View Full Version : Late Post PB Dollie

Adam_G
09-01-2009, 07:06 PM
Hi All,

Bit of a late post but here goes. Fished last Friday out near the wave rider bouy on board Honda900's boat, conditions were better than expected as was the fishing.

First few drops Honda is on to a few small pearlies and I boat a 2kg Skipjack tuna (which is mistaken for a Bonito and put in the bait esky:'( , wont happen again).

Then there is the call, "look it's a shark, no a cobia, no holy crap it's a massive Dolphin Fish hanging under the sea anchor", any way to cut the story short Honda hooked up first and dropped one, I hooked up while Honda hand fed a massive Dollie pilchards at the back of the boat, then I dropped mine, and in all the excitement I managed to get my SP back in the water quick enough to hook up again and it was on.;D

30 mins later, 20lb line, Bear S10 (best purchase I ever made), great driving and gaff shot by Honda, my PB Dollie is boated.

The rest of the day was fairly slow but we wern't to bothered;) I think the photo tells a better story.

Adam

Fishbait
09-01-2009, 07:16 PM
Yep - photo tells a better story. Thats a cracker fish! Top stuff. Cheers, Darren.

ON-THE-CHEW
09-01-2009, 10:00 PM
good stuff Adam we have seen a few of the bulls around that area but could only ever hook the small ones, we could never get the biggins interested.

09-01-2009, 11:12 PM
Great picture. shows off a great catch.

I will have to keep a lookout under my para anchor

sleepygreg
10-01-2009, 01:07 AM
Thats a bloody nice Dollie. Well done. And some top chewing there as well.

RAT-KING
10-01-2009, 04:31 AM
Well done Adam great fish!
ceating ur own structure great idea!

backlash08
10-01-2009, 05:34 AM
nice dollie - well done

10-01-2009, 06:39 AM
Great fish Adam. Was it caught on a home rolled rod?

Adam_G
10-01-2009, 07:21 AM
Thanks guys I'm still excited looking at the pic,

I think all eyes will be on the para anchor next outing! We fed 3 families with it and still have some left over.

dogsbody, no I got it on my egrell bear S10, but I have a blank at home which is next on the list for a heavier off shore SP rod.

Maybe I need to change my Avatar;D .

Adam

10-01-2009, 07:59 AM
Ah yes it does say what type of rod. I'd forgotten all about it by the time I read the other posts :-[ To early for me,,me bad.

10-01-2009, 09:11 AM
excellent fish mate

cheers justin

Mr Walker
10-01-2009, 09:37 AM
Love the color and they're bloody tasty.

MW

tae4551
10-01-2009, 09:57 AM
i believe the wave rider bouy has now gone walk about and is drifting south

Moonlighter
10-01-2009, 04:38 PM
Well done - that is one species that's still on my list - hope to find one this summer!

ML

Adam_G
10-01-2009, 05:27 PM
Moonlighter, It was on my list for this year as well and after that one it still is!

Adam

death_ship
11-01-2009, 01:01 AM
i still reckon they look like they chase parked cars, but they have pretty colours. onya

tfish
11-01-2009, 06:59 PM
greeat doolllie! there has definitely been some quality dollies around this year!congrats on the pb!cheers trav

catfish55
11-01-2009, 07:54 PM
bloody beautifull mate , oh well one day wonder how long it'll take them to find and return the wave rider bouy????pat

gofishin
26-01-2009, 11:14 AM
As of yesterday it is still not there, nor in a ~3nm radius of the published position as we looked pretty hard for it. EPA site has a note up that it is missing, I wonder if the note will disappear as soon as it is re-established?