View Full Version : kitty cat is suzuki powered

kitty_cat
05-09-2008, 05:03 PM
revamp is almost complete , i will run boat on sunday with the new 90hp suzuki 4 strokes at only 155kgs should be impressive
some pics :D

Tassie JR
05-09-2008, 05:07 PM
Hey mate she is lookin awsome and the moters are sweet, i bet you cant wait for sunday:).

cheers tassie JR

Fishbait
05-09-2008, 05:12 PM
Beautiful - you lucky bugger! :o Let me know if you need a crewie onde-day. Cheers, Darren.;D

05-09-2008, 05:28 PM
Nice to see you looking after those sponsors mate!;) ;D

Vitamin Sea
05-09-2008, 06:17 PM
The boat and new motors look real good Wayne, bet you can't wait to put her in the drink.

Works out well for the M & G as well, good luck, let us know how she goes;)

Bill

05-09-2008, 06:26 PM
revamp is almost complete , i will run boat on sunday with the new 90hp suzuki 4 strokes at only 155kgs should be impressive

Would have been almost 40 kg's more impressive with a pair of E-tec 90's.;);D

boatboy50
05-09-2008, 06:42 PM
Wayne,

Please report back to us all with speeds and rpm specs.

Some pics of her sitting at rest in the drink would be very helpful to others in the future also.

I have no doubts you will be a VERY happy man come sunday.

Looks S___ Hot!

05-09-2008, 08:08 PM
it should go great now

Luke G
05-09-2008, 09:24 PM
Looks good - let us know what the new 90's are like

leezor
05-09-2008, 09:49 PM
Would have been almost 40 kg's more impressive with a pair of E-tec 90's.;);D

May be so Scott, but they are the wrong bloody colour!!!

snappa
05-09-2008, 10:40 PM
wayne

about time you spent some money on the boat

it looks as if it will kick some arse lol

a mate is coming down from Mackay to fish with me for the m&g

i will be throwing every thing back thats not RED

now where is that "spot"

again ??????

see

snappa
05-09-2008, 10:41 PM
wayne

about time you spent some money on the boat

it looks as if it will kick some arse lol

a mate is coming down from Mackay to fish with me for the m&g

i will be throwing every thing back thats not RED

now where is that "spot"

again ??????

see you on the water at 1770 :D

kitty_cat
06-09-2008, 05:29 AM
one more day to go
,very happy ian with suzukis suport , besides someone has to test them.
allways keen for deckies darren i will keep you in mind i see your at bribe,
i will post some on water pics tommorow did i mention iam exited (sounded more like big kev when i said it in my head)
disordily i wouldnt put a 2 stroke on my pride and joy i didnt think any one was using 2 strokes anymore

wayne

Reel Blue
06-09-2008, 10:44 AM
Very, very impressive Wayne. Boat looks great, well done.

Dean1
06-09-2008, 11:01 AM
Looking very good Wayne! Cant wait to hear how they perform. Its going to be a fast machine no doubt! Do you have the LAN gauges teling you what fuel your using?? Bring on sunday...

sharkcat one
06-09-2008, 03:54 PM
I AM LOOKING AT BUYING TWIN 90HP ENGINES,
BUT IN THE BOOK THE WEIGHT OF THE SUZUKI ENGINES ARE NOT
155kgs BUT 194kgs EACH .
JUST WONDERING HOW YOU GOT 155kgs ?

kitty_cat
06-09-2008, 04:12 PM
shark cat they have just been released i have the first pair in australia on a cat they will be available in5 weeks awsome weight saving from 194kg just for interest they are 1.5ltr with the offset drive shaft so they can swing a bigger prop.

sharkcat one
06-09-2008, 07:20 PM
shark cat they have just been released i have the first pair in australia on a cat they will be available in5 weeks awsome weight saving from 194kg just for interest they are 1.5ltr with the offset drive shaft so they can swing a bigger prop.
THAT'S UNREAL!
A WEIGHT SAVING OF MORE THAN 40kg PER ENGINE .
CAN'T WAIT TOO SEE ONE .

