View Full Version : ETEC 30hp will they be worth the wait?

mylestom
20-10-2008, 07:16 PM
Demostration this week in Qld for new Etec 25/30hp for the dealers.

Does anyone have any other info on them. Read some of the blurbs from BRP but nothing but publicity burbs no nuts and bolts information.

When will they be released and what will the price be.

I have heard a RRP around the $6,000 which will probably be negotiable.

Dealer orders are already high and delivery date early Dec.

Has anyone any better information.

Will they be worth the wait and the price. I hope so.

Trev

Ocean_Spirit
20-10-2008, 11:10 PM
Trev,

Here is some of the 'nuts and bolts' information you are probably looking for:

http://forums.etecownersgroup.com/tool/post/barnaclebill/vpost?id=2996898

They certainly look like a perfect small engine, and well engineered. I think they are certainly worth the wait. Currently have a bigger E-TEC, and they are a brilliant engine in all respects.

mylestom
21-10-2008, 04:45 AM
Trev,

Here is some of the 'nuts and bolts' information you are probably looking for:

http://forums.etecownersgroup.com/tool/post/barnaclebill/vpost?id=2996898

They certainly look like a perfect small engine, and well engineered. I think they are certainly worth the wait. Currently have a bigger E-TEC, and they are a brilliant engine in all respects.

Tnks for the info, very good.

Supposed to be demo on the coast for dealers today. Has anyone any other info.

Also interested in release dates info etc.

New boat ready but now have to wait for motor.

Trev

Jabba_
21-10-2008, 04:58 AM
Give David white a call at Hinterland Marine, burliegh (07-55768811)..
There the Evinrude dealers for the Goldy....

Willo
21-10-2008, 04:18 PM
Yeh Trev
Pretty sure they Have a 30hp Etec on Display at Hinterland Marine

mylestom
21-10-2008, 05:42 PM
Yeh Trev
Pretty sure they Have a 30hp Etec on Display at Hinterland Marine

Willo,

Will drop in on Friday on the way north for a gander.

Just wish they had been ready for sale earlier this month.

But will just have to wait.

Trev

MeePee_99
21-10-2008, 07:04 PM
I cant see them being too different to the 30 efi merc 4 stroke.

foxx510
21-10-2008, 08:37 PM
I cant see them being too different to the 30 efi merc 4 stroke.

I guess the advantages I can see are 5kg less weight(bugger all really) and slightly easier services(no valve clearances to adjust).

21-10-2008, 09:51 PM
More power than the merc 4 I would guarantee?, I see it has been bored and stroked over the old 30hp, they couldn't in conscience sell it with the old engine mounts they were horribly weak. Looks good, the old engine could easily do 3.5km/L on a 14ft tinny wonder where this one will end up.
The power curve is telling in just how short of the mark engine outputs from the larger HP with the same block engines actually are.

Cheers fnq

stevej
22-10-2008, 11:49 AM
6k?

you could buy a 30hp tohatsu and a quiiny 385 explorer for that :)

HAIRY MAN
22-10-2008, 12:36 PM
Hi guys, I was luck enough to be invited to the Club E-TEC event yesterday and tested all the engines there, I have to say the new 25 & 30hp are an awsome bit of gear and well the wait. I have owned a 30hp Merc 4 stroke and the new E-Tec eats it for in every respect.

22-10-2008, 01:28 PM
not too sure about the "can't see them being too different to a mec 30 EFI" statement, probably about as different as two Motors could be, eg: 2 stroke, 4 stroke! about the only thing in common is the HP rating.

foxx510
22-10-2008, 02:33 PM
$6k seems to expensive to me, I reckon it needs to be a bit cheaper than that to compete.

22-10-2008, 02:37 PM
I would be thinking that they would want to be way lower than 6 grand to sell any at all!

mylestom
22-10-2008, 03:14 PM
I would be thinking that they would want to be way lower than 6 grand to sell any at all!

Noel,

Hope that the shop sale price will be below the $5,500-$5,600 range, which is comparable to the 4stroke 30hp. Electric start,power trim and tilt.

As always, the price will drop eventually. However with the Aust dollar the way it is, will prices on all imported goods start to increase?

