View Full Version : sharkcat age

dean12m
11-10-2008, 07:44 PM
many of the posters on this forums talk about old and not so old 5.6 shark cats when it come to ride and safety etc.

can anyone tell me what years these would cover so i know what to look for when buying one.

13-10-2008, 02:18 PM
geees this is a tricky one, but for what it is worth, here goes, the best model (I reckon) is the latest (about 1990 ish) it had a 3 piece safety glass windscreen and a solid fibre glass hatch that folded up against the windscreen ,it also had an anchor well/hatch in the front deck, some had bunks fitted in the cabin (pretty cosy in there though) there was a few that had pods fitted (these where the Noosacat ones) pretty rare but very good, before that time there was a dozen variations, all based on a very similar hull, but lots of interior layouts, some good, some not so good, some had lots of room, but the screen/seating was way forward, causing a wet surprise over the front if going slow in chop, then way back there was the flat bottom hull models, these where nowhere near as good as the later ones! so there you go, a very basic rundown on Sharkcats, if you need info on specific models, let us know and someone will help out.

13-10-2008, 02:21 PM
OH I might add that except for the flat bottom ones, the ride and safety would be almost the same, it is just that the later ones were much better set out and finish, although none of them would win a prize for finish or "luxuries"

ferrett
13-10-2008, 03:33 PM
hey dean where abouts do you live? i am in townsville and there is a sharkcat just around the corner from me and it has been under tarps for a couple of years. might need a bit of tlc but the hull looks pretty good still

Grand_Marlin
14-10-2008, 04:00 PM
G'day Dean,

The model Noel is refering to was first released in 1985.

Be wary though, as Sharkcat never put build plates, so many people advertise them as late model boats ... even as far as 2000 models, which they never were.

If you have one in mind, post a few pics - we should be able to help you out.

dean12m
21-10-2008, 09:00 PM
im in brisbane and gold coast ferret. i dont mind doing the tlc part.. saw one on boat point needs a bit of tlc in Cairns
http://boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/details.aspx?R=2976480

as long as the hull is good i can get new engines.. trucking it down ,no problem please let me know any more details if you find out anything more.

22-10-2008, 07:13 AM
haven't seen a Green and Yellow one for years now, the Boat looks a bit tatty, but very hard to tell from the pictures of course, and why do you think it may need new Motors? sort of looks like a bit of a home handyman seat box thing been fitted at some time, looks to me like about an early 80's model perhaps, what do you think Pete??

Dean1
22-10-2008, 07:49 AM
haven't seen a Green and Yellow one for years now, the Boat looks a bit tatty, but very hard to tell from the pictures of course, and why do you think it may need new Motors? sort of looks like a bit of a home handyman seat box thing been fitted at some time, looks to me like about an early 80's model perhaps, what do you think Pete?? Yeah she's early 80's having the one piece screen at the front, changed to the 3 piece in 1985. That is the model which has a droopy nose when off plane with a few guys up front. Trailer looks ordinary. Needs alot of $$$ spent and time. I think it would be better to pay a little more for a mid/late 80's hull with a better trailer if possible and repower it. Just my opinion, Deano.

Dean1
22-10-2008, 08:29 AM
Here is a better example. Heaps better hull/trailer with huge motors which could be traded. Cheers

//http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boatcontent/e/logo.gif (http://www.boatpoint.com.au/)
news &
reviews
(http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boat-reviews/search.aspx)
boat
http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boatcontent/e/search_header.gif

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boatcontent/e/b_home.gif (http://www.boatpoint.com.au/)http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boatcontent/e/b_finance.gif (http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boat-finance/)http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boatcontent/e/b_insurance.gif (http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boat-insurance/)http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boatcontent/e/b_help.gif (http://www.boatpoint.com.au/help/)

BPTopNavSearch_OnLoad();
SHARK CAT 5.65 SERIES

$24,500

6 photos
View Slideshow (http://javascript<b></b>:PhotoSS('Alias=boatpointau&TabID=804586&t=SHARK+CAT+5.65+SERIES&hideDetails=False&s=19609474,19609475,19609476,19609477,19609478,196 09479&rs=PRIVATEADVERTISER-VIC-LAKES-ENTRANCE-SHARKCAT-565SERIES&ad=SHARKCAT.VIC.PRIVATEADVERTISER&a=start&p=19609474'))

http://tcimages.net/DisplayImage.aspx?S=IS&wmin=boatpoint&PD=19609474 (http://javascript<b></b>:PhotoSS('Alias=boatpointau&TabID=804586&t=SHARK+CAT+5.65+SERIES&hideDetails=False&s=19609474,19609475,19609476,19609477,19609478,196 09479&rs=PRIVATEADVERTISER-VIC-LAKES-ENTRANCE-SHARKCAT-565SERIES&ad=SHARKCAT.VIC.PRIVATEADVERTISER&p=19609474'))

