View Full Version : Savage Bluewater 500 SL or similar feedback?

RJ5023
04-12-2008, 07:07 AM
Hello all,

I'm in Adelaide, and we dont seem to have as many of these boats over here as you do in the eastern states, so can anyone help me with some information?

I've been looking at buying a Savage Bluewater 500 SL with a 60 4 stroke and I've searched every forum I know of for info from owners - and came up blank. Only info is from the boat tests in magazines - and sales blurbs.

I'll be using it mostly inshore, with 1 or 2 up. Overnighting very rarely. No family trips or dragging toys. Towing over long distances now and then.

So has anyone had any experience with these (or even the 485 Scorpion)? I know that Savage have been bought by Telwater, and have been told that I'll still be able to get warranty from Brunswick.

I've already taken it out for a run, and was happy with it's performance - but it's an expensive purchase so I'm looking for any feedback from others. I can't justify a Stabicraft, Barcrusher or other platey for my needs (unless I could find a real cheap one!), and I don't want a glass boat.

Anything at all?

Thanks,
RJ

RJ5023
10-12-2008, 09:52 PM
Well, I thought there would be heaps of these getting around over east.

Maybe not.

Anyone?

regards,
RJ

keen_angler
11-12-2008, 10:05 AM
mate, i have the 485 which i am currently selling due to family, but I can not fault the boat, i have a 70hp 2 stroke yammie on the back and it gets up and goes no problem.

in my opinion for an inshore boat and the occasional outside trip it is a good boat

RJ5023
11-12-2008, 03:50 PM
Thanks keen_angler. Thought there must have been someone...

I don't think there's any such thing as "outside" around the Adelaide metro area unless you travel across the Gulf and I don't plan to do that. We do get a pretty ordinary wind chop most summer days, but no swell.

I was wondering about stability at anchor, and wind effect on the plane (does yours lean much in a cross wind?). Have you ever taken water over the bows driving into chop? Ever felt like it would broach?

I've owned quite a few boats over the years and want to get something that'll give me a bit of shelter, easy to manage single handed, good sea boat. These Savages seem to be generally referred to as "ideal first boats" etc, but I reckon they seem to be a pretty capable and practical design.

I'm not interested in bashing into a chop and getting airborn, so the specialist rough water boats are overkill for me. Happy to come home at 10 knots if the conditions are crook.

Just looking for things that owners might have noted about the performance and quality of these small Savage boats.

Thanks again,

Coontakinta
11-12-2008, 04:35 PM
Roger, I'd REALLY question the suitabilty of a 60 on that hull. Might be fine with little fuel and tackle, but loaded up with extras such as canopies, extra tackle, fisho's etc I think u'll notice the lack of ponies.

Personally, I like the look of the Savages, reckon they are a top looker and I'm sure the bluewater would fit the bill nicely for what u ahve planed, but I would seriously be looking at upgrading the power to at least a 75.

If that stretches the budget just that little too much, go get one with a TLDI Tohatsu, might even be able to upgrade to a 90! Yea Ha!