Trev

mylestom
23-10-2008, 07:12 PM
Latest is that the etec 25/30 won't be available till early to mid dec, with some dealers quote mid Jan.

Hope there worth the wait.

Guess the old boat and motor will have to do for the next three weeks at Monduran, bet the barra can't tell the difference. Silly old bugger in the boat anyway.

Trev

Ocean_Spirit
24-10-2008, 12:27 AM
Good on you Trev,

I hope that you get a good price, and most importantly, the right fit-up. David Whyte is highly recommended on the Coast, nice guy and has plenty of experience with the E-TEC's.

As for back up service down the track, cannot recommend Alan Downes enough in Brisbane at Downes Marine. He has a long history with the Evinrude and Johnson product and is also an agent for BRP.

I personally own a 35 Johnson Carby 3-Cylinder on the 4.2Mtr Seafarer, and it has been a very reliable and smooth engine. Would like to get my hands on the new E-TEC 30 ultimately, but the 35 is going great!

Jabba_
24-10-2008, 07:03 PM
I saw this today on E-tec owners web site...
The 25-30hp looks like a very good motor and with all its inclusions, it makes the other brands look primitive...

Page 01
http://inlinethumb57.webshots.com/37240/2733906340101354590S600x600Q85.jpg (http://rides.webshots.com/photo/2733906340101354590pGcaZi)
Page 02
http://inlinethumb41.webshots.com/40360/2646185240101354590S600x600Q85.jpg (http://rides.webshots.com/photo/2646185240101354590QBKfyL)
Page 03
http://inlinethumb32.webshots.com/40735/2988254440101354590S600x600Q85.jpg (http://rides.webshots.com/photo/2988254440101354590SCfRoy)
Page 04
http://inlinethumb35.webshots.com/41506/2020000720101354590S600x600Q85.jpg (http://rides.webshots.com/photo/2020000720101354590ZMwykY)
Page 05
http://inlinethumb45.webshots.com/30828/2074432750101354590S600x600Q85.jpg (http://rides.webshots.com/photo/2074432750101354590ibtJlS)
Page 06
http://inlinethumb41.webshots.com/40616/2180447660101354590S600x600Q85.jpg (http://rides.webshots.com/photo/2180447660101354590gBnuBw)
Page 07
http://inlinethumb54.webshots.com/28789/2373461570101354590S600x600Q85.jpg (http://rides.webshots.com/photo/2373461570101354590BstKOL)
Page 08
http://inlinethumb55.webshots.com/43958/2554152140101354590S600x600Q85.jpg (http://rides.webshots.com/photo/2554152140101354590bticGF)
Page 09
http://inlinethumb11.webshots.com/29450/2814034740101354590S600x600Q85.jpg (http://rides.webshots.com/photo/2814034740101354590AdKNrj)
Page 10
http://inlinethumb37.webshots.com/4196/2752695710101354590S600x600Q85.jpg (http://rides.webshots.com/photo/2752695710101354590nBabYK)
================================================== ======================

mylestom
16-11-2008, 04:07 PM
The other difference is the interval of service with the Etec one service at 300 hours, Compared with 4stroke Merc/Mariner/Tohatsu requiring 20hrs, 100hr, 200hr and 300hr service difference in servicing cost of somewhere around $500.00 which is quite a diff.

Still waiting for delivery date, has anyone got an update on the release date.

Trev

stevej
17-11-2008, 09:37 AM
576 cc for the 35 and 30 is huge, i dont belive any of etecs ratings as the cube sizes versus stated stickers seem to be all over the place.

you pay what you get for, ie 25hp merc $2690 atm, versus $5,500 for the 25hp etec.

so the primitive term dont really apply for older engines when your paying twice the price.

i ordered one of the 30hp hightech 3 cyclinder yamahas today ($3390) as it was in my price range, i held out for the etecs but i just cant afford that much

mylestom
19-11-2008, 02:38 PM
Does anyone know of a firm time for the release of the 25/30hp Etec,

Everytime we get told a different delivery date, Gone from Nov to early Dec and now talking Jan.

Does any Ausfish have any info, would be much appreciated.

Trev

mylestom
04-12-2008, 05:48 PM
Anyone got current information on when they are due to be delivered/available in Australia.

