View Full Version : Our brand-spanking new boat

17-01-2009, 11:09 AM
As a few would know we've been looking for a boat for the nephews to have a go in and to have a quick squirt up the canals.
We were wanting something in the smaller size but there's not much about.
After looking at some second handy's we gave up and went new.
Actually the new price for these was less then the usual second handy price.
Sp here's the 'Little Red Boat' as my niece calls it.
She's 2.5m long, 1.4m wide, weighs 45kg and has positive displacement.
She's going to have a 2hp Honda on the back.
Mods to happen are...seat going and a box to sit on instead.
2 rod holders and she's done

What do you'se reckon?? ;D

17-01-2009, 11:15 AM
The tackers will be well and truly wrapped. Is that a Poly?

Mmmmm one wonders tho " Mods are to happen" should be interesting Scotty.

Moonlighter
17-01-2009, 11:16 AM
Excellent!

You'll have to pry the youngsters out of that with a crowbar!

ML

17-01-2009, 11:28 AM
The tackers will be well and truly wrapped. Is that a Poly?

Mmmmm one wonders tho " Mods are to happen" should be interesting Scotty.

All polly Dave.
we pick her up on Monday after lunch and I reckon by the time Judge Judy comes on I'll get the mods done.
Live bait tank maybe??
Plotter maybe??
I know what she needs.....outriggers. I have a set of those down in the dungeon ;D

Excellent!

You'll have to pry the youngsters out of that with a crowbar!

ML
They have to get my posteria out first. Poor snookums' ;D

17-01-2009, 11:36 AM
Scot,

When are you getting the Honda.. the just went up on the 12th :P

Great toy for the kids

17-01-2009, 11:39 AM
It's very red................................

17-01-2009, 12:02 PM
Scot,

When are you getting the Honda.. the just went up on the 12th :P

Great toy for the kids
Got it already matey. You beaut second handy from Nuggstar. :)
I reality it was for their nana and pop's kids...ie the brothers and ME!!

It's very red................................
Hence the name "Little Red Boat". Nothing to do with the wiggly ones. ;)
We could have got yellow or blue or green or...but red is simple... Just like me :-[
I did not even think or know about these until I saw them over a fence in an industrial area yesterday.
i was supposed to get some beef ribs and come home with another boat.
More amasing is the cook's happy as Larry about it.
I would have thought she'd buck. This is boat number 4 ::)

Pirate_Pete_Tas
17-01-2009, 12:05 PM
What brand poly is that Finga???

I am a bit of a poly addict & havent seen that shaped boat before.

17-01-2009, 12:10 PM
What brand poly is that Finga???

I am a bit of a poly addict & havent seen that shaped boat before.
Fairly new on the market.
Made locally too as well as tanks and toolboxes and ...lots of stuff
What do reckon these would be worth seeing you know poly's??
I might become a dealer seeing tiny tots of boats are not easy to come across.

I thought they'd be good with all the grab handles around them and with the extra wide gunnels seats will not be needed really. Well not for the rest of them anyways because I'll have my box to place my posteria upon.
I can see a rope going all the way around.

TonyM
17-01-2009, 12:57 PM
What a great little boat!

Just the ticket to chuck on the roof rack too by the looks of it....

Scott, any chance of PM'ing me contact details of where you got it please? (I'm down to one boat and it really hurts - Plus I haven't bought a boat for almost 2 years which is a record!)

17-01-2009, 08:14 PM
are you going to take her offshore for a spell?

17-01-2009, 08:54 PM
Another wheelie bin on the water :):):)

18-01-2009, 07:50 AM
are you going to take her offshore for a spell?
Well I have some outriggers.....so.....::)???

Another wheelie bin on the water :):):)
Yeah, yeah, what-ever ;D
Just for that your not coming for a ride 8-)
How was Resusi Anni yesterday??

18-01-2009, 05:22 PM

Well done Scotty, they do say red's the fastest color! you must treat "the cook" as you so affectionately mention her really well if she's got no worries with you bringing a boat home as a surprise!

death_ship
19-01-2009, 04:26 PM
cool, u gonna wear budgie smugglers and a life saver cap?

19-01-2009, 04:43 PM

;D;D Don't tempt him!

19-01-2009, 04:59 PM

;D;D Don't tempt him!
Depends...how much??
http://www.smileyhut.com/surprised/jawdrop.gif

death_ship
19-01-2009, 08:57 PM
definitely not paying to see that

20-01-2009, 06:25 AM
definitely not paying to see that
Why??? I'll be sunsafe. I'll bung some white zinc on my nose ;D

20-01-2009, 02:29 PM
Ewww - now I have picked myself up off the floor and stopped laughing about the budgie smuggler line, I have to admit the look of it is very life saver - you have to wonder if they were targetting that market with all these grab handles etc
Nice little toy though Scotty

20-01-2009, 03:29 PM
Oh nooooo!!!!.
Went to pickup the 'little red boat' and, and, and ......it's now yellow....
What's a good name for a little yellow boat???

