View Full Version : Looking for a boat. Opinions appreciated. :)

Chamelion
15-09-2008, 12:34 AM

I'm in the market for my first boat.. Having gone through the motions of wanting to spend no more than 1k, then 2k, then 3k, then 4k... You get the point. I've got around the 4k-5k mark as a final figure to find something reasonable.

I have a few expectations that must be met courtesy of my darling wife. She's the worker bee and I'm the stay at home dad, so the deal was that if we were going to get a boat I wasn't allowed to get a small tinny to fish from (which would have been fine for me!), instead I must get a runabout of some sort.

I know that there is a lot of broken down, clapped out, rotting crap in my price range so I am hoping some keen eyes here might be able to help weed out the crap from the boat worth going to look at. I live on the Sunshine coast, but it seems most boats for sale are around Brisbane and the goldie, so I'll likely have to do a bit of driving to look at many.

I've got some links here to boats that I've been eyeing off.. Some offer different strengths to others, but for one reason or another I believe each might have something to offer me.

I'll make with the links :)

There is literally a bunch of others I'm keeping an eye on, these just represent the 'top of my list'.

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&item=260287224003

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/5-meter-bertram-caribbean-96-model-mariner-rebuilt_W0QQitemZ200254314992QQihZ010QQcategoryZ15 8327QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&item=250294273920

http://boatpoint.ninemsn.com.au/boats-for-sale/details.aspx?R=2972922

http://boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/details.aspx?R=2954385

Cheers in advance for any words of wisdom! :)

Matt.

EDIT: I should note down what I require from a boat.

*Acceptable fishing space for 1-4 people (however, even a cramped boat is better than no baot!)
*Acceptable for cruising around with the mrs and kids (back seats not such a hassle.. They can sit on the floor etc)
*Acceptable for doing the occasional tubing/knee boarding with family and friends
*Ability to handle fishing around Mudjimba island, Bribie island etc an advantage.

A jack of all trades, master of none.. That would be the ideal boat. :)

Chamelion
15-09-2008, 12:44 AM
These are the many random other boats I've got bookmarked.

http://boatpoint.ninemsn.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=5768828
http://www.tradingpost.com.au/Marine/Power/Power-Boats/AdNumber=TP000238569?BackToResult=true
http://www.tradingpost.com.au/Marine/Power/Power-Boats/AdNumber=TP000373537?BackToResult=true
http://www.tradingpost.com.au/Marine/Power/Power-Boats/AdNumber=TP000453523?BackToResult=true
http://boatpoint.ninemsn.com.au/boats-for-sale/details.aspx?R=2973202
http://boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=5714112

Hornet Rider
15-09-2008, 04:26 AM
Matt, couple of amateur observations:

Glass boats - you'd want someone who really knows to have a good look at any glass boat to check for rot in the floor, transom, stringers

Kids sitting on the floor - probably not a good idea, hard to see what's going sitting on the floor, could lead to sea sickness, not that comfortable & on a bumpy day, you might loose their interest altogether in boating

2nd hand trailers - can be more trouble than they are worth, bit of new paint etc can hide a lot of sins, wire winch cables are dated technology & hurt, little wheels work much harder than 13" or bigger

Battery set up - lot's of people get by with one battery, but there's no back-up if it goes down

Tow vehicle - consider what you have to tow your boat in the equation

Safety gear - you've probably considered this, but in-date flares, V sheet, quality lifejackets, EPIRB (406 MHz type), VHF radio, fire extinguisher, reliable compass

Steering gear & engine controls - sometimes over looked but well worth a detailed examination to check condition, operation, wear etc

Seafarer Vamp http://boatpoint.ninemsn.com.au/boats-for-sale/details.aspx?R=2972922 - looks pretty, bet the girls like that one, but how do you get at the anchor? Looks like you have climb over the screen, can't see an access from inside the boat to the bow? 30hp might be a tad underpowered for towing a tube

Easy Rider http://boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/details.aspx?R=2954385 - access to the anchor? That nav light on the bow is going to get in the way. Great handling boats Easy Riders, but the 40hp with more than 2 onboard will be earning its keep, maybe a tad under powered for towing a tube, can't see much of the trailer but I'd be giving it a very good going over before looking at the boat

Caribbean http://boatpoint.ninemsn.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=5768828 - interesting metal work on the bimini, you'd want to have a good look for rust & cracks, will it fit under your house? lots of wind drag there also when towing & it'll act as a aerofoil on a windy day on the water, the 70 johno looks early to mid 80's & you'd want a qualified marine tech to give it a very good going over, little wheels on the trailer okay (maybe) for very short towing distances

Cruise Craft Rogue http://www.tradingpost.com.au/Marine/Power/Power-Boats/AdNumber=TP000238569?BackToResult=true - the Easy Rider above is a copy of the Rogue, great little glass boats in their day, 70hp would be enough power for what you intend to do, but that's an old looking motor (early to mid 80's), would need a solid check over by a marine tech, can't see any nav lights on the boat, no bimini?