NAFA Magazine had a lot of good information, but BRP Australia still hasn't realeased this info to dealers or customers awaiting delivery of their motors.

Surely someone out there has some information

Trev

Wahoo
04-12-2008, 06:17 PM
Anyone got current information on when they are due to be delivered/available in Australia.

NAFA Magazine had a lot of good information, but BRP Australia still hasn't realeased this info to dealers or customers awaiting delivery of their motors.

Surely someone out there has some information

Trev

Trev..... they had a few at the boat expo thingy here in Cairns last week end, the E-Tec guy said they will be on the shelf February at the latest, nice little mota

mylestom
04-12-2008, 07:13 PM
Trev..... they had a few at the boat expo thingy here in Cairns last week end, the E-Tec guy said they will be on the shelf February at the latest, nice little mota

Daz,

They were the same one that they use for the demos down the coast in Oct.

Originally supposed to be out Oct/Nov, Then early Dec then Jan first week at latest.

Have a comp in Second week of January, new boat been ready since Oct awaiting this motor. Wish they would just give us a confirmed date, to work with.

Trev

1lastcast
04-12-2008, 09:27 PM
mylestom nice barra in your avatar mate for that sort of folding stuff have you considered a 4 stroke thats the way i would probably go . just a thought

mylestom
05-12-2008, 04:49 AM
mylestom nice barra in your avatar mate for that sort of folding stuff have you considered a 4 stroke thats the way i would probably go . just a thought

Monostretcho,

Thanks, did have a good look at the four strokes and due to sometimes small (to other people) things that I did not prefer.

Required a 30HP Tiller steer with power trim and tilt, electric start.
Brief summary and quick reason for decision.
Honda great motor their manual start setup if battery flat.
Merc/Mariner/Tohatsu (virtually same motor) tiller handle setup was not as user friendly.
Yamaha was the best (For my particular requirements) but the weight of motor was to heavy. 90.4kg
Suzuki only bring out 25hp and require a 30hp.

Etec (as all the four strokes above) is able to be used on all impoundments with it rating and lighter weight and tiller arm length and adjustment seems to fit the bill.

The other consideration was the servicing cost with the four strokes over three years, coming out a few hundred dollars dearer.

Purchase price of all the motors above after shopping around were within the same range.

Thanks for your concern, must have too much time on my hands, being retired, but did view and check out all the four and two strokes.

Again its personal choice, but the Etec seems to tick the majority of requirements for my boat setup.

Trev

mylestom
20-12-2008, 10:25 AM
Still no delivery date for the 30HP E-TEC into Australia.

BRP Aust (Evinrude) have no confirmed delivery date.

Starting to get impatient, have had the new boat since 24Oct and no guarantee of motor.

Latest estimates are late Jan or early Feb.

Original order placed when the advice was late Oct or early Nov.

Does anyone, have any updated or current info on their arrival

Trev

Jabba_
20-12-2008, 10:43 AM
I think you will have better luck getting the info you want on the E-tec owners forum... http://forums.etecownersgroup.com/mb/barnaclebill

siegfried
20-12-2008, 01:05 PM
6 grand ay- that must include the 10 new injectors your gunna need;D

mylestom
19-01-2009, 08:39 AM
Well the wait goes on, still no confirmed delivery date for the 25/30hp Etec into Australia.

No ones wants to even advise manufacter or shipping dates to Australia.

That new boat in the shed is gathering dust, since Oct08.

Does anyone have any current information of delivery dates.

Believe the first shipment is Control Box models only and they have been delayed time and time again. Originally was quoted a Nov Delivery date for my 30hp Power Trim n Tilt Long shaft Electric start. Then early Dec, then Mid Dec, then early Jan, then middle Jan, then early Feb. Latest is possibly Feb some time.

But what the heck, must be just me, but do they really call this looking after your customers.

Feel sorry for the dealers as they are the ones trying to explain away the delays.

Have contacted BRP Australia direct and they are very evasive on giving any information on delivery dates, but quite willing to get out there at Boat shows and whatever opportunity to promote a product since early to mid 2008, that has no firm delivery date.

Come on BRP if you advertise a product and take orders then surely we should have this firm information by now.

