View Full Version : Trolling fuel consumptions...
iceknight
17-12-2008, 11:12 PM
whats everyones fuel consumptions while trolling? and what engine/boat,
today i trolled at 3 grand chasing marlin... chewed 24 liters over a 1.5 hour period... not 100% on what speed i was pulling as dident have the gps... but it wasent too fast,
70hp 98 strk johnson. 4.58 streaker cuddy,
Curious to know what people are chewing with similar style boats,
Jabba_
18-12-2008, 05:28 AM
Trolling at 6-8kn 1500rpm-1800rpm, I use 9-11ltrs/hr .... 6m seafarer/250 E-tec
18-12-2008, 06:24 AM
Haven't done it for quite some time. But last year did a full day, 10 hours continuous at 5-6 knots for 80 litres and one 2Kg stripey :(.
gavsgonefishing
18-12-2008, 06:37 AM
Usually when I troll I use about 1 carton a full day with 2 people;D
18-12-2008, 06:59 AM
are you saying you used 24litres trolling with an OMC 70 in 1.5 hours?? that seems like an awful lot, or was that including running to and from location?, not saying you are wrong, it just seems like a too much.
18-12-2008, 07:35 AM
90 3cyl yam, 6m tinny, 6.0L at 8-9km/h, had to look up my notes and edit, think it's right now.
trueblue
18-12-2008, 08:23 AM
are you saying you used 24litres trolling with an OMC 70 in 1.5 hours?? that seems like an awful lot, or was that including running to and from location?, not saying you are wrong, it just seems like a too much.
he did say 3000 rpm... probably a bit high for good fuel consumption
18-12-2008, 08:41 AM
OH, OK, must have had a Blonde moment and missed that bit, that is a pretty high RPM troll I would think, but if that's the good speed, then so be it.
18-12-2008, 08:46 AM
Just under 2000 rpm for 4.5l/hr from EP20 interface - all day, any conditions it doesnt change too much.
Engine DF150 Zuke :-*:-*:-*:-*
18-12-2008, 08:50 AM
OH, OK, must have had a Blonde moment and missed that bit, that is a pretty high RPM troll I would think, but if that's the good speed, then so be it.
Not just that and depending on the setup and hull, it's just asking to snag a ring on the exhaust port or score the bore, There is a whole range of speeds I cannot troll at...well I can of coarse it's simply not worth the probable damage done over time and not really possible to change props offshore to a couple of P lower just to troll.
18-12-2008, 08:54 AM
OK, so on Gregs figures for the same 1.5 hours he would use only 7 litres (approx) for double the HP!
18-12-2008, 10:25 AM
I should add my bit as well, with my twin 115's I get better fuel figures with both Motors at lower RPM for the same speed, than with one Motor at higher RPM, who would have thought it huh! but it's true. I also seem to get better results with both Motors than with one, why is anyones guess, maybe noise, bubbles, wake or something!
chop duster
18-12-2008, 10:40 AM
How many Knots are you doing at 2000rpm greg?
7.4m glass with 250 verado
5 knots = 4.5 - 5 L
8 knots = 11 L
Travel 37miles to the bank, 9 hours trolling (high and low speed), 37 miles back to port (WOT at times). = 160 litres
And the weekends results. First sailfish for the boat.
iceknight
18-12-2008, 10:47 AM
YEP just trolling.. hence why i cut the trip short...
Im sure its never chewed like that....
overall from scarb. to hutchies. few hours trolling and back home.. 130 liters
thats what i was def chewing.. had to keep jerrying fuel into tanks..... ran the first one dry and was like wow!!
even the 3 grand is a little slow..... seems to be really slow at low revs.. then comes on hard. pulls about 50kays at 5500 in the end..
