PDA

View Full Version : Barra Lure's & be kind

rob tranter
10-11-2008, 10:19 AM
Hi all

Taking the grown up children (son's 25 to 29yrs), on a short Bass to Barra fish. From 3rd Jan to 10th January.
These three have never done this before and for that, I have limited experience myself:( .

So the question is

Could you tell me of some "cheap" Lures that may work on Barra
I'm not a millionair, and I will be supplying everything for the boy's, so I must be able to

1.afford to purchase them

and
2.afford to loose them;D

So Please be kind, I know the dear ones are probably the best but.

Oh and we will be starting at Toonumbar near Kyogle and finishing at Awoonga, we have seven days, so whats the best in between?

Cheers
Rob T8-)

black_sheep
10-11-2008, 01:25 PM
Rob,

Do a search on this site for Bass Lures and Barra Lures - I'm sure that will help heaps.

As for 'cheapish' lures. Pretty hard nowadays with barra lures as everything cost around $12-15 and most of them don't have sufficient hardware to tackle the big girls so by the time you upgrade the split rings and hooks, they costing you closer to $15-20!!!!

There are a couple of options though. Use soft plastics as much as possible. They work as well as any other lures and are a darn site cheaper. Secondly, Big W stock a range of lures, some well known brands but also reasonable copies for around $5-10.

Lastly, all the Bushy's barra lures come standard with decent hardware and don't need upgrading and are under the $15 mark.

Hope that helps a bit.

As for a couple of spots between Toonumbar and Awoonga - I'd put Monduran somewhere in there for sure. It's stocked with Bass and Barra which you are targeting so you'll have the gear to chase both species. Also, plenty of catty's to pass the time between casts.

Good Luck.

2manylures
10-11-2008, 02:09 PM