View Full Version : Illegal Barra Caught on Sunshine Coast?

ianr
12-10-2008, 07:53 AM
Gidday All, I was just reading the Sunday Mail and came across an article on pg 28 about a 16 year old who caught and kept a 1.3m Barra in a canal at Pelican Waters on the Sunshine coast. I can imagine his excitement, but isn"t the maximum size of a barra 120cm?
I wonder what the ramificationsof this article will/should be?
Cheers Ian

12-10-2008, 07:58 AM
If all is true I sincerely hope the prigs do not 'deem' to go him, the result is exclusively more harm done than anything good.

12-10-2008, 08:14 AM
Just remember it is the media ;)

Pridey
12-10-2008, 08:18 AM
Im still working out the fact a barra was caught on the sunny coast at all..

Jeremy87
12-10-2008, 08:18 AM
nothing since the barra look alot smaller than 130cm, more like 103cm and the paper just got it wrong,either by mistake or on purpose (i don't trust journalists they lie even more than fishermen)

Pridey
12-10-2008, 08:40 AM
I just saw the picture. 13kgs... its not $1.30 it also looks a little thin for one over the metre mark.

ffejsmada
12-10-2008, 11:17 AM
Im still working out the fact a barra was caught on the sunny coast at all..

Why??................They are here.
Not in big numbers, but they're definitely here.

DR
12-10-2008, 02:15 PM
definately does not look 113cm to me, more like 90..maybe.
http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,24480040-3102,00.html

ifishcq1
12-10-2008, 03:18 PM
DR you are closer to the money and then that would be generous typical reach forward pose with the elbows in front of his chest

if you use his 4 fingers as an average of 80mm and unless he is a freak huge kid

that barra is between 800 and 900 mm in okay nick for a salty

regardless of the size he still caught it and that alone in that area gives him bragging rights

SL

loophole
12-10-2008, 05:36 PM
nothing since the barra look alot smaller than 130cm, more like 103cm and the paper just got it wrong,either by mistake or on purpose (i don't trust journalists they lie even more than fishermen)

Its Not 1.3m , was more like 90cm.

And I work with dan, and when he told me i was like WTF:o .
It's not the first noted capture of a baramundi this far south. There would be a few more out there.

BR65
12-10-2008, 05:48 PM
Nice fish, but not a $1.30, no way.
Salties are a lot leaner than their freshwater brothers.
Great fish for down here, I'd be stoked

Tropicaltrout
12-10-2008, 06:35 PM
Had the kid on Dave's (nugget) radio last week. The fish was 93cm caught on a prawn. It was a very lucky capture and was only tageting the normal bread and butter speiceis. I am pretty sure the details and picture is on the 4bc web site.

loophole
12-10-2008, 08:18 PM
Had the kid on Dave's (nugget) radio last week. The fish was 93cm caught on a prawn. It was a very lucky capture and was only tageting the normal bread and butter speiceis. I am pretty sure the details and picture is on the 4bc web site.

wats the link ? Pretty shure it got caught on a crappy $5 Storm lure.

12-10-2008, 08:19 PM
Why let the facts get in the way of a good story ;)

nice fish regardless:)

Vindicator
12-10-2008, 08:23 PM
Yeah didn't look like 130cm to me. I guess all that rain at the start of the year has flooded someones dam and there have been a few escapees.

Kezza

griz066
12-10-2008, 08:28 PM
Hehehehehehe 130cm my foot bl@@dy Jerno's never let a bit of BS get in the way of a story

Dug
12-10-2008, 08:28 PM
someone has let their pet barra go when it got to big for the fish tank would be my guess.

loophole
12-10-2008, 08:33 PM
someone has let their pet barra go when it got to big for the fish tank would be my guess.

Could be What else do you do wiuth one big Bara tho?

sandbankmagnet
12-10-2008, 08:40 PM
regardless of the squables on size, I think we'd all be happy to land that in the pumicestone passage. good score I say.

Tropicaltrout
12-10-2008, 09:33 PM
http://www.nuggetfishing.com.au/forum/index.php?action=gallery;sa=view;id=81

that should be it a 92cm not 93cm anyhow I agree with Nagg its a ripper capture reguardless. It nice to know that a barra can turn up anywhere.

but were ever the jurno got his over a metre story is a mystery?

