PDA

View Full Version : Bass fishing in the Noosa River

Barney's Dream
09-09-2008, 01:53 PM
G'day all,

I am heading up the Noosa River this weekend to chass some Bass (in a canoe - so we will be heading pass campsite 3). I have been up there a few times before but normally when the weather is hotter. I am wondering if anyone has been chasing bass there recently and if so, how they went.

Also I am a bit of a novice when it comes to chasing Bass so any tips on method, types of lures etc would be grately appreciated. We normally cast lures into the banks and snags. Not sure of the anmes of the lures that are used though. :-/

Cheers

darylive
09-09-2008, 07:07 PM
I am keen to hear how you go. ;) Maybe some Jacks. ;D

Bass will have a go at most things if they are on the chew. Jackall masked vibes are one of the best and would probably be the go up the noosa. They are not cheap though at around $27. Give spinner baits a go they are a good bet and snag resistant. Slidders also work and you don't cry if you loose them. flick in the same spot you would for anything really. Under over hangs, on the edge of shadows. Target the windward side of the creek where the 'stuff' is getting blown to the shore. Small poppers are worth a go in the shadows.

Propably the best bet with limited space are spinner baits. Flick them then lets them sink. You may find you get hit on the fall as they 'helicopter' down if not lift wind sink till you get it back.

Let us know how you go. :)

Barney's Dream
10-09-2008, 08:43 AM
Thanks Darylive, I will definately take your advice on board and let you know how I go. Re the Jacks - I love chasing Jacks but we are putting in the Kayaks at Harrys Hut and heading north so I think it would be a minor miricale if we got any Jacks that far up... you love to be proved wrong though ;D

wheezer
12-09-2008, 05:55 PM