View Full Version : Member names

Raesen
15-12-2008, 03:05 PM
Hi all. This has probably been up before but was wondering where the names members register come from or are generated form.

I am aware that some guys will not be able to answer this question from a personal point of view as you dont wish to be evicted from the site etc. but was just wondering.

Some are fairly obvious I assume like Roz, Lucky Phil and so on but some others are intriging.

Mine for instance is Raesen. It comprises the first three initials in my partners surname (rae) and last three in my surname (sen). She earns more money than me hence the picking order.

I have an OH&S consultancy busines under the same name Raesen Consulting.

Just curious thats all.

15-12-2008, 03:07 PM
Well Mine's pretty straight forward. My Name is Scott and I live in Nth Qld. Tough one that is.

Rod Fishing
15-12-2008, 03:24 PM
You must be bust at work again Scott!!! LOL

Mine is pretty obvious as well my Name is Rod and i love to fish hence Rod Fishing.

Cheers Rod....8-)

ronnien
15-12-2008, 03:28 PM
mine is my first name & first initial of last name.

ron.

onerabbit
15-12-2008, 03:47 PM
Yes this has been done a fair while back, but is probably buried in the archives now,

mine is not as obvious as some others,

onerabbit.........I have been a single parent for the last 14 years, so

one=1 (single), rabbit=parent (rabbits are great breeders)

15-12-2008, 04:11 PM
I have a Dogs body.

No really my Pa used to call me dogsbody,, sort of came from Davo Dog and stuff like that.

BGG
15-12-2008, 06:30 PM
While mine comes from my initials I use it because my Dad referred to me as a kid as Bloody Greedy Guts due to my appetite.

Awesome
15-12-2008, 06:37 PM
Mine is my boat name AWESOME

manchild
15-12-2008, 07:12 PM
I just like old pommy sitcoms.Manchild was one of them.It would be hard to fit - on the buses in there.
George

Cammy
15-12-2008, 07:23 PM
Mine is what people call me.

Cam

BREAMBOSS01
15-12-2008, 07:30 PM
BREAMBOSS01 because bream are the main fish i catch. and 01 because im the fisrst one to have it.8-)

pommy
15-12-2008, 07:43 PM
Greetings all!

Pommy because I've been told so often that I'm one of those b#####ds from over there!

Rob.

kind_cir
15-12-2008, 07:45 PM
Because that's the name of me 11ft tinny, as it aint realy a boat, it's just a dirty old dog dish of a thing.

15-12-2008, 08:54 PM
JT is what i'm called and i like snakes
Pretty bland
LOL

stickbender
15-12-2008, 09:12 PM
As for the last 30 years I have hunted with a bow & arrow and I also use ugly stick fishing rods

mookyandlumpy
15-12-2008, 10:17 PM
mookyandlumpy is my wifes nick name and my nick name

spears
15-12-2008, 10:29 PM
(spears) native australia

Keep em simple..hmm just like my IQ

whykickacatalong
15-12-2008, 11:08 PM
I am a RSPCA Inspector so it was just a bit of reverse humour.

16-12-2008, 01:36 AM
Well Mine's pretty straight forward. My Name is Scott and I live in Nth Qld. Tough one that is.

???????????????????????????????????????,,,

16-12-2008, 06:04 AM
It's what my Maori staff (and now everyone else, including my kids) call me.

Fish'n Junky
16-12-2008, 06:42 AM
Mine is Fish'n Junky, as fishing is my one addiction.
I love the thrill and anticipation of what may happen when you throw that plastic up into the snags, or drop that livey down into the blue...

ooooohhhhhh yeah... Give me a fix! :-)

bustaonenut
16-12-2008, 10:17 AM
mine is actually what i used to call my dog, his name is busta and he only had one nut. He's been to the vet and been desexed since ive joined so i should probably change it to bustanonuts

shrunken pojie
16-12-2008, 11:48 AM
Shrunken pojie (Pajero iO) cause thats what I drive. When I joined up it was for the 4wd forum.