HOW DOES THE PRICE COMPAIR TO THE STANDARD 90hp SUZUKI 4 STROKE?

Dean1
07-09-2008, 03:10 PM
THAT'S UNREAL!
A WEIGHT SAVING OF MORE THAN 40kg PER ENGINE .
CAN'T WAIT TOO SEE ONE .

HOW DOES THE PRICE COMPAIR TO THE STANDARD 90hp SUZUKI 4 STROKE? When I priced them up I think from memory the new suzi 90 was roughly $12 500.

kitty_cat
08-09-2008, 05:26 PM
ok what a day yesterday, it was awsome all i can say is if a top end fishing boat is what you are after a 5.2 kevlacat with the new 90hp suzukis are a must to check out,
some figures
3800 rpm 26mph
4200 rpm 29mph
6000 rpm 46mph

between 4200 and 6000 i didnt take much notice i was just smiling too hard with exitement
the weight diference makes the boat handle even better, higher in the water more air under the tunnel. The new leg shape even seems to stop the motors from spraying each other

only a casual day with the wife and kids yeaterday down the goldie so no fuel figures but i will post some pics and figures next trip out

and the biggest bonus no more wet deck yeh ha maybe a bit but nothing compared to the honda outfit even with 5 adults and 6 kids on board

wayne

boatboy50
08-09-2008, 05:59 PM
Hey Wayne,

Very nice figures.

4200rom for 25 knots, and brushing 40 knots flat out. That's awesome. Wait until they bed in! That will be one great package.

I can see all the 5.2 repowers going that way.

Dean1
08-09-2008, 07:25 PM
Awsome Wayne! Looks like youll be cruising at about 4000rpm. Be interesting too see fuel usage. Your tunnel will be working alot better now it doesnt have a sagging rear ;D I'll look at the 90's next upgrade ;)

09-09-2008, 07:16 AM
now with out trying to say "I told you so" but ages ago I recomended that 90HP is the ideal for a 5.2 and was given a roast about being a speed nut, and all sorts of other things, I still stand by that statement, and it is now proven (sort of) regardless of what they have been fitted with, 90's are the best for a 5.2 and 115 or more for the 6.2, good luck with the new Motors, I reckon they will serve you well and you are now bordering on the ideal Boat and Motor combo!

boatboy50
09-09-2008, 07:35 AM
Noel,

Ages ago, these engines were not available.

It is not just about horsepower, but weight, size fuel economy and other factors when taken into consideration.

IMHO every other 90 that was available before these engines was not a good match for a 5.2, due to different reasons.

09-09-2008, 07:57 AM
when all that was taken into consideration ages ago, and fuel was "cheap" the Yamaha 90 2 stroke was almost made for the 5.2, light as a feather, simple to maintain, reasonable fuel economy, but, I fully agree with you, as it is often the case many people do not buy the correct HP for their Boat, some buy too big, some way too small, and for a variety of reasons, like the salesman trying to get a cheaper package deal, or trying to get a bigger commision, misunderstanding by the owner on what he really needs, all sorts of things come into play as well, so in the end, good luck on the repower, excellent Motors for a good Boat, and if the weight of 135KG is correct, I reckon they will sell plenty more

Dean1
09-09-2008, 08:02 AM
I dont regret putting the f 60's on my boat in the slightest! Im still getting 30kts outa her which is enough for me. Im very happy. Punchier than the 70 2 smokes. I couldnt justify paying an 'extra' $4000 for each motor on top off the $10 000 upgrade. Even if I could turm back time id still go the 60's but maybe down the track if I can aford the 90's I may. The fuel economy out of the 60's is amazing the 90's may defeat the whole purpose ( I would be hammering everywhere which would be wasting fuel.) And the 60's are very light. Deano.

