View Full Version : 20 or 25hp Shortshaft 2 Stroke

OverNover
12-10-2008, 04:27 PM
Hi Guys,

I'm in the market for a good 2nd hand 20 or 25hp 2 stoke to push the little Edgetracker along a bit better, preferably 2000 or newer, have work contacts all along the East Coast so give me a yell if you're looking to offload one, Cheers, Jamie.

jimbamb
13-10-2008, 09:39 AM
Mate,
thought about changing the prop to get better performance??? my 3.7 with 15 yammy. was lazy but a different prop made it a good boat. 2 up with all the gear does 33kph. could be cheaper than changing motors.
jim

OverNover
13-10-2008, 10:21 AM
Cheers Jim,

I hadn't thought about that, I'm currently only running a 9.9hp Merc, with all the crap I've added to the boat ie, casting decks, live bait tank and storage, the extra weight (ply) has killed it, alright 1 up, but really struggles 2 up with a bit of wind about, I've often wondered if my Merc (97 Model) is a true 9.9 or if it's like the older 9.9's in that it is actually a 15hp governed back to a 9.9hp, I don't know what to look for, might get onto the local Merc dealer and sus it out and see if it can be 'converted' to a 15hp then muck around with the prop, Thanx for the input, Cheers, Jamie.

13-10-2008, 11:18 AM
upping HP in Motors comes up all the time, some are possible and are almost worth it cost wise, some are so expensive that it is not worth while at all, some are almost impossible, get another Motor and be done with it.

OverNover
13-10-2008, 11:34 AM
Thanx Noel,

I noticed this morning that there's a 20hp Yammy for sale in the Ausfish classifieds, have contacted the seller for more info, might be the go, Thanx, Jamie.

13-10-2008, 01:25 PM
strange enough, I had a 9.9 on my 3.7 Quintrex Explorer (an older model) and after a bit of putting up with just enough power, I upgraded to a 20HP and it was the best thing I ever did, the 9.9 was fine with 2 people, but 2 and some gear or 3 people it really was on the limit, but the 20 is a dream, had it for a few years now, but thinking of getting a slightly bigger Boat, so will need another Motor as well, if I go tiller steer again (most likely) I will look for another Merc with the gear change on the throttle, if not available, then I will just whinge and cry and put up with conventional shift.

OverNover
13-10-2008, 02:31 PM
Yeah, I was originally looking at a 25hp as they weigh the same as a 20hp but I think a 20hp will push my 3.7m Edgetracker along nicely 2 up with gear, all my mates are Yammy fans, I'm used to the gear change with the Mercs too, think the Yammy's have a separate gear selector on the tiller arm, not as easy as the Merc but I have to admit I have had issues with my last two Mercs / Mariners and all my mates say the Yammy's are bulletproof. Cheers, Jamie.

14-10-2008, 08:22 AM
not trying to bias your Motor choice in any way (I have had most brands) and the only reason I have a Merc is the gear change, but my mate does all the repair work for our local Surf Club (I help out) and he reckons that the best Motor by far in the 20 to 25HP Tiller steer is the Tohatsu, they have had a bucket load of trouble with the Yamaha tiller and mounting brackets, all sorts of "funny" things with OMC, never had a Merc (but it is some sort of Tohatsu rebadge thing), had a Honda of some sort and sold it in less than a season (don't know why),now I must add that these Motors get tortured all day, in sand and constant dunkings, run up on the Beach, run without water at times and generaly abused, so to compare with a "home use" Motor is probably unfair in some ways, but thats what I see first hand.

jimbamb
14-10-2008, 06:10 PM
Mate,
edgetrackers are notorious for takin a while to get up hence the trouble i had with the 15 yammy.Would love to have 20/25 on mine but i put it on the top of the ute and would be a bit heavy to carry around and chuck into the ute,
Good luck with a few more ponies..

Matt76
15-10-2008, 08:39 AM
I have an old blue band 20hp merc for sale but would prob be far too old for ya. Will be cheap though.

OverNover
15-10-2008, 07:03 PM
G'day Matt,

What condition is it in and how does it run? I'll consider anything, Cheers, Jamie.

Matt76
16-10-2008, 07:30 AM
G'day Matt,

What condition is it in and how does it run? I'll consider anything, Cheers, Jamie.

It is in pretty bloody good condition. It was my wife grandfathers. He built a wooden boat back in the late 70's and bought the motor new then. It went in the water a couple of times and then sat in his shed. Hed decided after about 10 or 15 years that it had been sitting to long and rebuilt it. When we got it off him about 12 months ago we had to change a coil pack because it would only send spark to one cylinder but other than that she ran no problems at all. I pulled the side cover off and there was no corrrosion whatsoever inside the water channels and I could see inside through the engine port and the piston and bore were perfect, not even a speck of surface rust or pitting.

Could maybe do with a new set of spark plugs because it takes a couple of pulls to start but other than that its good, just a bit noisier than the new motors.

I had intended to put it on the new tinny but stupid me didnt double check that it was the right length for my transome. We took it out on the new boat last weekend but it sat too high and the prop wasnt in enough water.

Anyway, sorry for the essay ;D

16-10-2008, 10:52 AM
It is in pretty bloody good condition. It was my wife grandfathers. He built a wooden boat back in the late 70's and bought the motor new then.
Has he still got the boat?

Matt76
16-10-2008, 03:45 PM
Has he still got the boat?

We sold it last weekend, someone got a bargain there too :-[