Pride http://www.tradingpost.com.au/Marine/Power/Power-Boats/AdNumber=TP000373537?BackToResult=true - what year is the hull? looking a bit old & you'd want to give her a very good look for rot, same comments about the 70hp as above for the Rogue & Caribbean

Sealine http://www.tradingpost.com.au/Marine/Power/Power-Boats/AdNumber=TP000453523?BackToResult=true - don't know anything about this hull or how it performs, looks in reasonable condition but a closer inspection by a trained eye would tell, no bimini? how many seats? plenty of go with the motor if it's in good condition, can't see a motor bracket so I guess he's been towing it just using the engine towing brackets, worth a good look to see if there's any transom damage because of that

Stejcraft http://boatpoint.ninemsn.com.au/boats-for-sale/details.aspx?R=2973202 - similar comments to above, no bimini, only 2 seats, older motor but lots of go if it's in good condition, bet the girls don't like the colour:)

Albatross http://boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=5714112 - a red boat!! it's gotta be good :o says new transom, floor, trailer & electrics, half cabin with big bimini, 70hp?? Probably the pic of the bunch for your list of requirements, but wouldn't part with any money until you had a trained eye go over the hull, motor & trailer, & then a test ride after that

15-09-2008, 06:28 AM
Hi Matt

I came across a Pride on a trailer here on the Coast over the weekend with a 70 HP and a canopy on it that is not advertised anywhere as it was at a garage sale. Its old, needs seats but appears to have a sound transom tested only by me swinging on the gearbox of the lifted outboard! But the bungs have been left out and that can be a good sign.

What might appeal is that it was for sale for $1800 which would be very negotiable. This leaves you a balance of $3500 or so to get the boat just right with new safety gear etc for your family. It appears that it could be a stable little boat that a handy person could do something with.::)

I think you can PM but you cannot receive them so if you want directions to the Pride you will need to PM me some contact details.

Anyhow hope its of some interest and other wise good luck with the quest, you should get some good advice and leads on AF.

Hornet Rider
15-09-2008, 06:53 AM
Hi Matt

I came across a Pride on a trailer here on the Coast over the weekend with a 70 HP

Chimo,

Pride? What Pride? 70hp? Where!! ::) lol

cheers, HR

davez104
15-09-2008, 07:28 AM
Keep your eyes peeled as you drive around the place, there are probably a lot of boats parked on the footpath and in peoples yards for sale that are not advertised anywhere. You live on the sunny coast so lots of people have boats.

Get to know someone in your area that knows boats and would be willing to check a few out for you when you find one you like. There are allways bargains to be had, just gotta be in the right place at the right time.

That red Pride does look all right, I would go and have a good look at that one.

the gecko
15-09-2008, 11:41 AM
Consider aluminium instead of fibreglass.

On the older boats, fibreglass hides a lot of stuff like rot. Aluminium will be an easier boat to handle at the ramp when youre on your own. I started with a 4.1 alum runabout Clarke Abalone, 40hp Tohatsu, that was ideal for my own, and when the missus wanted to come out (rarely did) cos I had the same requirements as you. I paid $2500. I eventually had to replace the trailer after 2 years $1500, and I had a clutch replaced after 2 yrs cost $400. Expect surprise bills on anything under 5k in price, its all pot luck, but why outlay 10k until you know how often youll use the boat?

AFter 3 years I upgraded anyway.

Chamelion
15-09-2008, 12:00 PM
HUGE POST

Cheers mate, a few things there I may not have thought of. I'll definitly keep all of that in mind!

Hi Matt

I came across a Pride on a trailer here on the Coast over the weekend with a 70 HP and a canopy on it that is not advertised anywhere as it was at a garage sale. Its old, needs seats but appears to have a sound transom tested only by me swinging on the gearbox of the lifted outboard! But the bungs have been left out and that can be a good sign.