Private Advertiser my name*
my e-mail*
contact number*
my location*
(select a region) Australian Capital Territory New South Wales Northern Territory Queensland South Australia Tasmania Victoria Western Australia Overseasmy comments

* mandatory field

photo gallery

http://tcimages.net/DisplayImage.aspx?S=ITE&IO=3&wmin=boatpoint&PD=19609474 (http://javascript<b></b>:PhotoSS('Alias=boatpointau&TabID=804586&t=SHARK+CAT+5.65+SERIES&hideDetails=False&s=19609474,19609475,19609476,19609477,19609478,196 09479&rs=PRIVATEADVERTISER-VIC-LAKES-ENTRANCE-SHARKCAT-565SERIES&ad=SHARKCAT.VIC.PRIVATEADVERTISER&p=19609474')) http://tcimages.net/DisplayImage.aspx?S=ITE&IO=3&wmin=boatpoint&PD=19609475 (http://javascript<b></b>:PhotoSS('Alias=boatpointau&TabID=804586&t=SHARK+CAT+5.65+SERIES&hideDetails=False&s=19609474,19609475,19609476,19609477,19609478,196 09479&rs=PRIVATEADVERTISER-VIC-LAKES-ENTRANCE-SHARKCAT-565SERIES&ad=SHARKCAT.VIC.PRIVATEADVERTISER&p=19609475')) http://tcimages.net/DisplayImage.aspx?S=ITE&IO=3&wmin=boatpoint&PD=19609476 (http://javascript<b></b>:PhotoSS('Alias=boatpointau&TabID=804586&t=SHARK+CAT+5.65+SERIES&hideDetails=False&s=19609474,19609475,19609476,19609477,19609478,196 09479&rs=PRIVATEADVERTISER-VIC-LAKES-ENTRANCE-SHARKCAT-565SERIES&ad=SHARKCAT.VIC.PRIVATEADVERTISER&p=19609476')) http://tcimages.net/DisplayImage.aspx?S=ITE&IO=3&wmin=boatpoint&PD=19609477 (http://javascript<b></b>:PhotoSS('Alias=boatpointau&TabID=804586&t=SHARK+CAT+5.65+SERIES&hideDetails=False&s=19609474,19609475,19609476,19609477,19609478,196 09479&rs=PRIVATEADVERTISER-VIC-LAKES-ENTRANCE-SHARKCAT-565SERIES&ad=SHARKCAT.VIC.PRIVATEADVERTISER&p=19609477')) http://tcimages.net/DisplayImage.aspx?S=ITE&IO=3&wmin=boatpoint&PD=19609478 (http://javascript<b></b>:PhotoSS('Alias=boatpointau&TabID=804586&t=SHARK+CAT+5.65+SERIES&hideDetails=False&s=19609474,19609475,19609476,19609477,19609478,196 09479&rs=PRIVATEADVERTISER-VIC-LAKES-ENTRANCE-SHARKCAT-565SERIES&ad=SHARKCAT.VIC.PRIVATEADVERTISER&p=19609478')) http://tcimages.net/DisplayImage.aspx?S=ITE&IO=3&wmin=boatpoint&PD=19609479 (http://javascript<b></b>:PhotoSS('Alias=boatpointau&TabID=804586&t=SHARK+CAT+5.65+SERIES&hideDetails=False&s=19609474,19609475,19609476,19609477,19609478,196 09479&rs=PRIVATEADVERTISER-VIC-LAKES-ENTRANCE-SHARKCAT-565SERIES&ad=SHARKCAT.VIC.PRIVATEADVERTISER&p=19609479'))

features

MakeSHARK CATModel5.65 SERIESHull YearUnknownFeet18.54Metres5.65HullMultiPowerPowerC urrencyAUDPrice$24,500Reference Code32CP-068-180UsageLeisure.

description

5.65m BRUCE HARRIS SHARKCAT. Hard to find Sportsman model. Twin 140hp V6 1995 Yamahas,both fully rebuilt. Built to Survey. Bimini & front & side clears.S/less Bow rail,custom built rocket-launchers,Furuno GPS,New Colour sounder,New 27 meg radio,twin batteries, twin 120lt under-floor fuel tanks,seats on boxes, safety gear.Hydrolic steering, self-draining deck. Duel-axle trailer(1998)with disc brakes. Dive/marlin door.Twin underfloor Kill tanks, Excellent commercial or private fishing/gameboat/diveboat. Price negotiable

Please confirm information with seller. Please check our terms & conditions (http://www.boatpoint.com.au/terms/)for more information. http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boatcontent/homepage/padlock_icon_sml.gifTips on how to play it safer online (http://www.boatpoint.com.au/portal/tabID__301803/DesktopDefault.aspx)
contact details

StateVictoriaPhone (BH)0418 556 697Alt Phone03 5155 2418SuburbLakes Entrance

© carsales.com Limited 1999-2008. All rights reserved.
Terms & Conditions (http://www.carsales.com.au/carsales-info/terms-conditions.aspx) | Privacy Policy (http://www.carsales.com.au/carsales-info/privacy-policy.aspx)

Dean1
22-10-2008, 09:15 AM
Sorry about the way the page showed up im still learning computers but its on boatpoint obviuosly. Deano.

