PDA

View Full Version : 5 metre Bruce Hariss Sharkcat

Anthony Davies
23-09-2008, 09:12 PM
G'day all

Firstly I would like to say hi as Im a newbie to this site and from what I have been reading so far the forum is full of interesting stuff. I am considering buying a Bruce Harris 5 metre which has fairly new 70hp Tohatsu's on it (under 50hrs) has anyone got experience with them or info on how they hand. Your feedback would be great.

Cheers

Anthony

Kendall249
23-09-2008, 09:26 PM
Welcome Anthony, sorry I can't help with your questions. Are you the regular contributor to FnB? Either way I look forward to any contributions you can make in the future.

Kendall

Anthony Davies
23-09-2008, 09:30 PM
Thanks Kendell, the web site is great should find heaps to discuss.

boatboy50
24-09-2008, 08:31 AM
Hey Anthony,

The original Harris 5m cat was a fairly good one. Has all the usual Shark Cat traits which so much is written about here.

The Tohatsu's are a very simple engine. They are very reliable and easy to work on. You will find they chew more fuel than we are used to from today's outboards, and will suffer from resale because nobody knows about them.

I would think if it's a real 5m Cat, the 70's will make it fly.

Regards

Darren

Noelm
24-09-2008, 08:56 AM
while the 5 metre was OK, it was never popular, not too sure why, whereas the 18' sold in the thousands, as mentioned the Tohatus's will be OK, but they are almost the same as the Boat, regardless of how good they are, they are just not all that common, once again who knows why?

Grand_Marlin
24-09-2008, 01:32 PM
G'day Anthony,

I replied to your PM, but didnt hear anything back or get the photos you were going to send.

Can you post the pics on here now?

The 5m is a great little boat and 70's are the right size motor.
They need every bit of the twin 70's to get up and going, and the 70's push the 5m to a top speed of 35 knots.
Keep in mind you have a 5m boat that still weighs 2 tonne.