Dean1
09-09-2008, 08:05 AM
when all that was taken into consideration ages ago, and fuel was "cheap" the Yamaha 90 2 stroke was almost made for the 5.2, light as a feather, simple to maintain, reasonable fuel economy, but, I fully agree with you, as it is often the case many people do not buy the correct HP for their Boat, some buy too big, some way too small, and for a variety of reasons, like the salesman trying to get a cheaper package deal, or trying to get a bigger commision, misunderstanding by the owner on what he really needs, all sorts of things come into play as well, so in the end, good luck on the repower, excellent Motors for a good Boat, and if the weight of 135KG is correct, I reckon they will sell plenty more Noelm they weigh 155kgs Cheers.

09-09-2008, 08:12 AM
OH, OK then I must have had a "senior moment" when I was browsing way back in the post, no probs, still pretty good though huh! and as I said, as long as the Boat does what you want it to do, then so be it, it was my own personal opinion (right or wrong) that 90HP a side is the ideal power for a 5.2, there is many still happily running about with old 70HP 2 strokes and 50HP 4 strokes and so on without a worry in the world.

kitty_cat
09-09-2008, 10:46 AM
hey dean/noelm
thanks for the feedback iam really happy the boat is just a new machine now power and weight just will have to stay tuned for the fuel economy
i hopping .8 ltr fuel per klm between the 2 motors
dean i will call you after a fishing trip with some sea conditions to let you know how she really goes

wayne
ps anyone considering this combo pm me and iam happy to take you out for a demo

Grunter71
09-09-2008, 11:00 AM
Wayne, are you able to give us an indicative price for a pair?

Out of interest, what sort of economy were you getting of the Honda's. I am surprised that you are hoping for economy only as good as .8ltr/km. I am getting 1km/litre out of a pair of smelly old 70 2's.

kitty_cat
09-09-2008, 01:15 PM
hey gunter yeh iam hoping for better , the hondas were carbed at 1ltr per klm but i dont want to give any false hopes i will pm you some pricing in the next few days can you pm me your situation is hydraulic steering needed size of boat ect
wayne

Dean1
09-09-2008, 06:15 PM
hey dean/noelm
thanks for the feedback iam really happy the boat is just a new machine now power and weight just will have to stay tuned for the fuel economy
i hopping .8 ltr fuel per klm between the 2 motors
dean i will call you after a fishing trip with some sea conditions to let you know how she really goes

wayne
ps anyone considering this combo pm me and iam happy to take you out for a demo Ok Wayne no worries mate enjoy em. Nothin quite like a fresh pair of donks mate hey ;)

Dean1
09-09-2008, 06:46 PM
when all that was taken into consideration ages ago, and fuel was "cheap" the Yamaha 90 2 stroke was almost made for the 5.2, light as a feather, simple to maintain, reasonable fuel economy, but, I fully agree with you, as it is often the case many people do not buy the correct HP for their Boat, some buy too big, some way too small, and for a variety of reasons, like the salesman trying to get a cheaper package deal, or trying to get a bigger commision, misunderstanding by the owner on what he really needs, all sorts of things come into play as well, so in the end, good luck on the repower, excellent Motors for a good Boat, and if the weight of 135KG is correct, I reckon they will sell plenty more Hey Noelm you stated a 5.2kc as a 'good' boat. Are you feeling ok?? ;D :-/

Grunter71
09-09-2008, 07:13 PM
hey gunter yeh iam hoping for better , the hondas were carbed at 1ltr per klm but i dont want to give any false hopes i will pm you some pricing in the next few days can you pm me your situation is hydraulic steering needed size of boat ect
wayne

Yes wayne, have teleflex cable steering at the moment. With the bigger donks, would definitely get hydraulic steering as well.

Dean1
09-09-2008, 08:08 PM
Yes wayne, have teleflex cable steering at the moment. With the bigger donks, would definitely get hydraulic steering as well. Hey Grunter that is a great boat you have there mate, I near bought it myself some years back. Rare as with the pods on em like that the sharky's, youd have yourself a weapon with some new suzi's on her ;)

termi
09-09-2008, 10:13 PM
Dean did you end up getting some fuel /speed figures on your new set up?