View Full Version : Sabre 24 Advice

Out-Station
04-01-2009, 08:24 PM
G'day everyone. I have a sabre 6455XH coming my way to build a 24 kilo job on. Have a few questions if anyone can help.

1. Does anyone out there have a recipe for this blank? If so what Inside Diam gimbal, grips and seat will suit. I'm going fuji alloy gimbal and seat and shaped duralon grips. Also what size roller tip suits this blank.

2. Having never built anything this heavy before, how many under and over binds should I go with. I was thinking a single underbind and 2 overs but don't really have a clue?

3. What grade of thread should i use?

Any other tips on this build are welcome.

Cheer's, Scott

Owen
04-01-2009, 09:25 PM
The diameter at the butt is listed as 0.965 In (24.5mm)
The tip size is listed as 12.
So without measuring one I'd guess about a 22-23mm reel seat.
Probably 22mm rear grip and about 19mm front.
I'd use A on the underbind and Double C overbinds.
I prefer epoxy ramps on heavy rods, but if winding checks float your boat, run with them. You'll realy need all your other parts before you can size them though.
The "recipe" will depend on your stature and the components you end up with.

I have a Calstar 6455H which is similar.
I posted it a while back here.
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=136889
From memory I used a 22mm Alps triangular seat and it was only just big enough to go to where I needed it, but the Calstar is an extra 1mm or so bigger in the arse.
Nailed my PB Spaniard (easily 30KG) and a 22kg + cobia on it the other day.
My scales only went to 22kg so I don't know exactly what they were.
Never felt anything but in control, so if the Seeker is anything like it, you'll love it.
Give Ross (Rodworks) a call.
He can measure up a blank and give you all the right bits.
Take the guesswork out of it.

Out-Station
05-01-2009, 07:44 AM
Owen, thanks for the tips.

What is an "epoxy ramp". A winding check is a little ring type thing covering the fron't of the top grip right?????

Owen
05-01-2009, 10:02 AM
Scott,
An epoxy ramp is just an area tapering up from the blank to the outside diameter of the front grip.
You do it using epoxy glue (5 min araldite works fine) and then wrap thread over top once you're satisfied with the shape.
It takes place of a winding check (which is what you thought it was)
If you have a look at the photo I linked to you'll see what a ramp looks like.
On that one I mixed a little black enamel with the epoxy to ensure that no threads could be seen.
I just think they look slicker on heavy rods.

Out-Station
05-01-2009, 01:51 PM
Owen, thanks. Agree that the ramp looks the goods, i'll give it a go i think.

Is my idea of single underbind and 2 over's ok in your opinion?

Owen
05-01-2009, 06:00 PM
Scott,
That's what I'd do on a rod that size.
I would only use size A thread on the underbind and use size C on the two over binds.
I find that it's easier to wrap C over A as they don't track the grooves from the one underneath, so packing is easier.
Also the underbind is for blank protection & decoration, so I see no reason to go heavy unless you need the width in a single trim band or something.
But the whole point of custom is to make YOUR preferred rod.
If you want to use all D size, then go for it.

Mark Fisher
06-01-2009, 07:41 AM
I looked up an old Rod Crafter magazine with a Ian Miller recipe in it for a 24kg Sabre 6455XH.

AFTCO G2 gimbal
Rear 25cm,
DPS-H25 seat,
35cm game fore grip
set of AFTCO heavy duty roller and size 12 roller tip
spacings - tip -1st 105mm, 130mm, 140mm. 170mm and 230mm

Go with Owens suggestion with thread size. I would also, place a coat of epoxy over your underwrap, wait 24 hours, then double bind your guide overwraps. With the over bind, don't use and CP to get the best bond between it and your epoxy.

Hope this helps

Out-Station
06-01-2009, 07:52 AM
Mark, thanks for the reply.

Yeah, i saw that recipe in my old rod crafter the other day. Looks ok accept i'll need to change the guides since i'm not going with rollers.

When you say epoxy the underbind do you mean give them a couple of coats of filler and then a coat of rod coat, or do you mean apply some other type of epoxy?

What are you saying RE CP etc. I'm not with you on this??

Cheer's Scott

06-01-2009, 08:06 AM
I have both the 6455H and XH (I prefer the H) and it is single under bound in A and double over in A, cannot remember the other dimensions, but the bindings are still very good after a couple of years use.

Mark Fisher
06-01-2009, 09:44 AM
Scott, When you finish the underbind, apply a couple of coats of your CP (Colour Preserver/filler) allowing about 2 hours at least between coats. Then apply 1 fairly thin coat of epoxy finish (I've been using Threadmaster). Wait 24 hours and then bind on your guides but this time when you finish binding them on, don't use the colour preserver, just apply at least 2 coats of your epoxy finish over the top with 6-12 hours between coats. In this way you are creating the maximum bond between the underwrap and your overwrap. Even if you do decide to use CP on your overwrap, I haven't had one fail "yet" (touch wood).

Out-Station
06-01-2009, 08:51 PM
Thanks for all the great info everyone, very mch appreciated!!

Noelm, I only ever got to bend a 6455, and a 6455XH. I have a 6455 which is a classic 15Kg stroker. I'm looking for the same in a 24. Something that i can push 24 with standup gimbal and harness (I've got the big blue from a trailerboat bug). Should i be taking the time to get a look at a 6455H. In the catelogue its listed as 15-24 whilst the xh is straight 24. My only concern with the XH was that maybe it was a touch to heavy. Which of your rods would you take for fully blown 24 standup game work??

cheer's Scott

Mark Fisher
07-01-2009, 08:16 AM
Scott you sound sold on the Sabres but why not look at the Hastings range? They are a beautiful light blank with a fast tip and heaps of low end power. Similar to a Sabre but, IMHO. a better all round blank for the dollar.

Out-Station
07-01-2009, 08:18 PM
Mark, not married to the sabre, its just the only range of blanks i've had the oportunity to bend. Its hard (impossible) to find anyone that carries a bit of a range to compare, particularly when you live in the bush. Was looking at a ian miller 24kg stroker build in modern fishing using a hastings URC55XH that sounds the goods for what i want. Starting to think i may have to bend a couple of other blanks before i make the final call.

Mark, are you the same Mark Fisher that has the odd rod building page in fishing world?

Cheer's Scott

Mark Fisher
10-01-2009, 10:12 AM
Yes mate, that's me.

If you want some proffessional advice on a suitable Hastings blank contact Peter Williams at gccr@optusnet.com.au. He will steer you the right way and may even suggest a few different blanks. Next time you're at Surfers, why don't you drop in and see him?

13-01-2009, 07:47 AM
I guess in a sort of way, I just have an affinity with Sabres, not too sure if it's an "old times sake" thing, but I jsut love them, as far as being a full on 24KG, in a sense the XH would be closer to the mark, but I just prefer the H seems to be easier on the back, more forgiving if something goes amiss for a second when hooked up, but it is a personal thing, what I like, someone else hates, I have a 6455 as well for 15KG