18-12-2008, 10:52 AM
that does seem to be pretty heavy fuel use for a Motor that was noted for it's miserly consumption! I had a Boat with twin OMC 70's and I reckon I would go nowhere near that much for both combined.
dww13
18-12-2008, 10:55 AM
hey chop duster thats a top photo mate.
trolling gar we can see the mtu's slow right down to 11-13 l/hr each not to bad for a 1000 hp a side. lol
running in and out makes any day expensive though.
dan
Black N Blue
18-12-2008, 11:11 AM
7.3 fiberglass centre cab Styer 256 hp turbo diesel 6.5knots 6.5 litres per hour she weighs just under 3 tonnes. its around 1 litre per nautical mile at 22knots i get 1.6 nautical mile per litre. I know this from the computor read out. I had a seafarer vicking with a ninty yammy 2 two stroke that trolled at 12 litres per hour at 6,.5 knots.
iceknight
18-12-2008, 11:16 AM
that does seem to be pretty heavy fuel use for a Motor that was noted for it's miserly consumption! I had a Boat with twin OMC 70's and I reckon I would go nowhere near that much for both combined.
what rev range were you at then? i could go a lower rev range... but for a lot less speed..... wahoo ect, like some speed to it i find...... even had boats lapping me yesterday cant have been going that fast after all.....
chop duster
18-12-2008, 11:21 AM
Black N Blue,
they're some great figures huh. To be able to cruise @ 22litres an hour for a 3 ton boat is great.
High speed trolling (or underpowered boats) with a conventional 2 stroke seem the be the killer here.
Wouldn't mind hearing from others with 6 cylinder 2 and 4 strokes.
dww13, you running a Riv' or something. Like throwing $20 bills over the side when running, that would do my head in for sure 9 (and my wallet)
dww13
18-12-2008, 11:50 AM
yeah mate its the old boys 51. cant realy compare the boats in this discusion. was mainly just posting to say thats a good shot. sailes take awesom pics sitting in the water with the sail up.
chop duster
18-12-2008, 12:13 PM
they sure do, its a bugger when you go to take a photo and the bloody card is full, was some swearing going on. hahaha
So how much do you chew at cruise?
18-12-2008, 12:19 PM
How many Knots are you doing at 2000rpm greg?
7.4m glass with 250 verado
5 knots = 4.5 - 5 L
8 knots = 11 L
Travel 37miles to the bank, 9 hours trolling (high and low speed), 37 miles back to port (WOT at times). = 160 litres
And the weekends results. First sailfish for the boat.
Between 5-7 knots depending on tide/trolling direction.
Black N Blue
18-12-2008, 01:04 PM
sorry a bit of confusion at 22 knots she does 1.6litres per nautical mile that works out to 35.2 litres per hour still for a boat that size its good i had a 5.7 volvo penta 350 (chev) when i bought it the diesel now uses half the fuel!!! Nick
dww13
18-12-2008, 01:22 PM
depends what you want to cruise at.
normaly see us running around 24/26 knots doing 170-180 a side.
big heavy fast boat though she can drink a lot more then that as well.
reidy
18-12-2008, 02:17 PM
I should add my bit as well, with my twin 115's I get better fuel figures with both Motors at lower RPM for the same speed, than with one Motor at higher RPM, who would have thought it huh! but it's true. I also seem to get better results with both Motors than with one, why is anyones guess, maybe noise, bubbles, wake or something!
May be a silly response but do you lift the motor your not running as a extra leg in the water creates heaps of resistance and quite possibly could be why you get better econ. of two at low rpm as opposed to one battling with the extra resistance.
Reidy
18-12-2008, 02:25 PM
yep, tried both ways, does not make a measurable difference, I know it must be better, but the difference must be so small at low speeds.
18-12-2008, 02:27 PM
I think the difference is when running with two, they are running on a "stratified" mix and when you are on one, it is up into the "homegenious" mix range, (or vice versa) well thats what I thought anyway!
