View Full Version : Family Weekend M&G CANCELLED 21/22 FEB 09

14-09-2008, 10:44 AM
After a fantastic weekend at Wivenhoe Dam last weekend. I thought it would be a great place for a family camping / fishing / relaxing weekend. The camping facilities are great..cost is minimal. Can fish in Wivenhoe in canoes / kayaks / electrics etc. Power boats can use Somerset.
Could organise plenty of activities..cricket match, casting comp etc etc etc

Proposed dates : February 21st and 22nd 2009.

Anyone interested ????

14-09-2008, 10:48 AM
What's the fishing really like at WH? I caught a heap of some very small thing there on my only visit.

I didn't like the place as it was full of drunken twits who kept me up all night! If a large group took the place over, we could be the drunken twits!;D;D;D

14-09-2008, 10:54 AM
What's the fishing really like at WH? I caught a heap of some very small thing there on my only visit.

I didn't like the place as it was full of drunken twits who kept me up all night! If a large group took the place over, we could be the drunken twits!;D;D;D

The ranger there seems quite good and competent...I doubt he would tolerate the twits. The camping area is at Logans Inlet.

thedeckie
14-09-2008, 11:33 AM
Sounds good Greg, I would be in that.

Mitchell could out fish you again, look out though he's getting better and bigger fish, i suppose thats what happens when youre nearly six.

Is there any cabins there or just tent it?

14-09-2008, 02:04 PM
tents only Paul or camper trailers...the ablution facilities are good and kept well maintained...stacks of room for the kids to run around.

14-09-2008, 02:05 PM
Whats the tides like that weekend ??????

14-09-2008, 02:09 PM

that will be dependent on whether they open the gates at Somerset ..hehe

14-09-2008, 02:25 PM
Finally I could use the leccie on the tinnie, reckon Bec and i will be there

mike

jim_bream
16-09-2008, 01:45 PM
Thanks Webby!
Just busted out laughing in the middle of work at your last post, then my manager came over to see what the fuss was about, he cracked up too, now I've got a crowd of all the fisho's around my desk....
Funny bugger....
Jimbo

Chris Ryan
16-09-2008, 01:55 PM
Might be in for this Greg. Hopefully by then my problems will be under control and would be deserving of a break. Its only 20mins from here too! Let you know as things progress.

Ausfish
24-09-2008, 07:49 AM
Yep, count me in.

trophee
10-10-2008, 07:30 PM
Hopefully will be there. Hope the cook stays sober this time though!!

Fishbait
10-10-2008, 08:54 PM
G'Day PinHead - great idea. I'd be keen at this stage - I'll keep an eye on the post and see what happens from now till feb next year. What are your thoughts on Somerset as an alternative as well to give folk some options? Or is Somerset just a short drive away from Wivenhoe to put your boat in there? Just a thought. Cheers, Darren.

Little grey men
20-10-2008, 04:30 PM
Could be fun. I wouldn't mind giving this freshwater fishing thing a bit of a go. Might even hook me a catfish.
I'll let wifey know and see what she says.

Dory4.1
20-10-2008, 07:22 PM
Being near the dam you can almost guarantee a fine weekend without rain.

Rgs
Michael

shano
07-11-2008, 05:55 PM
that sounds good! i think we will come ! me wife and 3 kids! and camper!

Pobblebonk
12-11-2008, 12:28 PM
I would be interested in coming along to this, and bringing Mr Chicken with me. Will other people be bringing their kids?

I don't have a boat though, so is Wivenhoe a good place to fish on the shore?

PS. I went camping at Somerset last weekend. Good facilities. Never been camping at Wivenhoe.

Big bosco 1
23-11-2008, 01:28 PM
Hi pinhead my mob reckons it sounds great only 20 mins away and a chance to meet other ausfish members for the first time we will be watching to see how things develop.

Cheers Bosco8-)

03-12-2008, 08:05 AM
Is Wivenhoe the one that you can use petrol motors at, or is that Somerset? I would be interested to come along and tow the kids around in the ski tube between fishing.

04-12-2008, 05:28 AM
Is Wivenhoe the one that you can use petrol motors at, or is that Somerset? I would be interested to come along and tow the kids around in the ski tube between fishing.

Somerset is where you can use petrol motors...just a bit up the road.

BrewGuru
06-12-2008, 07:44 PM
I might have trouble gettin mine on a trailer, might bring the tender

Big bosco 1
05-01-2009, 11:12 AM
Hi all just checking to see if the family weekend at wivenhoe is goer or not are there enough starters ???

Cheers Bosco8-)

05-01-2009, 04:07 PM
yes..still a goer..will have some details in the next few days

13-01-2009, 02:42 AM
Details:

Dates: 21st and 22nd february, 2009 (we will be arriving there on the 20th)

You will need to book a camp site ph. 54264729.
camp site cost: $12.50/night (1 - 2 persons)
$25.00/night (3 - 4 persons)
$ 5.00/might/each extra person

The ablutions block is very clean and adequate

Details are available at : http://www.seqwater.com.au/content/standard.asp?name=RA_Camping

we will probably have a cricket game in the grassed area there...casting comp and perhaps a lolly hunt if enough kids are in attendance.