Trev

Pete62
19-01-2009, 09:01 AM
Trev, that must be driving u nuts. Do you have a dealer u will(eventually) be getting the motor from? If so, surely he could give u a motor of some discription to stick on the back as a loaner??

See u on the weekend, we will be down there Thursday arvo.

Cheer's Pete.

Jabba_
19-01-2009, 04:30 PM
Trev, Give Jim a call at Paradise Point Marine (there a E-tec dealer) 55771011, and see if he can get some sense out off BRP for you... Jim is a straight shooter and probably your best chance off getting accurate info on the delivery dates in Australia.....

backlash08
19-01-2009, 04:46 PM
you're far more patient than me, with all respect to etec, they arnt the only quality product on the market

Creek Vermin
19-01-2009, 05:28 PM
Still waiting too trev. One mob told me possibly the end of the month and another more likely the end of feb or maybe even the end of march. I don't think they have a clue really.

nipsta
19-01-2009, 07:00 PM
Well the wait goes on, still no confirmed delivery date for the 25/30hp Etec into Australia.

No ones wants to even advise manufacter or shipping dates to Australia.

That new boat in the shed is gathering dust, since Oct08.

Does anyone have any current information of delivery dates.

Believe the first shipment is Control Box models only and they have been delayed time and time again. Originally was quoted a Nov Delivery date for my 30hp Power Trim n Tilt Long shaft Electric start. Then early Dec, then Mid Dec, then early Jan, then middle Jan, then early Feb. Latest is possibly Feb some time.

But what the heck, must be just me, but do they really call this looking after your customers.

Feel sorry for the dealers as they are the ones trying to explain away the delays.

Have contacted BRP Australia direct and they are very evasive on giving any information on delivery dates, but quite willing to get out there at Boat shows and whatever opportunity to promote a product since early to mid 2008, that has no firm delivery date.

Come on BRP if you advertise a product and take orders then surely we should have this firm information by now.

Trev
you give them some trev thats crazy and i suppose you have already paid for it if so i would be asking for a little extra treatment

mylestom
19-01-2009, 08:50 PM
Still waiting too trev. One mob told me possibly the end of the month and another more likely the end of feb or maybe even the end of march. I don't think they have a clue really.

Thanks very much, its very frustrating, you can't really blame the dealers, its BRP Australia Evinrude who are to blame, but getting a straight answer from them is near on impossible.

They do owe all at the very least an apology to all the customers out there.

Compensation for the delay should be theier next step.

Still want the motor, but over four months of waiting and all the delays at the very least deserves an explanation.

Very frustrated in dealing with BRP.

Could not recommend them for customer service or delivery on time.

Trev

mylestom
19-01-2009, 08:55 PM
you give them some trev thats crazy and i suppose you have already paid for it if so i would be asking for a little extra treatment

Simon,

No offers or even apologies from them, very hard to get information or even someone to reply to a simple phone call. Not customer orientated at all.

Karma its called and I really hope it comes back to bite them on the bum.

Just being a small customer, don't think its worth the effort.

But one upset customer will ten and that ten will tell another hundred.

That why you look after the small details when talking to people who order your product.

Trev

nipsta
19-01-2009, 09:06 PM
im glad i own the tohatsu electric start i would have gotten if i knew it would cost me more after but never mind i just need my boat back now and ill have the time to finish off the project with new carpet and reqire all the elctrical stuff

19-01-2009, 11:50 PM
The pricing on these just seems unrealistic. The use of common parts and so few of them should be reducing costs and yet they are chasing a premuim from customers. If they cut the prices , extended warranty and then they will still get some $ from oil and consumable parts. Rather see them offer the product at a fair price especially considering the Aussie dollar is reasonable. Can't expect Aussies to pay for all their sponsership and advertising that is getting a bit overdone.

From OS what are the reviews on these as I haven't read any?

mylestom
20-01-2009, 07:50 AM
The pricing on these just seems unrealistic. The use of common parts and so few of them should be reducing costs and yet they are chasing a premuim from customers. If they cut the prices , extended warranty and then they will still get some $ from oil and consumable parts. Rather see them offer the product at a fair price especially considering the Aussie dollar is reasonable. Can't expect Aussies to pay for all their sponsership and advertising that is getting a bit overdone.