TonyM
20-01-2009, 05:22 PM
Banana Boat

Lemon Twist

Or put some red X's on it an show you're proud to be a QLD'er ;D

20-01-2009, 05:43 PM
Banana Boat

Lemon Twist

Or put some red X's on it an show you're proud to be a QLD'er ;D

Don't laugh. You have one too you know.
And I have a vinyl cutter so you never know what might be on the side when you pick it up ::)
PS We're going to have the inaugural floating tomorrow in my mates pool.
We'll see if they swim :D or sink :-[

PSS if anyones interested I can get the seconds of these for $400 cash.
Limited colours though.

Donny Boy
20-01-2009, 06:33 PM
What do you'se reckon?? ;D
Went to pickup the 'little red boat' and, and, and ......it's now yellow....
What's a good name for a little yellow boat???

"Or put some red X's on it an show you're proud to be a QLD'er http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../yabbfiles/Templates/Forum/default/grin.gif "

Cap'n..........a thing of beauty...................... is a joy forever. ;)

TonyM
20-01-2009, 06:39 PM
Don't laugh. You have one too you know.
And I have a vinyl cutter so you never know what might be on the side when you pick it up ::)
PS We're going to have the inaugural floating tomorrow in my mates pool.
We'll see if they swim :D or sink :-[

haha yep I can see where having a vinyl cutter could be fun :chinese:

Good luck with the inaugural launch - I hope they float! ;D

Fatenhappy
20-01-2009, 06:44 PM
Good to see some more little tackers on the water .... gotta be better than watching a PC ....

21-01-2009, 02:51 PM
Seeing the comments about life savers and the coincidence of it being Yellow you just have to call it Budgie mate :D :D

21-01-2009, 02:53 PM
Nope...all wrong.
She's going to be Donald as in Donald Duck and going to have a picture of a rubber duckie with sunnies on the front :)
Now to remember how to use that infernal machine???
:D

TonyM
21-01-2009, 05:53 PM
So did they float Scott? :wreck: :D

I might have to fix you up for doing a set of Bananas in Pajamas decals for mine ;D

21-01-2009, 06:19 PM
So did they float Scott? :wreck: :D

I might have to fix you up for doing a set of Bananas in Pajamas decals for mine ;D

Well Donald went in the water at about 8.30 and we had to get the boys out at 2pm.
I bet them they could not sink him and guess what?? They were defeated miserably.
They tipped him upside down and rolled him over and over and over whilst some holes were still where the rollocks are supposed to go and where the seat sits and filled the inside up with water but Donald stayed well above the level top mark.
The water took some getting getting out too :P
When he was emptied I put it back in the pool and stood on a side.
He wasn't going to go over in a hurry I'll give ya the drum.
Anyways I got to work this arvo and put the transom plates on and put a couple of bungs in (one on the outside and one on the inside) and a (only had one in the dungeon so another drive to bias) rodholder where the rollocks are supposed to go and I reckon by using the milkcrate as a seat (it can hold the anchor and the mirror) it'll be pretty good.
Hopefully tomorrow arvo he'll be in the briney.
I was going to take some pictures but I forgot the camera didn't I :-/

Roughasguts
21-01-2009, 09:01 PM
Hi finga, hey that's not bad I paid more than that for a plastic kyak for the kids.

Question what is the max rated HP for the tub I got a 5HP sitting in the shed for the inflatable, wonder if that be to heavy for it.

Hmmm double as a pool for the kids in the back yard as well.

I got a 3.3m quicksilver inflatable and that's just a heavy pain in the ar$e and then you got the puncture worries with it as well.

I like it.

TonyM
21-01-2009, 10:44 PM
This would go well on the back ;) (bit exy though...)

http://www.defender.com/images/454477.jpg

6 hp equivalent, 24 Volt Electric Motor
Torqeedo 2.0S Electric, 6hp equivalent
24 Volt, 15 " Shaft, Tiller, Weight 40 Lbs

http://www.defender.com/product.jsp?path=-1|215570|828737&id=828375

Better still, here's how to make your own.
http://www.psnw.com/~jmrudholm/etekoutboard.html

22-01-2009, 06:18 AM
Hi finga, hey that's not bad I paid more than that for a plastic kyak for the kids.

Question what is the max rated HP for the tub I got a 5HP sitting in the shed for the inflatable, wonder if that be to heavy for it.

Hmmm double as a pool for the kids in the back yard as well.

I like it.
No rating plate but they've had a 6 on them and too powerful.
A 2 or max of 4 was recommended but no plate on them so......
Good little pool or even a sandpit I reckon for $400. Just open the bung to let the cat pee out :P

22-01-2009, 11:41 AM
Fair dinkum thats cheap Scotty, where did you get it ? (Pm me if you want)

PS, pretty sure I am gonna sell the tinny now, long story but anyways.... :-(