What might appeal is that it was for sale for $1800 which would be very negotiable. This leaves you a balance of $3500 or so to get the boat just right with new safety gear etc for your family. It appears that it could be a stable little boat that a handy person could do something with.::)

I think you can PM but you cannot receive them so if you want directions to the Pride you will need to PM me some contact details.

Anyhow hope its of some interest and other wise good luck with the quest, you should get some good advice and leads on AF.

Cheers mate, I'll keep that in mind.

Keep your eyes peeled as you drive around the place, there are probably a lot of boats parked on the footpath and in peoples yards for sale that are not advertised anywhere. You live on the sunny coast so lots of people have boats.

Get to know someone in your area that knows boats and would be willing to check a few out for you when you find one you like. There are allways bargains to be had, just gotta be in the right place at the right time.

That red Pride does look all right, I would go and have a good look at that one.

I went for about a 100km drive about a week ago just cruising around looking for boats on the side of the road.. I had nothing better to do at the time. Unfortunately all I saw was a couple of clapped out old tinnies for $800-$1000. :P

I did spot a 4 ish meter boat this morning but it looked more like an old skiing boat. Very long nose, not much room in the back and an outboard on it that must have had a 3ft cowling. :P

Consider aluminium instead of fibreglass.

On the older boats, fibreglass hides a lot of stuff like rot. Aluminium will be an easier boat to handle at the ramp when youre on your own. I started with a 4.1 alum runabout Clarke Abalone, 40hp Tohatsu, that was ideal for my own, and when the missus wanted to come out (rarely did) cos I had the same requirements as you. I paid $2500. I eventually had to replace the trailer after 2 years $1500, and I had a clutch replaced after 2 yrs cost $400. Expect surprise bills on anything under 5k in price, its all pot luck, but why outlay 10k until you know how often youll use the boat?

AFter 3 years I upgraded anyway.

How about this one - http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&item=250294273920

I'm allowing for about $50 per week in general running costs (fuel, yearly service, rego). I'll probably use it on average once per fortnight to once every three weeks. Most of the time I'll have family or friends to chip in for fuel. Lets face it, it will primarily be used for fishing, even though the wife won't let me have a centre console!. So most of the time I'll have dad or a couple of mates on board to share that cost. I'll still have money coming in to cater for surprise costs and I am allowing a grand or two right off the bat to just sit there "in case".

I also do intend on having a professional give the boat(s) a going over to ensure I'm not purchasing a polished turd, but as I'm in the low $ market I'll want to be pretty sure of a boat before I go paying out $200~.

I've emailed the dude selling the haines hunter.. It appears to be what I need, but I'm wary of all that nice shiny new paint. It could be hiding something nasty!

Cheers :)

Matt.

garman1
15-09-2008, 01:15 PM
Good to see you are putting thought into the PRE purchase of your boat. I went thrue what you are doing but I tried to "cheat" a bit, when I saw the boat I wanted there were things that weren't there and I said "oh well I'll put it on later"..........which is ok but it did cost more LATER. I was lucky in that my wife simply said get what you want, which was harder to a degree!

Sit down with your wife and put on paper what the boat is honestly wanted for and what is expected from it.

If it doesn't have it already remember it will cost to add it later and have it done professionally, also check what HAS been done and see if it looks like it was done properly. I was happy with my boat but then wanted a second battery, xtra fuel tanks, a bit here a bit there .... probably a grand later. I am really happy with the end product but it did cost more that what I thought when I first looked at it.

Do you want a sounder/radio/etc is the boat your buying have it ? will it need replacing?

The only reason I have said this, is because sometimes a "bargain" can come back and bite you on the a**e. If you had two boats the same and one had a two battery setup, radio, bilge pump, bait tank, bimini etc and the other was more of a bare shell, I would happily pay an extra grand for the one that was kitted out better. Simply because the cheaper one will cost more later on to have it added on.

If you simply can't stretch the pennies out to get "the boat I want" then settle on a sound boat and put pennies away to get the extra's later on, but at least admit that it will cost more later on........ be honest.

I am sure that if you wanted to check out different boat layouts that you want, here is the perfect place to chat about it, if you want a walkaround fishing platform then don't plan on taking it across to moreton island, in my opinion etc. and I am sure that there are plenty of people who would love to show off their boat to you and explain why they bought what they did and what their boat probably wouldn't do and also what they would do differently if they could go back and do it all again.There is so many people here who have great experience and knowledge, it's good to see you making use of it....................

Sorry for the long post but we have all been where you are and there are things I should have asked myself first before I signed the purchase papers.