From OS what are the reviews on these as I haven't read any?

Cormorant,

Well the only reviews so far have been from Evinrude (BRP) and their dealers and special friends days. The display motors sure have done a tour of Aust for a long time and been the majority of boat shows.

Still no release date and no reviews available from satisfied customer???? as no motors delivered yet.

Have searched the international forum for not much response.

As my title says WILL THEY BE WORTH THE WAIT? at this stage would have to answer myself in the negative, getting a little frustrated with the information available to confirmed customers.

Trev

ozlongboarder
20-01-2009, 12:49 PM
How long have these motors been available in he USA?

I just cant help thinking your waiting all this time and when you finally get the motor you may end up being a guinea pig for BRP. If they are proven in this hp in the US then maybe its worth holding out but if not..... just buy the next best brand and upgrade to the etec in a year or so when they have proven themselves.

stevej
20-01-2009, 04:30 PM
id say its manufacturing supply issues

ie they aint making enough of them fast enough and aussie ebing aussie no manufacturer gives us anything first, wed be lucky to buy one states worth of sales.

no company would restrict sales if the product was available, go to the us etec forums and see if they are having supply issues, if not you got the reason they just filling the more important orders first

mylestom
21-01-2009, 05:18 AM
id say its manufacturing supply issues

ie they aint making enough of them fast enough and aussie ebing aussie no manufacturer gives us anything first, wed be lucky to buy one states worth of sales.

no company would restrict sales if the product was available, go to the us etec forums and see if they are having supply issues, if not you got the reason they just filling the more important orders first

Stevej
Can't find anywhere that they have been released yet. No confirmed delivery dates anywhere.

After all the hype and advertising, you would think by now there should be some information available. If you have been accepting orders (deposits) for months then you have some responsibility.

Trev

NormC
21-01-2009, 10:07 AM
I gave up on the wait and have bought a Mercury 30 HP 4 stroke. Between the delays, the price, the lack of a weight advantage over some of the 4 strokes of the same size, the shorter warranty than some others and the 'technology risk', I decided to go for another motor.

I'd like to have been able to keep the E-Tec on my short list, but I needed to have delivery, run in and first service by the end of January, ready for a major trip.

As it turns out, I am very happy with the EFI 30 HP Merc.

Norm C

mylestom
21-01-2009, 11:01 AM
Normc,

Well when we ordered we were told of a lot earlier delivery date. But that has been amended on a weekly basis.

Believe that all Etec sold after 01Feb09 both 08 and 09 models will come with a 5years non declining warranty.

Just want to get the boat on the water and do some fishing.

Trev

BoatMad
21-01-2009, 11:56 AM
Hi Trev,

I have actually driven the new ETEC 30 at a Boat Scene in Cairns on water day late last year and what a ripper. It was on the back of a 4.5m horizin and with three big blokes on board plus safety and fuel, was on the plane in no time and was showwing significant legs in the top end. Compared to the four strokes I have tested there is no comparison in performance and what seems maybe even better on fuel.

Worth the wait, without a doubt.

mylestom
21-01-2009, 04:44 PM
Hi Trev,

I have actually driven the new ETEC 30 at a Boat Scene in Cairns on water day late last year and what a ripper. It was on the back of a 4.5m horizin and with three big blokes on board plus safety and fuel, was on the plane in no time and was showwing significant legs in the top end. Compared to the four strokes I have tested there is no comparison in performance and what seems maybe even better on fuel.

Worth the wait, without a doubt.

Well the latest from BRP today is still for a late Feb delivery for the tiller steer.
Thats a long time from the original order date of early Oct.

Certainly hope that BRP does something for the customers who have waited such a long time.

Trev

stevej
21-01-2009, 08:11 PM
Stevej
Can't find anywhere that they have been released yet. No confirmed delivery dates anywhere.

After all the hype and advertising, you would think by now there should be some information available. If you have been accepting orders (deposits) for months then you have some responsibility.

