Daz
You were probaley coming in as we were going out we passed 2 boats coming back to the harbour
Mate same fish .......We managed 6 red jew 2 small mouths and 4 large mouths in the morning as we sat behind Humpy till about 4 am
Least you done great ...... Nice feed there

19-01-2009, 11:28 PM
Good to see you getting amongst them again JT...nice sized tuskfish....and mate you do that finger in the eye photo shot better than anyone I know..lol