12-10-2008, 09:49 PM
problay one of the escapees from the barra farm..... wasn't there rumours that some of their ponds overflowed at some time.

Also heard rumours that someone had released a few barra in wyvenhoe.

A bit more global warming & we might see a few join the threadies in the brisbane river;D

Fitzy
12-10-2008, 11:50 PM
I really don't see why folks are so sceptical about barra south of Tin Can Bay. They've always been in Moreton Bay & always will be.

Even DPI admit they're in SEQ, however they describe them as a "vagrant" species. Meaning that they do move into Moreton Bay but not likely to be ubundant.
Moreton Bay has one of the widest fin fish diversity of any bay in Aust waters. It is a change over region from the tropical species to the sub-tropical.

Tell me any other place where you can catch Threadies & Aust Salmon in the same water???

If we didn't know it as fact, one would find it hard to believe we used to have saltwater crocs in Moreton Bay as well.

I guess many wouldn't be aware that we once had Jungle Perch in virtually ever creek & river down well into NSW. Now you cant find one on a mainland waterway south of Mackay.... :'(

There is alot of barra in SEQ that get caught but the captures are kept quiet. Commera River & Logan River are consistent producers of them. The key to catching barra anywhere, is to actually fish for them. I don't see many anglers that actually hit the Commera River or Mooloolah River & actually fish specifically for barra.
A blood worm on a paternoster rig on 6lb line won't be catching many that's for sure.

Don't assume they illegally stocked or escapees from a farm dam.... they may well be there naturally. Actually a big chance in fact. :o

fitzy..

13-10-2008, 06:37 AM
With a breeding population of Barra in the Mary River ....... to me its not too difficult to imagine how barra turn up in places like
Caloundra or Moreton bay
Hey with global warming ...... we might be lucky enough to get them in NSW one day :P ;)

Nagg

13-10-2008, 06:38 AM
totally agree with fitzty,,,,, i admit that i was one of the ""sceptics"" on the recent report re the barra near bribie bridge,,,,,, and yet i soon found that is was indeed caught,,,, weighed and pics taken at one of the local weigh in stations??

just seems too many are caught and the blame is normally ""escaped from a dam or someones oversize pet"",,,,,

3rd degree
13-10-2008, 02:08 PM
Have heard stories about trawlers in the river in the years gone by coming across them in their nets from time to time.

More likely they are wild rather than pets that have grown to big IMHO.

Local_Guy
13-10-2008, 03:08 PM
thats a great looking barra. golden yellow. and at 93cm what a beauty.

gotta love the newspaper clipping though.
*quote* 1.3m monster *end quote*

if it was 1.3m the poor kid would have some explaining to do.

congrats to Daniel Sydes for such a fine catch. well done.

CT
14-10-2008, 10:08 AM
Fairly sure that in Grants Guide, Ern states his two biggest barra have come from the Noosa river.

A long time prior to major commercial fish farming in the catchment would be my guess.

nuggstar
14-10-2008, 08:05 PM
thats so frustrating, iv been fishing there for quite a wile and never seen any thing like that in there. i hope there's more in there. it a bit like the rumer that you can catch jungle perch in some of the creeks south of pelican waters. id like to get my hands on them critters but i never see any one posting one or hurd of any on getting them but like this barra they must be around.

15-10-2008, 07:19 AM
OK, just got off the phone to my Mate who has been fishing around those parts for years, and is related to a very long time Professional fishing family in the district as well, it seems that Barra have been caught on a semi regular basis in the Mooloolah River for yonks, a few in the Passage as well as some in most of the Rivers around the area, back in the "old days" they were a fairly common catch by Pros in nets, so I guess there has always been a population of them (maybe topped up by escapees) who knows, he has caught two himself in the Mooloolah River, OH it seems the Barra in question was 18KG as told by a first hand witness.

reidy
15-10-2008, 02:29 PM
good luck to the young fella a fish of a life time for some.
Size well who gives a
Well done
rReidy

jimbamb
16-10-2008, 09:35 AM
Seen a report on tv about hundreds of bass dead or dying in burrum river.Guess they went over the wall at lentills when it filled recently.
Probably a few barra went awol as well and went down to sunny coast .....Chucked a lefty instead of righty,,

mattooty
16-10-2008, 03:35 PM
Like any small population of trophy fish, anyone who does know about it usually keeps it quiet. If i knew the creeks that still produce jungle perch i'd be dammed if i was going to post it on the internet. Theres spots in Northern NSW that regularly produce queenies but none of the blokes that fish for them ever publicise their captures. I'd imagine the scenario would be the same up there, if you've cracked the barra in SEQ code, then you're not going to spill it to quickly.
Good fish for the bloke, its something to remember and bragging rights.