Trev

not to be down on you
but brp aint accepting the deposits the dealers are.
they should be honest and up front saying they dont have a true indication of release dates.

get your deposit back and say youl get it when the engine is here.

mylestom
21-01-2009, 08:22 PM
not to be down on you
but brp aint accepting the deposits the dealers are.
they should be honest and up front saying they dont have a true indication of release dates.

get your deposit back and say youl get it when the engine is here.

Stevej,

Yep thats correct, but BRP is the one out there advertising,promoting and taking orders from dealers for customers. Release dates of new models,is the responsibility of Manufacturer I believe.

Will be glad when it finally is over and get the new boat on the water.

Trev

mylestom
26-01-2009, 04:49 PM
Well another great day on the river, great to look at all the boats having fun, including my old one.

One of the best digs at me today was, "Your boat will be out of warranty before you get it on the water."

Should be getting to used to the comments, just wish that something would happen and be given a firm delivery date for the motor.

Really starting to get annoyed at the delay and wish that BRP or its representatives would come up with some firm date.

Not good and couldn't recommend the customer service/delivery for orders.

Not happy Jan.

Hope everyone enjoy their boats on Australia Day, thanks BRP I didn't.

Well guess it won't matter now off to specialist next week, looks like major back operation and could have had a few months pleasure out of my new outfit.

Starting to really doubt my subject title.

Trev

siegfried
27-01-2009, 06:11 AM
Get your deposit back and buy a four stroke merc ,a tried and true motor, the other bloody thing will only bring you grief. Sounds to me they may not have it right yet thats why no full scale release..it took a while for the 115 to hit the streets too didnt it

marine engineer
02-02-2009, 01:07 AM
Well, i was going to do the Etec thing, but with what Trev's going through, i think i'll steer wide of them. It's a shame as they really look promising, but if they can't be honest and tell you what the supply problem is, what will they be like with WARRANTY issues?
I was hoping to fit twin 25's on the back of a cat, might have to go for suzuki!!!!

mylestom
02-02-2009, 02:10 PM
Well, i was going to do the Etec thing, but with what Trev's going through, i think i'll steer wide of them. It's a shame as they really look promising, but if they can't be honest and tell you what the supply problem is, what will they be like with WARRANTY issues?
I was hoping to fit twin 25's on the back of a cat, might have to go for suzuki!!!!
Well still waiting, latest advise via grape vine was that control models in next week or so and tiller steer in about three weeks. Really will believe it when it is finally installed on my boat.

Annoyed and paid for new boat, rego and insurance for an outfit sitting in the shed since Oct 2008 and no fishing.

No mention of why the delays or offers of any kind from them (BRP Evinrude) at all. The dealers are being kept in the dark and its up to them to face the customers.

Not impressed with BRP Evinrude, just hope the motor lives up to the hype.

Trev

marine engineer
02-02-2009, 08:52 PM
I've got no doubt that the engine will live up to all expectations, The guys up here at boatscene Cairns aren't really keen to "sell" me any until they know for sure that they can get them. I've found that these engines really polarise opinions, like the Toyota v's Nissan arguement (please don't turn this into another one of those threads).
I'm really looking forward to your first run report Trev, You're a better man than me to tolerate what you have. Hope all goes to plan this time.

mylestom
04-02-2009, 08:53 AM
Will post up a report if and when it finally arrives.

It must be really annoying the dealers, customers wanting orders and trying to place. But BRP Evinrude, is still not giving firm dates for delivery.

Can't really understand, they must have manufacture date, models and shipping details by now. Why not tell the customers who have shown a lot of faith in the product, which they have advertised for such a long time now, but as yet have not delivered on there promise of such a great motor.

Trev

04-02-2009, 01:11 PM
Not like they are airfreighting them so you would expect 3-6 weeks notice from when it leaves USA docks?

mylestom
05-02-2009, 08:02 AM
Not like they are airfreighting them so you would expect 3-6 weeks notice from when it leaves USA docks?

By their BRP reckoning they were supposed to be loading nearly two weeks ago for the tiller steer, with control models available wef 04 Feb in Australia. (info not from BRP but another site)
Think that they should be notifying of some firmer dates for tiller models by now.
But only a customer, guess its on a need to know basis.

