View Full Version : Mba up to 2day.

02-09-2008, 08:33 AM
1 September

Dwayne from Toowoomba shouted himself and his mum out. They caught 8 Snapper for the morning off Caloundra on soft plastics then we tried for Kingies on the blinkers, did a bit of reef fishing at the Gneerings and had some Mack Tuna pop up so we chased them for the rest of the morning.

31 August

Phil T was aboard again with his mate Dallas. We started off soft plasticing while I jigged livies. Phil got off to a good start with this Grass Sweetlip. Not the biggest one on charter but close. I also heard about a massive Grassy being caught by the shark net contractor caught on a drum line set for sharks. It could have eaten Phil's fish.
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/Aug%2008/Pic042.jpg
With enough livies aboard to start the day we headed wide. First jig I hooked a Kingy which I handed off to Phil who had succumbed to the comforts of the Stabi cabin by that stage in the joggly 15knot northerly. Meanwhile Dallas was getting bricked until he worked out what screwed up drag meant. He then went on to pull a succession of Kingies for the day, keeping a few and releasing them as well. The odd good fish or one too close to structure still reefed him though.
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/Aug%2008/Pic051.jpg
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/Aug%2008/Pic047.jpg
At one stage the skipper snuck a line down only to pull this nice 86cm Snapper. We also caught a few Squire both under and oversize and a Pearlie. Dallas and his first Snapper.
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/Aug%2008/Pic056.jpg
The big fella.
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/Aug%2008/Pic059.jpg
Another close encounter of a bird kind.
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/Aug%2008/Pic046.jpg
Back at the ramp.
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/Aug%2008/Pic062.jpg
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/Aug%2008/Pic064.jpg
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/Aug%2008/Pic063.jpg

30 August

I attended the Brisbane Boat Show today to give a prestentation on "Billfish on Circle Hooks". I also conducted a fishing workshop on gamefish rigging. All in all a successful day.

02-09-2008, 08:34 AM
29 August

Wade organised for his mates Scott and Pete to come down from Dalby and Chinchilla. On the soft plastics early Pete was on fire bagging three keepers and letting a couple go. Wade didn't have the touch early on back came back nabbing two. Meanwhile I kept jigging bait and Scott had no luck at all. We headed wide as the boys were made keen jiggers. Wade got one on a jig and Pete got smoked on livies three times in a row. Scott finally got on the board with a throw back.
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/Aug%2008/ResizeofPicture004.jpg
Wade then snared a nice Pearlie on the jigs.
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/Aug%2008/ResizeofPicture005.jpg
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/Aug%2008/ResizeofPicture008.jpg
From then on it was a procession of Kingfish till the esky was full and then some. I had to trunk quite a few to fit them all in and we were releasing ones in good condition. Scott didn't last too long jigging when they were so easy to get on livies. They kept us honest all day with the odd good one or one too close to structure reefing us. There will be some good video footage of the day. Some of these shots are video still captures. For a last hurrah we went to an AJ spot of mine but only babies and Trevally were in attendance till Wade hooked one on his soft plastics outfit that was too good for him.
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/Aug%2008/ResizeofSnapShot0.jpg
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/Aug%2008/ResizeofSnapShot2.jpg
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/Aug%2008/ResizeofSnapShot3.jpg

28 August

In the morning I had the Noosa Yachties Fishing Club guys out again. As is the case in the lead up to the new moon the morning sessions are a bit of a struggle. The middle of the day tide change is when the best fishing occurs. Dawn is still good and we got a few Snapper on soft plastics but nowhere near a bagout session. In the afternoon I picked up Donald and Eleanor and her boyfriend. Only the boys fished but Donald gave us a fishing lesson and a half. He fishes back home in China when he gets a chance in freshwater but is over here studying. Donald got his 5 Snapper for the afternoon and threw back a few undersize ones. Earlier on we had lost a monster 70+cm Snapper going by the fight in the first few seconds of the encounter before I handed the outfit off to Donald in 46m of water. That is the problem with using the light rods out wide. You get the bites for sure but then it is a task to land the good fish.
Donald and one of his Squire.
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/Aug%2008/donaldsnapper.jpg
One of his sunset shots over Caloundra.
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/Aug%2008/donaldsunsetovercaloundra.jpg
And with the skipper.
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/Aug%2008/donaldandskip.jpg

