View Full Version : rudder system for bowmount powerd tinny???

bar raider
06-11-2008, 11:05 PM
hi all, took a spin in my bow mount powered tinny the other day and as you could imagine the bloody thing spun round in circles (not quite) especially with the AP on it fishtailed down the road,

anybody cured this with some kind of rudder/keel setup or have any ideas??

thanks

55AP on a 10 ft punt. . . . . . strange combo i hear you say. . . . . . . . 55 because it also goes on my other boat and a 10 ft punt because it fits in the back of the ute

bar raider
07-11-2008, 07:29 AM
was thinking to just stick the paddle in the water somehow and it gets it out of the boat too!

any ideas?

07-11-2008, 02:08 PM
Cheapest alternative is a sea anchor bridled short off the stern. Keeps the boat nice and straight.

bar raider
07-11-2008, 03:08 PM
never thought of that one!

tin can marlin
08-11-2008, 12:46 AM
Cheapest alternative is a sea anchor bridled short off the stern. Keeps the boat nice and straight.

I think you are on the money.

bar raider
08-11-2008, 11:57 AM
will have to try that one next fri, for todays trip i screwed a hose clamp to the alloy keel down the bottom to hold the oar and occy strapped the top for stability, worked alright too, but the sea anchor seems easier. so long as it doesn't use too much battery.

TheSaint
08-11-2008, 04:30 PM
You could run a tiller steer electric which will solve your problem plus give you some more speed when running a fair distance..

Kleyny
08-11-2008, 06:57 PM
How about two peices of ply joined at right angles and clamped to the stern with a couple of G clamps.

neil

bar raider
08-11-2008, 07:39 PM
You could run a tiller steer electric which will solve your problem plus give you some more speed when running a fair distance..

whats the theory behind that?

How about two pieces of ply joined at right angles and clamped to the stern with a couple of G clamps.

neil

this one i like, thanks.

although i would secure with a couple of bolts and wing-nuts.

TheSaint
09-11-2008, 07:38 AM
No theory.. It's all field tested mate.. I own 3.50 car topper built just for electric bass comps & was running 54lb electrics front & rear until i upgraded to 82lb versions. I don't get any 'Fishtailing' when i use my boat as my tiller steer electric works as my rudder..

bar raider
09-11-2008, 07:56 AM
sorry i meant " the extra speed" with tiller, is thst just because of no fish-tailing??

Mike Delisser
09-11-2008, 09:56 AM
A small paint tin or bucket with a handle (about 2lts) on 6 feet of rope will do the job, I use it myself sometimes, doesn't drag too much but it will keep you streight. I also tied a mt milk bottle just in front of the bucket to stop it from sinking when I stopped. A mate uses a few rags tied to a short rope to achieve the same thing.

foxx510
09-11-2008, 10:46 AM
I reckon the ply or alloy keel that you just slip over the transom would be the go. I'd be worried that a bucket or sea anchor would see you chewing through the battery much faster.

tim barra master
09-11-2008, 11:34 AM
I fish a lot of electric only impoundments and i attached a stainless rudder to the keel PERFECT and no drag auto pilot also perfect also a tiller elctric does work too as a rudder somehow i get a better day running two motors on front one rear
I dont flog either but move along about 1/2 speed 3-4 ks ph
I have used my 55lb ap on a 9ft for 10 years now and on my roscoe bass catcher canoe perfect set up I will not fish without one.

Sorry guys i would not drag a bucket around as its hard enough to get a full day out of my battery now without leaving the handbrake on and something else for a fish to do you on but hey if it works for you good luck.

Mike Delisser
09-11-2008, 02:36 PM
I fish a lot of electric only impoundments and i attached a stainless rudder to the keel PERFECT and no drag auto pilot also perfect also a tiller elctric does work too as a rudder somehow i get a better day running two motors on front one rear
I dont flog either but move along about 1/2 speed 3-4 ks ph
I have used my 55lb ap on a 9ft for 10 years now and on my roscoe bass catcher canoe perfect set up I will not fish without one.

Sorry guys i would not drag a bucket around as its hard enough to get a full day out of my battery now without leaving the handbrake on and something else for a fish to do you on but hey if it works for you good luck.

With 6ft of rope tied off below the rear thwart seat the 2lt tin or bucket is sitting only 3 to 4ft behind the boat and in water that is more or less moving along with the momentum of the boat. You can ajust the length of rope so it only provides just enough drag to keep you going straight and would cost most of us a lot less than a stainless rudder which BTW does have drag or it wouldn't work for you.

foxx510
09-11-2008, 02:42 PM
I guess the difference is the rudder has directional drag, which wastes a lot less energy.

Mike Delisser
09-11-2008, 08:25 PM
I guess the difference is the rudder has directional drag, which wastes a lot less energy.
What's directional drag? Isn't that when a transvestite asks you which way to Kings Cross?

If I'm right in thinking we are talking about being able to travel in a straight line under power from the bow without the boat spinning or fishtailing, the further back away from the stern you place the resistance or drag the less of it that will be required to achieve the same results.
Same result + >Drag = Less energy expelled
The closer to the stern (ie below it) the more resistance or drag that is required to achieve the same result therefore more energy used.

bar raider
09-11-2008, 09:07 PM
m62 :

true - the bucket system will hold the rear end steady but only caus you are dragging something at a cost of wasted power, battery and speed.

something thin however will create almost nil forward momentum drag but excellent sideways movement prevention. and thus the better allround idea.

Mike Delisser
09-11-2008, 11:13 PM
m62 :

true - the bucket system will hold the rear end steady but only caus you are dragging something at a cost of wasted power, battery and speed.

something thin however will create almost nil forward momentum drag but excellent sideways movement prevention. and thus the better allround idea.

Remember the 2lt tin on the short rope is sitting in the water being dragged along behind the boat, "dirty water", and the float attached is to keep it in that dirty water. When set up correctly (30cm more than the point at which the tin gets sucked back in to the stern) the rope is almost slack with not enough resistance to pull the rope straight. Please try it then tell me what you think.
I agree a rudder that protrudes below the keel line of the boat will work, and would be great if it was required to steer the boat, but the rudder is running in "clean" water all the time and although low in pressure drag only if it's wafer thin it would be high in viscous drag. The faster you go, the higher the viscous drag, the more power used.
In complete contrast is the tin on a short rope method, the faster you go the more dirty water that gets sucked along behind the boat and the lower the pressure drag on the tin, so much so that you may need to let out a little more rope.

foxx510
10-11-2008, 07:51 AM
Well the bucket works because it creates drag, if it wasn't pulling on the stern it wouldn't work. The drag created by a thin foil section in the water is comparatively tiny. But if you have a setup that works, then go for it.