Trev

djgtom
05-02-2009, 04:54 PM
Trev,
I have to say, you would have to be the most patient boater out there.:o
You are better than me, no way would i have a new boat sitting that long while a supplier is giving me the run around.

I am really looking forward to your post after the 1 st run

Good luck :)

dean

black runner
05-02-2009, 07:15 PM
Lets hope the GFC hasn't impacted the manufacturing plant in China.

mylestom
09-02-2009, 02:13 PM
Well contacted by BRP rep today and further delays to the Tiller steer 30hp ETEC.

Some problem with part for tiller steer from supplier.

So for all you out there waiting for them, you have to be just patient and accept what they tell you.>:(

Asked what they could do for me in regard to one of the demonstation units, as loaned to Wayne Kampe QFM as per his article in Feb issue for his personal boat, until his unit arrives.

Guess just being an ordinary customer, don't rate by them on the scale of things.:wut:

Come on BRP, as you have stated, you are reading this forum what are you going to do for you customers, who have waited such a long time for the goods that you advertised and promoted.

No actual news release through the media, like when you announced the product. I think a apology to your customers is the very least that you could do.

Really feel sorry for the dealers in all this, accepting deposits and placing orders with BRP in good faith and now being the meat in the sandwich.

Trev

backlash08
09-02-2009, 03:59 PM
Trev, you are truely an amazingly understanding guy

mylestom
12-02-2009, 12:10 PM
Well contacted by BRP rep today and further delays to the Tiller steer 30hp ETEC.

Some problem with part for tiller steer from supplier.

So for all you out there waiting for them, you have to be just patient and accept what they tell you.>:(

Asked what they could do for me in regard to one of the demonstation units, as loaned to Wayne Kampe QFM as per his article in Feb issue for his personal boat, until his unit arrives.

Guess just being an ordinary customer, don't rate by them on the scale of things.:wut:

Come on BRP, as you have stated, you are reading this forum what are you going to do for you customers, who have waited such a long time for the goods that you advertised and promoted.

No actual news release through the media, like when you announced the product. I think a apology to your customers is the very least that you could do.

Really feel sorry for the dealers in all this, accepting deposits and placing orders with BRP in good faith and now being the meat in the sandwich.

Trev

Well I am suprised, actually received a written apology from General Manager in Australia.

Apology is appreciated, just can't wait to get my boat on the water.

Trev

marine engineer
13-02-2009, 07:28 AM
Did he tell you how far away they are Trev?

mylestom
13-02-2009, 08:24 AM
Did he tell you how far away they are Trev?

No real info on shipping date still, however in letter he stated.

Quote "Some models are being shipped now so, our outboard Sales Manager, will liaise with you to make sure you are on our top priority list.

Once again I apologies for the delay and we endeavour to do everything in our power to deliver the product to you." Unquote

As you say still no committment to delivery date.

Trev

mylestom
19-02-2009, 04:14 PM
Well after chasing BRP Aust, have been advised that there is no shipping or delivery details available for the 30hp Tiller steer.

Costing me money as paying for rego, insurance on boat and motor just sitting in shed for months.

Let alone cost of calls and chasing up information.

Dealer has offer a new 30hp Honda 4stroke for about the same money and think thats the way to go.

At least get me onto the water and save the next trip to Monduran in a few weeks.

Trev

nipsta
19-02-2009, 04:43 PM
Well after chasing BRP Aust, have been advised that there is no shipping or delivery details available for the 30hp Tiller steer.

Costing me money as paying for rego, insurance on boat and motor just sitting in shed for months.

Let alone cost of calls and chasing up information.

Dealer has offer a new 30hp Honda 4stroke for about the same money and think thats the way to go.

At least get me onto the water and save the next trip to Monduran in a few weeks.

Trev
sounds like the way to go and i would also make sure it was a better deal as the waiting time was ridiculus

Peter4
19-02-2009, 04:49 PM

Do it Trev......I have a 40hp Honda 4stroke and I love it.

Very quiet idle, plenty of grunt, starts first time nearly every time, electric tilt and trim etc etc......

backlash08
19-02-2009, 04:59 PM
go the 4S, get on the water

19-02-2009, 05:10 PM
Ask the dealer to speak with Honda Australia and explain your story. Offer them to let them use your name and story in a publicity release in exchange for a very cheap motor. That sort of publicity is gold in a newsletter.

