View Full Version : things to pack on the big fishing trip?

Jungle Jim
03-10-2008, 01:59 PM
im planning a trip to mondy in a couple of weeks and it turns out a few aus fishers will be there at the same time.

anyway we've been talking amongst ourselves and sharing advice what to take, what to pack, what not to forget etc

i thought it would be helpful (for me anyway) to make a list of often forgotten or seldom thought of things to remember.

someone has suggested paper cups and plates for the cabins save washing up. somone else reminded me to take the extension cord to charge the minn kota.

And thats sort of what im getting at. . . . .
A lot of stuff is common sense but there is so much planning is easy to forget the simplest thing

what would you pack or remember next time?

spare jerry can
first aid kit
battery charger
bolt cutters
tool kit
dry ice
sun glasess
spare batteries for the camera/torch
jumper leads

any thoughts

Pete62
03-10-2008, 02:27 PM
Hey Jim long time no chat................:D I'll have a turn.

Head Torch & Batteries
Brag Matt
Monduran Map & Fishing Permit(Foxies)
Lure Retriever
Superglue(repairing plastics)
First Aid kit
Clear Goggles(bugs)
Spot light
Bum Food(for those unexpected dashes into the bushes)
Box of lures hidden in the shed.............opps sorry that one is off my list
Spare prop, pin and toolsAnd umm, I'll keep thinking
Cheers, Pete.

aussiebasser
03-10-2008, 03:05 PM
Sunscreen
Hat
4 way power board

03-10-2008, 03:20 PM
Hi Jim

This might help you;) .

Boat

Safety

Bung
Spare bungs
Waterproof torch
V sheet
PFDs
Jumper leads
Clear safety glasses
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher
Paddles
Bucket
Small bolt cutters

Navigation

Boat keys
Spare boat keys
Spare prop
Spare prop washer, spacer and castle nut
Kill switch with lanyard
Spare kill switch with lanyard
Spare rope for trolling motor release

Lighting

12v handheld spotlight
Cordless handheld spotlight
Cats eyes
Dolphin torch

Electronics

Chartplotter/sounder

Maintenance

Tool kit
Spare fuses/bulbs/connectors
Bungee straps
4 stroke engine oil

Recharging

General battery recharger
Extension lead with plug weather protection caps
Generator
Mobile phone recharger
Camera recharger
Video camera recharger
Rechargeable battery recharger
12v handheld spotlight recharger
Power board
Spare batteries – UHFs, camera, torches

Clothing

Sun hat
Sun glasses
Sun gloves
Fishing shirts and pants
Vest/jumper
Beanie
Footwear

Weather Protection

Wet weather jacket
Wet weather pants
Sunscreen

Food & Drink

Ice
Food
Water
Drinks

General

Insect repellent
Paper towels
Hand cleaner
Toilet paper
Garbage bags

Personal Items

Wallet
Car keys
Camera
Video camera
Small notebook
Pen

Anchoring & Mooring

Anchor, anchor rope and chain (1.5m)
Tie off rope

Reference Materials

Boat licence
Stocked impoundment Permit
Maps

Fishing

Lures
Trebles
Fishing tools
Large environet
Brag mat
Leader material
Rod tubes
Rods
Reels
Spare braid

Communications

Mobile phone
UHF radio

Vehicle & Trailer

Fuel Management

Spare fuel container

Trailer Maintenance

Trailer jack
Spare hubs/bearings/seals
Grease/oil
Block of wood
Wheel brace

Boat

Outboard motor support
Tie-down straps

BR65
03-10-2008, 07:32 PM
Hmmm, that makes my list look a little lite on, but all the things Paul listed are needed at some stage.
I tend to minimize the stuff I take mate, disposable plates and cutlery are gold, easy to do dinners are an essential, for smoko on the water I take those pre packed ham thingys from Woolies, with tomato and some premiums.
Head lamp, reliable torch, spot light, spare leader, splits, hooks, lure retriever, big net, truth mat, large long nose pliers and split ring pliers, knife, camera, wetbag, date paper, plenty of water dureing the day (ran out once in the middle of January on a stinker, we were melting ice to get a drink - blah), GPS, sounders, rain gear, short tie off rope, lip grips for manageing lively fish (your well being is allways more important than the fish's), a sense of adventure and exploration.
Of course, beer and bundy for the nite time rest and recover session.

Fishbait
03-10-2008, 07:48 PM
I agree - write all these down then put a tick beside the items for what suits you - it sounds like a very comprehensive list to me. Good luck with the planning. You'll be fine! Darren.