Steboe
18-12-2008, 03:32 PM
Usually when I troll I use about 1 carton a full day with 2 people;D
Who drives the boat?
chop duster
18-12-2008, 03:59 PM
autopilot, hahaha
siegfried
18-12-2008, 04:35 PM
Volvo penta 200hp turbo diesel 290 a4 duoprop on formula233-22kt cruise 18-20lt/hr ,6.5 kt troll 5-7lt/hr(current-wind etc) Icekight ,trolling for wahoo etc (at 12kts?)-Id not doubt your boats using that much fuel and consider it about right,3000 rpm is a barstard of a rev range in carby 2stk, also you may be under propped. Cheers mate
captain rednut
18-12-2008, 07:43 PM
yamaha 225hp four stroke at 2400rpm and 7.5knots it consumes 18ltrs per hr as i found out last weekend trolling for three days and used 570ltrs with a bit of high speed motoring out and back in.
cheers jim
Luke G
18-12-2008, 08:57 PM
The Suzuki 250 on the 680 haines would use 10-12lt an hour at 7 knots.
The 150 on the poly chews the juice at 8knots - the little boat is just off plaining at that speed. If I slow down to 6 knots it uses about 5-6 litres an hour.
iceknight
18-12-2008, 10:24 PM
Volvo penta 200hp turbo diesel 290 a4 duoprop on formula233-22kt cruise 18-20lt/hr ,6.5 kt troll 5-7lt/hr(current-wind etc) Icekight ,trolling for wahoo etc (at 12kts?)-Id not doubt your boats using that much fuel and consider it about right,3000 rpm is a barstard of a rev range in carby 2stk, also you may be under propped. Cheers mate
Was sitting on the bare minimum. around 7-8 knots im guessing, as for being under proped im running a 15, the boat has had a 17 on it but its only good for longish trips.. works hard to plane..... last trip out i dident use quiet that much... although shes always guzzled from new, id like to stick a 4 strk on the boat but its hull decal says " maximum 156kg including fuel and motor"
if i was to go 4 strk it be on the maximum without fuel...
i thought of a 60hp big foot 4 strk but unsure if id be under powered....
Malcolm W
19-12-2008, 09:26 AM
Some figures off the F&B site for a single evenrude 70hp 2 stroke. Each motor hull will be different but this gives an idea of how bad the rev range around 2000 3000 is on fuel economy. Note the range does not start to fall off again until 5000 rpm. Sorry I cant seem to get them to post the same as I edit. The last figure is range ie 2500 rpm Range 75 kl
R/Min L/ph G/PH N.Mpg Knots Kms Range
1,000 2.52 0.55 2.81 3.1 5.7 140
1,500 3.90 0.85 2.52 4.3 7.9 125
2,000 5.70 1.24 2.29 5.7 10.5 114
2,500 9.00 1.97 1.52 6.0 11.1 75
3,000 10.80 2.36 4.53 10.7 19.8 113
3,500 13.20 2.89 2.99 17.3 32.0 149
4,000 15.00 3.28 3.20 21.0 38.9 160
4,500 16.80 3.67 3.25 23.9 44.2 162
5,000 19.80 4.33 3.15 27.3 50.5 157
5,500 26.40 5.78 2.55 29.5 54.6 127
5,750 30.60 6.70 2.32 31.2 57.8 116
siegfried
19-12-2008, 10:54 AM
Was sitting on the bare minimum. around 7-8 knots im guessing, as for being under proped im running a 15, the boat has had a 17 on it but its only good for longish trips.. works hard to plane..... last trip out i dident use quiet that much... although shes always guzzled from new, id like to stick a 4 strk on the boat but its hull decal says " maximum 156kg including fuel and motor"
if i was to go 4 strk it be on the maximum without fuel...
i thought of a 60hp big foot 4 strk but unsure if id be under powered....