"Client sick of waiting for etec and bad communication talks to Honda and we do it right by him , new 30hp fitted ".

Nice if you got a better deal is what I think as being pissed about that much you deserve it.

Not so sure your dealer has done 100% he could have either. So unless he is going to be good for you I'd be thinking to use elsewhere in the future.

Pretty dismal effort all round

mylestom
19-02-2009, 05:25 PM
Placed order today for 30hp Honda, Tiller, Power Trim n Tilt and Electric start, long shaft.

Just not worth the wait for the Etec 30hp.

Guess I ended up answering my own question.

Trev

marine engineer
19-02-2009, 05:42 PM
Well, i can't say i blame you Trev, but at least we have an answer to your origional question!!! I hope you find the honda a good motor, by the time i engineer this bloody pontoon, they may have released the etecs.

Jabba_
19-02-2009, 07:21 PM
Trev your more patiant then I am, I would off ordered that Honda months ago, either that or blowen a hole in my head from frustration waiting for a motor that is due to be released on the 12th of Never....

I am sure that the Honda will serve you well.... Best off luck with and happy boating...

Wahoo
19-02-2009, 07:42 PM
Hi Trev, they have the 30hp E-Tec in stock here in Cairns, about 7 of them

only kidding.......

the honda will serve you well

mylestom
24-03-2009, 01:06 PM
Did anyone go to Tinnie and Tackle show, did they have any further info on delivery of the 25/30hp Etec Tiller steer. Gone very quite world wide on the release of this motor.

Does anyone have any info.

Trev

stevej
24-03-2009, 01:52 PM
i asked ta the recent sydney show and none yet

maybe next year lol

mylestom
25-03-2009, 10:48 AM
i asked ta the recent sydney show and none yet

maybe next year lol

Steve,

Makes you wonder the last promise was two weeks after the control models, which arrived in Australia on 04 Feb 09.

Think by now that a statement as to the delays and expected delivery times would be available from BRP .

Recieved lots of promises while I was waiting and still awaiting the outcome of the their latest promises, but as usual no contact unless you ring, ring, ring, then finally someone might get back to you.

About time they come up with some facts since they have been promoting this product for such a long time.

Trev

Pete62
25-03-2009, 10:53 AM
Why u not fishing Trev?? Any runs scored yet?

Pete.

mylestom
29-03-2009, 11:36 AM
Well no response from BRP, sent emails to three various levels this week, and no response as to why the delay on the tiller.

Was assured by the Sales Director for Australia, that I would be kept updated and looked after when they became available. That would be a regular update of why the delays and when they should finally arrive.

Know that BRP monitor this forum and it would have been nice to have received a response this week.

Guess it the old out of sight and out of mind syndrome.

Come on BRP, own up that there has been a problem with the tiller steer and start replying to your customers.

Regads

Trev

russ81
29-03-2009, 11:48 AM
After speaking to the etec dealer up here yesterday I was told that the tiller steer is still another month away at least

Rus

stevej
29-03-2009, 12:02 PM
mylestrom guess not enough people badgering them, good on you though for having a go at them

arogance in buisness sucks guess what brp i bought a yammy but guess you dont care, i waited 3months long enough for me

29-03-2009, 12:44 PM
Trev forget the emails.

Take your business elsewhere.

NO motor is worth this much drama.

mylestom
29-03-2009, 04:06 PM
mylestrom guess not enough people badgering them, good on you though for having a go at them

arogance in buisness sucks guess what brp i bought a yammy but guess you dont care, i waited 3months long enough for me
Steve,

No they finally advised me in Feb to go and buy another motor as they had no idea when the tiller steer would finally be here.

Bit of a long story but still awaiting the final outcome from them, lots of assurances and promises but not much in the way of any product, my original order was 15 Oct 2008.

Seems like they are not willing to come out and make statements or assurances in the media.

Only out there promoting a product for a long time with no actual delivery date

As for another month, heard that story lots of times and non of it came to fruitition.

Trev

03-06-2009, 04:31 PM

I noticed today that Leisure marine had a couple of tiller etecs on shelf, a 25 and a 30.