View Full Version : Cape 'hoo thurs 08Jan

uripper
08-01-2009, 04:06 PM
Managed an outing to Cape Moreton early this morning in lumpy conditions outside. Mate Steve blooded his new Xmas TLD25 with a nice 9kg wahoo. Was only hit of the day so feeling fortunate to bring home a feed. Only saw one other boat hooked up to a small black. Seemed fairly quiet otherwise. Great run home across the bay.

08-01-2009, 04:13 PM
Your not wrong by the conditions behind you looks sloppy
Nice fish .............. Skirts or hardbodies?

08-01-2009, 04:36 PM

Well done there mal, and don't those 'hoo go off!!

uripper
08-01-2009, 07:15 PM
JT - purple & silver skirt - "surfing" up to 16 kms/hr & "bogging" down to 8 kms/hr - was pretty lumpy swell up abt 2metres & a few white caps - was rock & roll time ;D

Hi Dave - this one was rather quiet - took off abt 100m at first then came to boat without much fuss - good skipper ? ::)

Mal

DALEPRICE
08-01-2009, 07:18 PM
gday mal, well done mate. makes the trip well
worth it with a quality fish.
The longboat is going great mate and even managed to whack a few fish up.
cheers dale

08-01-2009, 08:12 PM
Nice looking hoo. Weren't those conditions a little trying.

08-01-2009, 08:36 PM
Which boat were you on? We were fishing the shallow tempest area on my little kevlacat ( Shikaree) We dropped a little black after 5minutes at 9.15am but tagged another at 10.20 am ,add in a good yellow fin and it wasn't to bad a day, although the trip down from Mooloolaba could have been better!

captain rednut
08-01-2009, 08:52 PM
hi ian we had a very quiet day on AQUASITION and worked shallow tempest for five hours with livies and lures, seen heaps but maybe it just wasent our day? we nearly tagged six scuba divers if that counts? we trolled up to hutchies with you guys and still nothing and then proceeded down to the trench and bye that stage we were beyond bordem, overall a nice day except for the washing machine at the cape this morning.
cheers jim/ryan

uripper
08-01-2009, 09:24 PM
Which boat were you on?

Hi Ian - have an old HH560 with a pod, white soft-top & twin aerials (Ausfish decals still under house :-/ ) Think we may have passed you near Hutchies.

Chris - yeah was of sloppy eh? Interesting you got hammered also on a purple /silver skirt - fortunately we had on abt 30cm of multistrand wire set at the short flat & the fish chose it - go figure - like I said, feeling very fortunate to have scored a feed.

Hi Dale - good to hear the old girl is going well - those UB580's are a great boat - remember to watch out for pooled water in the fillercap deck area.

Mal

ShaneC
09-01-2009, 06:47 AM
We had a super quiet day also with only a few bonito and a small mack tuna that are now destined to be crab bait. We trolled from the trench to hutchies then down to the Cape, then ran back to the trench but was not our day. Insult to injury was mate losing balance when we were coming round the Cape he went to grab the grab rail but let go of my new trolling outfit which ended up in the drink... Not happy!!!! Tuesdays trip cost an anchor, Thursdays was about 15 fold more expensive..... We ended up at Tangas for a quiet beer by about 11 as one of my deckies was beyond seasick and thought he was going to die!! Was certainly 'amateur hour' on my boat....

Frank OO
09-01-2009, 07:53 AM
Hi Mal,

It is great to see that you got out yesterday and that you were able to skilfully put Steve onto a good Wahoo.

Say hello to Janine for me.

Frank OO

uripper
09-01-2009, 08:45 AM
Thanks Frank - dont think skill had much to do with it - just in the right place at the right time - happy to take it though after recent strike outs - had the nuc-chook riding shotgun but no joy - was hoping to pick up some nice fresh mac tuna BAIT FOR YOU ;D ;D

Mal

geeffa
09-01-2009, 09:47 AM
hi guys; we were out at the trench yesterday in that slop. didn,t turn a reel all day. no bait ; no birds, nothing. trolled out from bribie and all the way back across the banks thinking we might pic up a spotty or two;zilch. saw a couple of boats out there during the day; i don,t think they had much luck either. iwas the won in the blue and white cabin cruiser. theres always next time; eh

09-01-2009, 10:15 AM
Geeffa

We started at the trench but it just looked dead we were seriously thinking about heading back to the 18 mile when there was some radio chatter about good bait and birds at shallow tempest ( Thanks Jim ;) :D ) So we hot footed it across there! Amazing differance in sea between the cape and 500m sth of the cape:o

The bait and birds seemed to be on top of the drop of and as tempting as it was to keep checking out those bait balls and sharks , both the shots we had we more inshore where the bait was more mid-water. The swim gar on the down rigger was our lucky charm on the day as well we were pulling that aroud 10m under the water! That last run of your's nth was pretty much our prefered run!

Uripper

Hope we didn't piss you and Jim off to much up at hutchies pulling those high speed hex heads, It was just getting late and we find if we pull those across the high lump a few times with out getting a hit , it's not going to happen and it didn't.

If there there they love hitting them at 13 knots

capt
09-01-2009, 06:52 PM
Great effort there Steve........nice fish...........and a Brisbane Lions supporter ...............Legend

Cheers Jimmy

jaredluke
09-01-2009, 07:52 PM
Nice Hoo, I've only got one suggestion barrack for a real team:) like the sainters.

10-01-2009, 09:12 AM
great table quality there mate

cheers justin

Megafisk
10-01-2009, 09:44 AM
Hi All - yeah pretty flat day. We were in the other Cruisecraft 'Blue Water' trolled all the way from Hutchies to Shallow Temp for zip. Saw one boat hook a little black around where Frank OO was East of the cape in 40-50m. Ended up knife jigging the St Paul's just for something different and managed an Ambo - always fun on a t-curve and 50lb braid!! (not that big a fish - 6kg - but fought hard enough on the jig gear). Heard from some boys off Sunny Coast and Hervey Bay that yesterday was a no show up and down the SE coast - maybe low Baro??
We ended up inside the bay - it was stinkin hot between the scuds. BUT as they say better to be on the water than digging dirt!

Dogdoctor
10-01-2009, 04:20 PM
Well I am glad that we were not alone. Three Adults aboard "Bazza Too" left Bribie at 5-00 am travelled behind a cat(Kevlar?) for some time and travelled out towards the north/east to spot X and saw a few impressive bait balls on the way in 160 ft of water but no pelargics breaking the surface. Later chased a number of birds and some small tuna at and around the 200 ft area - saw some very large bait schools - got didly squat. At spot X one of the very experienced crew tried to invert himself inside out and left burley trail to be admired. Left him that way for some time and then took pity and returned to the inner shipping channel markers. Nothing but rubbish. Got a blow-out in the front left tyre of the trailer on the way home(duel axel). A day to forget. Roll on the Toyota and 1770. Recently re-engined with an Optimax 175 - brilliant. 110 nautical miles from 114 litres at approx 30 kl per hr at 3200/3400 revs.