22-10-2008, 09:42 AM
actualy I saw that one and thought it seemed like pretty good buying, pending some investigation of course, those later ones are fairly scarce now days!

julian1
22-10-2008, 11:48 AM
what about this one, its the good shape ;D and it will get you there very quickly in stealth mode :o
gotta love the secret access hatch in the centre and the extended draw bar, i wonder what they used it for mainly ? ::)

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/details.aspx?R=2990431

cheer's

Julian

22-10-2008, 01:31 PM
that is a funny one that one huh! I was told (by a bloke that knew a bloke that was told by his mate) that it was used for Abb poaching, true/false who knows??

julian1
22-10-2008, 02:06 PM
that is a funny one that one huh! I was told (by a bloke that knew a bloke that was told by his mate) that it was used for Abb poaching, true/false who knows??

who knows but where its located and by looking at the boat/colour with those engines, i think you could have an accurate guess ::)

by the way Noel, what do reckon the WOT speed would be with those 200's on a 560 ?

cheer's

Julian

22-10-2008, 02:24 PM
at a guess I would be thinking SHHH!!!TTTTTT speed at least! I have been in a 560 with 150's and it was pretty nippy I can tell you, 200's would be close to a true 100KPH Boat I reckon, or close to it.

dean12m
01-11-2008, 09:04 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/5-6-mtr-sharkcat-twin-90hp-yamaha_W0QQitemZ280280857407QQcmdZViewItem?hash=it em280280857407&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=66%3A2%7C65%3A1%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318

Grand_Marlin
02-11-2008, 06:28 AM
That one would definitely be worth looking at.

Check out their workmanship, but it all looks good in the pics.

Lambkebab
27-04-2015, 09:24 PM
Any thoughts on this one? Boat sales.com.au

Reference Code
SSE-AD-2767066

The Mad Cat
28-04-2015, 06:28 AM
http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/private/used/SSE-AD-2767066/1994-SHARK-CAT-CUSTOM?cr=0&psq=%28%28%28%28%28SiloType%3D%5BDemo%20and%20near %20new%20boats%5D%7CSiloType%3D%5BDealer%20new%20b oats%5D%29%7CSiloType%3D%5BDealer%20used%20boats%5 D%29%7CSiloType%3D%5BPrivate%20used%20boats%5D%29% 26BoatAll%3Dkeyword%5BSSE-AD-2767066%5D%29%26Service%3DBoatsales%29&pso=0&pss=Premium

That might make it easier to view. Looks very tidy to me.

TMC

PatricsOnTheCoast
28-04-2015, 06:45 AM
Thats allot of coin, but it looks well worth it to be honest!

28-04-2015, 08:01 AM
That's an older model.

Lambkebab
28-04-2015, 01:56 PM
Thanks TMC - struggling to work out how to do that yet on iPad. cheers

Lambkebab
28-04-2015, 02:02 PM
Hi Noel, sorry I am an absolute novice on Cats however went for a days fishing on a 28foot Powercat and have converted to them and now want one. ( I get a smaller one may not be as good). Are you saying that this one is older than a 94 model? It sounds from other comments that it is overpriced but assuming I negotiated cheaper (say $40k)would you say it would be a good first cat to own? Sorry for all the questions but thanks to all for your help on this one.

28-04-2015, 02:46 PM
'94 model???? way before 1994.

28-04-2015, 02:47 PM
I will sell you my centre console with good 90 4 strokes for less than that.

Lambkebab
28-04-2015, 08:54 PM
Thanks for the offer Noel but not a centre console fan sorry. Just a personal thing I guess. Appreciate you taking so much time to give me and others assistance. Will keep looking for my first Cat !! If you ever get to SA let me know.

Grand_Marlin
28-04-2015, 09:19 PM
84 model, if the windscreen is still standard.

29-04-2015, 05:14 AM
Yep, certainly around that era, could be a bit earlier, but sure not a '94 that's for sure.

fishingrod
30-04-2015, 07:40 AM
This link has a retro boat test of a 1977 model 5.6m :

http://www.australianboatmags.com.au/pdf/offline/TBM195_Offline_PDF_Edition.pdf

Not exactly on-topic, but probably a good read as we have plenty of Cat fans on here.

Dean1
01-05-2015, 07:22 AM
Yep pre 1985. Thats the shite model lol. 1994 are totally different hull very high sides wavebreaker in the middle of hulls etc google them. The rounded dash (not flat) always gives it away.

01-05-2015, 08:26 AM
Wave breaker on a Sharkcat?

Dean1
05-05-2015, 02:16 AM
Wave breaker on a Sharkcat?1994 is a Noosacat Noelm and has a wavebreaker. Isnt it advertised as a 1994 model?

05-05-2015, 07:19 AM
OK, I see what you mean, always good to make sure we area all talking about the same thing.