BR65
03-10-2008, 08:06 PM
OOps, its on Pauls list and I agree 100%, dont forget plenty of fuel, it is a BIG dam once you start looking around.........

03-10-2008, 08:26 PM
OOps, its on Pauls list and I agree 100%, dont forget plenty of fuel, it is a BIG dam once you start looking around.........

I am just anal retentive, OCD or something similar Brian. If you've ever sat through
Myers Briggs psychological profiling, it pigeon holes me to a tee....I am a "list" man through and through. The laminating machine also gets a fair workout...waterproof list;D;D

darylive
03-10-2008, 08:29 PM
A marker float is handy to toss over if you see something you like on the sounder.

Sometimes I use a loaf of bread. Toss a slice on the water to mark your spot. You can return to it or if you decide not to it doesn't matter. If there are bait fish there it might even help hold 'em

BR65
03-10-2008, 08:35 PM
I am just anal retentive, OCD or something similar Brian. If you've ever sat through
Myers Briggs psychological profiling, it pigeon holes me to a tee....I am a "list" man through and through. The laminating machine also gets a fair workout...waterproof list;D;D

Paul, best list Ive seen mate for someone wondering what to take, well done.
Im usually in the swag, so I tend to limit what I take, no storeage space:(
That Myers Briggs thingy, isnt there a pill for that? ;D

Hardb8
03-10-2008, 08:49 PM
Enthusiasim,Thinkin cap,And skeeter spray.

Stay keen if ya not bringin em in upon arrivin,And don't be afraid ta think outside the square.Don't forget ya bug spray,It'll keep ya comfortable,And it may just save ya session.

03-10-2008, 08:55 PM
That Myers Briggs thingy, isnt there a pill for that? ;D

I keep those pills in the first aid kit Brian;D Recommended that it be washed down with a healthy dose of truth serum. Must laminate a mini list to keep in the first aid kit::)

03-10-2008, 09:17 PM

Oh no .... you've been profiled ......... Your F'n gone !!!!!!

So are you anylitical or analyst ;D

03-10-2008, 09:39 PM
No easy way to answer that Chris....perhaps I just did;D;D

eotbmg
04-10-2008, 06:58 AM
Hi Jim

This might help you;) .

Boat

Safety

Bung
Spare bungs
Waterproof torch
V sheet
PFDs
Jumper leads
Clear safety glasses
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher
Paddles
Bucket
Small bolt cutters

Navigation

Boat keys
Spare boat keys
Spare prop
Spare prop washer, spacer and castle nut
Kill switch with lanyard
Spare kill switch with lanyard
Spare rope for trolling motor release

Lighting

12v handheld spotlight
Cordless handheld spotlight
Cats eyes
Dolphin torch

Electronics

Chartplotter/sounder

Maintenance

Tool kit
Spare fuses/bulbs/connectors
Bungee straps
4 stroke engine oil

Recharging

General battery recharger
Extension lead with plug weather protection caps
Generator
Mobile phone recharger
Camera recharger
Video camera recharger
Rechargeable battery recharger
12v handheld spotlight recharger
Power board
Spare batteries – UHFs, camera, torches

Clothing

Sun hat
Sun glasses
Sun gloves
Fishing shirts and pants
Vest/jumper
Beanie
Footwear

Weather Protection

Wet weather jacket
Wet weather pants
Sunscreen

Food & Drink

Ice
Food
Water
Drinks

General

Insect repellent
Paper towels
Hand cleaner
Toilet paper
Garbage bags

Personal Items

Wallet
Car keys
Camera
Video camera
Small notebook
Pen

Anchoring & Mooring

Anchor, anchor rope and chain (1.5m)
Tie off rope

Reference Materials

Boat licence
Stocked impoundment Permit
Maps

Fishing

Lures
Trebles
Fishing tools
Large environet
Brag mat
Leader material
Rod tubes
Rods
Reels
Spare braid

Communications

Mobile phone
UHF radio

Vehicle & Trailer

Fuel Management

Spare fuel container

Trailer Maintenance

Trailer jack
Spare hubs/bearings/seals
Grease/oil
Block of wood
Wheel brace

Boat

Outboard motor support
Tie-down straps

So was it the barbed wire that stopped us getting on the plane, or the amount of crap you take fishing Paul?????

04-10-2008, 07:17 AM
So was it the barbed wire that stopped us getting on the plane, or the amount of crap you take fishing Paul?????

Probably the couple of bookends I had in the boat with me Ben.....hmmm.....you and Steve:o Lucky there's plenty of storage under deck...can't have empty compartments now can we.

Jungle Jim
06-10-2008, 02:05 PM
thanks to all who replied....out comes the red pen and a clipboard