PDA

View Full Version : Help me troubleshoot this motor!!

ThePinkPanther
15-10-2008, 11:00 AM
I have a Whittley Cruisemaster with an inboard OMC Cobra V8 that is in top condition with a low 500 hours runing time albeit over many years.

It has just come back from a service a few months ago and in addition I have performed the following:

1. New Starter motor
2. New coil
3. New spark plugs and leads
4. Had the distributor serviced
5. Likewise the Holley twin-barreled carbi
6. New batteries
7. New exhaust risers
8. New manifolds

......... and everything is as shiny and clean as a new pin so to the problem.....

The V8 howls and bellows its way across and around the Bay for well over an hour and a half with no problems whatsoever. This involves drifting with motor off and the numerous stops/starts with a days fishing - it never misses a beat!

Invariably after this time (usually on the way home) it starts to miss badly at about 3500 RPM. I drop the revs back a bit and it runs fine, then a few minutes it starts missing again. this goes on and on til I eventually craw home at about 2,000 RPM.

During this troublesome period, if I rev the motor up out of gear, it peaks at 5500 RPM and all stops in between without a miss or a drop in revs - absolutely perfect. But the instant I slip it back into gear and power up again, back comes the missing - pretty badly. Pushing the throttle up causes the motor to stop instantly.

OK, I reckon it is fuel starvation and as the fuel level drops it causes a vacuum in the tank produced as the result of a possible (?) fuel vent blockage somewhere and causes this missing. But if this is the case, why does it run out of gear at top RPM without a miss?

I guess next time it happens, I will simply pull off the fuel filler cap and see if that fixes the problem ..........