View Full Version : Haines Signature 2250 1990

J2DAG83
13-10-2008, 10:38 AM
Howdy Gents....

Any info on one of these beasts would be greatly appreciated... ride etc....... there's one in the tradingpost at the moment....135hp Mariner optimax on a pod...is it under powered?????

13-10-2008, 11:10 AM
yes, it's underpowered. mate had one with a 200 and the ones i have seen have had minimum 200. top boats though, great weekender/offshore rig.

Pazz01
13-10-2008, 11:37 AM
Yeh mate, they are about 22.5 ft and would come in around the 1.5 tonne mark fully loaded. I've got a 635L HH which is 21.5ft and its got a 200hp on it. Which is heaps.

Good boat tho, just disappointing the size of the outboard.

J2DAG83
13-10-2008, 02:03 PM
Yeah i figured it was more than likely well underpowered probly a contributing factor to the price being so low.....well in my opinion anyway 33k neg. and it looks like an exceptionally clean rig..

jeffrey_h
13-10-2008, 06:42 PM
pm sent

Jeffrey

Tidas
13-10-2008, 10:54 PM
Yeah i figured it was more than likely well underpowered probly a contributing factor to the price being so low.....well in my opinion anyway 33k neg. and it looks like an exceptionally clean rig..

Hi mate,

I have owned a 2250L which ran a 200HP Merc and have some old brocheres. Interestingly the older brochere lists the approximate weight as 1130kg and the newer list its hull weight as 950kg and min. power as 150.

Whilst I have not had much experience with a lot of boats, I thought it was a great boat, I only sold it as I needed to buy a house.

With the 200HP Merc on it, it would just pull 80kph on the dash speedo.

I would never go the minimum recommended power for a hull, let alone go under it.

14-10-2008, 05:22 AM
Take it for a run, the 135 is a big displacement 6cyl engine, you may fast cruise at 50km/h instead of 65 and top out at 62. A large % of the time the hull sets the speed travelled not the engine.

J2DAG83
14-10-2008, 07:04 AM
Thanks for the replys fella's.......Jeff i tried to reply but not sure if it's working????

jeffrey_h
14-10-2008, 05:49 PM
No, got no pm yet.

Did you like it, I've seen it but it's too big for our front yard at 9 mt overall trailer/boat length.

Jeffrey

J2DAG83
15-10-2008, 09:42 AM
Is it possible to see piccys of it anywhere.....is the motor ther same age as the hull????

Outsider1
15-10-2008, 09:49 AM
Is it possible to see piccys of it anywhere.....is the motor ther same age as the hull????

I presume this is the boat being discussed;

http://boatpoint.ninemsn.com.au/boats-for-sale/details.aspx?R=2974880

The motor is an Optimax so definitely not as old as the hull.

15-10-2008, 10:04 AM
well if that is the one be a little wary of the engine depending which year it is to some extent, parts too!, the gross multitude of wearable ones these engines can need are frightfully expensive.

IMO it's 10k too expensive anyway.

boatboy50
15-10-2008, 10:58 AM
Hey Guys,

This boat has been discussed here before.

Do a search.