View Full Version : HP and motor type for Allison Angler 195

Jigs Down
02-09-2008, 11:47 PM
Im looking at getting an Allison Angler 195 and Im undecided on what motor to put on it.
The dealer wants to sell me a 150 or 175 E Tech but says I can buy the package with out the motor and put what I want on it. I was thinking a Yamaha 150 4 stroke which will cost just a small bit more than the 175 E Tech.
Will a 150 be enough on this hull? They are rated to 200HP.
We do travel some long distances out from Darwin(100 to 200Km at times) and the weather conditions or often good enough to go fast.
Does any one have a 175 on one of these boats?
I do a lot of drift fishing and the motor stays on so I want a quiet motor.
Will the 4 stroke hold its revs better without getting bogged down in larger seas like the old 2 strokes?

Thanks for any comments.

03-09-2008, 08:17 AM
G'day jigsy, there's a report in the review section of boatpoint on the 195 angler with a yammy f150 motor on it. they reckon it's more than adequate. we've got a 6.2m freedom (which is similar size/weight to the 195) and have got a 140 suzuki motor. it's fine but i reckon it would be just about perfect with a 150. and yeah, at the fairly low revs that we cruise at there's no tendency to bog down with waves like our old blackmax used to, it just powers along nicely.

03-09-2008, 08:26 AM
a mate of mine had a 195 Alison with a 135HP Merc on it, seemed to have plenty of power, was not all that fussed on the Boat though (that's another story) and I guess a personal thing, but to answer your question, I reckon get the most HP for the least weight, all the Motors mentioned are good.

julian1
03-09-2008, 09:32 AM
if your going to do a lot of drift fishing with the motor on then i would go the 4 stroke, the 150 Yammie is a very strong 150 more like 165hp and there's also the option of the Suzuki 150/175 the 175 having VVT. The Honda 150 at a similar weight also has VVT. but of outright speed is your thing then why not go the 200 Etec small bore as they are still only about 190kg's, still a bit fumy at idle though compared with the 4 stroke

cheer's

Julian