PDA

View Full Version : 2nd hand boat inspection?

goat boy
08-10-2008, 08:29 PM
Hello all,

I've decided to buy myself a boat, and am thinking that I can get a decent 2nd hand one for the money I'm looking at spending as opposed to new. The problem is, I'm a boat noob and have no idea at what I should be looking for when inspecting a 2nd hand boat. My question is, is there somewhere/someone you can pay to inspect for you (like RACQ can do with 2nd hand cars)? and/or is there a website that can list some pointers on things to look for?
I've had a while to do nothing but read up on boats and I've decided that I'd like to get a 4.55 polycraft. I'll be doing mostly river/estuary work but I do live near Moreton Bay so I guess I'll try heading out in sheltered areas of the bay. I'm looking at spending up to $20k total so please let me know of any suggestions other than the polycraft that might be better value

Cheers

Goat

Bandit1
08-10-2008, 11:08 PM
Hi goat boy,

Not sure if he does it or not but u could try sending Grand Marlin a pm as he seems to be the one to talk too about work on boats around here and comes highly recommended at that.

Cheers
Bandit

mik01
09-10-2008, 12:11 AM
the website for things to look out for is here - you found it!
search for a few common terms on the 'boating thread' (this one) like 'boat inspection' or 'new boat' etc.

there are always threads started on the subject. hell, I even started one over a year ago when faced with the same dilemma as yourself!

will also give you the names of a couple of mobile boat inspectors. I didn't use one, as after 3mths of hardcore searching I became fairly knowledgeable with what to avoid and knew what I wanted and what it cost.

if you're buying a polycraft, I would suspect all that you need to have inspected is the outboard - there is a website for polycraft owners - try googling it.

good luck