A SIP will be required if fishing - available from the Ranger on the day.

We have booked sites 52 and 53..shade on that side in the afternoon

outsiderskip
13-01-2009, 05:46 AM
greg
u wont catch your first snapper there

pete

13-01-2009, 08:15 AM
greg
u wont catch your first snapper there

pete

haha..given up on catching one of those...trying other things instead.

Big bosco 1
16-01-2009, 12:35 PM
Hi all we have booked our site and are looking forward to meeting other ausfishers see you there.

Cheers Bosco8-)

16-01-2009, 02:20 PM
Finally I could use the leccie on the tinnie, reckon Bec and i will be there

mike
A question for those in the know if I may??
If your boat has an electric and a fossil fuel burner can you simply use the electric and leave the dirty filthy fossil fuel burning monster on or do you have to take it off when your on Wivenhoe?????:-/

18-01-2009, 05:16 AM
I think..not 100% certain, that you can leave the outboard on the boat but not use it.

shrunken pojie
22-01-2009, 10:19 PM

Sounds like a top weekend. I am definitely keen. Will many of you be taking boats, canoes or kayaks? Or is fishing from the banks going to be the call of the day? Hopefully I will be able to pick up some tips from all the great fresh water fisherpeople amongst you and maybe even catch my first fresh water fish. Sad isn't it, I haven't even been able to catch a catfish.

MEGA'bite
23-01-2009, 09:28 PM
yes sounds like a plan can u take a small pop top van there

24-01-2009, 04:44 AM
yes sounds like a plan can u take a small pop top van there

I think you can..contact the ranger.

24-01-2009, 04:45 AM

Sounds like a top weekend. I am definitely keen. Will many of you be taking boats, canoes or kayaks? Or is fishing from the banks going to be the call of the day? Hopefully I will be able to pick up some tips from all the great fresh water fisherpeople amongst you and maybe even catch my first fresh water fish. Sad isn't it, I haven't even been able to catch a catfish.

I am not sure how many will be taking boats..you can fish from the shore ..I will be taking our kayak.

Big bosco 1
24-01-2009, 04:04 PM
Hi all we will be taking our yak looking foward to the weekend.

Cheers Bosco8-)

25-01-2009, 07:41 AM
I can't come for the weekend, but I reckon there's a good chance I can head up for the day on Saturday or Sunday. Saturday might be the right choice, huh?

28-01-2009, 05:19 PM
I will be around there somewhere on the Saturday..will be out in the yak early then back ofr a day of relaxation. Will have the VW or VPO sign out.

08-02-2009, 08:25 PM
2 weeks to go..cannot wait

Big bosco 1
09-02-2009, 01:37 PM
:( Hi all looks like we won,t make it to the m&g afterall we will be moving house that weekend hope all have a great time.

bosco

10-02-2009, 05:52 AM
How many definites do we have..there must ge a few yak fishos interested in a fish on the dam.

10-02-2009, 08:46 PM
Wont have a Yak, but i will bring the Bear

shrunken pojie
14-02-2009, 10:30 PM
Looks like I am in. Am trying to convince another mate to come along as well. Will call the ranger tomorrow and book a spot. We will both have yaks.

15-02-2009, 06:01 AM
I wish I could commit, but I think my best will be to pop up there one day or the other for a while.

15-02-2009, 05:11 PM
I am in the same boat Timi. Don;t ya love a pun !!!!

I haven't booked accom as I am ' on call ' for weekend work.

As at this day, I am sort of, maybe free for the weekend.

If the best I can do is pop up for the day, so be it. I look forward to having a paddle with Greg and Steve,,,,, is that what ya call it even if you are using peddle power ?????

15-02-2009, 05:14 PM
I forgot, a game of cricket sounds like the go Greg.

We could play for the Harrison / Brown Cup ;D 8-)

15-02-2009, 05:43 PM
I forgot, a game of cricket sounds like the go Greg.

We could play for the Harrison / Brown Cup ;D 8-)

definitely a game of cricket Phil..how about a 2/2..with my low level of fitness i might manage to play 4 overs...I will be okay...should be good.

15-02-2009, 05:57 PM
Thedeckie can play ' Silly Mid On ' and I'll play " left right out "......

:)

16-02-2009, 05:54 AM
It does not look as if too many are going however can people advise if they are taking thier kids and if so, how many, so we can try and organise something for them.

shrunken pojie
16-02-2009, 10:46 AM
Well looks like I am in by my self. Pinhead, do you have room for a 2 man tent on one of the sites you booked? I have managed to borrow a yak for the weekend as well.

20-02-2009, 05:11 AM
There does not appear to be many people interested in this plus the weather forecast is not all that flash for camping..rain and showers for most of the weekend, I am going to give it a miss. (knowing my luck it will probably end up sunny and fine all weekend)

20-02-2009, 06:36 AM
Sorry to hear that greg,

There was 3 of us hoping to turn up on Sunday.

Maybe a day trip if the weather turns out OK ????? let us know.

shrunken pojie
20-02-2009, 09:03 AM
That is a shame. Was looking forward to it as well. Oh well.

Till next time, tight lines.