Marky Mark
16-12-2008, 11:58 AM
Long running joke arising from my fabulous dance moves...Marky mark and the Funky bunch were happening at the time and the drunken late night joke started when I was busting some funky moves on the dance floor. Oh and yes, my name is Mark...

trymyluck
16-12-2008, 12:18 PM
Its what i seem to do most times

tinman42
16-12-2008, 12:58 PM
My boat is a 4.2 mtr tinny, hence tinman42

tug_tellum
16-12-2008, 01:20 PM
My real name is Mullet Gut. But on here i spell it backwards so nobody knows who I am, brilliant hey!!!!!!!!

tropicrows
16-12-2008, 01:24 PM
Name of my boat. The family & I come from South Aust so we were known as crow eaters, we now live in the tropics hense Tropicrows. Makes sence to me ????

Didley
16-12-2008, 02:00 PM
My real name is Mullet Gut. But on here i spell it backwards so nobody knows who I am, brilliant hey!!!!!!!!

Your a genius Tug, Merry Christmas:D

Cheers Yeldid

pubgolf
16-12-2008, 07:33 PM
Pubgolf is a drinking game that my mate arranged a game of once a year a long time ago.
The rules are fairly simple.
18 pubs, 18 drinks (one in each pub), you have a playing partner, you leave the pub you meet at in a staggered start (there used to be twenty odd blokes play).
a par three pub is a glass, a par four a pot and a par five a stubbie.
every time you put a drink to your mouth its counted as a shot. you mark your score card and your playing partners after each pub.
lowest score after 18 holes wins.
There were also penaltys for slow play (being caught by two trailing groups) and water hazard holes (no dunny stops at that pub or incur a 2 shot penalty).
The winner won the perpetual purple PVC jacket that appeared the first year.
If you scored above 20 you had no chance of winning.
I never once finished the course
Sounds easy hey.
Oh to be young, adventurous and stupid.
:thumbsdown:
Rod

16-12-2008, 08:01 PM
I was andy on another forum till another andy came along (impostor) so I then became the TheRealAndy. And yes, my name is Andy.

Chong
16-12-2008, 09:36 PM
i once posted under a different name:-X , then i met Cheech ( long time ago in a sea far far away);D so from then on we became Cheech and Chong, long live C & C Charters, many fish we have caught, yes young one's we can show you the power of the force, many frames we have.....:o 8-) ;D ;)
\
Chong

sleepygreg
16-12-2008, 09:51 PM
mine is a combination of my nickname Sleepy (had it since i was about 17 - and bestowed upon me by relatives and friends because of my ability to find a spot to curl up and go to sleep in any sized boat in any sea conditions - usually on a satrday morning after a big night out friday night) and my first name Greg.

I think the clincher was in a 4.5m quinnie centre console, in a 3m swell, and 20knot winds off jervis bay one saturday morning.....and no i wasnt seasick....just knackered from the late night and belly full of grog the night before.....and i still caught the first fish of the trip.....a 5kg kingie.

noodlemantra
17-12-2008, 06:08 AM
Fan of johnny depp and read in his audiobiography (around the time i joined this site) one of his alias' he uses when booking into hotel rooms is Noodlemantra. Thought it was strange and adopted it as my own. Its also my Halo call sign. Halo one, hang em high, rockets only. Noodles for short.

Real name is matt and im an exercise physiologist/strength and conditioning coach in brisbane. NQ'er at heart. Cant wait for Rnd 1 suncorp stadium next year. go cowboys.

lee8sec
17-12-2008, 06:54 AM
Mine was first used on a drag race forum, i race drag bikes. Kept the same user name on all forums. Some people have questioned if iam the same person. Leigh

tug_tellum
17-12-2008, 07:41 AM
Your a genius Tug, Merry Christmas:D

Cheers Yeldid
Thanks Didley( alias Yeldid ) it isnt very often people recognise true Genius.
Tug::)::)::)::)

17-12-2008, 11:54 AM
Started at a remote farmhouse on a dark and windy day. Undercover police chickens, and a getaway car. But that is all I am allowed to reveal.

catfishkid
17-12-2008, 12:29 PM
Mine comes from an uncanny ability to catch catfish in almost any place,an ability I have had since I was a kid.

