View Full Version : Barwon Banks Snapper Baggout

aerordauto
31-08-2008, 09:12 AM
After Watching Brian Pull In The 8.3kg Snapper 0n The S/p Rod I Went And Purchased A 7 Foot S/p Rod Looking Like A Whiting Rod.$350?
We Hit The Banks Just Before Sunrise And Started Drift Fishing And Before Long The S/p Rod Got Nailed Bending To The Water Line Peeling Line Off And After Turning Its Head And Bringing It To The Surface It Was A Snapper About 5kg.
This Continued On With S/p 4 Bait Nil.
We Moved Over To The Next Spot And All Hell Let Loose With 5 Rods Buckled Over All At The Same Time And 5 Snapper Boated All About 5kg.
This Went Quiet So We Went To The 90meters Anchored And Burleyed Up.
I Changed Jig Head From A 1ounce Tt To A 1.5tt And Dropped With The S/p
Rod Getting Nailed Again With A 5.4kg Snapper Coming Aboard.
Shannon Started To Bring In Some Nice Snapper On Bait, With Brett Now Sporting An S/p On His Rod Brought In 4 Nice Snapper And Luke Ended The Day Pulling In A Snapper On The S/p Rod About 5.4kg.
A Few Pearlies On S/p 1 Pigfish And Cod On Bait.
The Day Glassed Out With Whales Jumping Out Of The Water, Cold Beers
Snapper And Good Company Made For A Terrific Day Out.
We Left The Snapper Biting Getting Home By 4pm And Cleaning The Boat All On The Same Day.
Thanks To The Boys For Doing The Boat And Fish.
Cheers Mark.:)

Rumrunner2
31-08-2008, 09:34 AM
Does it get any better than that? Great work!

31-08-2008, 09:43 AM
excellent fish mate what day did you go out,

hookinin
31-08-2008, 10:05 AM
Your just rubbing it in now, think i'll have to change jobs so i can get out.
Cheers Gaven

aerordauto
31-08-2008, 10:32 AM
hello skipalong yesterday.
gday gavin yeh work was slow this week so i had thursday off.
i was keen to try the new rod and it worked a treat cheers mark.

Dean1
31-08-2008, 11:06 AM
Good 1 Mark I knew I shoulda gone yesterday :) What depth were you fishing mate? Nothing like a hot sess on the snap. Congrats. Cheers.

hookinin
31-08-2008, 11:13 AM
Good to see you going over to the dark side now and trying some plastics and its a good excuse to buy some new gear.
Gaven

Mitch1
31-08-2008, 12:31 PM
G'day Mark had an awesome day yesterday:D with you poor Luke couldn't pull a trick but go the Chiken maybe Lukes turn to turn things around for our next trip. It was just fantastic weather was perfect beers were cold what more can a man ask for.

Cheers Brett

keenfishr
31-08-2008, 01:18 PM
some great looking fish mate, congrats on the bag of fish. gotta love the SP'S . cheers trav

31-08-2008, 03:40 PM
Go the SP's. That really is a good bag of fish.

I got out Friday with a mate. Cold beers and 6 Cobes boated but could not raise a snapper. In fact the Chooks got 0. Kept getting snipped at the hook and the bait accounted for all fish.

Good days

legsy11
31-08-2008, 03:58 PM
awesome mate.august and the banks!!

shannon montey
31-08-2008, 04:05 PM
After Watching Brian Pull In The 8.3kg Snapper 0n The S/p Rod I Went And Purchased A 7 Foot S/p Rod Looking Like A Whiting Rod.$350?
We Hit The Banks Just Before Sunrise And Started Drift Fishing And Before Long The S/p Rod Got Nailed Bending To The Water Line Peeling Line Off And After Turning Its Head And Bringing It To The Surface It Was A Snapper About 5kg.
This Continued On With S/p 4 Bait Nil.
We Moved Over To The Next Spot And All Hell Let Loose With 5 Rods Buckled Over All At The Same Time And 5 Snapper Boated All About 5kg.
This Went Quiet So We Went To The 90meters Anchored And Burleyed Up.
I Changed Jig Head From A 1ounce Tt To A 1.5tt And Dropped With The S/p
Rod Getting Nailed Again With A 5.4kg Snapper Coming Aboard.
Shannon Started To Bring In Some Nice Snapper On Bait, With Brett Now Sporting An S/p On His Rod Brought In 4 Nice Snapper And Luke Ended The Day Pulling In A Snapper On The S/p Rod About 5.4kg.
A Few Pearlies On S/p 1 Pigfish And Cod On Bait.
The Day Glassed Out With Whales Jumping Out Of The Water, Cold Beers
Snapper And Good Company Made For A Terrific Day Out.
We Left The Snapper Biting Getting Home By 4pm And Cleaning The Boat All On The Same Day.
Thanks To The Boys For Doing The Boat And Fish.
Cheers Mark.:)
Hi Mark , Ended up with 6.3 kg of boneless fillet, great day. Thanks mate.

reel scream
31-08-2008, 06:02 PM
Thats bloody tops Mark. Well done.

Cheers Scott

Pistol_P
31-08-2008, 06:07 PM
I feel sorry for fellows using bait these days...;D

The SP's are just fish catching dynamite!

Great haul mate....Well done.

Fishing_Freddy
31-08-2008, 07:25 PM
Well done guys, I hope I can load up on the sp's next time I try them. Thanks for a great report.
Ken :beer:

rubba
31-08-2008, 08:06 PM
very good catch fellas you have to be stoked did you leave any for the rest of us8-)

aerordauto
01-09-2008, 09:32 PM
gday dean we started at 40-50 meters then on the banks then 80-90 meters.
hello rubba yeh i left them biting once bagged out and even give them the rest of my old bait.
mark.
hello angla yes mate go the s/p.

Lacey Blue Dog
02-09-2008, 08:11 AM
No more sore back at the end of the day from the usual heavier gear. You may look silly fishing deep water with a whiting rod but dont they work.
Top report
Bluedog

tassie
02-09-2008, 01:17 PM
Nice effort mate............

aerordauto
03-09-2008, 07:36 PM
hello bluedog i also had a 10/20kg wilson livefibre floater out there with 80 pound braid, 120 leader and floating pillie but the s/p killed it.in the end i put the h/duty gear away. the results speak for themselves.great fun too.
hello tassie thanks for that.

Benno1
03-09-2008, 09:00 PM
fan..bloody...tastic!!!...good to see you guys pulled up a decent feed...nice one :D

Mrs Benno1

SgBFish
03-09-2008, 09:08 PM
Well done good fun and a feed what more is there.

sp nut
04-09-2008, 10:22 AM
G'day Mark,

Excellent size to the Snapper, great session!

Sounds like the plastics were killing it over the bait, what type were you using? Is this usually the case (that plastics outfishes bait), or does the reverse sometimes happen?

James

aerordauto
06-09-2008, 08:50 AM
hello sp nut usually bait wins but the snapper love them.
will experiment more and let u know.
they where 7inch nuclear chickens.
thanks mrs benno and scott yeh we had a ball and the freezer is full.

Spot82
10-09-2008, 07:30 PM
Nice work boys, awesome catch!

Anthony

Fishbait
14-09-2008, 06:49 PM
Awesome catch - thats a whole lot of great looking nobbies!