Chamelion
15-09-2008, 03:58 PM
Cheers mate. It reminds me of mountain biking. When buying second hand MTB's it's always MUCH cheaper to buy one with all the bits and peices than to buy something basic and then upgrade. I did the latter and paid dearly for it.
Unfortunately my budget is very firm about not seeing too far past $5000, so I've come to terms with the fact I'm not likely to find my perfect boat.

Just waiting on emails about a couple that I've linked.. Seem to wait a few days at times, it's almost lilke they don't want to sell them! :p

Matt.

15-09-2008, 04:28 PM
That little red Hainse looks like a beaut little boat, subject to all of the pre purchase checks of coarse. Hull has pedigree, engine has also, trailer looks nice, depending on what the final price etc he may go to it's a neat looking unit and most probably nicer on the water than most tinnys of 5m.

Chamelion
15-09-2008, 04:44 PM
He had it listed previously. It ended with no bids. His starting price was the same $4700. Could mean it was looked at and left by a few potential buyers.. I guess I'll find out, if he replies to my emails!

Matt.

davez104
15-09-2008, 04:53 PM
Just had a look at the Haines, if it all checks out ok it would be the go. Those little Haines runabouts are allways in demand so resale should stay pretty good, for when you decide to upgrade. Makes me wonder though why it hasn't been snapped up allready. Give it a good going over.

kind_cir
15-09-2008, 05:20 PM
Good luck finding a boat to suit your needs. I will be doing the same soon and was looking at the 3- $7000 price range but have not found much suitable yet. I might just bight the bullet and jump up to the 15- $22000 bracket where there seems to be some great rigs.

One thing I will recomend to you is that you get a marine radio and join the Coastguard as an associate member for $50, then if anything goes wrong help will be not too far away.

Chamelion
15-09-2008, 07:36 PM
Gee, wish I could jump to the 20k bracket. :p No matter, I'll find the right boat.

Heres a new possibility - http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&item=320299635377

Chamelion
15-09-2008, 10:07 PM
Annnnnnd another ;)

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/STACER-4-5m-fishing-boat-70hp-Evinrude-great-runabout_W0QQitemZ220279349638QQihZ012QQcategoryZ1 58327QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Tri N Hard
15-09-2008, 10:38 PM
Mate for for $5000 your not going to find something that just come off the show room floor but if u look around and are prepared to a bit of cleaning and tinkering u will end up will something suitable.If u listen to too many comments on here they will talk u out of every boat u find.just because it is an older craft that someone has screwed and bolted a whole heap of crap onto doesnt always mean it is a piece of #$%. At the end of the day u have to make the choice that works best for u.

Chamelion
16-09-2008, 10:13 AM
Cheers mate :D

The following is the reply I got about the Haines hunter - http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260287224003&ssPageName=ADME:X:RTQ:AU:1123

motor is fine. compression is good.pump + service 10 months ago.electric start+tilt/trim. year 1981.706730/312781.hull/transom/floor all good.no rear seats.speedo not working.if you come down have it looked at by a proessional first/ agree to buy it/then we will take it out for run/ if it doesnt run well then you dont have to buy/but ill tell you the motor runs fine. you would be very happy with it. cheers jay.

Chamelion
21-09-2008, 12:18 AM
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&item=220283880993

Any thoughts on that one?

21-09-2008, 12:42 AM
Matt, couple of amateur observations:

Albatross http://boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=5714112 - a red boat!! it's gotta be good :o says new transom, floor, trailer & electrics, half cabin with big bimini, 70hp?? Probably the pic of the bunch for your list of requirements, but wouldn't part with any money until you had a trained eye go over the hull, motor & trailer, & then a test ride after that

Looks like a good starter for the money. Seems to tick quite a few boxes. Not too much to lose but have it checked like HR says

mik01
21-09-2008, 11:07 AM
regardless of what you buy, budget for up to another $1k for extras, fixing issues etc.
when I got mine, it wasn't until I needed to call the VMR that I realised the radio was cactus - could hear but not transmit.

flares, lifejackets, fire ext, epirb were old and out of date - all had to be replaced.
have to get a new epirb soon anyway = $400+.

rego, fees charges etc all add up, insurance etc.
fixing trailer lights/ensuring it is roadworthy, tires, bearings, brakes etc - on cheap, old setups you are looking at will all require some element of work = $$

if you can't factor in another $1k on top, considering the rig you buy will be old and no doubt lacking in many areas, then I suggest you wait a little longer and save some more.

just trying to give you some advanced warning, as some (inc myself) thought that you just have to buy the boat and stick it in the water and off you go.