Cheers Craig

Starky stalker
17-12-2008, 12:47 PM
Once a year i stalk the starky river and surrounding creek systems in FNQ;D ...

snagking
17-12-2008, 02:44 PM
I'm snagking, because, quite simply, I am the king of snagging up :D

I could find the only snag on a sand bar and lose my equipment to it ;)

reidy
17-12-2008, 03:06 PM
Last names Reid.
:P Didn't want to use tosser
CHEERS
REIDY

mowerman
17-12-2008, 07:13 PM
Self explanatory.

Like a lizard at the moment.

Rod

18-12-2008, 06:12 AM
Self explanatory.

Like a lizard at the moment.

Rod

Too much time in the sun, Rod?

JRBK
18-12-2008, 06:41 AM
Hi All,

Mine is the initial of my 4 sons.
Jarred, Regan, Blair & Kyle.

Mark..

7739IAN
18-12-2008, 09:47 AM
same old same old- mine is an automatically issued one off another forum - seems sensible to use it everywhere as i have a crap memory.

mowerman
18-12-2008, 08:15 PM
Ah Tim

Im back and Im flat out.

Might leave your lawn for a month or so mate.

Watch out for the brown snakes when you come back.

Have fun...White christmas.

Rod.

BrewGuru
18-12-2008, 08:42 PM
The heady days of competition Craft Brewing, Regional champion,State champion and National Champion (Sweet Stout) all made from Toowoomba grain, tassie hops and liquid German yeast.

The Brew Guru

ffejsmada
18-12-2008, 08:51 PM
So who won the prize for naming your dog Brew Guru??????

Donny Boy
19-12-2008, 02:07 PM
I was up all night working out a name for me...

Some other (very unkind ) people have got several names for me !!!!!

19-12-2008, 02:41 PM
Ah Tim

Im back and Im flat out.

Might leave your lawn for a month or so mate.

Watch out for the brown snakes when you come back.

Have fun...White christmas.

Rod.

Hell's Teeth Mate, she's a foot long already! All that fertilizer you put on plus all that rain. If my dogs get eaten by those snakes I'll be after you!

SNAPPERCOFFIN
20-12-2008, 04:46 PM
Mine is the same as the name of my boat its a coffin for snapper to die in.

sleepygreg
21-12-2008, 12:21 AM
And if that TOOL at redcliffe council gives me one more notice to clear my land (it was only mown two weeks ago) Im gonna offer him a fishing trip up a very remote creek.......might take him a bit longer to get back from his holidays :S

4x4frog
21-12-2008, 09:29 AM
Bit of an odd one. My vehicle of choice is a Renault Scenic Rx4 . It's small and green;D

....avatar is caractature of one

wakakiwi
28-12-2008, 02:52 PM
i used to own a cafe and charter boat in tin can bay. i was partnered up with my out laws who were kiwis. u may remember the big ruckus over the feeding of the dolphins at tin can a few years back, that was us. long story short he went behind our backs and signed all the bussiness asets into his name and kicked us out. the police removed my charter boat from my yard while i wasnt there squashing a dream of mine that i had managed to turn into a reality. i still had my old bertram so i named her wakakiwi for obvios reasons.

Pelagic 660
30-12-2008, 09:08 PM
Mine is my boats name and size, the best I could come up with.

bluefin59
31-12-2008, 05:17 AM
Mine is my boat and year i was born ...matt

juju
31-12-2008, 09:44 AM
JuJu.......means good or bad luck

PNG1M
31-12-2008, 05:46 PM
I wanted something to commemerate that day I joined the 'wild caught' barra 1 metre club when I was based in PNG, fishing the South Fly SUKI area. Caught loads of barra but the '1m' thingy only happened once. Even then I just snuck in at 104cm...but it was all good! So I chose PNG1M

I hope it happens again some day and knowing the conditions and waters in some of the Fly River areas, there is a distant hope that some time in the future I'll do the double & make the 1 metre club for a black bass as well! Then I can call myself PNG2M... (The bass pictured left is 92cm - I've actually caught several around the 90cm mark) A mate of a mate of mine caught one at 97cm & some caught in nets have been 1m plus.

Problem is I don't live in png anymore...so that'll kind of make it tricky!

