View Full Version : cooler

dnej
14-01-2009, 09:16 AM
http://edge1.dealsdirect.net/images/products/16405/2/product1_16405.jpg
Is this a good price for this unit $ 219

dnej
14-01-2009, 09:19 AM
This Premium Rotor-Molded 110L Ice Box has been designed to suit the Australian conditions and service the specific needs of the recreational camping and boating enthusiasts. This ice box features fully molded base and lid, two rear heavy duty lid hinges with three stainless steel closing clasps, 35ml drain plug with washer, is extremely lightweight and durable and fully injected with high density refrigeration foam throughout. Premium Rotor-Molded 110L Ice Box.

Features:

Premium Rotor-Molded 110L Ice Box.
Fully molded base and lid - 50ml side walls, 45ml base and 85ml lid.
Two rear heavy duty lid Hhnges with 3 stainless steel closing clasps.
Convenient lift-up carry handles on each side.
Internally molded handles reset in the lid to allow ease of opening.
35ml drain plug with washer.
Non Slip molded sides on the bottom
Fully injected with high density refrigeration foam throughout.
Internals are rated to Food Grade Polyethylene.
Extremely lightweight and durable.
Orange safety colour.
Dimensions: 920x460x480mm.
Weight:13kg.

Sorry, I forgot the details.
David

14-01-2009, 09:19 AM
Seems alright to me

Pete62
14-01-2009, 09:31 AM
Hi David, where are you looking? I have a couple of the moulded type, won't mention names cause there has been raging debates on here about them b4.
There is a mob on E***Y that have a pretty good product at good prices.

A good tip is some of them don't have any core in the lid so u can drill a couple of holes in the underside and fill it with a couple of cans of that airasole type gap filler then seal the holes with silicone, worked for me.
Cheer's Pete.

reidy
14-01-2009, 10:12 AM
Have a Techni ice 120l which appears to be a similar product at a similar price and am very happy with mine (i am in tassie though)
Reidy

14-01-2009, 11:35 AM
There is a problem with some of the aerosol foams....I found out the hard way.

Some of them will not go off with out quit a lot of access to air.

I have a cheapo esky, that had no filling in the to so I bored holes in the corners and filled er up with foam......didn't go off.

the resin when flat and ran out of the holes like a sticky honey.....took me several days to let it all run out after repeatedly clearing the holes of blockages.

dnej
14-01-2009, 05:16 PM
http://www.techniice.com/images/120L_blue_new.jpg

Found this one,whicjh is 120 litres, for $199,plus delivery of $28. Close cell foam throughout , including lid, tie downs,bottom skids.
Anyone have one?
David

dnej
14-01-2009, 05:18 PM
INSULATION: closed cell high density multi-compound foam, injected under pressure into all
panels including lid.
http://www.techniice.com/images/arrow.gif INTEGRATED MOULDING of both carry handles and hinges (No pop rivets to tear out).
http://www.techniice.com/images/arrow.gif LARGE BUNG with O ring on all models
http://www.techniice.com/images/arrow.gif FOOD GRADE INTERIOR.
http://www.techniice.com/images/arrow.gif DRY ICE COMPATIBLE.
http://www.techniice.com/images/arrow.gif FULL LENGTH NON-MARKING WHITE RUBBER SKIDS for easy handling.(Not rubber feet to tear off or damage matting when sliding loaded ice box in a vehicle or boat)
http://www.techniice.com/images/arrow.gif LOCKABLE.
http://www.techniice.com/images/arrow.gif BUILT TO HIGHEST INDUSTRY STANDARDS.
http://www.techniice.com/images/arrow.gif Structual Lid (can be used as a seat or step for 4WD's or a cutting board for boats, etc).
http://www.techniice.com/images/arrow.gif 5-16 DAY ICE RATING.
http://www.techniice.com/images/arrow.gif COLOURS: Blue, yellow and white.
http://www.techniice.com/images/arrow.gif Size: 40Ltr, 60Ltr, 70Ltr, 80Ltr, 100Ltr, 120Ltr, 150Ltr, 200Ltr, 300Ltr, 400Ltr, 600Ltr, 800Ltr and 1100Ltr
http://www.techniice.com/images/arrow.gif 12 YEAR GUARANTEE

Bladeca
14-01-2009, 08:08 PM
I've got one in the 100lt. Takes 10 4kg bags of party ice to fill with drinks. Had probably 2 bags worth of ice left after 4.5 days. Ice wasn't that hard so I was very happy with how it kept things cooled. Water in the bottom would definately cool a few hot stubbies. Have found that it will slide around in the back of the Pajero so it does need to be tied down. So i'm very happy with it and the price was good

Makes for a bloody good seat too, except for when you have to keep getting up to get the beers out of it ;D

dnej
14-01-2009, 09:11 PM
Look like a great price, and now I have some ammo from someone who has used one.Many thanks Bladeca

reidy
15-01-2009, 07:09 AM
yep thats the one.
Happy as with mine.
Reidy

Pete62
15-01-2009, 08:08 AM
Yep, got the same, very happy, note the tie downs r extra, was with mine anyway.
The sheets r a bonus, they work well, I freeze mine and put them on the bottom of the esky, food and or drinks in then ice on top.
Be careful once u have the sheets prepared not to let blood or anything other than water come in contact with them as they will absorb it,and as I found out, stuff em.

Cheer's Pete.

reidy
15-01-2009, 09:51 AM
Yep, got the same, very happy, note the tie downs r extra, was with mine anyway.
The sheets r a bonus, they work well, I freeze mine and put them on the bottom of the esky, food and or drinks in then ice on top.
Be careful once u have the sheets prepared not to let blood or anything other than water come in contact with them as they will absorb it,and as I found out, stuff em.

Cheer's Pete.
to true pete half of mine now smell like fish.Try placing them in a LARGE snap lock bag to keep the crud out.shes a bloody good eski for the money,very happy
Reidy

dnej
15-01-2009, 10:28 AM
Reidy, thanks for the info.Pete, with the 120 litre, the tie down points are standard, on any unit above 70 litres.
Thanks for the heads up on the sheets. I see a cooler bag comes with the unit, what ever that is.Maybe to put the sheets in?
David

Pete62
15-01-2009, 11:01 AM
Hey Dave no worries, when u say the tie down points are standard, yes, but I was referring to the tie down straps being optional.

Guess the free cooler bag is so u can take an extra 6 pack..............just in case;D

Cheers, Pete.

BTW the same mob advertise in the fishing mags offering 2 or 3 sizes bundled together for one price, never compared so don't know if it's better value.

reidy
15-01-2009, 11:45 AM
have a look on their (techni ice)web site they have some good packages and cheap.
all the best
Reidy

dnej
15-01-2009, 12:43 PM
Reidy,
That is the site I got the pic from. Also Bush & Beach mag, have a full page add.
Many thanks
David

reidy
15-01-2009, 01:38 PM
My pleasure David
Dave Reid