Mate fill it up and troll only for15 min it will give you a reasonable indication.If you sqirt out to the grounds thus chewing abit of juice it may look worse. I had 98 johnno 70 pushing 5.2m tinny that used nearly twice the fuel of my 140 jonno/zuki pushing a 5.6 grp hull. From memory 6.5 kts in that boat was @ 2500 rpm. Imsurprised that you need to give it 3000 to do 6-8kts...I wouldnt be too worried about that decals recommendations ,a 60-75 4 banger and that boat would be cool, I know max hp is nice but unless you have to run a bad bar(I do) every day or pull skiers etc youll be right. Let us know how you get on. Good luck
iceknight
19-12-2008, 11:32 AM
not sure that the 60 would push it along enough to satisfy me, as the 70 is a bare minimum i find.. still takes too long to plane in my books... or it could be im just impatient..... boat is definatly arse heavy too, i usally stick another 80 liters up the front just to compensate it a bit...
looking around iv come up with the figure its pushing 700kgs, without people or gear... possibily why so much power is used to get a good trolling speed?
chop duster
19-12-2008, 11:35 AM
got any pics of the rig?
might help some, to help you
siegfried
19-12-2008, 04:50 PM
Sorry Ice I thought it was a Stacer- (TIN) I would be looking for 90(min) to 115 for that boat, I have no doubt that with gear and ccrew you most likely underpowerd to buggery and the motor would be working hard through the entire rev range. They have a bit (? 17-19 deg deadrise) and dont slide over the water like a flatar$e tinny. I am guessing it is afactory rigged show and they have a habit of mismatching motors eg: 560 barcrusher 115 2stk yammy=sh&^%$SE-same boat with 140 zuki 4= horn. Unfortunately (although I hope Im wrong) your boat is going to be a bit thirsty at those revs.Good luck mate and let us know how you get on.
Hornet Rider
19-12-2008, 07:26 PM
not sure that the 60 would push it along enough to satisfy me, as the 70 is a bare minimum i find.. still takes too long to plane in my books... or it could be im just impatient..... boat is definatly arse heavy too, i usally stick another 80 liters up the front just to compensate it a bit...
looking around iv come up with the figure its pushing 700kgs, without people or gear... possibily why so much power is used to get a good trolling speed?
Ice - do you get a WOT of 6000 rpm? The WOT range for your 98 Johno 70hp is 5000-6000 but you should be looking to get at least 6000 rpm. How high is your motor on the transom & do you have a foil fitted? Any pics of the motor trimmed in?
cheers, HR
iceknight
21-12-2008, 07:30 PM
mate ill post some pics of it trimmed in.. plenty of angle of attack tho,
no foil that is next...... with trim i could take it to 6500 if need be. only run it to 5500 max tho. usally cruise on about 4100 4200,
i see the same boat as mine mine in ebay its got a 60 merc 4 strk big foot fitted... going to email the person and ask them on performance specs..
ozlongboarder
21-12-2008, 11:11 PM
25 Bertram runabout, 5.7 Volvo Duoprop 280hp
At troll of 7knots I use approx 12lts/hr.
At cruise of 22knots I use about 35lts/hr approx.
Hornet Rider
22-12-2008, 08:46 AM
mate ill post some pics of it trimmed in.. plenty of angle of attack tho,
no foil that is next...... with trim i could take it to 6500 if need be. only run it to 5500 max tho. usally cruise on about 4100 4200,
i see the same boat as mine mine in ebay its got a 60 merc 4 strk big foot fitted... going to email the person and ask them on performance specs..
Ice, 6500 rpm WOT, that's huge for a motor with a recommended max WOT of 6000 rpm. I've got a 1998 70 Johno too, so hence my interest. It's on a 17ft tinny & with 2 blokes & gear, fuel etc it's pushing about 900 kg. It's spinning a standard OMC 13.25 x 17P 3 blade.
Looks like the poor fuel consumption in 2000-3000 rev range for the 70 Johno is a fact of life for that motor. Something I was unaware of until this thread. But I wonder how yours would go with the motor raised as high as you can get it with the 17P back on?
cheers, HR