PDA

View Full Version : Sea anchor

reelchippy
26-12-2008, 11:18 AM
What length should a sea anchor be set at cheers

chevyJ
26-12-2008, 12:46 PM
I just completed my boat license a few weeks ago as I am new to the hole boat scene and we were told that a anchor is to be depth X 3 so if its 20m the rope needs to be 60 metres. but what they teach you some times is not always the right way. but at least that gives you a starting point and I am sure someone will correct me if I am wrong.
cheers
Jay

reelchippy
26-12-2008, 03:37 PM
I just completed my boat license a few weeks ago as I am new to the hole boat scene and we were told that a anchor is to be depth X 3 so if its 20m the rope needs to be 60 metres. but what they teach you some times is not always the right way. but at least that gives you a starting point and I am sure someone will correct me if I am wrong.
cheers
Jay

Thanks mate but thats for a bottom anchor this is a sea anchor which slows down the drift cheers

FNQCairns
26-12-2008, 03:42 PM
Whatever suits you, the first time you use it you will quickly see, of coarse I am talking recreation and using it within recreation.

Just don't go forgetting it's out immediately after spying a surface bustup of fish 200m away!:)

cheers fnq

reelchippy
26-12-2008, 04:01 PM
Cheers your so right

bigjimg
26-12-2008, 06:50 PM
I set mine at about 10m or so with the retrieve line out at 12m or so with float attached.And have never had a problem.Jim

disorderly
26-12-2008, 07:05 PM
I set mine at about 10m or so with the retrieve line out at 12m or so with float attached.And have never had a problem.Jim

Gday Jim...can you detail that method a bit,please...how do you attach the float and retrieve line?..

Scott

bigjimg
26-12-2008, 08:23 PM
Gday Jim...can you detail that method a bit,please...how do you attach the float and retrieve line?..

Scott
Gidday Scott