View Full Version : Anybody heading out in the morn??

Dean1
19-09-2008, 02:35 PM
Hey guys anybody here going to take the gamble and try to get out tommorow morning?? Been like 4 weeks without a fix for me and thought I might head out from kawana tommorow morning early. Before the northerlies get up :-/

19-09-2008, 03:55 PM
Been sitting at home recovering after surgery for the past week and after a 7 day stay in hospital and thinking that I have a new stainless prop that hasn't seen water as yet. Still bordering on not being well enough to launch the boat but even if I was the weather predictions are enough to keep me dry docked anyhow. Good luck if you brave it and head out. Hope you get in amongst them.

19-09-2008, 04:14 PM
Take a stack hat incase huey starts throwin stones at ya late in the day Dean :) :) :)

Sunday arvy might be worth a shot :)

19-09-2008, 04:24 PM
Dean you got a cat you can do anything...lol
Us mono hulls will have to stay home and drink

freddofrog
19-09-2008, 04:55 PM
I am, but I'm over here :)

19-09-2008, 04:57 PM
NO, it looks like crap

Dean1
19-09-2008, 05:21 PM
He he some good replies thanks. Was thinking Cal Wide till lunch coz tommorow arvo is going to get really ugly I think. Worth a punt I think, c'mon fire up surely someone else is as loose as me ;D

pubgolf
19-09-2008, 05:50 PM
Get out there,
You can always come home with your tail between your legs if it turns bad
The three hour tour departs from here Gilligan
:thumbsup:
Rod

19-09-2008, 06:32 PM
Get out there,
You can always come home with your tail between your legs if it turns bad
The three hour tour departs from here Gilligan
:thumbsup:
Rod
LMFAO .....

19-09-2008, 06:39 PM
He he some good replies thanks. Was thinking Cal Wide till lunch coz tommorow arvo is going to get really ugly I think. Worth a punt I think, c'mon fire up surely someone else is as loose as me ;D

no...................... no one is!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!;D;D;D;D

thanks for the offer of a trip, but smashing me self up for 1 squire just aint my idea of fishin!!!!!!!

i'll drink the beer, your gunna have some stories!!!!!!!!!1

good luck and be safe mate

tin can marlin
19-09-2008, 06:44 PM
Good point lippa better off staying at home and having a few quiet one's

freddofrog
19-09-2008, 07:48 PM
are you guys getting soft or what. Over here tomorrow's forecast is "...seas 1.0m to 1.5m. Swell 5.5m!!!" yeah baby bring it on!

......umm....on second thoughs, I think I'll be staying in close...real close.... :)

Legend82
19-09-2008, 08:05 PM
G-day Dean
was really thinking about heading out tomorrow morning, its been the light at the end of the tunnel for the week but think we will give it a miss looking at the forecast, best of luck if you brave it, hopefully you get some fish to make up for the slogging
JB.

Dean1
19-09-2008, 08:12 PM
Soft as goats cheese....... Boats on and gear ready ;) 12 mile on the cards for me. Let my new motors know what years of rough stuff is ahead of em. Thanks JB, be good just to get out, works doin me head in and sick of lookin at the boat in the front yard. FF I think they need to do a trip to bunnings get themselves some bags of crete ;D

death_ship
19-09-2008, 08:53 PM
it will suck tomorrow, enjoy your cement

20-09-2008, 07:03 PM
How did you go Dean?

20-09-2008, 07:18 PM
was just speakin withe dean on the phone, hee's just come in, with a decent feed.
gotta give it to him, he's keen!!!!!!

sid_fishes
20-09-2008, 08:44 PM
and young. they dont know fear yet, give him a couple of years and he,ll need some concrete in bags to

Dean1
20-09-2008, 09:06 PM
On the water at 6am, headed out in a stiff 15kt northerly 1.2m. Started at the 12 mile no show so up to north wide cal. Things were quiet on the bottom but lost 3 stonkers on floaters. 1st one was on the $40 omoto baitrunner it went balistic and I told my mate if it goes off pick it up and wind like shit, but he stared at it in amazement so by the time I picked it up it bust me off on the bottom. Dropped 2 others on my baitrunner. 20 kts 1.5m now and headed a long way south checking new marks but pretty barren. Headed back up north to orig spot and ended up with 6 nice snapper on floaters biggest about 5kg. And lost another 2 >:( The omoto hooked up again but the drag sounded like a tree mulcher ( brand new straight outa the box what else would you expect for $40) and was running out of line quickly so lost it when i tried to turn it. My mate is very new to this its his 2nd trip offshore today. I went back to mono on my bottombashing rig this trip but im going straight back to braid mono too stretchy. Good day headed home in 25kts 2m but god cats are amazing and this trip reminded me once again just how seaworthy and awsome riding my little cat is. Used 78 litres of fuel. Beat the hell outa sitting on the lounge. I woulda gone to the banks but i though it woulda blown to 25kts earlier. Oh yeah and the platie boys woulda really felt it today :P Cheers.

20-09-2008, 09:14 PM
and young. they dont know fear yet, give him a couple of years and he,ll need some concrete in bags to

????? he's like 36, dude is way old

Dean1
20-09-2008, 09:17 PM
Just turned 34 thanks brian!!! And you cant go just by looks ;D

20-09-2008, 09:29 PM
its still old!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

black runner
20-09-2008, 09:41 PM
are you guys getting soft or what. Over here tomorrow's forecast is "...seas 1.0m to 1.5m. Swell 5.5m!!!" yeah baby bring it on!

......umm....on second thoughs, I think I'll be staying in close...real close.... :)

Not good down on the south coast of Tas either seas 7.0 m on a 5.5m swell sustained winds 40-50 knots for the next few days. Here come the equinoxials! Much nicer on the east coast with 1.5-2 on 3.::)

tin can marlin
21-09-2008, 02:45 PM
Hi Dean what are you pwering the cat with.

Jabba_
21-09-2008, 05:17 PM
twin 60 Yamaha 4st

Legend82
21-09-2008, 06:20 PM
at least you got out there mate, a few snaps are a bonus
i think im going to go insane if this wind keeps up
do you go from Caloundra?
i think i might have seen you trailer at the coastguard ramp..

22-09-2008, 07:07 AM
Good work dean, the extra dollars spent on a cat make up for it on those types of days. If its a similar situation on the 13,14,15 of October I'd love to see how she handles in the rougher stuff if your keen. How do the 60HT engines compare performance wize to the old donks? They were 70 two stroke werent they?

Dean1
24-09-2008, 08:01 PM
at least you got out there mate, a few snaps are a bonus
i think im going to go insane if this wind keeps up
do you go from Caloundra?
i think i might have seen you trailer at the coastguard ramp.. Nah mate i launched at kawana, point cart side. Yeah was good to be out there i really needed it. Been eating snap every night so that was a bonus for sure. U got a boat mate? Deano.