21 August

This was a mixed charter comprising guys who had all been out with me before. Glen wanted the date kept aside, George who was up on holidays from Sydney was keen to come out a 2nd or 3rd time with me and after his mate pulled out I roped in Roger at short notice once again. Plastics proved the most successful method and we achieved the bag limit plus George got a bonus Sweetlip. Roger got smashed up and George's Sweety nearly got us into the reef as well but we mananged to get him out of the reef he dove into by driving to the other side and applying constant pressure. I am impressed by the new Yozuri Hybrid leader material in 25lb. It is a combination of flourocarbon and mono so has the abrasion resistant and invisible qualities of flourocarbon but the knot strength and knotability of mono if that is such a word. George and his Sweetlip on 6lb Fireline, 2000 size Shimano reel, Daiwa Heartland rod, 3/8 TT jighead, 6" Atomic plastic.
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/Aug%2008/george1.jpg
The catch.
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x197/blackfin15/Charters/2008/Aug%2008/3personbag.jpg

ooglie74
02-09-2008, 08:56 AM
Nice fish smithy,good to see you out and amongst them.

Cheers Troy

Frank OO
02-09-2008, 09:07 AM
Great work Smithy,

You certainly know where to get them. It is not a wonder that they keep coming back.

Frank OO

Benno1
02-09-2008, 09:11 AM
fantastic...those kingfish look like a load of fun...what are they like on the plate???...that sweetlip of George's...is that a grassy or a blueline???...thanks for the quality pics and report Smithy :D

Mrs Benno1

lethal098
02-09-2008, 11:28 AM
great report and great catch again smithy, well done cheers lethal

outsiderskip
02-09-2008, 11:51 AM
hi smithy
u get any on my spot

hehe

pete

blue_mako
02-09-2008, 11:55 AM
Thats Phil from bcf, the fishing specialist

tenzing
02-09-2008, 12:25 PM
Greta report Smithy.
Are you saying Phil got a bit grassy around the gills himself?
He led me to believe He had conquered that and that I should just tough it out like he does!

Cheers Brendan

SgBFish
02-09-2008, 12:26 PM
Thanks for the report Smithy they are always great reading.

tassie
02-09-2008, 12:50 PM
Great report mate, looked like a bit of fun..............

02-09-2008, 05:19 PM
nice fish again smithy well done

backlash08
02-09-2008, 07:05 PM
thanks Smithy

keenfishr
02-09-2008, 08:08 PM
thanks for the detailed reports smithy...you make an enjoyable read with great pictures! cheers trav

Custaro
02-09-2008, 08:23 PM
Good on Phil! He keeps getting back on the horse after meeting the dark side every time he heads out.

Cracker pearly!

trueblue
02-09-2008, 08:31 PM
good fish there again Smithy

well done

hookinin
02-09-2008, 08:38 PM
Thanks for the great report as usual and quality photo's.
Cheers Gaven

02-09-2008, 08:46 PM
Always good to hear your reports and see your pics mate

sleepygreg
02-09-2008, 10:36 PM
Great reports Smithy. Well worth the wait for us to see.

02-09-2008, 11:01 PM
It is easy to see why people keep coming back. You always seem to get onto the fish. Those Kingies look loke hard work on the lighter gear. Great pics and reports.
Do you post the videos anywhere?

03-09-2008, 07:36 AM
Good to see you getting the guys onto some good fish. Those sweeties would get the kinks out of a SP outfit

DALEPRICE
03-09-2008, 06:28 PM
great reading smithy,
top stuff

cheers dale

fella
09-09-2008, 05:15 PM
cool report mate . . a mate of mine jimmy brown just went out with you and he won,t stop talkin about it. . . i,m keen as to get aboard , i'll call you soon....

guy