ifishcq1
16-10-2008, 04:00 PM

nothing personal but, the source was on the sauce if he thinks a 93cm barra was 18kg
the witness probably measured the fish in pounds or put a 1 in front

the fish in my avatar is a wild fish of 25kg and 119cm long

measure your hand then scale the boys hand against the fish and do the maths it is around 90cm not any bigger unless the boy has hands like dinner plates

in the last few weeks we have scored several over 90cm and they were flat out being 8.5 kg and in the wild there is no chance in hell of them getting much heavier for that length

http://www.nt.gov.au/d/Fisheries/Content/File/NTfish_table1.cfm

SL

Moffy
16-10-2008, 07:50 PM
my best lake caught barra (17kg - 117cm) would have swallowed that thing - its no more over a metre than it is 18kg (or 13kg for that matter) - its a racing barra at best (our term for any barra that's skinny for its length).

loophole
16-10-2008, 11:29 PM
, OH it seems the Barra in question was 18KG as told by a first hand witness.

:o lol YOUR kidding yourself 92cm and 18kg????? Im No Bara Expert but theres no way that thing woulda weighed 10kg.

I still dont know why i havent cracked a SEQ bara yet...... Might have to start throwing some FROGS around the Pilons and Weirs haha ;D

17-10-2008, 07:05 AM
hey I don't know the length or weight, I was told 18KG by a guy I know that actualy saw it, (he may have guessed for all I know) the true weight/length/place it was caught or anything else is probably (as most cases) I know a bloke, that saw a bloke that thought he heard. . . . . . but, the facts about Barra in the Mooloolah River are very true!

ifishcq1
17-10-2008, 05:38 PM
Yeah Noel

I wasn't having a shot at you (far from it), just the weight you were told
it is true they do get the odd barra and any barra down there is a good catch

I suppose if everyone used 10inch mullet live baits and hit the structures they may find more

My Dad lives next to the canals at the back of Curramundi he reckons he has heard solid loud boofs at night and barra are the boof specialists the noise they make when they inhale half a bin full of water around a livey near the surface

SL

tassie
18-10-2008, 12:57 AM
I used to work on a station just out of Burketown (Barra capital of Australia) thats what the sign says as your goin in anyway. A barra every 5 casts was our average in some of the secluded spots of the leicardt river and have personally seen a 133cm barra way in at 41 kg. was the fattest barra i have ever seen. We frequently got the magic metre plus fish but they never ever even hit half that weight. just goes to show that length does not always give you an idea of the weight8-)

jackextracter
19-10-2008, 08:13 PM
Some people are so small minded barra have been down this way for years now not in the numbers they are up north but still here the threadies we get around here should convince people enough to believe there around , i will let a little secret out at the right time of the year you can target big bara at the pin when instinct kicks in to breed.

simool-awiad
24-11-2008, 12:41 PM
If i knew the creeks that still produce jungle perch i'd be dammed if i was going to post it on the internet.
I know for a fact there is still a small population of juggle pearch in a river south of the sunshine coast but i'm not saying where!;D if most knew where they would be amazed!It's not hard to believe fitzzy's coments at all!I ALSO WAS SPEAKING TO THE DPI SOME YEARS AGO AND THEY CLAIMED OF ONE CREEK IN THE PASSAGE THAT ONCE HAD A POPULATION OF BARRA,OVER 25 YEAR AGO!I KNOW OF ONE CONFIRMED CAPTURE IN THIS CREEK LAST SEASON 90+CM BARRA.

84mick
25-11-2008, 07:49 PM
I read in a fishing mag a little while ago saying that jungle perch use to be stocked in small creeks not to far from brissy! Dont know if you can access (the public) these creeks either.

Cheers, Mick.

caloundra
28-11-2008, 10:18 AM
Well done Dan
what a top catch
I'd be stoked to catch any size barra in the passage