View Full Version : canopy

Wahoo
06-11-2008, 08:35 PM
well after been stuffed around a few times on getting a job done on the boat, i have had enough, and now i can clearly see why some places go down the shitter when times get tough, went out and got myself a few lengths of alloy tube 40x3mm, a mig welder and started doing it myself, this is the start of a few pics

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/canopy.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/canopy1.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/canopy2.jpg

foxx510
06-11-2008, 09:46 PM
That's some nice work. I'm lucky to get my mild steel mig welds looking that good let alone aluminium.

ronnien
06-11-2008, 09:56 PM
well done mate!
can see this is going to be good, keep the pics coming.

ron.

Wahoo
07-11-2008, 06:33 AM
cheers Foxx, thats only my second attempted on welding alloy, spent about 2hrs on scrap alloy and another 2 hrs on the phone to a mate in Innisfail to give me a few tips, to be fair, that pic would be the best weld, but im getting better me thinks

Ron cheers
the frame i think is the easy part, all the hard bits are yet to come, was going to make it a hard top, i have 2 sheets of 1.6mm for it, have been thinking this would make it too top heavy, wont have a chance to do any more this W/E as the weather looks to good, but will post more pics as i go

07-11-2008, 07:40 AM
That's some nice work. I'm lucky to get my mild steel mig welds looking that good let alone aluminium.
Ueah, it'll probably end up nicer, neater and stronger then a store brought/made one :)

And the best part is you can change it when you want to now. ;D

Good on ya Daz for saying "stuff them, I'll might as well give it a go myself"

PS Who did the bending?

Wahoo
07-11-2008, 08:59 PM
Good on ya Daz for saying "stuff them, I'll might as well give it a go myself"

PS Who did the bending?

cheers Finga, i got the bends done at norweld, $10 per bend

tin can marlin
08-11-2008, 01:03 AM
Very very very good workmanship well done keep up the good work

Wahoo
12-11-2008, 09:14 PM
did a bit more work on the tub, most is tacked up, has two pivot points to fold the canopy foward so as i can get it in the shed

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/boat034.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/boat033-1.jpg

ronnien
12-11-2008, 09:22 PM
awesome!!!! looks very strong.
what are you going to cover it with?
will you make 1 for me;D.

ron.

12-11-2008, 09:50 PM
Good onya Daz...you should be real proud of yourself for jumping in and doing all that..some real useful skills you are learning there..

I suppose you are conjuring up the next project already.

Wahoo
13-11-2008, 06:42 AM
awesome!!!! looks very strong.
what are you going to cover it with?
will you make 1 for me;D.

ron.

cheers Ron

still unsure as yet, and yes would love to make another, im quite liking this sort of work

Wahoo
13-11-2008, 06:48 AM
Good onya Daz...you should be real proud of yourself for jumping in and doing all that..some real useful skills you are learning there..

I suppose you are conjuring up the next project already.

cheers Scott
still a bit of work on this one yet, rod holders- tabs for GPS- lights and so on, still have to make up a table of some sort for the gas cooker from the two back posts .....( head scratching project )

Ally Jack
13-11-2008, 08:11 PM
Wahoo,

Great work there, top idea with the folding T top..patent pending????

I see you brought well with the welder also, are you thinking of going into making others? or just extra add-ons for your rig

Ally Jack

Wahoo
13-11-2008, 08:36 PM
thanks Jack
most of the work is for my boat, and a few other things around the shed, ( alloy cleaning table) would be next, already have a mate that needs a few things done on his boat, LOL, would'nt mind a sheet bender/folder

bobp
13-11-2008, 08:45 PM
nice job
well done daz

bob

captain rednut
13-11-2008, 09:05 PM
hi daz
it looks like your giving scotty a run for his money?? ill let him know to look out for another plate boat builder on the horizon??? maybe wahoo boats australia sounds good?
cheers jim

Wahoo
13-11-2008, 09:54 PM
hi daz
it looks like your giving scotty a run for his money?? ill let him know to look out for another plate boat builder on the horizon??? maybe wahoo boats australia sounds good?
cheers jim

LOL Jim, have been meaning to E-Mail Scotty a few pics, who ever said building a boat is hard..LOL (kidding )

13-11-2008, 11:46 PM
Has your boat got tabs Wahoo, if not you may find you need them now! The canopy looks great, it's always nice to do the job yourself if you can , real satisfaction!

14-11-2008, 12:31 AM
Daz - with those welds you would be a walk up starter :-X;D;D;D;D

jake0
14-11-2008, 06:01 AM
great work mate, would you be keen on doing some outside work, im not to far from you, (northern beaches ), will send a pm

AR

14-11-2008, 05:00 PM
Great job! it's amazing what talents exasperation can bring out in a bloke, it's the right season to start this project too.

Look forward to all updates, really good to see just how hard ally welding is after 4 hours practice, I knew they where all just keeping the club profitable!!:):)

suzygs1000
18-11-2008, 04:32 PM
Lovely, daz, exactly what I was looking for!!

Thanks Dave.

Wahoo
18-11-2008, 07:30 PM
Lovely, daz, exactly what I was looking for!!

Thanks Dave.

cheers Dave
if you need any close up pics i would be more than happy to PM them to you

it is now 99% finished, ran out of gas on sunday arvo, just have to weld 4 tags up the front of the canopy for the GPS and so on, top is on, went with 1.6mm alloy, i think it will get hot and need ideas on what to put under it to keep it cool

Wahoo
18-11-2008, 07:33 PM
Has your boat got tabs Wahoo, if not you may find you need them now! The canopy looks great, it's always nice to do the job yourself if you can , real satisfaction!

Cheers Ian
no the boat does not have tabs on it, never needed it as yet, have been reading heaps on ausfish on tabs, will see how it goes now

Mad-One
19-11-2008, 06:14 AM
cheers Dave
if you need any close up pics i would be more than happy to PM them to you

it is now 99% finished, ran out of gas on sunday arvo, just have to weld 4 tags up the front of the canopy for the GPS and so on, top is on, went with 1.6mm alloy, i think it will get hot and need ideas on what to put under it to keep it cool

If you paint it white it shouldn't get to hot

Mad

Wahoo
03-12-2008, 07:56 PM
few more pics of what i have done to boat, and made a cleaning table ( fish) or camp table, that folds away nicely

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/dazb1.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/dazb6.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/dazb2.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/dazb4.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/4xgold0/dazb5.jpg

jake0
04-12-2008, 06:11 AM
well done mate, are the legs on the table fixed in? or do they come apart?

AR

sea raider
04-12-2008, 10:07 AM
Great work Daz,
I know what you mean about getting aluminium welded in Cairns, I tried to get some framing done in my 385 explorer so I could put a floor in, needless to say it still hasn't been done.

Well done.

Oh, neary forgot, nice pink dresser there mate!!

And your lawn could do with a mow!!

Wahoo
04-12-2008, 02:56 PM
well done mate, are the legs on the table fixed in? or do they come apart?

AR

Hi Adrian, cheers...

the legs are all fixed in so i just fold them up and close the table up, came up a treat

Wahoo
04-12-2008, 03:07 PM
Great work Daz,
I know what you mean about getting aluminium welded in Cairns, I tried to get some framing done in my 385 explorer so I could put a floor in, needless to say it still hasn't been done.

Well done.

Oh, neary forgot, nice pink dresser there mate!!

And your lawn could do with a mow!!

Cheers Geoff

thats weed mate, put round up on it then it pissed down, must do it again,,
that dresser it was only given to me on Sunday, good for storeing gear on in the shed, now i have to find a spot to hang it

PS; not a big job to do the floor on your tinny...........