Yab Man
01-01-2009, 04:16 PM
mines Yabman cause a yabber on a bit

bdaearth
01-01-2009, 04:52 PM
Pubgolf is a drinking game that my mate arranged a game of once a year a long time ago.
The rules are fairly simple.
18 pubs, 18 drinks (one in each pub), you have a playing partner, you leave the pub you meet at in a staggered start (there used to be twenty odd blokes play).
a par three pub is a glass, a par four a pot and a par five a stubbie.
every time you put a drink to your mouth its counted as a shot. you mark your score card and your playing partners after each pub.
lowest score after 18 holes wins.
There were also penaltys for slow play (being caught by two trailing groups) and water hazard holes (no dunny stops at that pub or incur a 2 shot penalty).
The winner won the perpetual purple PVC jacket that appeared the first year.
If you scored above 20 you had no chance of winning.
I never once finished the course
Sounds easy hey.
Oh to be young, adventurous and stupid.
:thumbsdown:
Rod

And here I was thinking that I was one of only a few to play the game !!!!!

oh the memorys or lack of !!!! ::)

bdaearth is my business name BDA Earthmoving.

fishplukka
04-01-2009, 10:47 AM
when i was fishing at hervey bay with dad iwas about 10 he was showing me how to scale clean etc when i tried it he told me it looked like i was plucking a chook because of mess i made !!but now ive perfected the plucking !!

blueboy
04-01-2009, 10:51 AM
Blueboy. It actually should have been "Bluesboy" because of my love of blues music. I'm hopeless on a keyboard, so now I'm Blueboy instead.:-[ Cheers, Greg

struktcha_man
04-01-2009, 11:05 AM
being without boat and landbased atm, around structure is the only place i land a fish, weather is be a rock wall, inlet or bridge/warf pylons it has yeilded me some good catches in the bris river.

Tropicaltrout
04-01-2009, 01:46 PM
Mine well I used to live in Tassie and fished for trout every other day now I live in QLD and spend most of my fishing time chasing Barra and jacks so year slightly tropical so there it is Tropicaltrout

chevyJ
04-01-2009, 09:34 PM
Well I am a holden freak and love a chevy motor. plus everyone one calls me Jay so ChevyJ it is

upstart
04-01-2009, 10:19 PM
Upstart, named after the best place in the world...Cape Upstart

Donny Boy
04-01-2009, 10:37 PM
Upstart, named after the best place in the world...Cape Upstart

Geez, I'm glad you cleared us up on that one matey ! ;);D

Magella
08-01-2009, 04:09 PM
Magella.
After my nickname I was given while working in Kakadu as a guide. I worked for an aboriginal company called Magella Tours,[named after Magella Creek] So the local aborginals called me Johnny Magella. Back in Qld everyone knows me as Foxie but that name was taken when I joined Ausfish.

Cheers Foxie

BR65
08-01-2009, 07:37 PM
Was wondering where that one came from Foxie

cbruh1
08-01-2009, 09:33 PM
cbruh1 was my high school user name, first letter of your firat name then first 4 letters of your last name and then 1

Callum Bruhn, cbruh1. its stuck with me for life now as it is my user name for so many things and i cant be bothered to start remembering a new one.

maztez
09-01-2009, 06:56 AM
Mine is the joining of mine and my wifes nick names MAZ- Marilyn and TEZ- Terry making it MAZTEZ

seamaid
09-01-2009, 07:30 AM
SEAMAID

Have been a servant of the sea all of my 63 years and hope to continue many more.
cheers Ged

Nic
09-01-2009, 09:43 AM
Everyone just calls me 'Nic', I dread hearing 'Nicole' because it usually means I'm in trouble about something. "NICOLE did you let the sinker hit the paintwork?" "NICOLE did you leave this filleting knife here?"

And then magically my moniker changes to 'Honey Bunny' when Mr Alchemy wants me to order in some more tackle. ::)

levinge
09-01-2009, 10:16 AM
Hey Nic I can see the logic in that.

Mine was originally Sooty66, which came from blowing shit up, namely power supplies on PC's and 66 year that I started causing trouble for my parents.

But then something went wrong with my lovely Ausfish account which couldn't be fixed so I ended redoing it and after a few beers typed my name rather than a fictitious log-in so, I am now hiding in plain sight.